No Oppo Supporters General AFL Discussion #12 - Carlton Posters ONLY!

Nice front loaded contract. Wants to go home now that he's about to get less next year.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Surely clubs can and do put in clauses to protect themselves for front loaded contracts. Something like if the player requests a trade then the club is owed a balance based on average dollars per year for the whole contract. I think one could rightfully question the intentions of any player not happy to agree with that.

Nice front loaded contract. Wants to go home now that he's about to get less next year.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

It's his pregnant wife that wants to go home for family, Neale was originally from SA.

I doubt money/financial considerations played any part in his decision, but still, you would be a bit filthy if you were an Lions supporter, but if he and his partner want to return to Perth, their decision should be respected.

Seen some pretty vile and toxic comments about Lachie and his wife on social media.

Surely clubs can and do put in clauses to protect themselves for front loaded contracts. Something like if the player elects to leave then the club is owed a balance based on average dollars per year for the whole contract.

Make some kind of sense to me, bur the Players Association would never agree to it.

Apparently it wasn't just money why Neale left Freo in the first place either (least from what I read elsewhere)

Feel bad for Brisbane and it's supporters, but I honestly don't believe Neale is the villain many seem to think he is.

His wife wants to have their baby and raise him or her in Perth with her family and I assume solid support network, I don't see how any rational and decent footy fan can begrudge them of that.

Family should always come first, especially more than ever in these scary Covid times.

Then perhaps don't sign a five year contract. If he wants to maintain the flexibility to move to suit his family situation, then forego the benefits and security of a long-term contract.

To be fair to Lachie and his wife, no one could have possibly foreseen the horrific worldwide pandemic that is the Coronavirus, which has decimated our way of life globally for 2 years now.

I think an strong argument çould be made that if not for COVID19, Neale and his partner would not have (or should I say, most likely) made this trade request.

There is still a chance (albeit a small one) the Lions can convince him to stay in Brisbane. As I say, we live in an historically unprecedented global health menace times, and we don't know exactly the psychological and emotional toll it takes on the partners and families of players.

Ever changed your mind? If so can you say when it was please? Whether it was because your situation changed and you didn't see it coming or perhaps something more complex that's none of anyone's business? Take your time.

Last years grand final was the worst
I think I barely watched it. I vaguely remember Ablett injured early and I probably watched half the match just to find out which team would be premier for season but because the so called finals were not fair dinkum match length I could not treat it like real finals. For me it will always be a season I will not watch any of it again due to nature of shorter quarters. It more like the old night series matches which we won Sterling Cup in 1983 in a night match grand final on a Tuesday night. Shorter length so not the real deal.

This year I will watch as thankfully we got full length games again, so if you win the flag this season you do it like the premiers of 99% of sesons where you got to do it over four quarters of around half an hour each.

Not fussed it in Perth as it really the only place to do it in current Co-Vid situation of all the states. No West Coast or Fremantle in it so we not dealing with the 6 goal homeground advantage nonsense that tends to be the case over there. Whomever wins premiership will have to win it the normal of simply beat the opposition.

Timeslot slightly weird.
2-30 pm would have been ideal due to fact it would have been 4-30 pm here, so would have been good experiment to see how most of us dealt with a grand final at that time live here but we now essentially got it a night time slot here.
For Perth I guess first quarter in daylight and second quarter in twilight. Second half will be a night match for them too.
Hopefully it is better than 1991 grand final at Waverley, that I felt lacked a grand final atmosphere.

The implications in the world of Covid probably weren't part of his or his wifes consideration when the contract was signed, compounded further with the addition of the baby. These are strange and trying times for many people and footballers are not insulated from it.
A bit more empathy called for.

The implications in the world of Covid probably weren't part of his or his wifes consideration when the contract was signed, compounded further with the addition of the baby. These are strange and trying times for many people and footballers are not insulated from it.
bang

Make some kind of sense to me, bur the Players Association would never agree to it.

Apparently it wasn't just money why Neale left Freo in the first place either (least from what I read elsewhere)

Feel bad for Brisbane and it's supporters, but I honestly don't believe Neale is the villain many seem to think he is.

His wife wants to have their baby and raise him or her in Perth with her family and I assume solid support network, I don't see how any rational and decent footy fan can begrudge them of that.

So you’re saying when he signed the contract he and more importantly his WIFE had no idea they were going to have children in the next 5 years??? Come on.

Football is going to give this child a decent life and future. His wife should have known what she signed for in the world of AFL…

Almost what I said, but more succinct/better.
If a player from our club wanted to leave for similar reasons, I certainly wouldn't begrudge them.

I don't think any of us men (and I assume you are a dude, apologies if wrong) can understand the fears and needs of pregnant women, especially in these scary covid times.

People go on about how much money Neale has earned/earning but it's not substitute for giving birth and raising a baby with close family and friends close by as a support network (well as far as I can ascertain as someone who is childless)

So you’re saying when he signed the contract he and more importantly his WIFE had no idea they were going to have children in the next 5 years??? Come on.

Football is going to give this child a decent life and future. His wife should have known what she signed for in the world of AFL…
say again?

Bit of a heartless and ignorant take

Also I am pretty certain Lachie's wife Julie, married him cause she loved the bloke with all her heart.,
, did not sign on for the world of AFL or so called benefits (which really is not as glamorous as you think. I once stayed a night at the late Jim Stynes place 24 years ago when I was a homeless youth, players don't live in Mansions and live Rockstar lifestyles as you think, I can assure you of that)

Just because someone is well remunerated for the profession they excel at that does not automatically make them a happy and fulfilled person btw

As Healer Said, some understanding and empathy would not go astray.

Afternoon is still my preferred time slot, last year's Grand Final felt as flat as a tack atmosphere wise.

Agree 100%. I find the argument, that you'll get more people watching if it's at night, completely bogus. If someone will ONLY watch the game if it's played at night, why would you ditch every ounce of tradition in the game just for them. And if you do, just admit it's 100% about the $$.

And the "night experience" with fireworks etc...who gives a rats. I coldn't care less about the pre and halftime entertainment. Completely irrelevant to me.

Also I am pretty certain Lachie's wife Julie, married him cause she loved the bloke with all her heart.,
, did not sign on for the world of AFL or so called benefits (which really is not as glamorous as you think. I once stayed a night at the late Jim Stynes place 24 years ago when I was a homeless youth, players don't live in Mansions and live Rockstar lifestyles as you think, I can assure you of that)

Just because someone is well remunerated for the profession they excel at that does not automatically make them a happy and fulfilled person btw

Honestly do you even believe the stuff you post on here.

I am honestly speaking the truth about Jim Stynes, if that is what you are pondering.
I am prone to posting some out of there comments from time to time, i admit, but the thrust of that post you have quoted me on is pretty much spot on (least from my own perspective and experiences)

Have you been living under a rock?

This bloke is and has been a ‘rockstar’ since he arrived on the scene. Perth is saturated with ‘footy’ people and everyone knows where they hang out, how to meet them and that footy players are rockstars in WA.

I’ve seen and lived it for the last 30 years and today the players get heaps of money and extras that the public have no idea about.

Footballers wives/partners know what they sign up for while they are figuring out the ‘love’ thing that you mentioned. Surely she didn’t come down in the last shower???

I am honestly speaking the truth about Jim Stynes, if that is what you are pondering.
I am prone to posting some out of there comments from time to time, i admit, but the thrust of that post you have quoted me on is pretty much spot on (least from my own perspective and experiences)
I wasnt specifically pondering about Jim Stynes but i find most of the stuff you post is pretty out there.

This bloke is and has been a ‘rockstar’ since he arrived on the scene. Perth is saturated with ‘footy’ people and everyone knows where they hang out, how to meet them and that footy players are rockstars in WA.

I’ve seen and lived it for the last 30 years and today the players get heaps of money and extras that the public have no idea about.

Footballers wives/partners know what they sign up for while they are figuring out the ‘love’ thing that you mentioned. Surely she didn’t come down in the last shower???
you don't negotiate well do you?

Oh crap I just got made indefinite.... does that mean I have to be stuck in the same job until I die...

How many times do I need to say this - money is no substitute for the love and support of family and close friends, especially when you are about to give birth.

Also its not as if the WA Rockstar footy culture is for everyone (certainly didn't help Ben Cousins and Michael Gardiner from being caught up in the toxic addiction industry)

Players have more money and luxuries than ever, but by the same token they have lost many of life's privileges we take for granted, like going to a bar or a movie or a restaurant with their partner or mates without being harassed (case in point, the drama with Shai Bolton, Dan Rioli and his partner months ago)

I am sorry but your argument that Wives/Wags knew what they signed up for is no excuse for idiots abusing and degrading them on social media etc.