Geelong vs West Coast Eagles Prelim

The Weagles weren't impressive against the Blues and limped over the line with what appeared to be alot of sore and fatigued bodies.

The Cats are refreshed and cherry ripe for another tilt at the flag and will win in a canter.

The Weagles weren't impressive against the Blues and limped over the line with what appeared to be alot of sore and fatigued bodies.

The Cats are refreshed and cherry ripe for another tilt at the flag and will win in a canter.
When was the last time Geelong beat WC in a final? ;)

We finished last year last it would be fantastic to once again like the good old days ruin your September though.:thumbsu:

The last game is irrelevant as well.

You think that because you beat us at Subi in the middle of the H&A season, that means you will beat us in a PF?.

You're right on the basis of historical data being irrelevant (largely).

However this stat does lend credence to the fact we CAN beat the cats and psychologically, for a young team, that's surely something to hang their hat on.

To answer your question, I don't believe this means we will win a PF against Geelong. I never said that. In fact if I had to put money on it I'd say Geelong by 3-4 goals (although if the odds blow out it might be worth a cheeky bet for an eagles win:)), but don't write us off before the ball has bounced!

Geelong are a class side, take nothing away from them at all, but it's just a little disappointing that many seem to think we have ZERO chance, yet we have demonstrated prior and recent success against Geelong and only just lost to a strong Collingwood side (by a margin that probably flattered them in the end) last week on the ground we'll be playing on this coming week.

If we did win I'd be highly surprised but at the same time I don't think it's entirely out of the realms of possibility and I'm expecting a very competitive game.

I get the feeling a few of our players might run out of puff and the week off for Geelong will be a huge advantage. I'm just happy we have made it this far.

Geelong by 6-7 goals.

Bit much to say you are going to flog us, we've been competitive in every game we've played this year with the possible exception of the first Collingwood game. Even in that game the general concensus was we competed well.

Objectively, I expect Geelong to win but not by 10+ and nor should anyone.

Its almost beyond most eagles supporters wildest dreams to think we would be in a prelim this year. So just to make one is amazing and having 2 massive finals against the best 2 sides going around at the MCG is going to give some of our younger guys such valuable experience.

Not sure if we can win. The 2 bruising finals already could take its toll - but if our season so far has told me anything it is that anything is possible. We are going to have a red hot go, thats for sure :thumbsu:

Geelong by 119.

WCE won't have the umpires in Melbourne. Were worth at least 11 goals to them tonight, plus 4 arse goals they got. Rigged result imo. Don't know why either seeing as Carlton would draw 90k plus to the next match. AFL are obviously stupid.

:eek:

Really?

OT, that game tonight was very hard, after a another hard game v Pies the week prior.

This finals experience that we are getting into our young core is invaluable however and I do indeed like what I see with this footy club.

Result? Geelong by 45, after kicking away early in the fourth. We will simply run out of petrol tickets I feel.

Hope I'm wrong.

Once it was clear we would be top 4 i really wanted us to make prelim, anything else is just a MASSIVE bonus.

I'll be cheering as hard as anyone throughout the game and if we fall short i'll cry, i'll mourn but i'll be bloody proud of this bunch of players to have come from where they were 12 months ago.

:eek:

Really?

OT, that game tonight was very hard, after a another hard game v Pies the week prior.

This finals experience that we are getting into our young core is invaluable however and I do indeed like what I see with this footy club.

Result? Geelong by 45, after kicking away early in the fourth. We will simply run out of petrol tickets I feel.

Hope I'm wrong.

That wouldn't surprise me too much if in the last quarter we are pretty much out of it say 25points+behind i could see us collapsing. We are going to be very tired had a very tough month and lack experience.

I get the feeling a few of our players might run out of puff and the week off for Geelong will be a huge advantage. I'm just happy we have made it this far.

Geelong by 6-7 goals.

I agree, that was a pretty tough slog last night, and a great game of footy.

I reckon you'll be pretty flat come next week, it'll take the players a few days to recover and then the trip over, it won't be easy.

Geelong will be fresh and they're hungry for success, they also get Joel Corey back, without being cocky i'm pretty confident Geelong will win quite easily.

Absolute respect for the Eagles, a great team to watch and will be very hard to beat next week.

Would not doubt an upset, they ate quite capable of it.

Eagles fans should be very proud of their club