Resource Geelong YouTube highlights

Phew. I have it all done!

Here is a playlist of nine of the best parts of the Grand Final with commentary by K-ROCK. I hope you enjoy these video. They will play one after the other. Included clips are...

First goal of the game, Bartel's snap, Bartel's mark and goal, Mitch Duncan's goal, Christensen's mark leading to Hawkins goal, Varcoe's running goal, Jimmy's long bomb, Linga's goal and the last three minutes of the game.

Edit- The playlist is now finished and also includes Hawkins' four last quarter marks and the two Steve Johnson goals.

Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9CN...text=C2d6b9FDOEgsToPDskIhpJtDfUDZcDzSENM-QxoQ

I've had my Grand Final montage on the 'cutting room floor' three-quarters complete for a few weeks, but hit a couple of snags (can't fit the footage into the song without finer editing, mouse died so too hard to do it all via touchpad). But rest assured it's still on its way (albeit very late!).

Steve Johnson's final goal of the 2011 GF with the funniest K-ROCK commentary ever!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=55g5VVYrArE

Cue the circus music! And I'm positive now that he said 'F*ck you, Taz!'. Great stuff. That's the beauty of K-Rock - while the Melbourne stations have to remain pretty neutral in their calls a station in a one-team town like Geelong can get as rediculously one-eyed as you like.

LOVE it:thumbsu:

Hey guys, this is the Channel Ten Intro to the Geelong v Collingwood Preliminary Final Game in 2009. Enjoy.

[YOUTUBE]5nFaZiax66k[/YOUTUBE]

Geelong Cats 2011 Highlights/Preview 2012 Video

This is the Cats 2011 Highlights and a little bit of a preview for 2012. Please watch and tell me what you think of it. Thanks & Hope you enjoy :)

[YOUTUBE]4b7UQLbVkAc&f[/YOUTUBE]

This is the Cats 2011 Highlights and a little bit of a preview for 2012. Please watch and tell me what you think of it. Thanks.

[YOUTUBE]4b7UQLbVkAc&f[/YOUTUBE]

short video I did which highlights Chapman & Corey's grand final performance.
The amount of times they were involved in our goals was crucial and it's the tough stuff they do around the ground that makes them true champions and the perfect players made for finals footy.

[YOUTUBE]LJ7YdVvPy7c[/YOUTUBE]​

Here is a video I just made of all 14 of Gary Ablett's goals against Essendon in Round 6, 1993

Isn't he just unreal:thumbsu:

The thing is too...he lost an enormous amount of his prodigious leap by 1993 and had to use a lot of body positioning from then on, his courage to try anything in the air meant he was still able to time his jumps perfectly and took some of the greatest marks seen from those years of 1993-1995.
I have gathered a few videos of Geelong matches in the 1980's when Gazza was truly in his prime and I don't believe I have yet seen another player take 2 steps and propel his body as high as Ablett did on a consistent basis.

His vertical leaping was definitely around the 40-42 inch mark but his ability to leap sideways is what made some of his marks more spectacular than most.
Exceptionally gifted athlete who was just born with Olympian genes.

Amazing how awful the commentary is. Peter Landy sounds like he's calling a funeral at times (though he never liked Geelong) and their versions of some of the free kicks are ridiculous. How did they not see Kickett shove Ablett square in the back? Good call Robbo you has-been. Also, that Ablett goal from the pocket if called today would have commentators in raptures. It's almost as they they didn't know what was going on out there. Amazingly and despite his Brownlow, there are times when Healy seems to have no idea about football.

As for the game, passable effort...

I dont think he'd lost his leap at all.
Modra was a better jump at the ball than Gaz.

But backman and teams were playing Gaz differently and he just seemed to want to play body on body a lot.

And although he won plenty of contests he had no right to I thought he was a bit selfish. You see the incredible one handers but you dont see the amount of times the defender got a hand to it and the ball was cleared with ease.

He was definitely slower in 93. That's probably another reason why he didn't leap enough.

I dont think he'd lost his leap at all.
Modra was a better jump at the ball than Gaz.

But backman and teams were playing Gaz differently and he just seemed to want to play body on body a lot.

sorry mate but Gazza himself says in his own book that he had lost quite alot of his natural spring after years of copping kicks to his Achilles.

If you have any matches from the 1980's you can clearly see his vertical leaping was substantially effortless and he would consistently get above most defenders.

Modra was definitely not a better jumper either because you are looking at two football players at different stages of their careers as Modra throughout 92-97 was like Gazza in 84-91.

He still flew for marks on weekly basis but he didn't take mark of the week every second week as he was doing in the 80's due to that prodigious jump of his.
I remember Tommy Hafey giving a talk at our high school many years ago and a teacher asked about Ablett and Hafey went on to describe he and Capper as the two greatest marking players has ever coached and said Gary took a mark of the year every single week and Hafey has seen them all.

Nope. (except for...the theme of the hafey comment)

Sorry !

Nope. (except for...the theme of the hafey comment)

Sorry !

did you want me to provide you some proof of what I mean then?
I got all the highlights...I can show you the normal marks he attempted in his earlier years and then show you the later marks he attempted and you can see the difference for yourself?

I know you enjoy finding my posts and commenting on them so I'm simply doing the same but I do have proof which backs up what I'm typing (apart from the Hafey theme as unfortunately that appearance was not recorded)

I know you mentioned a year ago that you had spent a lot of time looking through footage of snr.

I'm not trying to be an arse.

Maybe post the subject as a 2nd thread? I saw probably 150 of his games (guessing) and others may see it different.

I can tell you one thing though. Being at a game when he was on was like being at a party. "watch this, watch this". He'd mark it. Or run around someone or kick a crazy goal. Opposition supporters then threw records, everyone would laugh and high fives followed. It happened every week at some stage.

I know you mentioned a year ago that you had spent a lot of time looking through footage of snr.

I'm not trying to be an arse.

Maybe post the subject as a 2nd thread? I saw probably 150 of his games (guessing) and others may see it different.

I can tell you one thing though. Being at a game when he was on was like being at a party. "watch this, watch this". He'd mark it. Or run around someone or kick a crazy goal. Opposition supporters then threw records, everyone would laugh and high fives followed. It happened every week at some stage.

yeh ok so what's your point?
I was simply posting my own thoughts about Gazza as walkingdude did a fantastic job on the movie and you then quote me and say that Ablett did not lose any of his spring and that even Modra was a better jumper at the ball.
Hey I don't care about the Modra remark but I seen footage of Ablett in his absolute prime and the difference between the young Ablett and the 30 year old Ablett is quite different, especially his 1st step and speed of the mark.

But your entitled to your own opinion and if you believe he was still as athletic at 30 than when he was at 23 then that's fine.

No point other than I never thought he was a great leap

Surely you jest VC the guy could go from standing to onto someone's shoulders in three step's, one of the best leaps of all time

Resource Geelong YouTube highlights