• Josh Rachele

• James Rowe (sub)

• Lachlan Sholl

• Rory Sloane

• Brodie Smith

• Taylor Walker

Results are only viewable after voting.

Frampton is getting the Defense of David Mackay treatment.

His baseline is so low for being "good" that when he puts in a game that is better than average for him, it's only being measured against himself, rather than a general AFL player.

It was no doubt one of Frampton's better games. But most of his games were horrible. Was he actually good overall? I didn't think so.
Yeah well the trouble with that is that Mackay was actually a pretty fair footballer in his last 4 years. He wasn’t a star by any stretch, but if people took off their blinkers and watched him objectively then he was clearly in our best 22.
tonight Billy was playing against Tom Lynch, Bolta and Riewoldt who had 61 inside 50’s come their way, and his only other KPD team mate was on one leg, and yet those 3 guys only kicked 5 between them. And nearly all their contested marks were against Butts.
he is clearly still learning how to play back there, but no actually unbiased view of his game would fail to see the potential.

OK, I get it, you hate Billy.
Nah, mate, I don't "hate" Billy. I don't know him personally and my complaints about the way he plays footy (badly) are not personal, either.
in fact, I hope he had a rip-roarin' time tonight with the rest of the team, celebrating their good win :thumbsu: .

I dislike that Nicks threw him a lifeline after PA woke up and got rid of him. Smacked of favoritism to me.
I disliked his last 3 or 4 games last year before he was dropped after it finally became apparent that he was terrible. I'm sure that Nicks wants Billy to succeed --- hell, I do myself, but it ain't happening.

I don't even hate Frampton's ineptitude, lack of game awareness, his fumbles and inability to take even simple possession cleanly, his terrible short-passing and the fact that a good leading forward puts 2-3m between himself and Billy easily, regularly. But it is frustrating/exasperating to watch.

I just don't think he's good enough to play AFL footy and wish he wasn't playing for the Crows.

Frampton was pretty bad, I cringe every time the ball comes close to him, he has been in the AFL system for 8 years, people saying don’t be so harsh he’s new to defending - I get it but really this guy should not be fumbling and shitting himself at this point - he’s played enough games and had plenty of opportunities in his career, he just doesn’t have it and we are only persisting because we don’t have anyone doing a better job. Is borlase any good? we really need a capable 2nd KPD urgently.
Can argue pros and cons but is anyone knocking the door down

Was a real impressive team performance, been a long time since I haven't felt like we've carried a lot of dead weight and some good signs from guys who have been struggling.

Jones - His kicking was still pretty painful but it was nice to see him get it in offensive positions to quickly go on the attack as we really need him to do with his attributes. Good to see that hard attack on the footy with Bolta too.

Murphy - His work up the field was really strong and can understand why we keep persisting with him.

McAdam - I don't have much faith but he played his role really well tonight and if we could get more consistent efforts from him like that then he'd have no worries holding his spot in the 22.

Himmelberg - Think we're all happily surprised with his recent turn around in form.

O'Brien - Thought he was terrible in the first half and he shits me greatly but he was massive in the second half - taking marks, kicking a goal and getting involved a lot more.

Cook - More involved and showed some nice signs.

-----------------

I hope Tex plays forever, I get so much enjoyment watching him play, he's elite. Loved seeing his form bounce back in recent years after many were calling him done. Just a smart footballer and a class above others - Rachele is going to be the next one with his level of footy smarts and talent imo.

Far better output from the mids and Sloane up forward was what we needed to free up a rotation spot. I wish we could get Crouch back to being a super strong inside mid, 0 tackles and letting a couple run straight through him was really disappointing to see. Think he's too much of what we've got but he's honestly not playing near his best footy, if he gets there then many of us will be singing his name but do start to wonder if he'll ever get back to that player as we haven't seen him for a while (even going back to pre injury).

One thing I'd love to see us improve is how we bring it in after having a point kicked on us. It's normally that standard long bomb, 60m down to the right on the boundary which seems to set us up for a 50/50 at best and they're just a quick kick and mark away from lining up for goal themselves. Watching the Doggies a bit, they're so good at being able to kick it 40m out for an easy mark and open up going through the middle or long down the line. That next one long down the line requires a bit more effort from the opposition to set themselves up for a shot on goal compared to how it happens for us.

Nah, mate, I don't "hate" Billy. I don't know him personally and my complaints about the way he plays footy (badly) are not personal, either.
in fact, I hope he had a rip-roarin' time tonight with the rest of the team, celebrating their good win :thumbsu: .

I dislike that Nicks threw him a lifeline after PA woke up and got rid of him. Smacked of favoritism to me.
I disliked his last 3 or 4 games last year before he was dropped after it finally became apparent that he was terrible. I'm sure that Nicks wants Billy to succeed --- hell, I do myself, but it ain't happening.

I don't even hate Frampton's ineptitude, lack of game awareness, his fumbles and inability to take even simple possession cleanly, his terrible short-passing and the fact that a good leading forward puts 2-3m between himself and Billy easily, regularly. But it is frustrating/exasperating to watch.

I just don't think he's good enough to play AFL footy and wish he wasn't playing for the Crows.
We threw a lifeline to Keays after Brisbane got rid of him, there are plenty of examples of that happening and a player developing well.
I just don’t think you are giving him a fair go considering he is playing just his 4th game in defense. Did you see how long it took Liam Jones to adjust to defense, and he was pretty good by the end. You say he has got no game awareness, but he just got more disposals than Butts or Murray in their whole careers.
Billy was a pretty average forward, and sure he has a way to go, but I think he has the making of a bloody good KPD.

I really don’t see how anyone can say that after playing only 4 games in defense.
Billy is basically the same height as O’Brien. How many fumbles and missed kicks would you get if you tried playing him as a KPD? if that was a new kid that played that game tonight, 4 games into his career, then everyone would be raving about it. There were some great one on one spoils, he was close to his man all night, he played in front, and that 50 meter bullet to McAdam was something that you just never see from a 200cm player.

C'mon!

4 games... sheesh.

He was drafted in 2014!!! Josh Rachele was in Year 5 of school.

He doesn't get a do over and treated as a rookie just because he was horrific for years as a forward and as a ruckman so has had to be tried somewhere else.

This is his 8th season. He is what he is. The reason he fumbles and panics is because he isn't good at football.

With time and space he's fine. Low key games vs mid-table opposition he will likely play well. Typically as a club we have been bedazzled by those type of performances which is why we've had 20+ years of finals capitulations.

Murray, McAsey, Borlase and Worrell may not be the answer either mind you. Perhaps another first round pick on a key defender is in order :oops:

And I haven't rubbished Frampton's game completely, but just from a quick 5 minute scan you've got these all leading to Richmond goals

View attachment 1375361

View attachment 1375363

View attachment 1375368

View attachment 1375373
The first goal I can forgive. He had body contact with his player and was pressing back hard… occasionally forwards are just in a better position and the kick was to advantage. I’m equally annoyed that there wasn’t a third defender jumping over the top.

The third goal was a fast break with a free Richmond player streaming through fifty. Watch again and he could have hit any one of four Richmond players. Billy was probably the one Crows defender remotely close to his opponent. No real blame there.

The second and fourth goals were entirely on him and his panicky fumbles and poor disposal.

I still want to believe that he could become a solid backman… because I want the team to succeed. It’s probably not going to happen but the reality is that he’s probably the best of the worst. Murray, Frampton or McAsey. Pick your poison.

This mostly, but everything else too.
But Nicks brought him over --- shades of the good ol'PA days? --- and is doing his best to make him into an AFL player, which Frampton is not. Not a ruckman, not a KPF, not a KPD.
He lacks composure and does dumb shit. As said earlier we need to trade in an elite KPD. Will result in another 3 wins. Frampton is merely a stop gap.

safe_image.php
What a dog, should get 2 weeks, in AFLW a girl got 2 for a similar incident

Good
Thought it was really cool to see a bit of controlled mongrel and aggression out of us today... it got away at times from Walker, but Jones and McAdam fairly disposing of two players was brilliant.
Keays.
McHenry's first half.
Jones' defensive work elite.
Our forward line creativity and danger panics opposition.
Butts, Dawson, Doedee and Smith absolutely fortifying Adelaide Oval in the 4th. 2 goals from 16 inside 50's said it all. Doedee's game actually reminded me of Rutten for some reason.

Bad
Brown.

Ugly
Frampton.
Cotchin sprigging Tex.

Don’t really get all these hot takes for Frampton’s game. Sure he had a few shockers, but he was also VERY involved in the game.

22 possessions
9 marks (highest)
535 metres gained (3rd highest)
100% game time (highest)
77% disposal efficiency

He reads the ball pretty well, but he gets the ball moving quickly, and supports ball movement further up the pitch by offering another attacking option. The coaches are keeping him out there for the majority of matches, so he’s certainly showing excellent endurance.

This was his THIRD game as a KPD…

This mostly, but everything else too.
But Nicks brought him over --- shades of the good ol'PA days? --- and is doing his best to make him into an AFL player, which Frampton is not. Not a ruckman, not a KPF, not a KPD.
He’s definitely not a forward or ruck, but there is a glimmer of hope that maybe, perhaps he can become a solid defender… hopefully.

Maybe.

Fingers crossed.

Ugly

Twitter tonight

Taylor knows what he said was wrong - he has owned it and completed his punishment for his words.

But Jaysus there are some salty people out there.

Ugly

Twitter tonight

Taylor knows what he said was wrong - he has owned it and completed his punishment for his words.

But Jaysus there are some salty people out there.
The reality of it is those same people have said similar or worse

Review Good/Bad/Ugly vs Richmond, R5 2022