Preview Do or Die vs Dons pre match discussion thread.

notsureifsrs

If it's not broke?

Thing is, I think its cracking (to a degree). We have been ordinary for most of the last three weeks, with some good patches throw in. No where near Crows/Blues/Saints form.

I think we need to improve overall (and I think we can) to beat the next three teams, hence why I don't have an issue with tinkering with the squad around the edges to ensure we have our most in-form 22 on the park.

ps: Tell Marty Clarke about "if it is not broken". They had won 8 or 9 in a row and he was still dropped because his form wasn't up to scratch.

8 weeks ago Gibo came in and Goldy started hitting form after the failed 2 ruckamn experiment.

Would you drop Harper? Him amd JMac get similar stats but Harps gets the chance to hit the scoreboard because of his position on the ground. Infact i just found this.....

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...1=3349&tid2=13&pid2=3472&type=A&fid1=S&fid2=S

9 possessions per game ave. this year for Harps but no way in hell i would remove him from the team.

Completely different. Harper is very damaging despite his lowish possessions.

I would not consider dropping Harper with what he has shown at AFL level. He will be a very good player.

People lets try to keep this thread about the up coming game rather that a discussion about the moderation of another board.

Fair enough - just want to warn fellow Roos supporters to be very careful on the Essendon board. We have a few posters missing this week.

Doesn't Mullett qualify as a young player? Why can his (and others) confidence be toyed with and not others?

He has been extremely unlucky this year when compared to the opportunites others have been given. I dont need to know all the selection committee reasons, as the performances on the field say everything - Macmillan has been playing poorly and if Cunners was dropped to work on his game, so should JMac.

The constant defending of JMac and what he provides over similar VFL players "never ceases to amame" me in reverse.

You missed the point, I didn't say anything about JMacs form, I simply was responding to your comment that Scott plays favorites in the team. To say that is an incredible naive comment, that ignores other factors. For all we know whilst not getting a heap of the ball JMac has been doing exactly what Scott asks of him, hence keeping his spot in the team.

And FWIW I have heard (from his teammates at NB) fish believes he is far above playing VFL, and will happily burn teammates and go against team instructions just to prove how much better he is. As I said before, just because we don't know the reasons doesn't mean there aren't perfectly valid ones as to why one player is getting a game over another.

You missed the point, I didn't say anything about JMacs form, I simply was responding to your comment that Scott plays favorites in the team. To say that is an incredible naive comment, that ignores other factors. For all we know whilst not getting a heap of the ball JMac has been doing exactly what Scott asks of him, hence keeping his spot in the team.

And FWIW I have heard (from his teammates at NB) fish believes he is far above playing VFL, and will happily burn teammates and go against team instructions just to prove how much better he is. As I said before, just because we don't know the reasons doesn't mean there aren't perfectly valid ones as to why one player is getting a game over another.

I highly doubt Scott requests him to make multiple turnovers per game by handballing or kicking directly to the opposition.

Well I wasn't aware of that, so if thats true then it is disappointing.

Unbelievable the amount of stick Macmillan cops on here. What about that mark against the doggies in the 3rd qtr running back with the flight in D50? It was the play of the day in my book and it's these selfless efforts that is keeping him in the side.

Mullet had a great impact as the sub, and I wouldn't expect any different, it's the subs job to have an impact when the game is slowed down.

I would not consider dropping Harper with what he has shown at AFL level. He will be a very good player.
Never ever consider dropping Harper - forget possessions, it' s the goals that he contributes that matter.

I highly doubt Scott requests him to make multiple turnovers per game by handballing or kicking directly to the opposition.

Well I wasn't aware of that, so if thats true then it is disappointing.

Oh yeh, no doubt about that. Some of his mistakes are infuriating at times. I fully agree that he looks down on confidence and his game has been affected,and he may well benefit greatly from a stint in the twos as many are suggesting. I just think sometimes stats are deceiving. I also agree that if fish came in he could have a big impact taking one of the dons small forwards.
Yeh I was surprised too, how true it is I don't know, and whether or not he has addressed that I don't know either but have been told it a couple of times.

Unbelievable the amount of stick Macmillan cops on here. What about that mark against the doggies in the 3rd qtr running back with the flight in D50? It was the play of the day in my book and it's these selfless efforts that is keeping him in the side.

Mullet had a great impact as the sub, and I wouldn't expect any different, it's the subs job to have an impact when the game is slowed down.

Who is doing that? Me? Surely not - I said he was a good player and has a bright future, just that it might be time for a spell! :thumbsu: (and plenty of others say the same if you look at other threads, there is nothing shameful about a run in the 2s)

I really liked that mark running back too - didn't like the terrible turnovers as much.

You miss my point.

Harps is very noticable because he hits the scoreboard which, in all our minds (i think) makes him damaging and an important part of the team.

I argue that JMac is just as important with his selfless acts which are less obvious. JMac is in our best 22 and our next premiership team. Is only 20 and needs more games, especially the big ones like this week.

You miss my point.

Harps is very noticable because he hits the scoreboard which, in all our minds (i think) makes him damaging and an important part of the team.

I argue that JMac is just as important with his selfless acts which are less obvious. JMac is in our best 22 and our next premiership team. Is only 20 and needs more games, especially the big ones like this week.

I dont miss your point. Harper can do things JMac cannot - he is more skillful and as a result, plays in more attacking positions (and is more noticable because of how good he can look when he gets it).

We clearly rate the players differently in terms of talent (which is no knock on JMac, as I rate Harper very highly), thats fine, people can't always agree.

I dont miss your point. Harper can do things JMac cannot - he is more skillful and as a result, plays in more attacking positions (and is more noticable because of how good he can look when he gets it).

We clearly rate the players differently in terms of talent (which is no knock on JMac, as I rate Harper very highly), thats fine, people can't always agree.

I'm a huge Harper fan and have said he is in our best 22. I just think JMac is too :)

Who is doing that? Me? Surely not - I said he was a good player and has a bright future, just that it might be time for a spell! :thumbsu: (and plenty of others say the same if you look at other threads, there is nothing shameful about a run in the 2s)

I really liked that mark running back too - didn't like the terrible turnovers as much.

85% efficiency on the weekend and only the one clanger

Cruize 68% with 3 clangers

Campbell 64% with 2 clangers

So how many turnovers could possibly be blamed on JMac?

Same same from me. Fishy definitely has a future with us, just as JMac does.

I also agree TT.

Which is why IMO its very important to continue giving opportunities to those who deserve them, which ensures spots are earned each week and keeps pressure on all players to perform.

So, changes are dependent on balancing who deserves a crack over who needs a spell.

I subscribe to the theory of not making changes to a team unless injury or form to those in the 22 warrants a change being made. While Macmillan hasn't been setting the world alight I think he has being doing his job well enough to maintain his position in the 22 over any in the seconds pushing for selection, especially considering the nature of the game ahead.

Considering we need to bring Adams back into to side one change is necessary. Garlett has earned another run after a very solid 4 quarter performance last week and campbell has proven his worth as the sub. unfortunately that means Mullett is most likely to make way, despite performing well for a quarter.

85% efficiency on the weekend and only the one clanger

Cruize 68% with 3 clangers

Campbell 64% with 2 clangers

So how many turnovers could possibly be blamed on JMac?
DE% is pointless without context.

Any idiot can bomb it 40m+ to a 50-50 and get credited for an effective disposal.

Its the decisions that are made when under pressure that count.

I am not a JMac basher. I can see he is developing nicely and has a hard edge about him, which you can't teach. But in saying that, I can see why some people want him to go back to the VFL for a few weeks. His decision making under pressure is indeed an issue, and he seems to be stuck in between roles somewhat. He is not really providing much run from half back, and he is not really playing on dangerous forwards either.

I still would prefer him over Mullet in a big game like this, and Campbell as a sub.

Lets look at some keymatch up's.

Petrie - Hooker got him round 1 but is really struggling and will be asking Hird each day to either play forward, be rested or take Hanson or Tarrent. Carlisle will start on Drew and will really struggle is left one out. Tarrent and Hanson have been very good at clearing out the forward line. Drew has him for pace and strength so he will be the main target and another bag is a real possibility.

Swallow - Hocking will go to Spitta - he plays on the strongest inside mid and with Swallow's current form will be tagged. Hocking lasted 5 mins in round 1 after that nasty football hit him or nearly hit him, last year he made it the 2nd quarter before his game was over. I think he will be nervous this week. Still Spitta will have an influence on the result.

Harvey/Wells - Only one will get a tag - similar to recent weeks - but the one they tag will be serviceable - the one they do not tag will be in the best. Wells is my tip to be minded. Colyer may get the job because he is quick and really does not do a lot with the ball.

Goldy V Belly - this will be a good match up with 2 up and coming ruckman. Both having no recognised back up and will ruck most of the night. Goldy is the better player and I think we will get a good advantage with his tap work. Will need to watch Belly as he likes to cheat and push forward but with our 3 talls may have to work back to help - especially during the times we are on top.

Grima - will go to Gumbleton who is showing a little bit. Grima has been fantastic this year and should have him covered. The other option for Grima could be Hurley but I like the match up in round one when Firrito clearly beat him. Hurley looks over weight and struggles to extend himself with such a frail body. Spud should be putting his hand up again.

Cunnington - goes to Watson and plays the whole game on him. Watson is in rare form and the aim is to limit Watsons effectivness (get him to kick more than handball). Watson goes forward a lot and this would still be a good match as Cunners is very good in the air. Anything under 25 touches will go along way to winning this game.

Hooker - as above is really struggling - if he goes to Tarrent or Hanson they should be the 2nd option after Drew and expose his lack of pace and streghth - real win here. Fletcher will go to the other and will need to be kept as far away from Petrie as possible.

Thompson - I think he will take a small and try to help out in the air - I would send him to Jetta who hates close physical contact - he is easily sucked in and distracted. Thompson would have little trouble taking his mind off the game and have him sooking to the umps every 5 minutes. The diving will start very early.

Atley - I think he will go to Davey - he is playing a lot better than I though he had in him. Atley has the size, stregth and pace to do a job on him while providing the rebound from the backline.

Adams - I really hope he plays as I would use him as a defensive forward against Dempsey who is up and about. The thing with Courtney - is not just that his parents gave him a girls name but he likes to attack and can get caught out the other way. Adams is a finisher that could hurt as well as someone that would enjoy hunting someone like Dempsey.

I hope Stanton comes in - has been woeful for 9 weeks and now having no impact on any games. You could run a Bastinac with him and really hurt him as well as scare him.
McMahon to Crameri if he comes in and he too has been struggling for fitness but can be dangerous.

We are starting favourties as we should be as we have turned our season around while the Bombers peaked early and now on the slide. Roos by 32 points.

Wowee Ben The Gooner is a flog. Thinks he knows more about Wells than us North fans!

He is Essendon mate - knows more about every player in every team than everyone else. Why post on their board. Biggest bunch of sooks - every loss is because of poor umpiring - their game day boards are gold when they are losing. Track the Crows one down - great read.

Lets look at some keymatch up's.

Petrie - Hooker got him round 1 but is really struggling and will be asking Hird each day to either play forward, be rested or take Hanson or Tarrent. Carlisle will start on Drew and will really struggle is left one out. Tarrent and Hanson have been very good at clearing out the forward line. Drew has him for pace and strength so he will be the main target and another bag is a real possibility.

Swallow - Hocking will go to Spitta - he plays on the strongest inside mid and with Swallow's current form will be tagged. Hocking lasted 5 mins in round 1 after that nasty football hit him or nearly hit him, last year he made it the 2nd quarter before his game was over. I think he will be nervous this week. Still Spitta will have an influence on the result.

Harvey/Wells - Only one will get a tag - similar to recent weeks - but the one they tag will be serviceable - the one they do not tag will be in the best. Wells is my tip to be minded. Colyer may get the job because he is quick and really does not do a lot with the ball.

Goldy V Belly - this will be a good match up with 2 up and coming ruckman. Both having no recognised back up and will ruck most of the night. Goldy is the better player and I think we will get a good advantage with his tap work. Will need to watch Belly as he likes to cheat and push forward but with our 3 talls may have to work back to help - especially during the times we are on top.

Grima - will go to Gumbleton who is showing a little bit. Grima has been fantastic this year and should have him covered. The other option for Grima could be Hurley but I like the match up in round one when Firrito clearly beat him. Hurley looks over weight and struggles to extend himself with such a frail body. Spud should be putting his hand up again.

Cunnington - goes to Watson and plays the whole game on him. Watson is in rare form and the aim is to limit Watsons effectivness (get him to kick more than handball). Watson goes forward a lot and this would still be a good match as Cunners is very good in the air. Anything under 25 touches will go along way to winning this game.

Hooker - as above is really struggling - if he goes to Tarrent or Hanson they should be the 2nd option after Drew and expose his lack of pace and streghth - real win here. Fletcher will go to the other and will need to be kept as far away from Petrie as possible.

Thompson - I think he will take a small and try to help out in the air - I would send him to Jetta who hates close physical contact - he is easily sucked in and distracted. Thompson would have little trouble taking his mind off the game and have him sooking to the umps every 5 minutes. The diving will start very early.

Atley - I think he will go to Davey - he is playing a lot better than I though he had in him. Atley has the size, stregth and pace to do a job on him while providing the rebound from the backline.

Adams - I really hope he plays as I would use him as a defensive forward against Dempsey who is up and about. The thing with Courtney - is not just that his parents gave him a girls name but he likes to attack and can get caught out the other way. Adams is a finisher that could hurt as well as someone that would enjoy hunting someone like Dempsey.

I hope Stanton comes in - has been woeful for 9 weeks and now having no impact on any games. You could run a Bastinac with him and really hurt him as well as scare him.
McMahon to Crameri if he comes in and he too has been struggling for fitness but can be dangerous.

We are starting favourties as we should be as we have turned our season around while the Bombers peaked early and now on the slide. Roos by 32 points.

You have made me very confident. Thanks.

If Crameri comes in, as is looking likely, i would prefer Thompson to go to him. I like Spud on Hurley to start, only becuase as was the case in round 1 Hurley is still underdone. This match up concerns me though, but we have Grima as back up.

Watson will be impossible to stop, so limiting his damage at stoppages will be the key to a comfortable victory. If he gets going he could drag them over the line.

Preview Do or Die vs Dons pre match discussion thread.