Fixture Finals 2022 - Cats go in as Minor Premiers.

Pretty disgraceful we finish 2 games clear ontop of the ladder and our home final is at the MCG infrony of 70,000 screaming feral collingwood fans.

Basically we finished first for nothing and collingwood finished fourth for everything

I have been saying for years that top spot should get to pick who they play out of 2nd, 3rd or 4th.

Same deal with 5th getting to pick from 6th, 7th, and 8th.

I know this won’t be helpful to most Geelong based cats fans for thurs/Fri night games. But my issue is that the night games start so late. I can barley keep the kids awake long enough at home let alone at the games.
8pm start is way too late but I know the road is a nightmare driving up so earlier game would make it harder. But at least would be able to get home much earlier.

It seems like now Freo fans really want to play us week 1.

Everyone wants to play us.
I hope we absolutely smash everyone and shut them up.
The level of disrespect is ****ing mind boggling.

"yeah we absolutely want to play the team 2 games and % clear on top of the ladder who is on a 13 game win streak" can't think of a time in history this has happened before.

It's not like we are limping in either, been toweling teams up for months.

On today's game, we should beat the Pies, we're a better team than the Blues and Pies are all about transition. As long as we take our chances in front of the sticks is our main concern.

I hope we studied the Swans game from a couple weeks ago.

Phukin Carlton chokers. Now we have to play the toothless flogs at the G unless Sydney win. Where's the justice? No reward for finishing top. If it was Port or Brisbane finishing top they would be getting a home final. Bloody disgrace, stuff the crowds there has to be an advantage for the team clearly finishing top and there isn't in our case. Home ground advantage is massive.
It really doesn't matter.

We are the better team who cares where we play them.

Fans wise sure, it's easier for many down in Geelong, but if you want to support and make it close to 50:50 in the crowd then fans will go regardless (and we should).

As long as it's either a Friday night or Saturday game ... Thursday will be totally unfair.

I dont think ed langdon was off calling them one trick ponies. If you stop their ballistic open movement from HB to FF through the corridor they will struggle. Our structures need to really be switched on to stop that all game. Need to hold our defense quite well behind the ball as well and not let them get it ballistic over the top.

They seem to have periods of ballistic slingshot footy that they cannot maintain for four quarters of play, which is why they eh and flow so much through games, but you really need to be switched on the periods of play they go with it.

No complaints about playing the Pies at the G in front of their fans. We're a better team than them by quite some margin. Obviously anything can happen on the day but we should absolutely flog them, honestly, and I'll be there hoping to see the 60-70k Pies contingent go quiet and salty!
What a joy that was to witness at the 2011 GF

On today's game, we should beat the Pies, we're a better team than the Blues and Pies are all about transition. As long as we take our chances in front of the sticks is our main concern.

I hope we studied the Swans game from a couple weeks ago.
There is aoy of opportunity if you defend well against their ballistic movement to create a turnover as well.

I would love to see us early hammer them and force turnovers and have them feeling rattled a bit. Make them double guess the dare

Cats to play the Pies Finals week 1
The Bloosers choked. Squandered a 5 goal lead Q4.
They slowed down and kicked long down the line
Ignored the free man inboard...
Kept kicking long bombs into F50 trying to lock the ball in.
The EscaPies took their chances to win by a point.

Pies love the chaos, pressure and scramble their goals.
The key to beating Pies is... not to overuse the handball.
Clearing the congestion zone then going long and fast.
Always choose the free man. Kick to leading forwards.

Sure, but you cannot expect to host a final which sell out the MCG, at a 21,000 seat stadium. You just can't.
Well you could if it was about integrity of home finals and not maximising crowd attendance. You certainly could.

Geez if we only get 15k to a home final out of a possible 85k then that’s a poor reflection on cats fans.

We’ve got 70k members, it will be at the pies home ground but it’s our home game. Cats fans should be there in drones.

Was like that for most of the finals vs Richmond, even the "home" ones. Our people just dont turn out unless it's a Sat arvo at 2:10...And even then it's not a great crowd.

Collingwood fans will be on the website at 9am tomorrow waiting for tickets in their thousands.

Meanwhile our fans will be preoccupied organising the roast for that weekend and wondering if they might be able to get up to Melbourne for the big game. Better check with Cobb & Co to see if they have a service running that day.

Geez if we only get 15k to a home final out of a possible 85k then that’s a poor reflection on cats fans.

We’ve got 70k members, it will be at the pies home ground but it’s our home game. Cats fans should be there in drones.
Absolutely. Now is the time. Cats fans need to show up.

No complaints playing them there, it is what it is.

What I would like to see us find a way to take off them is their composure. A lot gets made of their self belief and yeah fair enough they’ve shown numerous times they can chew off a deficit but so can most of the top 8. There isn’t a side there who can’t go on a surge and reel in five goals.

What makes the pies so good at it is that they don’t have to play panic football to do it they are calm they nail their shots at goal and execute basics really well.

We need to force them out of that comfort zone

Bring on the Pies, I said it a few weeks ago, a big final first up, against what will be a hostile crowd, what better way to start a finals series.

Bloody oath. Special effort from the fans to get a ticket and go. Yes Friday night is not ideal but there were plenty of cats fans at the 2007 Prelim.

Over the last decade we have either been in decline or not a realistic chance, meaning supporting the team in finals became an expensive chore almost.

This year is different. Younger team, on the up, playing a good style. So do what you can to get along and support them, no whinging or excuses please. If you can't go, fine but don't sook about it here.

The alternative is we were a shit side this year with no hope and not playing finals. So giddy up!

Fixture Finals 2022 - Cats go in as Minor Premiers.