Draft Expert Davo-27's 2022 u18 Draft Thread

Brisband A V GWS A (fairly poor game between these 2 Academies with a few standouts)

Jaspa Fletcher got involved in a couple pieces of play early, winning a tough ball handing it off then getting it again a few seconds later to snap the first goal of the game, good to see him get a tough ball then get up for a play soon after, played a little more contested footy as he doesnt get fed a lot, Brisbane Academy dont play the greatest footy.

Madden looks like a decent player for GWS A as well, ended up with 2 goals and a bunch of contested marks

Manly for Brisbane has also had a good game, clean disposal so far, just a strong inside mid.

Summers kicking a couple including the match winning goal on the siren for GWS A

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sydney A V GCS A (a much better skilled game, some good talent here for both sides)

there were 4 standouts for me in this game

Syd:
Luke Giacometti - had a fantastic game in midfield, looks a talent
William Edwards - KPD, tall athletic defender

GCS:
Jed Foggo - tallish mid/flanker, has been really good in 2 pre-season games for Gold Coast
Finn Brown - strong inside mid, was probably GCS's best on ground

mentions: Wiliem Smit, James Tildeman, Jordan Edmend, Toby Alker, Caleb May(Athletic Ruck), Liam Puncher (Sydney) --- Ned Stevens, Riley Stone (Gold Coast)

Do you think Liam Puncher is just a Liam who is a puncher, or he punches Liams?

So far watching the Northern Academies in the pre-season, i have been impressed by a few that could potentially be in draft calculations depending on their season, theres 2 Academies that are struggling and they are GWS and Brisbane, GWS has one that seems like he could be a player in Madden the ruck who looks like a potential late/rookie pick and Fletcher for Bris looks more mid draft potential maybe 2nd round?, both play in below par teams atm.

Sydney and Gold Coast seem more stacked with talent, as far as players who look draftable at this stage, i would say Luke Giacometti from Sydney looks really good(i would say 2nd round potentially, maybe higher depending on his draft year, has serious talent), Angus Anderson also played well but is an over ager and they generally get judged more harshly so im less sure on his draft potential, William Edwards looked a good tall defender prospect as well (i would like to see more but he also looks really good, maybe mid draft?) Caleb May looks like he might also be draftable as an athletic ruck, they might get him as a late/rookie pick?, Gold Coast have a few 19 year olds who play well for them, but i have liked the look of Jed Foggo, he seems a strong tallish mid/flanker and is very competitive and could be a mid draft option, Finn Brown has also shown some ability in the midfield for GCS but he would be more a late pick from my PoV, but their seasons and champs will have more of a say on if they get drafted or not, i also liked the look of Levi Fyfe who has yet to play a game this pre-season, i hope to see how he goes in next weekends games if he plays.

So far watching the Northern Academies in the pre-season, i have been impressed by a few that could potentially be in draft calculations depending on their season, theres 2 Academies that are struggling and they are GWS and Brisbane, GWS has one that seems like he could be a player in Madden the ruck who looks like a potential late/rookie pick and Fletcher for Bris looks more mid draft potential maybe 2nd round?, both play in below par teams atm.

Sydney and Gold Coast seem more stacked with talent, as far as players who look draftable at this stage, i would say Luke Giacometti from Sydney looks really good(i would say 2nd round potentially, maybe higher depending on his draft year, has serious talent), Angus Anderson also played well but is an over ager and they generally get judged more harshly so im less sure on his draft potential, William Edwards looked a good tall defender prospect as well (i would like to see more but he also looks really good, maybe mid draft?) Caleb May looks like he might also be draftable as an athletic ruck, they might get him as a late/rookie pick?, Gold Coast have a few 19 year olds who play well for them, but i have liked the look of Jed Foggo, he seems a strong tallish mid/flanker and is very competitive and could be a mid draft option, Finn Brown has also shown some ability in the midfield for GCS but he would be more a late pick from my PoV, but their seasons and champs will have more of a say on if they get drafted or not, i also liked the look of Levi Fyfe who has yet to play a game this pre-season, i hope to see how he goes in next weekends games if he plays.
There’s been some discussion about how poor our academy is, on our board over the last couple of years.

General belief is that our academy is poorly run, and given very little attention by the club.

May as well leave the kids at their QAFL clubs, and just give us zone priority access to Brisbane, Sunshine Coast and Toowoomba kids.

Gold Coast appears to have put a lot of investment in their academy and building strong ties with the schools in their zone. Quite a number of GC state schools have their own AFL academies, where as I couldn’t name a Brisbane school that has a proper academy where AFL is the number one school sport.

i forgot to add Jed Walter from GCS A he looks like a good KPF prospect, seems good athletically and could go 1st/2nd round in 2023 potentially, depending on improvement.

i thought i would do an early season top 10 for each Championship Team from my PoV

VM: Wardlaw, Ashcroft, Tsatas, Sheezel, Drury, Jefferson, Teal, Windsor, Al Davey Jnr, Payne
VC: Clark, Hollands, Schuback, Northam, Konstanty, Long, Szybkowski, George, Cadman, Howe
WA: Hewett, Hagan, Broadbent, Gilbey, Bevan, Busslinger, Cleaver, Allan, Michael, D.Jones
SA: Lemmey, D'Aloia, Keeler, K.Ryan, Michaelanny, Magor, Tuck, Barnett, Saddler, Phillipou
Allies: Campbell, Giacometti(syd), Munkara, Cowan, Fletcher(bris), Fyfe(gc), Foggo(gc), Madden(gws), F.Brown(gc), Anderson(19/syd)

Watched Eastern v Western on weekend,

I see you have Windsor and Payne in you top 10 pov for Metro.

Windsor wasn’t massive for Eastern but was solid through the midfield. With Watson being the main man for Eastern on the day slotting 5 or 6, and making it look easy whilst doing it.

Payne was extremely strong in the forward line for Western kicking 4 or 5, and creating plenty of chances with his run and carry.

Watched Eastern v Western on weekend,

I see you have Windsor and Payne in you top 10 pov for Metro.

Windsor wasn’t massive for Eastern but was solid through the midfield. With Watson being the main man for Eastern on the day slotting 5 or 6, and making it look easy whilst doing it.

Payne was extremely strong in the forward line for Western kicking 4 or 5, and creating plenty of chances with his run and carry.
Nick Watson(underager) is one of my top prospects for 2023 he was amazing in the u17 champs, he is a bit short so might not be top 5 or so?(last i saw he was 168cm), but he has a great ability to influence the midfield and score sheet as a small forward, Windsor and Payne are probably more mid draft which is 2nd or 3rd round types at this stage, but the draft years and champs usually allows more information on how they deal with pressure ect so they could rise or fall in peoples rankings throughout the year, so we'll see how they go?

P.S. thanks for mentioning Nick Watson as i had deleted the 2023 list i was working on in this thread and i just added it to the OP.

Davo-27.

Anyone tickling your 2024 fancy?
no not yet, i wait until their underage years usually, i tend to go into watching these players without any information so i dont have a bias before i see them play, so when i like them i usually put it in my threads, i think it was only 2020 and prior to 2021 i looked up if they were in rep teams or in certain squads ect because of the cancelled 2020 season.

i dont like judging 15 year olds as much, because its harder to get vision or see them play and if you do get to see the games because none of them are physically big enough to pressure each other it just becomes a chase the footy around the ground game of footy and that makes it harder to get an accurate judge of talent, so the juice isnt worth the squeeze from my PoV.

Nick Watson(underager) is one of my top prospects for 2023 he was amazing in the u17 champs, he is a bit short so might not be top 5 or so?(last i saw he was 168cm), but he has a great ability to influence the midfield and score sheet as a small forward, Windsor and Payne are probably more mid draft which is 2nd or 3rd round types at this stage, but the draft years and champs usually allows more information on how they deal with pressure ect so they could rise or fall in peoples rankings throughout the year, so we'll see how they go?

P.S. thanks for mentioning Nick Watson as i had deleted the 2023 list i was working on in this thread and i just added it to the OP.
What you will find with the 2023 crop is that most of the Vic boys have not been seen yet Due to COVID. Not all NAB teams played bottom angers when the carnival changed to u17s so they are a bit of an unknown at the moment. I agree Watson is short, however, he is still easily a top 10 pick. A few of the 2023 cohort played in the practice games on the weekend and I’m sure we will see some play round 1 this weekend.

i know short players get ranked harshly, i was a fan of Errol Gulden and thought he was better than his Academy team mate Braeden Campbell, but i was convinced by others that he might be too short and so rated lower than he should be, i have since decided not to listen to others from last year onwards, i'm more interested in putting out a unique list.

as you say we will be exposed to most of the 2023 talent this year as well as seeing how the current draft crop goes this year.

i was saying Gulden was a top 10 pick and everyone was saying he was too short at 174cm at the time i think?, i wish i had stuck with my rating now, i was even saying i preferred him to Braeden Campbell all year and everyone disagreed, but anyways i digress.
It’s where ratings and draft order should be taken a bit differently, no club was ever going to take Gulden top 10 and there was previous data to suggest this put to ‘rate’ him in a personal top 10 shouldn’t come under much scrutiny. Hopefully Watson can buck the trend and get taken top 10 next year because he is certainly in the mix for me at the moment. He hasn’t grown at all so anyone expecting him to grow a bit more will be disappointed but it shouldn’t matter.

i edited the post as it was a bit unfair, but i agree a 5'6 footballer wont go too early.

I agree. I think Watson will buck the trend, but there is a lot of footy to be played between now and the 2023 draft. I generally use a few NAB clubs as a decent guide on who the draftables are coming thru. Sandy, Chargers, Gippsland normally play their bottom agers that have had early AFL interest.

Jason Gilbee (GWS A) looking good for Bendigo #9 tallish skinny mid, involved in a few contests and looks to be a good prospect.

#4 Harley Reid also impressive, playing great (Bendigo)

#5 Aaron Cadman looks taller and is playing forward? (GWV)

#10 Bode Stevens took a good hanger (Bendigo)

#4 Myles McCluggage looked ok in bursts (GWV)

#17 i liked the look of Oskar Faulkhead so far for (Bendigo)

#7 Hugh Bond works hard for (GWV)

Brody Pope #45 good pressure forward game (GWV)

#37 Brady Wright another looking decent, kicking the winning goal (GWV)

btw this years crop looks really good in general, im loving this game and GWV take the win by 1 point

Jaxon Binns had a good game for Dandenong as well.

1st goal to George Wardlaw from 50m out

im liking the look of Drury, O'Sullivan, Elliot, A.Davey, Tsatas, Wardlaw, Angus Curry and Josh Weddie for Oakleigh (yet to see much of Jefferson and looking for Lawrence)

and for Sandy who are a lot less powerful this year Ashcroft, Sanders, Charlie Clarke and Archie Roberts i have liked (have not seen as much of Sheezel and MacKenzie) Benton has been good too i believe he is from last year as well

i'll be Honest, George Wardlaw is firming for #1 pick after another dominant powerful running performance (at least to halftime)

i like this #18 for Oakleigh, but i dont have his name.

im liking the look of Drury, O'Sullivan, Elliot, A.Davey, Tsatas, Wardlaw, Angus Curry and Josh Weddie for Oakleigh (yet to see much of Jefferson and looking for Lawrence)

and for Sandy who are a lot less powerful this year Ashcroft, Sanders and Archie Roberts i have liked (have not seen as much of Sheezel and MacKenzie)

i'll be Honest, George Wardlaw is firming for #1 pick after another dominant powerful running performance

18 is Jed Rule, back as a 19 year old.

Jason Gilbee (GWS A) looking good for Bendigo #9 tallish skinny mid, involved in a few contests and looks to be a good prospect.

#4 Harley Reid also impressive, playing great (Bendigo)

#5 Aaron Cadman looks taller and is playing forward? (GWV)

#10 Bode Stevens took a good hanger (Bendigo)

#4 Myles McCluggage looked ok in bursts (GWV)

#17 i liked the look of Oskar Faulkhead so far for (Bendigo)

#7 Hugh Bond works hard for (GWV)

Brody Pope #45 good pressure forward game (GWV)

#37 Brady Wright another looking decent, kicking the winning goal (GWV)

btw this years crop looks really good in general, im loving this game and GWV take the win by 1 point

Jaxon Binns had a good game for Dandenong as well.
Gwv didnt win by 1 point
were you even at the game?

I

and for Sandy who are a lot less powerful this year Ashcroft, Sanders, Charlie Clarke and Archie Roberts i have liked (have not seen as much of Sheezel and MacKenzie) Benton has been good too i believe he is from last year as well

i'll be Honest, George Wardlaw is firming for #1 pick after another dominant powerful running performance (at least to halftime)

IMO Tsatsis was BOG. Wardlaw gets a lot of the ball but he refuses to handball to bring his teammates into the game. Tsatsis is very patient and shows a lot of poise. Drury was good with 3 or 4 snags. Weddle also had a lot of the ball.
Ashcroft and Sheezel were good. Sheezel to a nice contested mark to show off one of his tricks. Ashcroft is a workhorse on the inside. I like the way he goes about it.
Bottom agers for Oakleigh were good. Philactides and Badr were solid down back. Both playing HB. Philactides took a couple of nice contested grabs.
Sandringham - Brown and Roberts were their best 17 yr olds. Roberts showed some confidence down back. Brown did some nice things in the midfield.
I can’t see Oakleigh losingtoo many games this year.