Review GBU vs Freo

I also feel truly sorry for Gibbs. The guy is a jet and he came here to get away from the shit he's put up with his whole career. Wanted to play finals and play in a side that was a genuine threat. Nope. Still playing for a side that is miles away from any sort of success.
Nope. We wanted him at the end of 2014 when he would have been a free agent. Instead he signed on for 5 years at Carlton. He doesn't need anyone to feel sorry for him.

I’m all for bringing in sports psychologists to help with the mental aspect of the game....

But ******* Collective Minds are psychologists!

It’s staggering to hear that he tried to engage them at Brisbane, but he wasn’t allowed to; so why did we let him?

Burton has brought in Haas who destroyed the physical health of our squad, and Collective Minds who appear to have torched the mental health of the side.

He needs to go, immediately.
It's a really sad state of affairs that pretty much everyone here would rather have kept Noble.

I cannot be ungrateful for pick 12 for Cameron, but the highly-competent Noble moving to Brisbane at the encouragement of the AFL is yet another example of the league constantly interfering to unsettle our administration.

I could be wrong, but he gave me the impression that he knew what exactly the problem was, which is the first step to fixing it.

His consistent talk of "synergy" and "consistency" through that presser makes me believe he's going to continue to do the same thing and hope we start getting some guys back. What we're doing isn't wrong, just the way we're doing it, which will hopefully improve if we keep on trying to do it.

I could be wrong, but he gave me the impression that he knew what exactly the problem was, which is the first step to fixing it.

Rucci - "Where do you think you stand in terms of credibility from a grand finalist to a team that's not in the eight?" - trying to gather some quotes for his next agenda driven article.

You must be such a dumb campaigner Rucci if you can't equate a massive injury list to top end players, to not winning games and not being in the eight. I get it that this is your only chance to interview anyone from the Crows (he he he) but please, get out of the room and let someone ask some footy questions.

His consistent talk of "synergy" and "consistency" through that presser makes me believe he's going to continue to do the same thing and hope we start getting some guys back. What we're doing isn't wrong, just the way we're doing it, which will hopefully improve if we keep on trying to do it.
I think Don is treading a very fine line between PR and genuine answers. There's frustration behind his words and I don't think it's at the players. I doubt he's being so diplomatic behind closed doors.

You only have to listen to our last Tuesday Night Live podcast to understand how I feel about that shit show. The club don't want to talk about it, I can say that categorically. But the sheer lunacy of engaging that drug taking web developer to somehow instill "stronger minds" deflects from the complete disaster of the implementation of Kanga Tech, and the previous demise of Nick Poulos as a result of the appointment of Burton. Here we had a bloke who is industry recognised as employing successful injury management and prevention strategies, and we replaced him with a failed fitness coach of limited experience and a track record of high injuries, and then we promote that arrogant fool to GM Footy Ops and allow him to employ his understudy at the aforementioned failed program.

The club says we have a rigorous system of governance, yet we make these decisions. I guess that means that the system is flawed, because blind Freddy could see this set of decisions for what they were.

We took a group bonded by tragedy, fit and determined to succeed and we broke them, physically and mentally. Unfortunately Elite Crow I don't think this group can bounce back. There are some fractures now that won't heal and our age profile is such that our best had a year to go before renewal, and that year was this year. And we can't let Burton oversee that renewal.
Agreed with most of what you’ve said but with a fit list including Smith, Tex, Sloane, Gov, fingers crossed Brad and Knight. Further development of Doedee, Milera, fingers crossed Galluci. Mackay, Gibson, Otten gone. Fingers crossed an injection of speed and skill of Rankine, then I can see a bounce back.

We were 6:3 with a shit load of injuries, the players are now worn out so our season is imploding.

We do need to do something about Jacobs though.

As for Burton, I just can’t see him being moved on. There’s too much pride to let that happen.

I think Don is treading a very fine line between PR and genuine answers. There's frustration behind his words and I don't think it's at the players. I doubt he's being so diplomatic behind closed doors.

I think don is more interested in covering his own ass than anything else

He just signed a new deal, I don't think he has a ton to worry about from his job security POV.

Didnt sanderson ink a new deal not long before we sacked him? Just means we will have to give him an even bigger payout

Don is an independently wealthy man. He doesn't need to cling on to any highly paid job, and doesn't need to save face or protect his credentials for further jobs in the AFL or anywhere else. He most surely is not more interested in covering his own arse.

Agreed with most of what you’ve said but with a fit list including Smith, Tex, Sloane, Gov, fingers crossed Brad and Knight. Further development of Doedee, Milera, fingers crossed Galluci. Mackay, Gibson, Otten gone. Fingers crossed an injection of speed and skill of Rankine, then I can see a bounce back.

We were 6:3 with a shit load of injuries, the players are now worn out so our season is imploding.

As for Burton, I just can’t see him being moved on. There’s too much pride to let that happen.
I think we are close to describing the same thing. I don't think a rebuild is required as much as a refresh. Move Sloane and Lynch if they want to go, bring in some young talent, allow Tex to lead a newer group with a new sense of purpose and enthusiasm. Not a total rebuild but certainly an injection of talented youth.

And you're probably right on Burton, but a GM shouldn't need more than a CEO and a Board to check his performance. We also have a governance committee. I mean how much oversight does a senior executive need?

I agree, I think we can bounce back next year with a hopefully fitter list + the injection of high-end draft picks + a ruckman who can maybe take over from Sauce, or at least put genuine pressure on his spot (unlike ROB who is nowhere near it). My concern surrounds the age of our list (currently the oldest). We can't afford too many 30 year olds to play on next year, otherwise we are not 'recharging' the list. Gibson, Mackay, Otten, Cheney must go. Betts, Douglas, Jenkins, Jacobs, Gibbs stay.

Don is an independently wealthy man. He doesn't need to cling on to any highly paid job, and doesn't need to save face or protect his credentials for further jobs in the AFL or anywhere else. He most surely is not more interested in covering his own arse.

Same way as bomber thompson was independantly wealthy supposedly from real estate but in reality he was having to deal drugs?

Just because someone has had success in business doesnt mean they are wealthy... money is easy to squander

Nah I don't think so mate. He's not Sanderson, he's not invested in a football career. He strikes me as a bloke who hates incompetence and wouldn't enjoy being undermined by dickheads making stupid decisions that impact his performance.

I think we are close to describing the same thing. I don't think a rebuild is required as much as a refresh. Move Sloane and Lynch if they want to go, bring in some young talent, allow Tex to lead a newer group with a new sense of purpose and enthusiasm. Not a total rebuild but certainly an injection of talented youth.

And you're probably right on Burton, but a GM shouldn't need more than a CEO and a Board to check his performance. We also have a governance committee. I mean how much oversight does a senior executive need?
I’d love to see Burton’s end of season review, I reckon this needs a Drugs Are Bad Mackay? transcript:

Fitness: X
Health of squad: X
Mental state: X

What could Burton possibly say he’s done well this year? I can’t think of one, it’s been a total fail.

Nah I don't think so mate. He's not Sanderson, he's not invested in a football career. He strikes me as a bloke who hates incompetence and wouldn't enjoy being undermined by dickheads making stupid decisions that impact his performance.

If he wasnt ok with inconpetence he would have walked after we failed to give him decent assistants

Didnt sanderson ink a new deal not long before we sacked him? Just means we will have to give him an even bigger payout
He'd been given an extension two years prior as Trigg's way of hushing him up so he couldn't use the "you screwed me" excuse after the Tippett stuff. No way he got an extension otherwise.

I thought Murphy looked good from the snippets I saw of his game (was mostly skim watching the game). I thought he looked pretty much at home in this game - not enough mention of him so far, I think.
I watched the full game and he’s just nowhere near this level. Skills, evasion and awareness are SANFL level.

Same way as bomber thompson was independantly wealthy supposedly from real estate but in reality he was having to deal drugs?

Just because someone has had success in business doesnt mean they are wealthy... money is easy to squander
Thompson is/was a user...(allegedly). He didn't have to deal drugs to make a living, he did because he is ****ed in the head. You couldn't have picked a worse comparison.

Don is wealthy, very very wealthy.

Review GBU vs Freo