Preview Fremantle v Hawthorn - Elimination Final, Subiaco, Sat 4 September 3.20pm Changes and Discussion

Re: Hawks vs Someone - First Final, Changes and Discussion

He did have that job on HarryO; I think Harry got enough of it (and Hoops didn't do enough going the other way) to consider the assignment a success.

I do like Hooper but he would have to be first off to make way for #15.

12 possies and 1 mark for O'Brien today, thats reasonably low. I think he added to our forward line as previously stated, defensive pressure turnovers and tackles, not to mention he kicked an important opportunistic goal. He has ex factor and pace to burn, and will be needed especially in the wide open spaces of Subiaco.

Was it me or did Ozzie hit one of the Pies players? Can't remember when it was but I was sure I saw a replay of him lifting the elbow straight into the Collingwood player's head and making contact.

Hoping i'm wrong.

Ozzie doesn't have a violent bone in his body. I think your mistaken.

Hooper plays, we win.

Can't see us winning. Will be close for 2.5 quarters, but we will lose our way late.

You're all over the place like a mad woman's breakfast.

Any ideas on when this game will be played? I'm thinking Saturday afternoon. (edit; thanks spudmaster)

Re: Fremantle v Hawthorn - Elimination Final, Subiaco, date TBA Changes and Discussion

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101385/default.aspx

"AFL chief operating officer Gillon McLachlan said the AFL had determined that it was preferred that the match involving Fremantle be played in the Saturday afternoon timeslot, so that the winner of that match had suitable time to prepare for a Friday-night semi-final match in week two."

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101385/default.aspx

So the cats/saints are Friday night, with the loser to meet the winner of our match the following Friday night. Backing up for a Friday night match after a Saturday match in Perth wouldn't be easy...

Will be an interesting match because of the last contest we had. I wonder if Hawthorn showed too much of our hand? I wonder if the travel will wreck us (we have travelled extremely badly this year)? I wonder if our seasoned finalists will come back with the hunger of our last final series?

Add in the fact that we will have about a 24hour advantage in terms of recovery and we don't have to travel.

All makes for an interesting game. Here's hoping it's a hot day in perth next saturday :thumbsu:

Tagged/defensive job on O'Brien today kept him to a fairly low possession count, provided pressure and intensity in our forward line, which meant that the ball didn't come out of our forward line as easily and as quickly as it has been for the majority of the year. Eitherway who ever goes out will consider themselves very unlucky.

What Hooper offers us teamwise/in the forward line I think out weighs what Whitey offers us team wise. It also frees up Brown to go back.

This. Good post.

Hoops did a great job today and I think some may need to watch the game again. O'brien was very ineffective thanks to Hoops. Also may not have laid a lot of tackles, but pressured so many pies into taking their kicks before they were ready leding to multiple turnovers.

On the flip side, Whitey probably had his best game so far today and was vital in a few key passages of play.

I would think it will be one of Peterson, Hooper or Whitey out for Hodge and all 3 would be very unlucky. Even AC joked after the game in his presser that we "may not be able to squeeze Hodge back in to the team" :D

What I would do - OUT: Whitey IN: Hodge
What I think we will do - OUT: Peterson or Hooper IN: Hodge

I just think that the combination of Hoops, Peterson and Rioli up forward with the number 23 is a much more frightening thing for opposition teams than Whitey on a back flank.

I won't be too upset either way with one of those 3 out for Hodge. Can't think of anyone else who we could drop, and someone has to go for the great man...

Brown gave us nothing today, actually cost us yardage, and the captain wasn't worth a pinch of shit with his backwards handballs and indecision.

But yeah, **** it, let's slam the young blokes.

Mitchell needs to get his shit together in a big way.

In: Hodge + *Bo
Out: Whitex+Hoops

*Bo - Hawthorns counter to Sandilands (no, not 'Beau' Dowler or Muston)

xin_410803110634795177362.jpg

Brown gave us nothing today, actually cost us yardage, and the captain wasn't worth a pinch of shit with his backwards handballs and indecision.

I'd like someone to give Goo a stern freakin' talking to as well. While he got close to 20 possies and did a few good things, the number of serious cockups was unforgivable.

Agree on assessment of Mitch today too - his main contribution today was winning the coin toss (he must have close to a 100% success rate i swear!)

Can't be bothered with the weekly assessment of Roughy as they won't experiment/drop him during the final - better fix himself before next year starts though

Why? No one has slammed the young blokes yet? Don't see why you'd want to...I've seen people throw up Hoops and Whitey as possible outs but that is hardly slamming.

As for Sammy, thought he was very handy after half time. First half was a shocker but he wasn't alone. Reckon his hand is still worrying him a bit, but after missing tackle after tackle in the first half, his tackling in the center square was inspirational for the rest of the game, just couldn't get a free for any of them.

I thought he lifted his intensity after he copped that clip behind the ear from Wellingham. Played angry

No chance they will drop Hoops, the only way he goes out is if he doesn't pull up well. HO 12 possies and minimal metres gained, it is no surprise why collingwood were so stagnant coming out of defence when you've got guys like hoops peterson and ozzie applying pressure

Hooper will play. He has been managed recently to prime him for fianls.

Swiss, may have been OK, but when it counted, he cost the team badly. Watch the last quarter. He got done throwing the ball (fair call) and went soft when the ball was pin-pointed to his tit, but periperal activity caused him to spill the chest mark, which ultimately ended up in a goal to Collingwood.

He delivered to Ellis under pressure late in the game, but let's face it, he was lucky.

I think he is coming along nicely, but is another pre-season away. Hodge must come in for Swiss, or maybe Peterson.

Sidenote:Young was exceptional in the last quarter, and my appreciation for him has heightened today. It was like Clarkson decided to trial our gameplay for the finals series. We may confound them with some genius now that a full strength team is practically available. Exciting times....

Browns attack on the ball and the man all day was fantastic, something you need in finals
Mitchell had 30 possessions and around 10 clearances, never stopped trying!
You are an absolute flog of the highest order if your serious in your comments!

Spot on - and it does nothing for the team confidence.

I'm not really one for this "spiritual leader" bollocks but we've got one and he wasn't playing today

Its funny how different fans see different things.

I thought Mitch's second half was awesome. I was particularly unhappy with his 1st half tho.

Totally agree re Browny. Very ordinary today.

I thought Whitex did some good things, but I also reckon he cost us 2-3 goals with simple mistakes.

No way I would drop Hooper.

have to agree... i thought mitch stood up fantastically in the second and some of his passes were first rate. many times got the good handball going that set up the long kick forward

those who are dissing him really need to watch the game again

whitex had a better game... but i love having hoops in the team. he and cyril buzzing around... makes it scary for other teams

i suggest it will go down to peterson or whitex

peterson needs to kick more goals. but he does have some xfactor about him. it would be good if he gained some more confidence. Could really be a difference.

what i would like to see...

in: the man hodgey!
out: whitex

i love the way stratts plays... he is such a gem we have found

1 week at a time, but does anyone else think records are made to be broken??? Eventually a side will win a flag from outside the top 4 (current format). Why not this year? Can you imagine the legitimate Bradbury flag??? A premiership from 7th, not from 2nd, and from 1-6 would be outrageous, but possible, with our best footy in September

The banter between us all about who comes in for hodge is great , and the first sign for mine that our list is as strong as it has ever been.....
Player's like "X" and Whitey are now starting to for fill there potential and welcome additions to the list like Hooper and Peterson are now becoming the "x" FACTOR'S we all hoped thay would be.
It is now a case of horses for courses when it come to changes for mine.
Out..?? In..Hodge

1 week at a time, but does anyone else think records are made to be broken??? Eventually a side will win a flag from outside the top 4 (current format). Why not this year? Can you imagine the legitimate Bradbury flag??? A premiership from 7th, not from 2nd, and from 1-6 would be outrageous, but possible, with our best footy in September

Im a believer. It would be a massive effort, but if anyone can, we can!!!

After yesterdays win against the Pies, bring it on. Fremantle have no idea what is about to hit them on sat. We will give them a football lesson, they will have no idea what finals football is all about and they will be in shock for the next 3 months, after what we will do to them. Im not saying this because because Im a Hawk, I truly believe that Freo have no idea what is about to happen. No finals experience, pressure goes up 10 notches, etc etc.

And Geel and Stk will be sh..ting bricks knowing the Hawks are in that side of the draw. Either Geel or Stk out in straight sets, after finishing top 4!!!

BRING IT ON!!!! GO HAWKERS!

Um, Whitecross? Really?

How about

In: Hodge
Out: Hooper

This^^^

I though Casper was tops. He is playing into some form and is strong through the core which is useful against all the first year linguini arms at failmantle