List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2021 offseason edition

So the 2021 season is officially done and dusted.

It’s time now to fully turn our attention to the off season and what we can do through the trade period/draft to chase down Melbourne in 2022.

List and personnel changes have already been made and I’ll update this OP as and when any further changes are made.

As it stands these are our official list changes :

Out -
• Venables (R) - retired
• Vardy - retired
• Hutchings (R) - delisted
• Ah Chee (R) - delisted
• Ainsworth - delisted
• Johnson - delisted
• Collins (R) - delisted
• Brander - cluster****
• Cameron - retired/delisted not that it was officially acknowledged by the club
• Sheppard - retired

Inactive listed -
• Cole
• Chesser

In -
• Petrevski-Seton - traded for pick 52
• Chesser - Pick 14
• Hough - Pick 31
• Bazzo - Pick 37
• Williams (Jack) - Pick 57
• Clark - Pick 62
• Dixon - SSP
• Joyce - SSP
• Strnadica - SSP
• Naish - SSP

Players on main list - 37 (Including 2 inactive)
Players on rookie list - 7

Future trade picks :
In - Port Adelaide future 2nd
Out - Future 4th

Assistant Coaches :
• Out - Graham, Hickmott
• In - Schofield (Strategy and Stoppage), Knights (Midfield), Wiley (WAFL coach), Brennan (development)

Link to contract status of all players -

If we finish bottom then we can easily get Jackson in the pre season draft. Though i doubt the club would encourage that behaviour
Not really sure it should be leveraged that way by bottomed placed teams anyway. However, had Judd got to Carlton that way I think I'd be chomping at the bit for some well overdue revenge on the competition.

If we did go down that path, you can sure bet that'd be the end of the pre-season draft.

Looks like a man child. Will be a unit when he fills out after a couple of preseasons.

Our S&C will find a way to ruin him.

Not really sure it should be leveraged that way by bottomed placed teams anyway. However, had Judd got to Carlton that way I think I'd be chomping at the bit for some well overdue revenge on the competition.

If we did go down that path, you can sure bet that'd be the end of the pre-season draft.
Think Richmond finished bottom that year. Carlton got a PP which is why they had the number 1 pick. Do agree though it’s bad business if you actively try to rort another club.

Prior to 2008 you had to be de-listed to go in the national draft. Richmond had pick 1 in the PSD so Judd would've had to go in that draft which risked Carlton not picking him up.

If the contract rules were as they are now Judd would've had the ability to nominate for the ND or the PSD. Either way Carlton were adamant they wanted Judd and pick in the ND (Kruezer) so we probably would've ended up with a similar deal. It's best not to think about what could have been if Carlton parted with pick 1 and had Judd, Kennedy, Fevola and kept Sam Jacobs instead of drafting Kruezer and then chasing Rob Warnock.

Reckon we should trade our second rounder to Norf for pick 2 and our third rounder to, I dunno, Fold Coast for Pick 3.

Then send our 4th rounder to Brissie for Glassy's nephew, and our 5rh rounder to GWS for that bloke that's the flavour of the month.

fu** yeah this game is easy.
Don’t be ridiculous.

We need to throw in a future 4th as a sweetener.

I may absolutely be in the minority here, but i would be prepared to trade pick 1 for Luke Jackson

Why would you be in the minority with that take? That's unders.

There are factions of this board that would like us to take pick 1 to the draft and take the best midfielder in the country. And as well they should too, we need them, our midfield cupboard is bare for high end talent

Normally i would be in that camp too, but i rate Jackson so highly that personally, i would deal pick 1 for him without a second thought

Now in a perfect world we finish last and get him for free via the pre season draft, wouldn't that be something.......

One can only dream

I suspect the factions of this board could appreciate the generational talent Jackson is threatening to be and appreciate that adding him for the next decade would be a wise move while we look likely to spend a few years down the bottom.

It's not like we only get one good draft hand. We're rekt for a while, so we could grab mids with our two seconds and next year's picks.

In any case, it's pie in the sky stuff. Not happening.

Young kid in his second or third game in a team getting beaten, it’s to be expected, but saying he looked good from his AFL debut is, as I said, revisionism.
By that logic you could never say a player ‘looked good since they debuted’ unless they somehow avoid that one game where they get beaten, despite this being expected.

Only Judd would fit that criteria really

considering kennedy and hurn are retiring end of the season throw in shuey and maybe redden and that opens up a couple of picks.

in essence the club is quite well loaded on forwards and backs. if they can dedicate this draft purely for mids and rucks (with potential trade ins or mature aged drafts) our downfall may not be as long as currently anticipated.

going for jackson would be an approach with some risk but can see why people would go with it. Im also not entirely convinced that our current recruitment team are the best in what they do considering o'brien is technically a part timer.

I may absolutely be in the minority here, but i would be prepared to trade pick 1 for Luke Jackson
Not for me. The kid is a superstar and worth 2x top 10 picks.

BUT my issue is this: even if we could get him for fire sale price of a top 2 pick, I feel we need to rebuild around 2x top 5 midfielders, and maybe another top 10 midfielder or KPP.

Yeah and can always make a free agency play when he out of contract, if we still need a ruck by then.

Would be a grave mistake to miss out on top end midfielders for a bloke who's not going to help us much for the next few years.

Yeah and can always make a free agency play when he out of contract, if we still need a ruck by then.

Would be a grave mistake to miss out on top end midfielders for a bloke who's not going to help us much for the next few years.
You can pickup a ruckman that some other bunny club (oh, the irony) has spent 5 or 6 years developing for a ****teenth of f'all.

The vast majority of AFL players' form and ability depend on the team they are surround with. Put them into a bottom 4 team and they look like WAFL players, put them in a top 4 team and they look like A-graders (Lewis Jetta and Tim Kelly say Hi).

So you build your team around midfield prime movers, a couple of KPP forwards and the rest sorts itself out. A ruckman capable of standing up in a flag side will present himself. But a Dusty or Tracc or a Bont - you pretty much can only get them from top 5 picks.

I reckon value wise most teams would do that, but agree you are in the minority on whether we would or should this year.

No from me, as good as he is - he just won't have the same impact on our performance that an elite midfielder will. We know how to develop servicable rucks, and that will be good enough if we can't get a Jackson or English via FA.

Gun mid please ahead of another tall.

Agreed. I would take Luke in a heart beat but the opportunity cost of trading our high draft picks is far too high given the position fo our list.

unless we have two first round picks we are not allowed to trade away our first round pick .how are we going to get another first round pick.

Two realistic options if we did go down this very hypothetical route:

• Package up Port's second and our second for a pick in the 10-18 range... Would work for someone who needs points not picks for father son or academy players.
  • Could trade next year's first for a first this year also.

• Package up Port's second and our second for a pick in the 10-18 range... Would work for someone who needs points not picks for father son or academy players.
  • Could trade next year's first for a first this year also.
Like the idea of packaging Ports 2nd and our 2nd to get another 1st round pick.
Could snare the man child Hewet with the early pick and then go for the ruckman Broadbent.
Both home grown talent & have absolutely no faith in our back up ruckman to be competitive with the better big boys in the league

• Not quite the same thing but based on the current draft order, trading 24 (Port’s second) and 37 (our third) to Brisbane for 17 (their first) gives them about 250 extra points for an Ashcroft bid, and gives us a nice hand of 1, 17 and 19.

Yeah I did a back of the envelope for picks 19 and 24 and that is the equivalent of pick 7 (not that you'd get that as needs to be weighted towards the club who needs the points more than picks.

I think you'd find other clubs would offer more than a 250 premium. Best chance we have for that trade to work would be for Port to finish lower...