Fremantle Under Longmuir

it's a clear sign of fan who only watches their team and not the game if they think their players having a poor performance is somehow a mark against the opposition. highly delusional if you took anything away from this game other than Fremantle and Carlton being more or less on the same level right now.

The difference being Carlton have a game plan that can beat the best sides. Freo's plan is to drag them into a shit fight and hopefully fall over the line. It is not sustainable, not every team will crack like the Crows last week, better teams like GWS and Melbourne will destroy you.

Has any team ever won a premiership playing such dour football?

The difference being Carlton have a game plan that can beat the best sides. Freo's plan is to drag them into a s**t fight and hopefully fall over the line. It is not sustainable, not every team will crack like the Crows last week, better teams like GWS and Melbourne will destroy you.

Yep. Carlton don't have the kicking ability to cut through their defensive schemes, we rely on the contest normally... but teams like GWS and Sydney will easily cut through it imo. Saw it happen in 2022 when they came up against Collingwood in the finals and got put away pretty easily with their superior footskills.

I watch every game every week. Freo have long been ridiculed for playing exactly how they did today. It's ugly, monotonous dross.

While I agree we have been playing suffocating football, not that exciting YET! which yeah can seem ugly! But pretty sure we are the third youngest team in the comp, the attacking will come soon. Meanwhile we suffocated your team which is supposed to be a Top 4 team with the “twin towers “ up there and had a rookie of only his second game keeping your Coleman medalist to only 3 goals. Yeah nah I think we are doing ok and heading in the right direction buddy. Good luck for the rest of the year. Think you will actually need it.

I agree with that. I think with the likes of Serong, Brayshaw, Pearce, Jackson, Amiss and Young, Freo are very capable of mixing it with the best teams. I've always thought our teams were fairly even in terms of experience and age. I do think Freo should be taking on the game rather than shutting it down though. We know that shutdown teams always leave the game close enough that the opposition can close the gap with just a sniff.

Last year was just one of those years that building teams have. They can't have a season like 2022, with a young side, and not bounce back again.
I don't mind being a defence first team, I think we've just invested too much draft capital in our backline (and midfield) over our forward-line.

Since we started the rebuild we've had:
Logue (KPD that left for opportunity)
Brayshaw and Cerra (midfielders, one gone)
Sturt (medium forward that hasn't come on)
Young, Serong and Henry (defender before recent move, two mids with one gone)
Chapman (defender)
Amiss, Erasmus and Johnson (KPF, two midfielders)

Can understand the investment in the midfield, but we need an elite small forward. We've done well with some late picks but we need to spend at least one of this year's first rounders on a small forward.

If we had more class in our forward half, we'd be a lot more damaging, this is a huge reason we want Darcy in the ruck and Jackson forward.

The difference being Carlton have a game plan that can beat the best sides. Freo's plan is to drag them into a s**t fight and hopefully fall over the line. It is not sustainable, not every team will crack like the Crows last week, better teams like GWS and Melbourne will destroy you.

We have literally beaten Melbourne at the MCG the last 2 years in a row full strength!

While I agree we have been playing suffocating football, not that exciting YET! which yeah can seem ugly! But pretty sure we are the third youngest team in the comp, the attacking will come soon. Meanwhile we suffocated your team which is supposed to be a Top 4 team with the “twin towers “ up there and had a rookie of only his second game keeping your Coleman medalist to only 3 goals. Yeah nah I think we are doing ok and heading in the right direction buddy. Good luck for the rest of the year. Think you will actually need it.

Haven't looked at the other teams, but Freo's average age today was 25 years, 5 months. Carlton were 8 months older on average. Only two games experience per player difference though.

We kick straight and we beat you by 5 goals. It wasn't "luck".
how to make a compelling argument on BigFooty in two steps:

1. create an alternate reality where your team got to erase and redo every mistake and missed kick, but the opposition plays the same as they did in the real world
2. point to your fantasy scoreline and say "see! it wasn't luck"

how to make a compelling argument on BigFooty in two steps:

1. create an alternate reality where your team got to erase and redo every mistake and missed kick, but the opposition plays the same as they did in the real world
2. point to your fantasy scoreline and say "see! it wasn't luck"
We won. Thats reality.

They're a good team and could trouble almost anyone.

They need to cut that Ross Lyon inspired flood city gameplan though, even if they go backwards a bit to go forward at first... They have enough personnel to have a more attacking style of game.

To be fair, prior to Adelaide game (which was 3rd game in 18 days and team was gassed), we've shown some flair and attacking dare. Even today we had periods of cutting you up through the middle, just finished poorly. That'll change given the age and make-up of the forward line. The game today was a brutal scrap, very finals like in fact, and either side would've put most teams away - only looked dour due to the physicality. Curnow was the difference today, superstar. Umps were shit, sure, but we had chances to ice the game and didn't (and vice versa). I wouldn't be at all surprised to see you at the pointy end of the season.

On SM-G988U1 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I enjoyed the game. Very intense and close all day. To say Freo are bad because they don’t play free flowing high scoring footy is such a simple take.
Good to hear from a neutral

I haven’t watched all the game , was out on the boat today
Watched the last quarter to see what all the hoo haa was about
Not really blaming the umps , that Aish touch was hard to pick , and dissent is a lottery , sometimes it gets called sometimes it doesn’t.

But these Carlton clowns claiming an almighty 3 point victory ( yes the last goal was a gift ) after trailing the whole game proved the point they have no idea .
If they are so high scoring then where is the high score ?
And if Freo are so crap why didn’t they Flog them ?
NFI

Freo don’t have a great forward line , no news there , so JL played with the cards he was dealt and did it well by all accounts.

Aren't you one of the people that wanted Voss gawn?

Plenty of our supporters wanted Voss gone, which generally stems from impatience while building a gameplan and continuity, but with a belief that he just wasn't up to it

Yes, you still have a young profile, but JL built a strong defensive structure 2 years ago, but just won't release your side from using it as springboard for attack

Good to hear from a neutral

I haven’t watched all the game , was out on the boat today
Watched the last quarter to see what all the hoo haa was about
Not really blaming the umps , that Aish touch was hard to pick , and dissent is a lottery , sometimes it gets called sometimes it doesn’t.

But these Carlton clowns claiming an almighty 3 point victory ( yes the last goal was a gift ) after trailing the whole game proved the point they have no idea .
If they are so high scoring then where is the high score ?
And if Freo are so crap why didn’t they Flog them ?
NFI

Freo don’t have a great forward line , no news there , so JL played with the cards he was dealt and did it well by all accounts.
Watch the rest of the game and you'll understand. Refusal from Freo to go express towards goal is an eye sore for the AFL. Ross Lyon 2.0 type stuff where the entire game is just setting up zones to limit potential damage and chipping around the backline/switching non stop before eventually going forward into a flooded 50.

Happens in every game for Freo and it's putrid to watch, so it's not like it's a one off... Not much a team can really do to 'counter punch' when the oppo team go so slowly that it's impossible to catch them out on the rebound.

Anyway our mids were woeful all game by their usual standards, but if another team beat us in clearances by that much then we'd 100% lose. Freo were just way too busy piss farting around with the ball and boring the viewing audience to death to put some damage on the scoreboard while they had that upper hand.

Got no issue with losing games and thought we deserved to today, but I do have an issue with having to sit through watching that demonic game plan sap the energy and flare out of games.

Fremantle playing like Ross Lyon never left.

A recipe for competitive mediocrity.

Hard to watch.
Kicked 100 points vs north Melbourne a couple of weeks back.

Plus Freo were 3-0 before this Carlton loss.

Carlton have had a couple of narrow wins vs Richmond and Brisbane

Watch the rest of the game and you'll understand. Refusal from Freo to go express towards goal is an eye sore for the AFL. Ross Lyon 2.0 type stuff where the entire game is just setting up zones to limit potential damage and chipping around the backline/switching non stop before eventually going forward into a flooded 50.

Happens in every game for Freo and it's putrid to watch, so it's not like it's a one off... Not much a team can really do to 'counter punch' when the oppo team go so slowly that it's impossible to catch them out on the rebound.

Anyway our mids were woeful all game by their usual standards, but if another team beat us in clearances by that much then we'd 100% lose. Freo were just way too busy piss farting around with the ball and boring the viewing audience to death to put some damage on the scoreboard while they had that upper hand.

Got no issue with losing games and thought we deserved to today, but I do have an issue with having to sit through watching that demonic game plan sap the energy and flare out of games.
Mate , mate , mate ………mate

Answer me this .
You say Your mids were “ woeful “ , was that more perhaps that they were challenged and beaten on occasions? Most likely

You keep crapping on about how Freo don’t score , where is your 100 points ? You can’t just say “ oh Carlton are a high scoring team …….. when the opposition don’t let you score , you aren’t a high scoring team , and funnily enough Freo scored pretty much the same as Carlton , therefore by your metric Carlton are a low scoring team .

It’s a game of defence and attack , Freo obviously did enough to win 3 quarters and it came down to the final minutes to decide the game

Just back off with the “ better than thou “ bullshit .
It was a close game , just say well done , good game , walk away , see you next time .

Huh? Dragging teams into shit fights and falling over the line is the Carlton way. How many close wins in scrappy games have Carlton had now?

The Blues aren’t a good disposal team, they win by clearances, tackles, and contested ball in dog fights.

You’ll beat most teams but there’s a few sides who can match/beat you in the midfield like Freo but with more firepower to hurt you.

Semi to prelim is where I see the Blues finishing up.

Mate , mate , mate ………mate

Answer me this .
You say Your mids were “ woeful “ , was that more perhaps that they were challenged and beaten on occasions? Most likely

You keep crapping on about how Freo don’t score , where is your 100 points ? You can’t just say “ oh Carlton are a high scoring team …….. when the opposition don’t let you score , you aren’t a high scoring team , and funnily enough Freo scored pretty much the same as Carlton , therefore by your metric Carlton are a low scoring team .

It’s a game of defence and attack , Freo obviously did enough to win 3 quarters and it came down to the final minutes to decide the game

Just back off with the “ better than thou “ bullshit .
It was a close game , just say well done , good game , walk away , see you next time .
Our mids were fumbly and disconnected, nobody 'challenged them' any more than any other team would... They were just off. Every team has that happen on occasion, today was one of them. Missing easy handballs in space that would normally be bread and butter stuff, fumbling ground balls all day, easy shots on goal missing. They all had a day to forget. Commentators frequently pointed out during the game too that we were getting first hands on the ball plenty but weren't executing in tight where as Freo were.

You can be as happy as you wanna be with ur game plan, imo it stinks. Watch how GWS and Sydney move the ball and then look at Freo, the contrast is stark. If you couldn't put us away on a day where we were poor in the contest for most of the game then I can't see it taking you very far vs teams that are better than us and have far better foot skills.

And yes... It is a game of attack and defense... Right now Freo is only playing the latter.

I actually think Freo have a lot of natural growth to come and a good young list to build around, I just think the dour game plan JL has you playing is destined to fail when it comes up against the best of the best - Which certainly isn't us at the moment.

Our mids were fumbly and disconnected, nobody 'challenged them' any more than any other team would... They were just off. Every team has that happen on occasion, today was one of them. Missing easy handballs in space that would normally be bread and butter stuff, fumbling ground balls all day, easy shots on goal missing. They all had a day to forget. Commentators frequently pointed out during the game too that we were getting first hands on the ball plenty but weren't executing in tight where as Freo were.

You can be as happy as you wanna be with ur game plan, imo it stinks. Watch how GWS and Sydney move the ball and then look at Freo, the contrast is stark. If you couldn't put us away on a day where we were poor in the contest for most of the game then I can't see it taking you very far vs teams that are better than us and have far better foot skills.

And yes... It is a game of attack and defense... Right now Freo is only playing the latter.

I actually think Freo have a lot of natural growth to come and a good young list to build around, I just think the dour game plan JL has you playing is destined to fail when it comes up against the best of the best - Which certainly isn't us at the moment.
Glad you are being honest
As am I
Our forward line is a work in progress , we need a big body KPF , I’m all for throwing the farm at McDonald, he’s the missing link .
Treacy seems to have hard hands and his development probably doesn’t fit our window and plays better up the ground anyway. Amiss is only 20 with the weight of the club on the poor kids shoulders.

Anyway , my point is Longmuire knows he’s got an average forward line so he tweaks his game plan to work with what he’s got .
No Freo supporter went into this year thinking we were a chance with the forwards we’ve got , they need help and hopefully something eventuates at trade time or next year is going to be the same old .

Fremantle Under Longmuir