Draft Expert Davo-27's 2022 u18 Draft Thread

i mustve only watched to 3/4 time where it was 54-53 and then switched to Dandenong v Eastern and no i wasnt at the game.
Cool
i enjoy your posts but I reckon you have to be careful about being factually correctwhen commenting on games

I

IMO Tsatsis was BOG. Wardlaw gets a lot of the ball but he refuses to handball to bring his teammates into the game. Tsatsis is very patient and shows a lot of poise. Drury was good with 3 or 4 snags. Weddle also had a lot of the ball.
Ashcroft and Sheezel were good. Sheezel to a nice contested mark to show off one of his tricks. Ashcroft is a workhorse on the inside. I like the way he goes about it.
Bottom agers for Oakleigh were good. Philactides and Badr were solid down back. Both playing HB. Philactides took a couple of nice contested grabs.
Sandringham - Brown and Roberts were their best 17 yr olds. Roberts showed some confidence down back. Brown did some nice things in the midfield.
I can’t see Oakleigh losingtoo many games this year.
they will lose their fair share of games especially when school footy kicks in

Was at the double header out in Craigieburn yesterday.

It was Brisbane lions academy v Western Jets to start the day, had heard fletcher had been training with Brisbane over preseason so was keen to watch him and also watched Matthew payne play last week and was keen to see what he could do again this week, apart from that I went in pretty blind and this is what I got.

Jets

#28 Massimo D’ambrisio, A 2003 born player who was a rock in defense for the jets, has a very nice kick on him and was able to break the game open at multiple times during the game

#6 Matthew Payne Didn’t have the impact I saw last week but at times seemed to be targeted by Brisbane defense, kicked an impressive opening goal of game for jets and showed his speed and power is a real weapon of his.

Brisbane

#18 Jaspa fletcher in my opinion was best on with his run and carry and ability to hit scoreboard with 2 very impressive long range goals, his willingness to try open up the game at every chance he got was a real stand out.

#32 Liam hude ended the day with 3 goals, liked his craft and positioning around the ground.

Geelong falcons v Gold Coast academy

Only got to see first half as weather deteriorated.

Geelong Falcons

#9 Ted Clohesy was extremely impressive, his ability to win his own ball and his tackling pressure (believe he finished with 14 tackles?) hadn’t heard much about him before yesterday when I watched him but he is definitely one to watch.

#53 Oliver Northam was the dominant Ruckman and managed to win some of his own ball, his Rick craft very impressive.

Gold Coast

#29 Jed foggo was a weapon for GC, like clohesy was willing to lay a tackle and also kicking a goal late in the first quarter.

#24 Riley stone played a solid first half kicking a goal and being active and clean with his possessions.

Replay of Games on the NAB League App, which is fantastic, i'll write up some of my thoughts on the games and mention a few that catch the eye, off the top of my head Josh Weddle (Oak) is one that caught my eye, tallish flanker type who seems to be high endurance(a weird comparison would be a shorter Blicavs - i dont have the stats but he looks like he is in the 190'scm? at a guess) during game and at Combine pre-season testing, good mark, smart user of the ball, so for a player i had not seen before he impressed me and he would be in Vic Metro contention i think if thats his regular quality of footy?

Weddle is around the 190-192 mark, will be playing with Carey Grammar when APS starts so I wouldn’t expect him to play much NAB League. Would say he is a strong chance to play Metro trials at least.

re-watched the Sandringham v Oakleigh game, it seems obvious Oakleigh are stronger than Sandringham this year, their depth of high end talent is about double that of Sandringham it seems, i took notes on who was involved in good plays to get an idea of who had the biggest influence on the game and here are my results(the reason i do this is because some 15 disposal games are more impactful than 40 disposal games and this clears it up for me)

#5 Oakleigh - George Wardlaw - (19pts) - just a strong display in the guts, good burst from the centre square bounces and general contests, good tackling as well, kicked a 50m goal and paired up well with Tsatas and Weddle superbly in the 2nd half
#1 Oakleigh - Elijah Tsatas - (14pts) - he was a bit sloppy with disposal, but ran hard all game and got plenty of it, got to use his speed only a couple of times, had 1 really good burst away from the centre
#43 Oakleigh - Josh Weddle - (12pts) - played on a flank and looked good early, then in the 2nd quarter manned up on Sheezel and kept him quiet, then in 2nd half moved back to a flank and had moments where he linked up with Tsatas and Wardlaw
#2 Sandringham - Charlie Clarke - (11pts) - small compact midfielder who was fairly effective and Sandringham's best in the midfield
#2 Oakleigh - Blake Drury - (10pts) - played mostly small forward and kicked 3 goals and a few misses, think Bowey type
#18 Oakleigh - Jed Rule - (10pts) 19 yr old - strong intercept KPD
#5 Sandringham - Lachlan Benton - (9pts) 19 yr old - solid midfielder
#29 Sandringham - Max Ramsden - (9pts) - athletic raw ruck with some good skill, exciting raw prospect
#3 Sandringham - Will Ashcroft - (8pts) - not his best game early, but got back into the game in the 2nd half, there werent as many big bodies in the midfield as Oakleigh had and so Ashcroft had to deal with a tag, got tackled nearly everytime he went near it or went head to head with Wardlaw and he just beat Will, so didnt have the space to really take advantage of his quality skills.
#16 Sandringham - Harry Sheezel - (8pts) - spent some time in the middle and up forward, kicked a goal late and couldve had 2, a few nice marks and moves well in general play

mentions: #21 Oak - Gruzewski(7pts), #7 Oak - Curry(7pts), #3 Oak - O'Sullivan(7pts), #12 Oak - McLarty(7pts)

F/S watch - Lawrence (6pts) 2 goals, A.Davey (5pts) 1 goal.

Alwyn Davey didnt have a big influence, but he moves like Kysiah Pickett, very nimble, Lawrence also didnt have a huge influence but seems like a Schoenmakers type where he could be a decent fringe tall.

just finished watching Murray V Gippsland, another game where there seems to be a depth differential, Gippsland having more high end players than Murray overall, i took some notes and scored them on effective plays, heres my results:

#5 Gippsland - Bailey Humphrey - (14pts) - the standout player in this game, he looks a good prospect, apparently had a hip injury last year which affected his Vic Country selection, started the year off with a bang, kicking a couple of goals as well
#15 Gippsland - Coby Burgiel - (11pts) - another midfielder who had a solid game, worked hard and was rewarded with a goal late
#16 Murray - Max Clohesy - (10pts) - he looks like a rock solid player in Murrays defence, is a good prospect to keep an eye out for in the future, has draft potential
#2 Murray - Brayden George - (8pts) - burst impact medium forward, a bit of JDG about his game, kicked 5 goals and used his body well in the contest
#24 Gippsland - Koby Grass - (7pts) - played most of the game in defence but also had a good run in the middle later in the game, looks a likely prospect as well
#6 Gippsland - Mitchel Moschetti - (7pts) - played well in the midfield and partnered well with Humprey in the guts

mentions: Longmire(Murray), Atkinson(Murray), Hollands(Murray), Konstanty(Gipps), Schuback(Gipps), Vickery(Gipps), Duursma(Gipps), Howe(Gipps), Garnham(Gipps), Rathjen(Gipps), Galvin(Gipps)

just re-watched Dandenong V Eastern, scored them on effective plays

#2 Dand - Mitch Szybkowski - (12pts) - was a big body in the middle, played well for 4 quarters, sharp handballs and good long kicking
#4 Dand - Jaxon Binns - (12pts) - was a danger forward and played well in the midfield at times, good long kicks to advantage, kicked a goal
#16 Dand - Henry Hustwaite - (11pts) - was surprisingly good in the midfield/flank, his older brother is making a name for himself at Coll VFL
#44 Dand - Jai Culley - (10pts) - found a lot of space and was the link man for a lot of play, kicked the ball well and got 3 goals
#19 Dand - Nick Collier - (10pts) - strongly build quick midfielder who showed some ability to win the ball and use it well
#15 East - Zachary Greeves - (9pts) - Easterns best player in the midfield, won a bunch of clearances, needed more help in there
#5 East - Nick Watson - (8pts) - the underager got belted at every opportunity by his opponents and never backed down, kicked 4 goals and had a few good moments late in the midfield

mention: Davies(Dand), Moodie(Dand), Jakstas(Dand), Campbell-Farrell(Dand), Hayes(East), C.Windsor(East), Smith(East)

just re-watched Bendigo V GWV, scored them on effective plays, high pressure game, less free flowing, but a good battle between 2 tough handball happy teams.

#5 GWV - Aaron Cadman - (10pts) - kicked 4 goals, played as a very flexible KPF, took on his opponents which probably cost him a couple more goals, was a great defender last year and is adding exciting forward craft to his repertoire
#9 Bendigo - Jason Gilbee - (10pts) - good height and running ability, kicked a couple of goals and played well in midfield and forward
#37 GWV - Brady Wright - (8pts) - was a danger forward and kicked some nice opportunistic goals and good strong marks, kicked 4 goals as well
#17 Bendigo - Oskar Faulkhead - (8pts) - provided a lot of run and was involved in a lot of contested footy in the midfield
#34 GWV - Beau Tedcastle - (8pts) - endurance machine, was so good in the last quarter he jumped into the top group of players on the ground, when most others were struggling, he powered on
#21 Bendigo - Ben Cameron - (8pts) - just tried all game and got the ball moving for Bendigo at times, kept popping up throughtout the game
#4 Bendigo - Harley Reid - (8pts) - had an almost game, also team mates would let him down at times, where he would do something brilliant and his team mate would just drop the ball and because this game was high pressure it ruined the plays he was trying to set up, also was a bit greedy with attempts at goal, but a good performance none-the-less

mentions: Barnett(Bendigo), Anderson(Bendigo), McCluggage(GWV), Bond(GWV), Pope(GWV), Van Es(GWV), Ballantyne(GWV), McKercher(GWV/Dylan Moore type), Sinnott(GWV), Gawith(GWV)

North V Syd

#11 North - Jonathan Tomasiello (10pts) - linking up through the midfield, if i had to pick a best on ground he might pip out a few others
#2 North - Nate Caddy (10pts) - kicked 4 goals and had a couple of other good attempts, for an underager he is very tall strong and skillful as a forward
#8 North - Patrick Dozzi (10pts) - some clean disposal and generally good midfield craft from the 19 year old
#9 Syd - Luke Giacometti (10pts) - had some good moments for Syd getting into good positions and setting up some good attacks for Syd
#36 North - Joshua Hamilton (9pts) - ran hard through the midfield, especially effective late, seems to have good endurance
#1 North - Darcy Edmends (8pts) - clean skills, another good midfielder for Northern who had vic metro experience last year
#7 North - Ben Ham (8pts) - half forw/mid another player who had a good game against a weaker Sydney team

mentions: C.Harvey(North), Chubb(North), McKenzie(North), Naish(North), Rogers(Syd), Gander(Syd), Kirk(Syd), Edwards(Syd), Robertson(Syd)

I don't think I have seen shitter coverage of the NAB league on line (paper / articles) than this year.

Just trying to get team lists is proving a mission and lets not get started with the results page that you've got to jump through hoops of fire to find.

Any links to the Cannons team list (including numbers of players) please mate?

I don't think I have seen shitter coverage of the NAB league on line (paper / articles) than this year.

Just trying to get team lists is proving a mission and lets not get started with the results page that you've got to jump through hoops of fire to find.

Any links to the Cannons team list (including numbers of players) please mate?

im using this site atm but it also has missing names/numbers.

Correct use the playhq site for names, numbers and teams.

Geelong V Gold Coast - round 1

#9 Geel - Ted Clohesy (13pts)- i think he received 6 free kicks which was insane, played really well otherwise and got a lot of contested poss on the inside
#53 Geel - Olivier Northam (12pts)- really impressive performance as ruck/kpf, flexible and athletic, should go high in the draft, i think he could go top 10
#6 GCS - Jake Rogers (10pts)- had a great game for Gold Coast, really stepped up and linked up well through the middle and won a few 1v1's
#16 Geel - ???? (7pts)- played a good role as a medium forward, kicked 2 goals, 1 from outside 50

mentions: Clark(Geel), Hollard(Geel), Nelson(Geel), Murdoch(Geel), Murray(Geel), F.Brown(GCS), Walter(GCS), Corbett(GCS), Stone(GCS), Lake(GCS)

as soon as i am done with round 1(2 more games) and seeing some more of round 2 i will put up my first list of the year for this draft group (maybe Sunday/Monday), finally updating the list from last year, there will be a bunch of changes and new names, especially from Victoria.

i'm waiting for the afl site to update the club lists and information, because im sure i'll put a 2023 draftee in this years list or something.

round 2 Cald v Sand

Ashcroft had a dominant game, finally getting free, his disposals werent as high a level as i expected from him after seeing his u17 champs games, but he got high pts from impact in this game, Ramsden also had a good game and is shaping as a top pick in the MSD as articles have pointed out, Sheezel had a good game also and i think Clarke is an underager? not sure, but he is having a great year for Sandringham, Roberts did well also, but he is very slightly framed, Pascu had a good game for Calder.

round 2 Cald v Sand

Ashcroft had a dominant game, finally getting free, his disposals werent as high a level as i expected from him after seeing his u17 champs games, but he got high pts from impact in this game, Ramsden also had a good game and is shaping as a top pick in the MSD as articles have pointed out, Sheezel had a good game also and i think Clarke is an underager? not sure, but he is having a great year for Sandringham, Roberts did well also, but he is very slightly framed, Pascu had a good game for Calder.
Charke is for this year, actually got to play one or two games last year around the Metro v country game/ trials. What'd you think of Rye Penny?

1st version of the 2022 draft list this year, it is still a work in progress, but i thought i would put something out so that people can see where my mind is at with who i think has put in the best performances so far and who i think has the best chances to get drafted and who is stepping up to the pressures of their draft year best from my PoV, im sure this list will change, but at this early stage this is where i am at.

Early Top 40

1. George Wardlaw - Oakleigh
2. Elijah Hewett - Swan Dist
3. Elijah Tsatas - Oakleigh
4. Harry Lemmey - West Adel
5. Will Ashcroft - Sand
6. Adam D'Aloia - WWT
7. Olivier Northam - Geel
8. Aaron Cadman - GWV
9. Anthony Munkara - NT/West Adel (Ess NGA)
10. Matthew Jefferson - Oakleigh
11. Jhye Clark - Geel
12. Jackson Broadbent - Peel
13. Harry Sheezel - Sand
14. Isaac Keeler - Nth Adel (Adel NGA)
15. Lachlan Cowan - Tas
16. Oliver Hollands - Murr
17. Kobe Ryan - West Adel
18. Kane Bevan - West Perth
19. Jedd Busslinger - East Perth
20. Ted Clohesy - Geel
21. Blake Drury - Oakleigh
22. Bailey Humphrey - Gipps
23. Charlie Clarke - Sand
24. Max Clohesy - Murr
25. Jed Hagan - East Frem
26. Max Michaelanny - Norw (Adel F/S)
27. Sam Gilbey - Clare
28. Josh Weddle - Oakleigh
29. Braden George - Murr
30. Seth Campbell - Tas
31. Paul Pascu - Cald
32. Luke Teal - Oakleigh
33. Jaspa Fletcher - Bris A (Bris A + F/S)
34. Mitch Szybkowski - Dand
35. Jaxon Binns - Dand
36. Brady Wright - GWV
37. Matthaes Phillipou - WWT
38. Jonti Schuback - Gipps
39. Henry Hustwaite - Dand
40. Noah Long - Bend

mentions: Luke Giacometti(Syd A), Matthew Payne(Western), James Van Es(GWV), Nick McLarty(Oak), Harvey Howe(Gipps), Harry Barnett(West Adel) Tom Scully(West Adel), Nick Sadler(Sturt), Ed Allan(Clare), Darcy Jones(Swan D)

Max Ramsden (Sand) best 19 year old ruck imo.

1st version of the 2022 draft list this year, it is still a work in progress, but i thought i would put something out so that people can see where my mind is at with who i think has put in the best performances so far and who i think has the best chances to get drafted and who is stepping up to the pressures of their draft year best from my PoV, im sure this list will change, but at this early stage this is where i am at.

1. George Wardlaw - Oakleigh
2. Elijah Hewett - Swan Dist
3. Elijah Tsatas - Oakleigh
4. Harry Lemmey - West Adel
5. Will Ashcroft - Sand
6. Adam D'Aloia - WWT
7. Olivier Northam - Geel
8. Aaron Cadman - GWV
9. Anthony Munkara - NT/West Adel
10. Matthew Jefferson - Oakleigh
11. Jhye Clark - Geel
12. Jackson Broadbent - Peel
13. Harry Sheezel - Sand
14. Isaac Keeler - Nth Adel
15. Lachlan Cowan - Tas
16. Oliver Hollands - Murr
17. Kobe Ryan - West Adel
18. Kane Bevan - West Perth
19. Jedd Busslinger - East Perth
20. Ted Clohesy - Geel
21. Blake Drury - Oakleigh
22. Bailey Humphrey - Gipps
23. Charlie Clarke - Sand
24. Max Clohesy - Murr
25. Jed Hagan - East Frem
26. Max Michaelanny - Norw
27. Sam Gilbey - Clare
28. Josh Weddle - Oakleigh
29. Braden George - Murr
30. Seth Campbell - Tas
31. Paul Pascu - Cald
32. Luke Teal - Oakleigh
33. Jaspa Fletcher - Bris A
34. Mitch Szybkowski - Dand
35. Jaxon Binns - Dand
36. Brady Wright - GWV
37. Matthaes Phillipou - WWT
38. Jonti Schuback - Gipps
39. Henry Hustwaite - Dand
40. Noah Long - Bend

mentions: Luke Giacometti(Syd A), Matthew Payne(Western), Beau Tedcastle(GWV), Nick McLarty(Oak), Harvey Howe(Gipps), Harry Barnett(West Adel) Tom Scully(West Adel), Nick Sadler(Sturt), Ed Allan(Clare), Darcy Jones(Swan D)

Max Ramsden (Sand) best 19 year old ruck imo.
Hope that is correct, would be a great result for Tassie :)

other names of players i like that didnt make the top 40 this time.

Syd A: Giacometti, F.Rogers, Kirk
GWS A: Madden, Rowston, Lawrence
GCS A: F.Brown, Foggo, Fyfe(inj, just came back)
Bris A: Fletcher(in top 40) McCarthy, Hude

Matthew Payne(Western)
Jaelen Pavlidis(Western)
James Van Es(GWV)
Nick McLarty(Oak)
Harvey Howe(Gipps)
Harry Barnett(West Adel)
Tommy Scully(West Adel)
Nick Sadler(Sturt)
Ed Allan(Clare)
Darcy Jones(Swan D)
Zach Greeves(Eastern)
Kai Windsor(Eastern) (started year poorly)
Coby Burgiel(Gipps)
Nick Collier(Dand)
Jason Gilbee(Bendigo) (GWS A)
Beau Tedcastle(GWV)
Miles McCluggage(GWV)
Jaiden Magor(Sth Adel)
Al Davey Jnr(Oakleigh) (ESS F/S)
Jack Cleaver(East Frem)
Jacob Konstanty(Gipps)
Jonathan Tomasiello(North)
Darcy Edmends(North)
Josh Hamilton(North)