List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

Not sure why you think this whole 'club wants to control the narrative' thing is such an issue?

Nothing wrong with giving Gov a 2 year contract. There's plenty of names on our list that need to be retired or delisted before we worry about Gov.

Nothing wrong with only giving him a year either… you know to see him actually play not like the past two years.

I don't care if it's 2 years even though I'm not keen on giving 30+ year old players more than 1 year contracts, particularly if you would welcome them knocking on the coaches and saying they wanted to take up another club's offer.

I just hope we're not paying too much even though I assume we have plenty of space.

I wonder if you can go up to someone like Ginbey and say, "listen mate, you're a second yearer next year. Your base is $105k. But we have some cap space now and we're not confident we'll have it in a few year's time. We'll park and extra $100k on your next contract but in return we want to discount $75k off your next contract".

I don't care if it's 2 years even though I'm not keen on giving 30+ year old players more than 1 year contracts, particularly if you would welcome them knocking on the coaches and saying they wanted to take up another club's offer.

I just hope we're not paying too much even though I assume we have plenty of space.

I wonder if you can go up to someone like Ginbey and say, "listen mate, you're a second yearer next year. Your base is $105k. But we have some cap space now and we're not confident we'll have it in a few year's time. We'll park and extra $100k on your next contract but in return we want to discount $75k off your next contract".

Can't increase a draft contract above base. He won't get paid extra until year 3.
It's why Kelly only got minimum wage from Geelong, which made his situation that much more difficult with his family circumstances.

But regards value of contract, I still don't understand why supporters give a shit?
We're not losing players because they're not paid enough. We're not missing out on anyone wanting to come home because we can't afford to trump up bigger money. So why do supporters give a shit?

Someone posted this as Richmonds under 26 team elsewhere

Under 26 team:
FB: R'Smith Balta ----
HB: Baker Gibcus Rioli
C; ---- Taranto ------
HF: Clarke ------ Graham
FF: Rioli ---- Cumberland
Foll: Ryan Hopper Bolton
Int: Sonsie ?Ross ?Mansell

Ours is

FB: Witherden, H.Edwards, L.Foley
HB : Jones, Bazzo, Hough
C: Chesser, Ginbey, L.Edwards
HF: Culley, Waterman, Petrucelle
FF: Long, Allen, Winder
R: Williams. Hewett, XON
I/C: West, Trew, Jamieson, Burgiel

That is absolutely shithouse in that id take Richmonds 15 over our 22 in a trade. We are minimum 5 years off

Under 26 team:
C; ---- Taranto ------

Ours is

That is absolutely shithouse in that id take Richmonds 15 over our 22 in a trade. We are minimum 5 years off
Don’t reckon there is that much in it.

Our talent is just that bit younger, reckon you will see it differently in a few years time.
We will also go to the draft hard again this year where as Tigers have handed over a top pick to the Giants.

Another 31 disposals for McKercher over the weekend he’s been impressive this year is starting to shape as a top 5 prospect.
Wonder where recruiting a kid from Tassie sits at the moment with the weekends announcement.

You take a guy, make sure he is contracted for when Tasmania comes in so they have to trade for him as a marquee tasmanian player. You're going to get 2 very early bites at the cherry down the line but you're delaying your rebuild long term. That's if he comes on as expected. Right now he's 5-10 imo and the second highest ranked mid.

Don’t reckon there is that much in it.

Our talent is just that bit younger, reckon you will see it differently in a few years time.
We will also go to the draft hard again this year where as Tigers have handed over a top pick to the Giants.
Tigers under 25's is a way better list.

But upside is we should have them in 2 years time.

You take a guy, make sure he is contracted for when Tasmania comes in so they have to trade for him as a marquee tasmanian player. You're going to get 2 very early bites at the cherry down the line but you're delaying your rebuild long term. That's if he comes on as expected. Right now he's 5-10 imo and the second highest ranked mid.
Reckon he’s knocking on top 5 Phil. He’s been better than Duursma and Moir pretty clearly so far this year. If the trend continues he will go before those guys.

Not sure why you think this whole 'club wants to control the narrative' thing is such an issue?

Nothing wrong with giving Gov a 2 year contract. There's plenty of names on our list that need to be retired or delisted before we worry about Gov.
He was in good form to start 2022 in a backline under siege.

With McGovern I'd have preferred a trigger clause but he's the type of player i could see playing past 32 if he's given a lesser role and stops getting contact injuries running from player to player covering a midfield that can't defend field position.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

Under 26 team:
C; ---- Taranto ------

Ours is

Looks alright to me. And you’ve left off Barnett, Dewar and Baker, just off the top of my head.

The fact we can fill out an entire side with under 26s and Richmond can barely fill two thirds of one is a point in our favour, surely.

Looks alright to me. And you’ve left off Barnett, Dewar and Baker, just off the top of my head.

The fact we can fill out an entire side with under 26s and Richmond can barely fill two thirds of one is a point in our favour, surely.
And we go to the draft in a good position this year again. Looks a pretty strong draft this year lots of depth.

Tigers currently hold 21,39,57,75

Eagles 1,19,32,37,50,55,73

And we go to the draft in a good position this year again. Looks a pretty strong draft this year lots of depth.

Tigers currently hold 21,39,57,75

Eagles 1,19,32,37,50,55,73

Oh we are about to lap them for sure but we dont have a good start is what im saying.

From the list of below the players id say are going to be best 22 in the next 5 years for certain bolded. Chesser/L.Edwards/Bazzo/Hewett extremely likely to be in that list but not 100% sure what spot or role yet. Hopefully Burgiel and Barnett take over from Williams/L.Foley and get into the best 22 but not certain yet etc. With a best case scenario of 11 players, we need to find atleast 11 more in the next few yers/before Tasmania which is a very big task ahead

Someone wrote the below list earlier as one that contained examples of premiership, elite mids.

Oliver
Petracca
Cripps
Brayshaw
Uniacke
Neale
Miller
Bont
Danger

Interesting list as by my count it contains more players without a medal than with.

Also interested in how people view the "top end" talent in Shuey, Yeo, Sheed, Redden, Masten who took the side to their last flag. Not exactly littered with Pick 1's.

If the list management finish with Pick 1, its going to put them in a very strong negotiating position. There's talk in Vic of sides looking to find 3 first rounders to do a trade. Surely given the current situation we consider bringing in a squad of talented youngsters instead of the one standout.

Someone wrote the below list earlier as one that contained examples of premiership, elite mids.

Oliver
Petracca

Cripps
Brayshaw
Uniacke
Neale
Miller
Bont
Danger

Interesting list as by my count it contains more players without a medal than with.

Also interested in how people view the "top end" talent in Shuey, Yeo, Sheed, Redden, Masten who took the side to their last flag. Not exactly littered with Pick 1's.

If the list management finish with Pick 1, its going to put them in a very strong negotiating position. There's talk in Vic of sides looking to find 3 first rounders to do a trade. Surely given the current situation we consider bringing in a squad of talented youngsters instead of the one standout.
Not quite.

Not sure why whoever made that Richmond team left out; Sam Banks (HBF/Winger)(pick 29 2021) and Tom Brown (3rd tall defender)(pick 17 2021).

Those two should be walk up starts in a Richmond U25 team.

Also, Hopper is 26.

Under 26 team:
C; ---- Taranto ------

Ours is

It doesn't matter though.

Theirs is a bit better because during their flag years they had 20/21 year olds. We had Duggan, Cole, and Venables. They also have Taranto, Hopper, and Bolton who will make it easier for young talent to learn their craft in the midfield.

Our risk is Shuey, Yeo etc have fallen over and Kelly and Sheed aren't exactly examples of "I'll show you how to pull out all stops to get the job done" type midfielders. It makes it heaps harder for new midfielders to get up to speed.

What will matter most is how high the quality of the best players we draft. In 2026 our team probably only has 4-5 players left over from the flag window period (out of OA, Barrass, Kelly, Ryan, Duggan, Sheed). It will pretty much be a different side.

Except they didn't. They said these are the calibre of players you need. If you don't have them, it's really hard to win a flag. And if you do have them, there's no guarantees.
We're one of the only teams to win without absolute top end talent, although Yeo was considered top 5 in the comp at the time and shuey not far behind.

The other guys are not even in the ball park.
Talk where? The only talk I have seen is on BF. If a club wants to offer roughly #5, #6, and #9 then I would suggest the club will take it.

But I don't for a second believe any club will offer that. The market value seems to be 2 top 10 picks - one at around 4/5 and the other 8/9.

We're one of the only teams to win without absolute top end talent, although Yeo was considered top 5 in the comp at the time and shuey not far behind.

The other guys are not even in the ball park.

McGovern, NN, Kennedy are as top end as it gets for their positions.
LeCras, Shuey, Yeo, Sheppard, Gaff, Darling, Ryan and Hurn likewise were probably competition leaders in their respective positions around our 2018 flag.

* Unless the conversation is purely around midfielders and I missed this point.

I didn’t argue for delisting him.

My point is that this silly game of charades that the club is playing where they hide contract announcements from supporters is not an indicator of a well run club. Nobody else does it. It achieves nothing worthwhile.

If you are in charge and you give a chronically injured over 30 a two extension, if you think the positives outweigh the risks and downsides, then have a pair of balls and make the announcement. And if some people are going to disagree and criticise you then explain the decision and argue your corner.

If you can’t explain and defend your decision, if you are embarrassed and afraid of criticism and are hiding the information from your supporters, then maybe you should reflect on that and ask yourself if it really is the right decision?