No Oppo Supporters General AFL Discussion #12 - Carlton Posters ONLY!

Hearing Maher and Gaze on SEN saying Clarkson and Fagan are "good humans" and "good blokes" almost made me wretch.

Bunch of ******* idiotic pigs (no offense to all the pigs out there).
"Yeah nah, they're my mate. They're nice to me. Surely they're the same to everyone else. They couldn't possibly..."

But until he is PROVEN guilty he isn’t and has the right of presumed innocence until he is.

Basic fabric of a democratic process.
That hasn't existed for a while.

Plenty of people have been ostracised or have lost their careers over allegations that have proven false.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hearing Maher and Gaze on SEN saying Clarkson and Fagan are "good humans" and "good blokes" almost made me wretch.

But what if they are innocent? Clarkson has come out and denied it. I would be very careful if I was Chief .

FWIW I have asked around a few ex Hawthorn players today. They reckon it's not true in the slightest.

Let's see how this plays out

But what if they are innocent? Clarkson has come out and denied it. I would be very careful if I was Chief .

FWIW I have asked around a few ex Hawthorn players today. They reckon it's not true in the slightest.

We are all really happy for you mate.

He hasn’t denied the allegations he’s stated he doesn’t think he’s done anything wrong it’s carefully worded political speech

Oh hello ...

FdKjSgsakAEDuuc

Bloody shocking allegations. Also staggering that Fagan and Clarkson weren't interviewed as part of the report. And please don't take this as any defence of these guys. I would have just expected that based on such serious allegations, the authors would want to speak to those alleged to have committed such unspeakably bad things.

Typical media reporting - lynch mob is alive and well: judge, jury and executioner.

I’m not suggesting for one minute that if these allegations are found proven the perpetrators are slapped with a lettuce: on the contrary. The allegations are very serious…but at the moment that’s what they are.

However whatever happened to the presumption of innocence until proven guilty? Personally I feel Fagan and Clarkson have been hammered publicly here and what opportunity have they had to defend themselves? That’s been lost in the media circus.

Frankly the media have a lot to answer for but are not accountable themselves.
It's deciding that the testimony of these players and their wives is more than enough evidence.
It's piecing together that the abc reporter was told that what they reported was also in the hawthorn findings.
It's thinking back to cyril rioli and what caro reported and how hawks spread false stories about both cyril and his wife to try and cover their tracks.
It is right in front of you.
What Clarkson did and said.
Right there.

Be very careful of your own posts which have been cleaned up.

Andy Maher did not say that.
He gently corrected Gazey a little later after a caller pointed out why it wasn't 'a mistake'...

Unless those ex players were sitting in the same room, they would have no idea

You reckon from 10 years ago to the past 6 months when they made these allegations, they never had a chance to talk?

You reckon it's impossible that a guy could think, "****, I wanna get rid of my ex to chase tail, and I don't want this baby at 20" then later on tell her the nah the club made me do it. Because he ended up back with her.

Mate, let me tell you this whole thing stinks. If it's true, it's completely ****ed and they should be decimated.

You can't make assumptions of guilt like this. It's disgusting. Anyone could ruin anyone's life at any time

Andy Maher did not say that.
He gently corrected Gazey a little later after a caller pointed out why it wasn't 'a mistake'...
No, he flat out said that they're good human beings with Gaze.

Maybe forget the fact that he's a Carlton man and just admit it was an idiotic comment.

No, he flat out said that they're good human beings with Gaze.

Maybe forget the fact that he's a Carlton man and just admit it was an idiotic comment.
Would have thought Mahers would have memories of Clarkson king hitting Aitken in an exhibition match.

Regardless given the accusations they should reconsider their judgements and stay quiet on the references until they are cleared ( if that does happen which seem unlikely to me)

You can't just blindly believe accusations...

But when there's multiple players with multiple accusations... makes it really difficult to believe Clarko and Fagan's innocence..

Let's play devil's advocate here, re "forcing" a player to abort the pregnancy... as horrible as that is, why is it racist?

Bloody shocking allegations. Also staggering that Fagan and Clarkson weren't interviewed as part of the report. And please don't take this as any defence of these guys. I would have just expected that based on such serious allegations, the authors would want to speak to those alleged to have committed such unspeakably bad things.

I have no doubt the allegations are likely true, but not requesting a response from Fagan or Clarkson before publishing it's an absolute journalistic question mark. Very bizarre.