Craig says 6 - 7 players will go.... who will they be?

Some how PCORF, I don't think we will get Fevola for Jericho, just don't see it happening. Other than that like it, wouldn't mind seeing Fev in the Blue Red and Yellow.

To Mattner I tend to agree with those who say NC has wrecked him as a player. He was the best tackler in the league in 05, we hardly ever see those great chase's and tackles anymore, shame, put him back on the wing and give him a license to run.

As for those of you who think keep talking about this bloke called Edwards who apparently has brain fades and has 1 year left in him, not sure we have such a player on our list. We have a Tyson Edwards, #9, has about 20 runnerups in the B&F, possibly another this year, as well as probably the 3rd most brownlow votes for a Crows player, most consistent player in our squad. Now if you are talking about Tyson, you quite clearly have no idea about football and i don't know why I've even bothered joining this forum. Tyson has atleast 3 years left in him, possibly more, if our younger midfielders step up then maybe he could play 5 as a small forward. He is the most skilled and reliable player in our squad, cannot remember the last time he made a mistake, probably the 90's, only downfall is perhaps his set shots, but hey, wouldn't be the only one at the crows.

For some reason every time a player turns about thirty, everyone says they've only got a year or two left, regardless of fitness or form.

I remember hearing earlier this year that Goodwin said he would retire if the crows won the flag in '07 & if not he'd only go on one more year.

Some how PCORF, I don't think we will get Fevola for Jericho, just don't see it happening. Other than that like it, wouldn't mind seeing Fev in the Blue Red and Yellow.

To Mattner I tend to agree with those who say NC has wrecked him as a player. He was the best tackler in the league in 05, we hardly ever see those great chase's and tackles anymore, shame, put him back on the wing and give him a license to run.

As for those of you who think keep talking about this bloke called Edwards who apparently has brain fades and has 1 year left in him, not sure we have such a player on our list. We have a Tyson Edwards, #9, has about 20 runnerups in the B&F, possibly another this year, as well as probably the 3rd most brownlow votes for a Crows player, most consistent player in our squad. Now if you are talking about Tyson, you quite clearly have no idea about football and i don't know why I've even bothered joining this forum. Tyson has atleast 3 years left in him, possibly more, if our younger midfielders step up then maybe he could play 5 as a small forward. He is the most skilled and reliable player in our squad, cannot remember the last time he made a mistake, probably the 90's, only downfall is perhaps his set shots, but hey, wouldn't be the only one at the crows.

You can't be serious???? :eek: Edwards - yes TYSON Edwards, has been turning the ball over with regularity. He often either handballs to a player surrounded by opposition, or worse yet, directly to the opposition. He is still a very good player, but he's no longer the "under-rated" player everyone used to talk about. You clearly haven't watched many games this year.

He hasn't had his best year, but he's still had a good year.

Yeah, look, Ive said a few times, that he's still a very good player (although not as good as he has been). But I have found myself yelling at the screen (or footy field) more and more this year when these avoidable turnovers occur. He has made some shockers this year (not on his own there though)... and I find it hard to believe that someone in here believes he "can't remember the last time Edwards made a mistake". :rolleyes:

Tyson is still trying to play the way he did 5 years ago. He baulks and weaves opponents - but has been caught way too many times this year.

Still - he needs to play another year or 2 so that a changing of the midfield guard can take place.

There's no way he is at risk this year.

Yeah, look, Ive said a few times, that he's still a very good player (although not as good as he has been). But I have found myself yelling at the screen (or footy field) more and more this year when these avoidable turnovers occur. He has made some shockers this year (not on his own there though)... and I find it hard to believe that someone in here believes he "can't remember the last time Edwards made a mistake". :rolleyes:
Haven't seen a noticable drop-off from Edwards this year ....he has been very important and a good midfield contributor.

He has always had this penchant for getting caught holding the ball .........3-4 seasons ago it was a real problem for him ......not so much in recent seasons.

But he's not quick and tends to bulk, and do 360 turns to avoid opposition, so he does get caught a bit ....but it's no worse and does not signify an age thing.

Jenny, not arguing, but also keep in mind that our hand and foot skills have been down considerably on the last couple of years almost across the entire team.

I am talking more about his decision making I think. Whether the act of disposal is accurate or not, it's who he decides to pass it to that is the major problem - either someone under immense pressure or someone on the other team! I think I expect better from someone of his calibre. And I agree with you, our basic skill levels were atrocious in a lot of games this year.

i sort of agree with you - although he's still a decent player
IMO he is overrated now - hangs on to the ball too long/ gets caught too often/disposal not the best
i think he's got 1 year left possibly 2 at the most (in our best 22 line-up)

For some reason every time a player turns about thirty, everyone says they've only got a year or two left, regardless of fitness or form.

Because the majority of players enter the system as a 17/18 year old kid.

After 12 or 13 pre seasons and then 250+ games it starts to take a tole on your body and the probability exist that most players 30 or over will start breaking down.

It’s only the special ones like Craig Bradley who can go past their 35th birthday.

So what's the go with Luke Jericho? Is he a definite trade or is it just BigFooty speculation at this stage?

I know i'll be in the minority here but i hope he has another year on the Adelaide list. Plenty of others to be off-loaded first. Give him a decent run on Wing/HFF thru the pre-season and see what happens. A full season rotating thru those positions would net 30+ goals next year (and hopefully his opponent would kick less than that;))

TheLeftFist8 mate, I agree he has talent, but I think the year for that was this year and as soon as Jericho started to look good he was dropped and killed any confidence he may have gained. Could be a very good player, has numerous different X-factors, eg Height, speed, athleticism, good long kick etc, however he just hasn't had the opportunities and not sure he will get them next year. May still be held onto with Perrie, McGregor and Ricciuto leaving as this leaves us with very few tall options up forward. That said a change in scenery may be good for him.

Our whole team is crap. Yeah, lets trade away the players that have a slight weakness to the game. If you go by that theory no one will be playing AFL. Every body has a weakness, some are more pronounced than others. Edwards's positives FAR outweigh his negatives.

I still think Edwards is in our best 22 at present, but I don't think he should play in the midfield next year. Maybe a forward pocket or half back flank. I would really like a youngster to take Edwards spot in the midfield rotation. On the other hand I would like to see Goodwin continue in the midfield rotation and maybe give McLeod some midfield time next year (could do so much damage).

I would also like to see Edwards get less time in the midfield and finally that seems to be happening, Thomson, Reilly, Knights have stood up, van Berlo and Douglas would probably be next as well as Mackay looking like a star and maybe a Vince, Pfeiffer and Porplyzia also. However I would still rate Edwards in our top 3 midfielders with Goodwin and Thomson.

keep edwards in the middle move goody to half back

I wouldn't trade him for a minute! Clearly still in our best 22... but as someone else pointed out, the whole squad was down on skills this year, Edwards was no exception. Decision making and disposal are essential things to a good footy team. Our guys must get back to basics come pre-season and sharpen all these things up.

keep edwards in the middle move goody to half back

I think I've said somewhere in this wide abyss that is BF that I reckon you should move both edwards and goody back and let the younger blokes loose in the middle. If Edwards and Goodwin play back, you can release both McLeod and Stiffy into the forward flanks with perhaps the odd burst on the ball. That could solve our missing crumber problem we've had in the forward structure, and give the young blokes valuable on ball experience.

This happened many a time this year Jenny. Edwards and Goodwin were 'rested' up forward at stages - sometimes with good effect, sometimes not. Goodwin was also used off the half back line / wing at centre bounces while our 'younger' players like Thompson, Reilly, Knights and van Berlo were set loose in the midfield. Other times Knights and VB would line up on the wing while the 'A' Team were in the middle.

It is partly the reason why I think Mattner and Burton were not back on the wings like many were hoping. Burton due to injuries this year and Mattner because we were using the wings as an extended midfield rotation on the ground so that our younger midfielders could get a decent amount of game time on the ground.

I think what Jenny wants to see is Edwards and Goodwin play back as opposed to being rested forward so Stiffy and Bunji can be released forward or into the midfield.
If our game plan stays the same then I personally wouldn't like to see this. McLeod and Johncock are our 2 most creative players and since our game plan is based on rebound and creativity out of defence, than I wouldn't be moving those 2 boys any time soon. Sure, pinch hit them at other positions to give you a "spark" when you need it but keep them in defence.

I think you could mount a case for say moving McLeod forward and Goodwin to HB to pair him woth Johncock, but you still lose a bit of that creativity and pace off the HBF which is what our game is based on.

I think people want to move Johncock and McLeod into the forward line to give us much needed boost but don't realise that we would be robbing Peter to pay Paul to some degree. Johncock and McLeod are major players in getting the ball into the forward line either directly or indirectly as our attack starts with them. Move that away and it might affect your ability to get it inside 50 often enough!

If our game plan stays the same then I personally wouldn't like to see this. McLeod and Johncock are our 2 most creative players and since our game plan is based on rebound and creativity out of defence, than I wouldn't be moving those 2 boys any time soon. Sure, pinch hit them at other positions to give you a "spark" when you need it but keep them in defence.

I think you could mount a case for say moving McLeod forward and Goodwin to HB to pair him woth Johncock, but you still lose a bit of that creativity and pace off the HBF which is what our game is based on.

I think people want to move Johncock and McLeod into the forward line to give us much needed boost but don't realise that we would be robbing Peter to pay Paul to some degree. Johncock and McLeod are major players in getting the ball into the forward line either directly or indirectly as our attack starts with them. Move that away and it might affect your ability to get it inside 50 often enough!

Yeah that is very true, but for me that is whats disappointing about this year and our game plan. That our two most creative and potentially damaging players play in that half of the field. If they were freed of these defensive responsibilities and moved further up the field I think our brand of football would be much more exciting and pleasing to the eye. But yes I understand they are a vital part our backline and a huge part of what makes it great. I would be happy to try Edwards there, even if that means we leak more goals to play a more exciting brand of football. Like i said befor I would prefer Goodwin in the middle

You don't think Goody and Edwards could provide that creativity and move the ball forward? I mean you could well be right, but I think McLeod is wasted back there when he could be sharking goals all over the place whilst up forward!

I don't think they can provide it to the extent that McLeod and Johncock do. Neither Goodwin nor Edwards have that evasive ability and pace that allow the likes od McLeod and Johncock to get out of tricky situations and move the ball out of our backline!

Goodwin and Edwards are more of a straight running type players where as McLeod and Johncock have better evasive ability and can take and break better in those situations. I could well be wrong but its the way I see it.

Craig says 6 - 7 players will go.... who will they be?