Review Dees v Eagles Götterdämmerung - the Good, Bad & Season Ending - Rd 22, 2018

Also shout out to Biffinator Captain Jack RandB and I'm probably forgetting someone for moderating this when I first joined. Much harder job than those new age soft **** mods who get to moderate a successful team.

I never said anywhere that he needed to dominate did I? I said he played an okay game. Which I think is fair.

I'm only saying that a) some people are talking it up like it was an amazing performance and b) goal kicking is a huge thing we need from our key positions forwards. He did what was needed for the most part. I'm simply stating that butchering the ball that badly is not something that can be overlooked so easily when us missing gettable goals has cost us plenty of games, and almost did yesterday too.

If you'd like to discuss my points I'm more than happy to, but don't just add "he didn't need to dominate yesterday" as though I suggested he did.
No worries mate, I'll put it simply.

Some people are, rightly so, excited by our 21 year old former pick 6 having a 13 possession, 6 mark (including 4 contested) game, who showed genuine ability to justify what recruiters saw in him.

Some people want to focus on his missed goal kicking attempts and play down any significant contribution by him because they have probably already made their decision up on him.

Was it the perfect game? No, and he would be as disappointed at anyone that he missed a few. But on the big stage, at a hostile venue against a team second on the ladder, I and I think most supporters would have been generally pleased, and certainly excited for him. I'll let you choose which side of the fence you want to sit on.

The best thing about the win was that everyone rose to the occasion when the moment called for it.

No player was perfect all game (although I can't recall Frost doing much wrong), but everyone chipped in at certain times. Max charging through the centre and hitting Weid at the start. AVB monstering everyone in the second, Spargo had a burst in the 3rd that wrestled some momentum back, Kent slotting a clutch goal or Salem with the calm, creative pin-point kicks in the 4th.

We won critical contests and hit nearly all of our kicks. Still allowed some out the back goals through pressing up too high and our mids not being able to run back fast enough to defend, but this is what we give up to play the high scoring way we play.

Oliver getting the number 1 tag each week and still influencing the game and allowing Brayshaw, Harmes, Jones, AVB more time and space. Great signs.

Any idea what happened with Jetta and Lecras after the game?

Goodwin said it was just footy shit. I expect that's true since no journo has followed it up at all.

Some people are, rightly so, excited by our 21 year old former pick 6 having a 13 possession, 6 mark (including 4 contested) game, who showed genuine ability to justify what recruiters saw in him.

Some people want to focus on his missed goal kicking attempts and play down any significant contribution by him because they have probably already made their decision up on him.

Was it the perfect game? No, and he would be as disappointed at anyone that he missed a few. But on the big stage, at a hostile venue against a team second on the ladder, I and I think most supporters would have been generally pleased, and certainly excited for him. I'll let you choose which side of the fence you want to sit on.
I'll pick the fence that includes being excited about what he bought to the team and the game, but not rave about how it was a standout, incredible game and he bought more than Hogan would've (which I've seen mentioned). That's all I was saying, putting it simply.

Yep and while Curnow is obviously the bigger star Weideman has the better game against better oppo on Sunday, which really shows how variable KPF output is at this age. Neither is as good now as they can be

Pardon my intrusion, just wanted to pass on my congratulations. What a bloody awesome game of footy that was.

I have somewhat adopted the Dees as my second favourite team since the Paul Roos connection, you guys play a great brand of football. Roos shored up the defence and then later he and now Goodwin added a bunch of attacking flair which far exceeds anything I have seen at the Swans.

Likeable players all over the park. A young midfield of Gawn, Petracca, Oliver, Brayshaw and Viney is going to go far if they stay together. Also shout out to Neville Jetta, gun player and when he took that contested mark (on Rioli?) at the start of the last I knew you guys were going to win.

Review Dees v Eagles Götterdämmerung - the Good, Bad & Season Ending - Rd 22, 2018