Settle down, mate. I've put in the hard yards with the team.Role model geelong supporter right here
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Settle down, mate. I've put in the hard yards with the team.Role model geelong supporter right here
I liked Chris Scotts after match press conference - in regard to - he is a big fan of the 17 game season = everyone plays everyone once totally fair and he really emphasised that in a 17 game season - that every game is vitally important ( where 22 game season you could get away with 1 or 2 shock losses
And i agree with ( and if your out of the picture - the lasst 5-6 games were a waste of time - and supporters of those clubs couldnt wait for the season to finish )
I think if you brought in one more team - Tasmania that would make a 18 round season ( it used to be that in the 1960s ) plus 4 weeks of finals and maybe a split round - so thats 23 weeks - thats long enough - keeps everyone interested and it is a totally fair draw
Settle down, mate. I've put in the hard yards with the team.
Sure it is. Geelong have to play every interstate side interstate. Think that's fair?
The only truly fair system is every team twice. Which will never happen. 22 games is better - much better - than 17. Quality rises the more games are played. The better, stronger, and more durable sides win out in the end.
Is this the same game where we finished with 1 on the bench?Nothing to do with coming up against Blicavs I'm sure.
2018, same opponent, same venue. We were 5 points up at three quarter time. Last quarter, Natanui destroys Blicavs, 7 goals to 3, they win.
Good to see we've learned from it.
And he was quite poor when he did despite being in the most dominant side for the decade. even got dropped for 5 weeks when ottens was out he was so poor. We played mumford in his first season as sole ruck for 5 weeks because the more senior ruckman in blake couldnt handle it.That's rubbish. In 2008 and 2009 there were many games he carried the ruck duties in Ottens' absences.
Yep. Doesnt change the fact nic absolutely monstered blicavs that day. Blicavs even stopped trying to go up in the ruck at the centre square in the last qtr of that game and tried to tackle nic nat instead. saturdays game was an improvement on that one as he only did that once on saturday.Is this the same game where we finished with 1 on the bench?
GO Catters
He was pick 22. I.e. a higher pick then steve johnson, enright, ling, chapman, tim kelly, motlop, mitch duncan. Its not like he was a pick in the 40s.Unfortunately, we have a system and coach who gets us top 4 most years, so we will always get the lower end draftees.
I think my favourite passage from him i actually didn't pick up much of on first viewing but when looking at constable's involvements I saw that Chooks best passage from the first quarter was 100% made possible by close. Close read rhe play, blocked for Chook, ran to the front of the stoppage when Chook hit up his default outlet (Parfitt). After get and give under pressure Chook sent forward to Close who immediately sent to Miers.Very good post
Some supporters listing the Geel outs (from presumably the best side possible picked ) and keep mentioning Dalhaus - i think Bradley Close in his 2 games has already gone past Dalhaus
Close is a bit like Varcoe in one aspect - i will get/give the ball to a Geel player in the best possible position to score a goal
Whether that's a good pick depends on the draft. There are players taken ahead of him and behind him that are worse. The only one I look at in that draft and think we missed an opportunity with the picks we had was Liam Ryan but we were far from the only ones thereHe was pick 22. I.e. a higher pick then steve johnson, enright, ling, chapman, tim kelly, motlop, mitch duncan. Its not like he was a pick in the 40s.
Cant understand your logic their to be honest - for example - Geel dont play Eagles every year in Perth in a 22 rounder - so why are they going to play every interstate side interstate in a 17 rounder ???
22 rounds is shockingly unfair - go back to 2012 Syd/ ADE ( top 4 teams ) got GWS and Suns twice - who were both hopeless and you couldnt lose to - that cost Cats a top 4 spot - that type of nonsense dissappears in a 17 rounder ( or 18 rounder with Tassie in the comp )
He was pick 22. I.e. a higher pick then steve johnson, enright, ling, chapman, tim kelly, motlop, mitch duncan. Its not like he was a pick in the 40s.
Yep. Doesnt change the fact nic absolutely monstered blicavs that day. Blicavs even stopped trying to go up in the ruck at the centre square in the last qtr of that game and tried to tackle nic nat instead. saturdays game was an improvement on that one as he only did that once on saturday.
Is this the same game where we finished with 1 on the bench?
GO Catters
We had 2 first rounders we got for Ablett too. Not bad. Think Hawthorn got bugger all for Buddy.From our current list, higher pick than Guthrie, Steven, Stewart, and Menegola as well.
Isn't it amazing how apparently you can't get any quality players ever unless they're in the first round now? Despite our own club having very clear current and past examples to the contrary.
It also overlooks one thing never, ever discussed - we've traded in high picks from other clubs.
Our current list has five picks from the top 10 or inside it:
Rohan (pick #6), Selwood (pick #7), Henderson (pick #8), Cockatoo (pick #10), and Dangerfield (pick #10). They paid something for them of course - and I absolutely was not in favour of them all (not Rohan in a million years, and not a first rounder for Henderson). But the fact is we do have some early picks on our list. It's not quite as threadbare as some like to insinuate.
Never said anyhting about Blitz not being monstered. Please show me where I did.Yep. Doesnt change the fact nic absolutely monstered blicavs that day. Blicavs even stopped trying to go up in the ruck at the centre square in the last qtr of that game and tried to tackle nic nat instead. saturdays game was an improvement on that one as he only did that once on saturday.
Yes we withdrew Stanley before the game one of those super cunning late changes.Yep, Ablett (who was BOG at the time), Guthrie, and Cockatoo. Not a lot of ruck support unfortunately.
Ok... thats gonna add to the net effect of Blitz getting whooped as well.Yep, Ablett (who was BOG at the time), Guthrie, and Cockatoo. Not a lot of ruck support unfortunately.
7 goals? Thought it was a close game.Never said anyhting about Blitz not being monstered. Please show me where I did.
But seeing it was the case regarding the missing rotations and bench players, i think its folly to suggest NN tearing BLitz apart was the only reason we lost by 7 goals in the end. Clearly a myopic POV.
Add in the fact of NN beating BLitz - no arguement - but to suggest its the only reason... sound overly skewed without all the facts to me.
Go Catters
Not really. He's just not a ruckman.Ok... thats gonna add to the net effect of Blitz getting whooped as well.
GO Catters
Never said anyhting about Blitz not being monstered. Please show me where I did.
But seeing it was the case regarding the missing rotations and bench players, i think its folly to suggest NN tearing BLitz apart was the only reason we lost by 7 goals in the end. Clearly a myopic POV.
Add in the fact of NN beating BLitz - no arguement - but to suggest its the only reason... sound overly skewed without all the facts to me.
Yes we withdrew Stanley before the game one of those super cunning late changes.
Against Nic Nat!!!!!!!!!!!
7 goals? Thought it was a close game.
Nic Nat smashed us in the end. Won it for them. Great Player.
Oh fair enough.No they kicked 7 goals in the last quarter. Won by about 15 points or so.