Review Dees v Eagles: the Good, the Bad & the Fugly

Thats all fine. To a large extent I agree. But this holier than thou attitude towards other opinions and telling people to follow your lead or find another team is the kind of floggish crap you find on Essendon Supporter Facebook pages after a loss.

Mods, if I'm incorrect, please correct me.
As a mod, I would like to direct everyone to the rules thread stickied at the top of the board. In particular the guidelines in the additiomal posts.

Great win last night guys, thoroughly deserved.

Also hope Clayton Oliver makes a full recovery from his facial reconstruction - absolutely savage hit from Schoey. Should be suspended for some time for that one...
Yeah it was thoroughly deserved wasn't it?
But made easier by the fact that your (usual) flat track bullies pissed it away and let a bloke playing with one arm absolutely completely annihilate you on your home deck whilst knocking out your captain.
Look forward to seeing how WC respond next week playing in Melbourne where they normally show us what they are truly made of :drunk:

Yeah it was thoroughly deserved wasn't it?
But made easier by the fact that your (usual) flat track bullies pissed it away and let a bloke playing with one arm absolutely completely annihilate you on your home deck whilst knocking out your captain.
Look forward to seeing how WC respond next week playing in Melbourne where they normally show us what they are truly made of :drunk:

The furore around it is remarkable. I'm no advocate of diving, but he did get clipped, and i think he went down soft and now feels a bit sheepish.

I mean the guy looks like he's 12. He got enough body work during the match, so don't think he was expecting it in the chops.

You'd think he was the first guy in the world to go down like a sack of spuds......

GOOD:
We are a bloody good football team and club!
Viney is a warrior.
Gawnys comeback has gone relatively unnoticed - he murdered a bloke who was considered to be in pretty good form in Vardy.
Tmac - need we say more.
Clarry's hands in tight to release Hibberd while tucked up against the boundary line surrounded by 10 Eagles.
Our belief in the way we play with whoever is on the park. The pessimist in me had us cooked and on the way to a 30 point loss halfway through the last but we are not the same Melbourne. We don't roll over, we don't give up, we are hard as f*** and we KNOW we can win - anywhere against anyone.
WQatched a lot of footy this weekend and saw a lot of coaches carry on like dead set pork chops. Not ours. Calm under pressure - doesn't get low and doesn't get too high, I reckon we've got a ripper and our game style now that it's working more often than not can absolutely cut teams up. And quickly!

BAD:
The dive. Didn't like it but it will not define him. Reckon he'd be a bit embarrassed about it. Just find it strange from a bloke who is so tough at it.
Jack Darling. I don't know I've seen a better built footballer as soft as this prancer.
Injuries. Starting to stack up and a shame we could be without 5-6 of our best 10 for our only Friday night game this year.

FUGLY:
The umpiring in particular the 3rd quarter was so unbalanced it's not funny.
I've gone to town on the Collingsooks for complaining about it against us but this is not just a Melbourne thing, they get such a good run at home it's sickening.
Umpiring can never be blamed for a win or a loss as you become a bit more desperate when chasing down a lead so can tend to give away some sloppy ones, which we did.
For the record, I don't necessarily think they actually got that many wrong so this might sound stupid.
Free kick count is what it is so I hate when people point to that as though it's supposed to be equal.
I think most frees that were paid were indeed frees (some a stretch but probably there) but what stood out is the missed ones.
I feel that WHENEVER there was an opportunity to pay WC a free they absolutely couldn't wait to blow the whistle where they'd let the ones go that should have gone our way.

The furore around it is remarkable. I'm no advocate of diving, but he did get clipped, and i think he went down soft and now feels a bit sheepish.

I mean the guy looks like he's 12. He got enough body work during the match, so don't think he was expecting it in the chops.

You'd think he was the first guy in the world to go down like a sack of spuds......
You've said it perfectly.
He'd be embarrassed and if he had his time again he'd react differently.
He WAS hit. IMO not hard enough to go down but the footy community hanging one of the best contested players in the comp this year for a one off incident is just yuck.

Only thing I list as fugly for this match is the potential injury list affecting upcoming match for Sydney on Friday. I mean we have a cluster of blokes sharing one functioning, pain-free hamstring plus Viney who has a real chance of missing at least the next one for his shoulder.

It is what it is I guess. Hope we find out the damage soon.

How good was the bit where the ball was stuck on the wing for about 3 minutes?

You could tell the Eagles were throwing absolutely everything at us, after about 8 repeat stoppages we still won the ball out and eventually kept it up there long enough to kick a goal.

Certainly wasn't our best performance all year but my god we are one tough team.

I'm gonna still support MFC so sorry about that mate.
If by support you mean shit on the Melbourne players rain, hail or shine then keep up the good work.
I'm sure everyone appreciates that kind of "support".

How good was the bit where the ball was stuck on the wing for about 3 minutes?

You could tell the Eagles were throwing absolutely everything at us, after about 8 repeat stoppages we still won the ball out and eventually kept it up there long enough to kick a goal.

Certainly wasn't our best performance all year but my god we are one tough team.
Gawn was huge in getting the ball out into space for us, really shows the difference between his ruckwork and the ruckwork of someone like Sam Jacobs who does **** all with his taps

Thats all fine. To a large extent I agree. But this holier than thou attitude towards other opinions and telling people to follow your lead or find another team is the kind of floggish crap you find on Essendon Supporter Facebook pages after a loss.

Mods, if I'm incorrect, please correct me.
Take as many guarded swipes as you like RD, as long as there aren't any more posts from dees posters saying Oliver should get rubbed out for getting an elbow to the face, I'm happy.

Only thing I list as fugly for this match is the potential injury list affecting upcoming match for Sydney on Friday. I mean we have a cluster of blokes sharing one functioning, pain-free hamstring plus Viney who has a real chance of missing at least the next one for his shoulder.

It is what it is I guess. Hope we find out the damage soon.
Salem 4 weeks.

If by support you mean shit on the Melbourne players rain, hail or shine then keep up the good work.
I'm sure everyone appreciates that kind of "support".
you can just put him on ignore if Topkent shits you that much. I'd encourage it in fact as I don't think the rest of the forum enjoys reading posters having a crack at each other

ouch. I guess Wagner gets a go, which is nice for him. His disposal is iffy but his effort is pretty good
Not a great swap out as Wagner is a bit of a loose cannon as you said but I still rate him. Garry Salem's composure and dead eye kicking will be missed.

Take as many guarded swipes as you like RD, as long as there aren't any more posts from dees posters saying Oliver should get rubbed out for getting an elbow to the face, I'm happy.

I'm pretty sure TopKent is the only one who went that far. And I wouldn't say the swipes were guarded, you seem to understand.

you can just put him on ignore if Topkent shits you that much. I'd encourage it in fact as I don't think the rest of the forum enjoys reading posters having a crack at each other
I'm a dees supporter so I believe in the ability to improve, that's why I'm still here. Sometimes a little impetus is required, I understand that. But to have that attitude still with the current form, well really this bloke is beyond saving. I'm yet to see a post from him that is taking a stab at another poster or at someone at the club and I think it sucks.
You can just ignore it but I'd like to think that at some stage this doesn't become integrated into a part of our society as acceptable. I enjoy discussing matters surrounding the football club but I really can't stand the directed abuse of our own players and staff, particularly with the way they are repaying the faith at the moment. Honestly if you're not happy now then you never will be so just piss off.

It's pathetic how much shit Oliver has copped when teams like the bullflogs have multiple players throwing their head back when they get tackled at the shoulders multiple times a game.
Jack Darling did it every time (not often) he went near the ball.

I'm a dees supporter so I believe in the ability to improve, that's why I'm still here. Sometimes a little impetus is required, I understand that. But to have that attitude still with the current form, well really this bloke is beyond saving. I'm yet to see a post from him that is taking a stab at another poster or at someone at the club and I think it sucks.
You can just ignore it but I'd like to think that at some stage this doesn't become integrated into a part of our society as acceptable. I enjoy discussing matters surrounding the football club but I really can't stand the directed abuse of our own players and staff, particularly with the way they are repaying the faith at the moment. Honestly if you're not happy now then you never will be so just piss off.
You're a bit of a nut dude.

Topkent is a longstanding, solid contributor around here and no doubt a true MFC supporter. He has varied viewpoints, which he expresses strongly, if bluntly sometimes. But he is respectful of others.

I suggest you either do put him on ignore, or give your crusade against him a rest.

Couple points here mate.
1. I've been posting on this website for many many years and have stuck by this club when we were dog shit. You signed up yesterday. So if one of us leaves here it won't be me.

2. Your Damn right only Oliver knows how hard the hit was, but that's the same kid who got ironed out by rioli last year and shook it off like nothing. Kid is as tough as nails and IMO that moment with the elbow isn't something he would be proud of considering he was one of the heroes in winning over there. He was simply outstanding as was most of the team but if you think I'm gonna blindly ignore what happened like other idiots all across big footy because of his jumper then you don't know my posting style ( you wouldn't you signed up yesterday )

3. No one is defending schoeys elbow, but he might get an extra week for the way Oliver went down which I don't like as an AFL fan, Viney certainly wouldn't have gone down.

4. I'm gonna still support MFC so sorry about that mate.

Very fair comment. I don't like seeing it (diving/staging) either and certainly don't want it to become a part of his game or a part of the AFL as a whole. However I would have a problem with him being suspended over it when similar acts from other players have gone unpunished. Clarry is far too important to us.

Review Dees v Eagles: the Good, the Bad & the Fugly