Who do you want to get a contract?

• Coby Burgiel

• Sandy Brock

• Neither

Results are only viewable after voting.

Quick links

List Spots Available
  • One on either main OR rookie list to be filled as a SSP selection following train on assessments.
  • Current train on players -
    - Sandy Brock

SSP signing dates
  • Monday, November 25, 2024 – Thursday, December 19, 2024
  • Monday, January 13, 2025 – Friday, February 21, 2025

Players out of Contract (16) - 2025
  • Tim Kelly (26/7/94) - Signed a 6 year contract (2020-25) in October 2019
  • Dom Sheed (10/4/95) - Signed a 4 year extension (2022-25) in April 2021*
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jeremy McGovern (15/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Jack Hutchinson (10/11/01) - Automatic 18 month contract (2024-25) when drafted in May 2024
  • (R) Tyrell Dewar (27/3/04) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in June 2024
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

The problem is only 2 of those are likely to be sure things. Sheed we all assume can't get his foot right so he's gone. He will be backing himself to get back on the park and if he does will want to extend his career, and who knows maybe can get fit again and break into the team, in which case he's certainly young enough to get another contract. I'd say that's very unlikely though.

Cripps had more than 60 shots on goal last year and if he could kick straight could have had a 40 goal season. He's been very keen getting to training early and if he can tidy up his game this year or we improve our supply or both, is every chance of kicking 30 plus and will be seeking an extension as well. I personally would not want to see it but I can easily imagine the club thinking differently about one of its all time favourite sons.

Petruccelle has a lot of upside and having never been used well could find himself having a career best season. He's still relatively young and with a list full of players under 21 his 100 games of experience might be something we want to hold onto slightly longer.

Rawlinson is rated elite for speed [combine tested within 0.05s of Petch and Burgeil] and is possibly the fastest player at the club currently given the injury history of those other 2. He will certainly improve, maybe a lot. Champion is clearly a more skilful player but I'd say at the moment the two of them are our only genuine crumbing small forwards. Having more than one of those is important anyway, and Champion with his tiny frame and concussion issues is no certainty to make it. We'd be delisting Rawlinson for the sake of it [likely to make way for Walley] and putting ourselves 2 years behind again on development in that spot, in circumstances were Cripps likely retires and Champion is nowhere near ready to play 23 games in 2026.

Jamieson would be my tip for first delisted out of all the players mentioned, but for arguments sake maybe he's just starting the pre-season on a modified program but is not actually injured and trains strongly and performs well in the Beagles in circumstances where lets say Brock isn't given the SSP spot and Gov/Edwards doesn't go perfectly. He could yet make a case for himself over Barnett or even Bazzo for that depth KPP spot.

Williams being traded, yeah I'm sure that would be popular with the board but he seems pretty happy here and is contracted for 2026 [signed on for 2 years in 2024 yeah?] and despite peoples wishful thinking about Flynn turning his career around and becoming a 23 game season first ruck or Jack Williams finishing this pre-season as the clear #1 tap ruckman at the club its more than likely Bailey holds the spot he's had no serious competition for in the last 3 seasons. He's also still a very young ruckman and I happen to believe is capable of actually improving as a player still.

The club has been energised by the arrival of a new coach and the list strengthened by trade and draft and the stage seems set for players across the board to improve. I find it hard to believe that we end the season with 6 clear needs so far as delisting. I think we will struggle to make a case for 4, and that Noah Long could well be one of those in that conversation because he is not actually a genuine small forward [unlike Rawlinson] and would be a very long way back in so far as establishing himself as a mid in this side now. Tom Cole is one that could go either way, I can easily see him finding his jam with a new game plan or alternative just spending the whole year at the beagles as we explore other options in defence.

In order to bring in 6 new players for 2026, it's going to depend on us trading out at least 2 mature [likely best 22] players. And that comes from the likes of Allen, Williams, Kelly, Edwards as best 22 that clubs might be willing to pay something for, and Cole, Petch, Barnett on the fringe who clubs might just offer some late picks that we take just to open up a list spot.

We are likely a stronger list in 2026 is we aim to retain experience rather than get overly speculative with new 18 year olds. I'd personally be drawing the line at Banfield, having taken Rodreigez and Curtin in the first round. 3 high quality players in, for Cripps, Sheed, Jamo out. We are way better off with everyone else in the conversation just improving and earning themselves another contract.
Very good and thoughtful analysis.

I disagree with you about Rawlinson. He showed enough last year to show that he hasn’t got much. Might have speed but he doesn’t have the ability to find the football or use it well. Very lucky to retain his spot on the list. Would have to show a lot of improvement to be retained further. Long, although not a crumbing forward pocket is a far superior player. I would be very disappointed to see him go.

I would also be very disappointed to see Allen go. Elite level talent coming into his prime years who bleeds blue and gold. How can a guy like this be forced out?

Rawlinson isn't clean off the ground, has shit kicking skills and struggles to kick past a guy 40m out on the mark.

He has decent hands and is very quick and provides good defensive pressure. He really has no other AFL level attributes.

Just of young players who can play forward/mid he's behind Long, Dewar, Hutch annd Hewett.

We also haven't had Owies play a game for the club yet who is proven AFL quality.

Then you have Ryan, Petch, Cripps and Kelly even FFS.

Even of young players who are forward or mid/forward we are still trying to bring Dewar into the side consistently, bring Long back and Owies needs a spot.

While he can play back and through the midfield Baker can play HFF as can Graham.

As it stands bar a further injury to Sheed's foot/ankle he is at the top of the delist pile. Sheed, Jamieson and Rawlinson are almost certain delistees this year. The first two due to repeated ongoing injury issues, not due to ability.

Just to pick up on another point, ok let's say that Rawlinson is at the top of the delist pile. How does delisting a rookie actually help us take 6+ players onto the main list like these guys are asking for?

We're up to 2 Warners coming in, plus 5 draftee's. Presumably Ryan Maric isn't going to want to spend the rest of his career as a rookie and Hutchinson's rookie contract is also up at the end of 2024 so if we want to retain those guys they might be asking for a little more security. Is that 8-9 main list spots required? Does delisting Rawlinson buy us 1 spot on the main list at the expense of a currently listed player who will be relegated like maybe a Chesser or Brockman or Long?

Hey Phil kudos on whatever roll you played in the draft night. (Yes I was sufficiently entertained)
Any insight on how high was the club on the NGAs for 2025 Highlights on Evans/Wally can only get so far. Obviously long way out but are we keen enough to cut the likes of Petch to get them in if it came to that?

TBH 12 months is a very long time in football and none are projecting as oustanding. All 3 NGA's have to keep improving at a consistent rate just to make an AFL spot. Banfield has easily shown the most but even he is no guarantee of being drafted 12 months out.

I'd love for us to be have a ground swell of top tier NGA's and FS players and although we potentially have some talented ones coming so far the most talented of the NGA's we've had so far is Dewar and he was coming from a long way back.

Just to pick up on another point, ok let's say that Rawlinson is at the top of the delist pile. How does delisting a rookie actually help us take 6+ players onto the main list like these guys are asking for?

We're up to 2 Warners coming in, plus 5 draftee's. Presumably Ryan Maric isn't going to want to spend the rest of his career as a rookie and Hutchinson's rookie contract is also up at the end of 2024 so if we want to retain those guys they might be asking for a little more security. Is that 8-9 main list spots required? Does delisting Rawlinson buy us 1 spot on the main list at the expense of a currently listed player who will be relegated like maybe a Chesser or Brockman or Long?

We're currently 1 short on the list. That can be either a main list or a rookie spot.

I would have delisted Rawlinson, but it wasn't my choice. If say Chesser or Long have average / poor seasons delisting Rawlinson potentially gives us a spot to give them 1 more year on the rookie list to try and make it. I'd rather that option than Rawlinson.

Brockman is going to need to show something as after Rawlinson, Sheed and Jamieson the next tier for Delistees imo is Brockman, Barnett and to a lesser extent Livingstone. (livingstone is safer as he is a cat B)

TBH 12 months is a very long time in football and none are projecting as oustanding. All 3 NGA's have to keep improving at a consistent rate just to make an AFL spot. Banfield has easily shown the most but even he is no guarantee of being drafted 12 months out.

I'd love for us to be have a ground swell of top tier NGA's and FS players and although we potentially have some talented ones coming so far the most talented of the NGA's we've had so far is Dewar and he was coming from a long way back.
That's no fun though, how is the board supposed to over react (eg. Ditching our captain) with messages like 'wait and see'

I'm hearing Harper Banfield is looking like he could be a gun 2026, hope its a sign of things to come.

Very good and thoughtful analysis.

I disagree with you about Rawlinson. He showed enough last year to show that he hasn’t got much. Might have speed but he doesn’t have the ability to find the football or use it well. Very lucky to retain his spot on the list. Would have to show a lot of improvement to be retained further. Long, although not a crumbing forward pocket is a far superior player. I would be very disappointed to see him go.

I would also be very disappointed to see Allen go. Elite level talent coming into his prime years who bleeds blue and gold. How can a guy like this be forced out?

Look I'm open to Rawlinson being a bust, the point I was making was more that we've seen **** all of him and as a general point it gets kind of ridiculous having people lobbying to delist players who've been at the club for 12 months in order to take a chance with some other deeply speculative pick. I say we are at a point where bringing in another 6 18 year olds is very dangerous if some of those over 30's get injured. Even if they are destined to be depth players we need mature bodies in the beagles.

Personally I just rate all of Reid, Williams and Shanahan as having higher ceilings than Oscar. I really want him to stick around and move back after this year. I don't think the club is forcing him out but it would be madness to sign him up on some 7 year big money deal. If he bleeds blue and gold then from whats been reported he has a 5 year offer on the table at what we think he's worth, he should take it. He's not the marquee player of this football club. If he wants to be that then that's fine, other clubs will probably throw big money at him but we can't be overpaying for him given the amount of talent we are looking to retain over the duration of that 7 year deal.

The fourth of the Duursma clan is another elite prospect with potential to be the best of the brood. The tallest of the siblings, he's rangy and athletic, capable of playing any role on the footy field from key position, wing or on ball.

Crappy disposal! No thanks

If, and it's a big if, we get both Warners, we'd take max 3 in the draft, maybe less if our NGA's don't develop. Everything let over would be traded for picks in 2026.

We're currently 1 short on the list. That can be either a main list or a rookie spot.

I would have delisted Rawlinson, but it wasn't my choice. If say Chesser or Long have average / poor seasons delisting Rawlinson potentially gives us a spot to give them 1 more year on the rookie list to try and make it. I'd rather that option than Rawlinson.

Brockman is going to need to show something as after Rawlinson, Sheed and Jamieson the next tier for Delistees imo is Brockman, Barnett and to a lesser extent Livingstone. (livingstone is safer as he is a cat B)

We won't lose much by desisting all of them.

So much dead wood still to cull.

Will take a list spot and we might be tight on spots as we cut very deep this year,
Would happily delist any of Sheed, Jamo, Brockman or Petch to accommodate him and he’s probably about even with Hunt. I think the swans will delist him anyway with their academy players this year so we could also give an undertaking to take him as a rookie.

Which of Uwland, Addinsall and Annable misses the top 10? Chamberlain also goes R1 I think meaning 22 R1 picks before free agency compo is included. Apart from the early/mid 20s the 2R picks will blow out massively after NGA bids, a lot of those kids are in the pick 20-40 range.
My pick is Uwland.

Sheed, Jamieson, Cripps, Petch, Rawlinson, either Bazzo, Brockman or Flynn can be paid out if don't improve or both as we need a proper ruck who is 205+ like L Reidy from Freo. If Chesser doesn't improve he would be in danger too, trade future pick like you say.
Brockman and Fynn's contract run out in 2026.
Delist a year early and you will have problems in 2026 as you will be short of spuds to delist.
We most probably needed to delist one less player this year and given a player a one year contact so we could delist next year.

View attachment 2177133

Unsure how accurate the above is... however...
1. Retire: Cripps, Sheed
2. Delist: Jameson, Rawlinson
3. Trade/FA out: Petch, Cole, Kelly(?)
4. Delist/trade if no improvement: Chesser, Brockman, Livingstone

For the record, Brockman is not out of contract in 2025. He was signed on a 3 year deal until 2026

However, Champion as a Cat B rookie will only be on a one year deal so will be out of contract in 2025

Footywire is a good resource but they get the odd contract length wrong

Petch won’t get delisted. He will have a 30 goal year, leave as free agent to Collingwood. We get band 2.

I also predict for Cole to have his rug pulled under him and departs as UFA to Collingwood because their coach wants players, not picks. Band 3.
We won't get nothing for Petch or Cole if Oscar leaves as a free agent.

In the unlikely event that Allen leaves as a FA it has no impact on any potential compensation for either Petch or Cole if they left as free agents

If we were to bring Starcevich in as a FA, then that’s another matter

Look I'm open to Rawlinson being a bust, the point I was making was more that we've seen **** all of him and as a general point it gets kind of ridiculous having people lobbying to delist players who've been at the club for 12 months in order to take a chance with some other deeply speculative pick. I say we are at a point where bringing in another 6 18 year olds is very dangerous if some of those over 30's get injured. Even if they are destined to be depth players we need mature bodies in the beagles.

Personally I just rate all of Reid, Williams and Shanahan as having higher ceilings than Oscar. I really want him to stick around and move back after this year. I don't think the club is forcing him out but it would be madness to sign him up on some 7 year big money deal. If he bleeds blue and gold then from whats been reported he has a 5 year offer on the table at what we think he's worth, he should take it. He's not the marquee player of this football club. If he wants to be that then that's fine, other clubs will probably throw big money at him but we can't be overpaying for him given the amount of talent we are looking to retain over the duration of that 7 year deal.
First, I don’t see any future for Rawlinson as an AFL level player or even perhaps WAFL. Don’t know why he was retained.

Second I can’t agree with you about Oscar. He has shown that he can play at a high level but has been curtailed by injury.
The other three you mention have not done this. Two, namely Reid and Shanahan have not played a game. Williams has shown promising signs but his games are more cameos. He hasn’t played one game where he was the dominant forward.
Don’t get me wrong I think he is a promising player more as a forward ruck but to put him in front of Oscar is flat out mind boggling. The other two have not played at all, Reid showed some exciting signs with the Beagles but he hasn’t played a single game yet and his brother has a very bad injury history. Shanahan sounds exciting but he hasn’t even played a WAFL game yet. I just can’t see how you can put these three unknowns, or one modest known in front of the highly proven known in Oscar.

I don’t get why so many are jumping off Oscar so quickly. We really like to eat our own. Virtually every other team in the competition would be prepared to throw mega bucks and years at him. Is this Clarke trying to make a mark again? Oscar is a very different case from both Barrass and Darling. The only fault with Oscar is that he’s got injured too much, and our club has shown itself to be quite incompetent in managing injury prone players. I would class him as the second best player at the club behind Harley Reid, and Reid only on promise not on what he has actually delivered.

that's why WC are pursuing Warner x 2, elite talent 1 and more mature bodies.
2025 there will be more significant turnover 6+ delisting's/retire/trade, last year of the big turnover, F/S & NGA is probably 2 instead of 3, WC will be in a very different place by then.
Allen is a great player but he has been injured so 5 years is the compromise, he will sign it, isn't going anywhere.
2025 and beyond is about bringing in more mature players either through FA or trade, apart from Warner, Starcevich RFA, Farrell RFA, McVee OOC(out of contract), Hobbs OOC, Reidy OOC etc.

In the unlikely event that Allen leaves as a FA it has no impact on any potential compensation for either Petch or Cole if they left as free agents

If we were to bring Starcevich in as a FA, then that’s another matter
Thanks for clarifying that. Makes getting Starcevich trickier. I think i am right in saying we could trade for Starcevich.
If Oscar re-signs then we get Starcevich for nothing if he wants to come home.
I suppose if Petch or Cole left as free agents it would give us compo picks.
I assume we would have too many picks in 2025 and not enough list spots so maybe we trade for some future picks in 2026.

Long has been mentioned on the periphery of delisting conversations in here too much for my liking. I know this is the drafting 2025 thread but the discussion around delistings is very premature given we haven't even started into the preseason yet but we have pages of arguments of blokes who should or shouldn't be delisted without an AFL game under the belt. Surely this is a discussion that holds no merit until at least half way through the season and we get a look on who has done what.
Back to Long though, I know he hasn't been on anyone's shitlist for delisting but he has been mentioned as needing a big season to avoid the axe a few times around here. I find it baffling, obviously he missed all of last year due to the knee but he showed some absolute brilliance in his first year with his vision, decision making and quick hands. I'd be very surprised if the guy doesn't play at least 150 quality games for us, injuries permitting.

Thanks for clarifying that. Makes getting Starcevich trickier. I think we could trade for Starcevich.
If Oscar re-signs then we get Starcevich for nothing if he wants to come home.
Starcevich probably costs us the hawks f1. Also a chance Brisbane demand one of our young KPFs

Archer Reid for Starcevich? I dont think theyd want Bailey Williams haha

Cam Mooney is having a right old sook about Chad catching up with Don. I don't recall him being so upset when Smitch was catching up with TB.

Interestingly enough, the story only got out because Hammer said something in passing on the podcast, and that podcast isn't really doing huge numbers in the off season. I also mentioned it in passing here and within a couple of days it was out and journos were discussing it. Point is I bet it happens all the time but just never gets broadcast into footy media.

One of Mooney's SEN co-hosts said it wouldn't be a bad move for Chad to sign for two more years, which takes him through to free agency. I could get behind that. Pick him up for nothing as a 25 year old, fill our boots with top talent for another couple seasons, then switch strategy when Tassie come in.

Cam Mooney is having a right old sook about Chad catching up with Don. I don't recall him being so upset when Smitch was catching up with TB.

Interestingly enough, the story only got out because Hammer said something in passing on the podcast, and that podcast isn't really doing huge numbers in the off season. I also mentioned it in passing here and within a couple of days it was out and journos were discussing it. Point is I bet it happens all the time but just never gets broadcast into footy media.

One of Mooney's SEN co-hosts said it wouldn't be a bad move for Chad to sign for two more years, which takes him through to free agency. I could get behind that. Pick him up for nothing as a 25 year old, fill our boots with top talent for another couple seasons, then switch strategy when Tassie come in.
I’d also be a fan of that. Unfortunately that means our top picks are available for Clarke to trade for middling talent so I’d rather we at least use it on someone worth it like the Chad.

List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition