Preview Fremantle v Hawthorn - Elimination Final, Subiaco, Sat 4 September 3.20pm Changes and Discussion

Off topic a bit. Im guessing the Saturday match will be live on ch10 since its a subi? Or will it be broadcasted by foxtel?

Regarding the team, i doubt Hooper will go out. On his day he will easily give us a 2-3 goal boost.

Even when it's not his day his defensive pressure in the forward line is fantastic. I thought he played well against the Pies despite only 1 kick for the game.

Good that the one kick was a goal, too.

Its going to be Whitex out and hodge in.
No doubt, unless there is an injury or suspension..
Whitex missed opportunities & gets caught with the ball too much.
4 times against freo and we won by 116 points!

It is stiff for any1 to get dropped after that performance beating the then flag favourite and minor premier.

Hooper won't get dropped as we need him for more forward line pressure which is a key point in our game plan, especially against collingwood and stkilda who play a shutdown similar game focusing on turnovers for goals and keeping it in their half. Hooper has to stay in to string a couple of games together. Keep in mind he's been in and out with injury so now he's in each week he should do a little better. His forward pressure with Cyril means brown can go back and if hodge comes in, he can obviously play anywhere and we haven't lost anything. We don't need brown forward! Whitex in 2010 is just good for depth if some1 doesn't come up...

Rumour in the west has it that Tarrant may return for the final. Big risk bringing in an underdone player who has struggled for most of the year - personally I can't see it happening and maybe it's just wishful thinking.

How does Tarrant go on our forwards? i cant remember if he has done any good in the past?

Hi all. Can anyone please confirm who plays who in the 2nd week?

Assuming that you win, which "loser" will you face the following week?

Ok i am going to throw something in here. I do not know who he will replace but i really like the idea of shane savage coming in this week. He could play on hill. Has the pace to keep up with him and they are both young. He has a booming kick and can run all day has really put in a solid last half of the season for box hill was great again today with his run and carry

Not sure throwing a kid who has only played a handfull of games into the elimination final over at Subi, if we were going to play him then we should of played him when were struggling to win games...

I agree mate probably won't happen as i said i was just throwing it out there. I also mentioned that they should play hooper on harry o last week hoping to be two from two this week with savage lining up on hill :D

Ah Ok, well that worked out pretty well, Harry did stuff all good to see Hoops has more to his game than just being a ferocious little runnig tackling machine, hope he really puts on a show at Subi...:thumbsu:

So you reckon that our ruck problems we had last year and the start of this year could help us out on the weekend against the big Sandi?

Maybe seeing the third man up a bit more then often and the mids having the ability to rove of him, he is such a freak the way he feeds their on ballers, I hope we have had the experience previously to capatilise on this......

Re: Hawks vs Someone - First Final, Changes and Discussion

Just saw balintyne is out for freo!

Yep! In other news, women can now vote! :eek:;)

Sandilands does pose a bit of a problem for sure. I like the idea of Peterson/Rioli/Osborne going 3rd man up around the ground. At the center bounces we are just going to have to compete hard to try and make it a contest.

No Savage, no Schoey........Just Hodge.

Ladson, Muston and to a lesser extent, Morton and maybe Shiels, should be the only other players contemplated by the selection panel throughout the next month. Could Birch make it back for a Semi/GF if we somehow make it? Would be a risk no doubt....Shame, because he was having his best match of the year against the Dockers a few weeks back when the hammy went.

Who would Birchall replace if he was fit to go?, we are pretty much at full strength and we can still fit 1 or 2 more players..:thumbsu:

Assuming Hodge in for WhiteX,

I reckon it would be a chain reaction with Birchall and everyone would push up the ground a notch. Birch comes in, Youngy pushes up to play on the wing, Lewis pushes up to the forward line to cover Hoopers role (either forward tag or forward) and Hooper or Peterson probably makes way.

Yep! In other news, women can now vote! :eek:;)

Sandilands does pose a bit of a problem for sure. I like the idea of Peterson/Rioli/Osborne going 3rd man up around the ground. At the center bounces we are just going to have to compete hard to try and make it a contest.

No Savage, no Schoey........Just Hodge.

Ladson, Muston and to a lesser extent, Morton and maybe Shiels, should be the only other players contemplated by the selection panel throughout the next month. Could Birch make it back for a Semi/GF if we somehow make it? Would be a risk no doubt....Shame, because he was having his best match of the year against the Dockers a few weeks back when the hammy went.

Going by the last month Muston would be behind Shiels, Savage and Morton.

Whitecross was great yesterday and I would find it hard to drop him and his run and endurance - have you ever seen the guy puffing ? - will be needed.

In: Luke Hodge
Out: Rhan Hooper (as much as I hate to do it as he was awesome in the last quarter and did ok on O'Brien)

B: Guerra Stratton Brown

HB: Gilham Gibson Ellis

C: Bateman Burgoyne Young

HF: Peterson Franklin Osborne

F: Rioli Roughead Peterson

Foll: Renouf Mitchell Hodge

Int: Sewell Lewis Skipper Whitecross

Em: Ladson Hooper Muston

I hope we play up to our potential. I don't mind losing if we play our best footy but since early last year we have not won an interstate match --- I hope this failure to produce North and West of Victoria is addressed and we give Freo a real run for their money..

GO HAWKS!!!

With hodge back I assume Lewis will go fwd meaning one of wx, hooper or Peterson will be squeezed out. Wx has it over both of them in terms of fitness which will be needed on a big ground. IMO Peterson goes out as struggles run out games and I think hooper has been earmarked as a finals specialist. Only concern on hooper is fitness and how well he travels.