List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

And the players from 1 to 4 very, very likely wouldnt have worked out for the Eagles.

You keep ignoring that.

It would have been an incredible risk to keep and use pick 3 on a player who didnt want to relocate.

It would have been plain dumb to keep pick 3 and use it reaching for a quality player when similar quality would still be there at 9 and even 12.

Who would you have picked with 3?
I think very, very likely might be a bit strong. Has Wardlaw actually said he doesn't want to relocate? Or just that his preference is to stay home? Which would be the same for most draftees.
Or is it just a case of repeat it enough times and it becomes truth.

Below are the quotes that get associated with his flight risk. To me they seem like pretty honest answers.

Quote fox footy
“It‘s a dream to get drafted, so regardless of where I go, I’d be over the moon and I don’t really mind where I play. But it’d be pretty cool growing up for a team and eventually playing for them. That’d be awesome,” Wardlaw said.

Quote SEN
“I think before the big trade went down with all the picks and stuff West Coast had the second spot so there was obviously a possibility I’d go up there, and there still is, or even GWS or wherever,” he said.

“Definitely during that period of time I had to comprehend it.

“It’s absolutely something (we talk about). I was fully comfortable with the idea of moving over there and I did understand it might be hard not having that social and family support, but I understand the clubs look after you pretty well so I was comfortable with that idea and knew wherever I ended up I’d work pretty hard.”

Quote AFL
“You can only dream, can’t you? I had an interview with the Bombers, I think it went pretty well. I’m pretty sure I expressed my interest in them for the last 17 or 18 years. I love the Bombers, pick four, hopefully, who knows?” he said. “I don’t really care where, just getting drafted is the main thing.”

EAD Geelong

What a haul. Best player in the 2007 draft in Notte, followed by the best 16 year old of all time (at least until Brander in 2017) in Tom Swift the following year.

Summary of our best and worst draft picks (that I can remember - I’m sure I’ve missed some).

BEST

Dean Cox (Rookie)
Matt Priddis (Rookie)
Jeremy Mcgovern (Rookie)
Chad Fletcher (Rookie)

WORST

Jarrod Brander (Pick 13)
Michael Gardiner (Pick 1)
Andrew Mcdougall (Pick 5)
Ashley Sampi (pick 6)

Instead of Wardlaw we get 2 of those listed and to me that’s the attraction

It’s been well documented that we have very few decent players under 22 on our list so getting two players rather than one makes sense. Especially when you consider the 2 aren’t that far behind Wardlaw and there were legitimate concerns on Wardlaw (hamstrings and flight risk)

This year it made sense when in other years I don’t think it would have
Fair enough but we don't have to rebuild the whole list in 2 years. Top end quality is also essential. We need some superstars.
Maybe thats the plan for next year but theres no gaurantee we will get another top 3 pick. Especially if we bounce back a bit.

Meh anyway its a moot point. like I said I'd be happy with any of those two. Hurry up draft night!

So with a week to go, I am reading the intelligence as to who is tipped to go where are who might be off the board prior to our picks. It tells me that the reporters will be less accurate with their predictions this year.

What I would like if for the Pieman to have temptation removed. What does that mean? Ginbey goes to the Suns and Cats call out Busslinger. While both could end up at West Coast, I would like them to be off the board prior to our pick. Likewise with Humphrey - a possibility at Hawk or Dons.

At 8, I am hoping that one of Mackenzie or Clark are available (probably in that order). Pull the trigger please.
Then at 12, I am expecting Hollands to be there and that would be perfect pairing.

I would then run the risk that Hewett slides through to 20. If he is gone, I would be happy with one of Allan, Hotton, Hayes, Clarke or Konstanty.

Then at 26, I would be very happy with Kaleb Smith or one of the abovementioned if they were still there.

At a late pick, I would be happy to go a tall and pick van Es (not likely unless we trade a future R4) or Foster who will probably be there as a rookie (not to ruck but as a KPP). With our other rookie, I would like Cleaver. Good chance to get the brother prior to getting his sister. He is also well worth the pick. Theat would leave a final spot that we could hold on for train on, or re-rookie, or take go Broadbent

With our NGA prospects, hope that Dewar and Baker get to be Cat B ( I am still not 100% clear on the process) meaning we get 2 more rookies. If we have to take Dewar on the rookie list, then do so. I suspect Baker will be a free Cat B hit.

That would bring our list size to 44 with the 2 Cat B.

With Mackenzie and Hollands, I think they will be best placed to settle and to be long term starting midfielders. Hollands may even get a gig on the wing in 2023 as his endurance is already there. They compliment Culley, Hough and Chesser.

So to recap:
Balanced mids with our first 2 in Makenzie and Hollands
Pick 20 leaves us options for best available
Pick 26 gets a running half back with great football IQ

Leave the ruck until 2023 unless we believe Broadbent is worth it.

View attachment 1555207
Love your work. Walking away with McKenzie, Hollands and Hewett would be a sensational draft.

For those interested below is some highlights from Foster. looks like a pretty good development option for a pick in the 70s compared to perhaps a pick in the 20s for Barnett.

I actually like Mackenzie but one of the problems many amateur followers fall into - is the truth paradigm. They seek examples that support their argument whilst ignoring (or at least downplaying those) that don't.

Chris Masten was a good example of this. Chris was much maligned for his ball winning & towards the end his kicking skills. I had a mate who used to bag him & one match I cut his game clips & asked my mate his thoughts after giving him Masten's stats. We actually sat togther at the game so it was a great test. He reckoned Masten made 8 blunders out of 14 kicks. After watching the tape he admitted he only made 3 mistakes. In his mind he overplayed the poor numbers and downplayed the good numbers.

Ashcroft is so far ahead of others it's not funny but all the rest have some flaws - some major. However because Sheezel has done some incredible things we remember them, but forget he does shirk a contest and has a tendency to take a game on rather then giving the best option at the time. So it will be interesting to see how that translates at AFL level when the bodies are bigger and arrive far more quickly than what he has experienced so far.

Well just on this, how about the direct question - do you prefer Ginbey or Mackenzie? If the former, how much of that, if any at all, is an interstate concern? Is there really a harm in just giving your adjudication between the two?

Summary of our best and worst draft picks (that I can remember - I’m sure I’ve missed some).

BEST

Dean Cox (Rookie)
Matt Priddis (Rookie)
Jeremy Mcgovern (Rookie)
Chad Fletcher (Rookie)

WORST

Jarrod Brander (Pick 13)
Michael Gardiner (Pick 1)
Andrew Mcdougall (Pick 5)
Ashley Sampi (pick 6)

Gardiner was the best ruckman in the competition for a while. Sampi wasn't a 200-game player but did plenty in our rise back up the ladder.

Britney Spears What GIF

Well just on this, how about the direct question - do you prefer Ginbey or Mackenzie? If the former, how much of that, if any at all, is an interstate concern? Is there really a harm in just giving your adjudication between the two?

No harm - I like Mackenzie - more runs on the board. However my gut feel FWIW is that Ginbey will make a greater mark in 5 years

I think very, very likely might be a bit strong. Has Wardlaw actually said he doesn't want to relocate? Or just that his preference is to stay home? Which would be the same for most draftees.

Below are the quotes that get associated with his flight risk. To me they seem like pretty honest answers.

Quote fox footy
“It‘s a dream to get drafted, so regardless of where I go, I’d be over the moon and I don’t really mind where I play. But it’d be pretty cool growing up for a team and eventually playing for them. That’d be awesome,” Wardlaw said.

Quote SEN
“I think before the big trade went down with all the picks and stuff West Coast had the second spot so there was obviously a possibility I’d go up there, and there still is, or even GWS or wherever,” he said.

“It’s absolutely something (we talk about). I was fully comfortable with the idea of moving over there and I did understand it might be hard not having that social and family support, but I understand the clubs look after you pretty well so I was comfortable with that idea and knew wherever I ended up I’d work pretty hard.”

Quote AFL
“You can only dream, can’t you? I had an interview with the Bombers, I think it went pretty well. I’m pretty sure I expressed my interest in them for the last 17 or 18 years. I love the Bombers, pick four, hopefully, who knows?” he said. “I don’t really care where, just getting drafted is the main thing.”
That’s what he’s saying in the media…. If you listen to McCartney(GWS list manager) during trade week he made it very clear that certain players had made it very clear they didn’t want to move (Sheezle and Wardlaw) it’s one of the reasons why the giants moved up to pick one.

With our NGA prospects, hope that Dewar and Baker get to be Cat B ( I am still not 100% clear on the process) meaning we get 2 more rookies. If we have to take Dewar on the rookie list, then do so. I suspect Baker will be a free Cat B hit.

That would bring our list size to 44 with the 2 Cat B.

Everything I’ve read on NGA prospects is that if there’s no bid during the main draft we can preselect them as Category B rookies.

So Dewar (and Baker) end up on our main list if we match a bid or as a cat B rookie if no bid comes. There’s no need to select them in the rookie draft

I cannot see the Pieman passing on Buslinger if he is still on the board

And i am not for one minute suggesting that Buslinger can't play. He can

But for what we need (midfielders) it would be a mistake and another failure to identify where we truly deficient
God I hope not, Please not more tall backs as plenty and by all accounts more options in 2023 which will get a lot cheaper.

Ok outside of Sampi and Gqrds being two of our worst ever draft picks???
Can someone give me a quick run down of the last 200 pages. Been camping off grid for the last 3.5 weeks. I must say it’s been pretty great and now draft day is only a week away

Come on. It helps when you can supplement your selections with academy kids. Either early or late.

Lets not forget that massive advantage.
I'm not denying that they have an unfair advantage (like the rest of the northern clubs) when it comes to academy/zones (and previously COLA). And that rort should be equalised by either allowing the rest of us the same options or removing them from the favoured north.

But we're talking general recruiting and drafting here.
Sydney keep their cards close, deal fairly (Jetta/Sinclair), recruit smartly and have a good retention record. I'd rather deal with Sydney than say Geelong or Freo or Port or Collingwood or... And I'd rather Sydney's recruiting team and approach than Norths, Essendons, GCS, Carltons etc.

I remember the media reporting that he was begging the club to match as a restricted agent. Guess that was true.

I also loved his comment that players know you're leaving if you don't sign by the end of the year. He couldn't remember anyone who hadn't but had still stayed. I guess he forgot about Andrew Gaff that very year.
I don't think he could remember his name , at that time.

Can someone give me a quick run down of the last 200 pages. Been camping off grid for the last 3.5 weeks. I must say it’s been pretty great and now draft day is only a week away

We folded.

Ed Allan has been officially declared the best player of all time

Quote fox footy

Quote SEN

Quote AFL

Plus dodgy hammies.

How many red flags do you need?

That’s what he’s saying in the media…. If you listen to McCartney(GWS list manager) during trade week he made it very clear that certain players had made it very clear they didn’t want to move (Sheezle and Wardlaw) it’s one of the reasons why the giants moved up to pick one.
Yeah I heard the interview. Sounded like he was pretty frustrated with all the high picks leaving GWS which is fair enough. GWS has been a constant revolving door for top draft picks moving back to Victoria. Not so much for us.
We can provide big crowds and a powerful club with good earning opportunities in a football state. Not quite the same situation as GWS.
Plus we've gone on record saying that the go home factor wasn't an issue for us.

If we are going to limit ourselves with who we draft to country boys and WA kids we will never make it to the top. Even if he did a Judd and played with us for 6 years thats not so bad (especially if we get the good 6 years lol).

No harm - I like Mackenzie - more runs on the board. However my gut feel FWIW is that Ginbey will make a greater mark in 5 years

Interesting. Thanks.

To clarify, I didn't mean to come off as obstinate or overly critical, I really like Ginbey as well. But is production not an undeniable concern? He's barely cracked the teens at WAFL level, even playing colts. Granted, a lot of that would be in the backline, but 1) that just speaks all the more to how unproven he is as a mid, and 2) doesn't history suggest that players with low production generally carry that into their careers? People are comparing his trajectory to that of guys like Cripps or Oliver, in terms of rawness and late improvement, but they were racking it up in the middle by the end of their draft years.

I think it’s near on pointless guessing who clubs will take and the uncertainty around the selections after North confirms the clubs view that it’s a very even draft through those first dozen picks

Phillipou, Tsatas, Ginbey, Busslinger, Clark, Mackenzie and Humphrey are being linked any from Essendon at 4 to our pick at 12. To a lesser extent add Hollands and Hewett to that mix with Allan more recently being mentioned as well

Very easy to see why we traded out from 2 to 8 and 12
Live trading too, literally impossible past first 6 to 7.