Review Good/Bad v Hawthorn, Round 2

Absolutely perplexing umpiring by the same old maggot with the bald head:rolleyes:
He should have played on to advantage 3 times for us but ah no...cheat!!
The Muppet that payed 'in the back' for a Hawthorn goal is THE worst decision I have seen watching VFL in my entire far king life.

#freekickhawthorn was putrid today.

I love the club and the game, and it fantastic that we won today "against the odds".
Oh yeah, we were the bookies favourites but make no mistake, my honest view is that there are umps on the take, and the AFL won't do anything about it. Same, same as they did nothing about the Essendon drugs fiasco.

It was a great win, and fantastic for the players, and club to achieve "against the odds".

PS Why do we continue to get the same umpires who give us such a poor run? Is it a coincidence? Maybe it goes beyond the individual umpires, there's so much money involved in betting in sport. maybe it's bigger? I don't know.

Al I can say is that the umpiring is a joke, and at the very least, there is a "perception" of bias. Now I'm not talking Collingwood at Victoria Park history. But what is our free kick count like vs the Hawks in the last 10 or so games? And it isn't a matter of looking at what has been paid. It's a matter of looking at free kicks not paid. You have campaigners elbowing players in the ribs, raising their knees to cause injury, head high stuff all NOT paid. Not a free kick for any of it, play on.

And Hawthorn know that they can get away with murder against us, and it showed today. It's the free kicks not called that are the disgrace. Althouh the free to Puoplolo was just a joke. He was taken front on and rolled over. That free was obscene, but you know what? I'm ok with that if they are consistent now and the umpires pay every other similar instance like it in the back for the rest of the year. What do you think? Will that happen? Well I watched another game tonight and it sure didn't. Cheats.

Great win by the Crows. Against the odds.

Came back well after a typically insipid Crows on the road start.

Hawks on the wane. Better teams won't allow us the luxury of working our way back into the game.

Absolutely crucial the coaches don't ignore the first quarter. It sums up exactly why we have been unsuccessful for such a long period. Need to heed the warning signs this time.

We're close but can't coast on the bits we dominated after quarter/half time.
It was actually three quarters (added up over the game) of old school schlock by us. So frustrating. Great to win but the ghosts continue to haunt us.

Ill be accused of bias here but i thought the miles-jenkins clash was nothing more than a heavy clash of bodies. He just got him in the wrong spot which caused the injury. Rotten luck more than anything. Well played today taught us a lesson in how to take a contested mark and actually recruiting players that can. Clarko hasnt done that since lake left.

100%. No malice in it, Jenkins is a tad soft. Sloane would've brushed it off and kept playing I reckon.
If Miles didn't make a play, Clarko would've dragged him. Play on in my book

100%. No malice in it, Jenkins is a tad soft. Sloane would've brushed it off and kept playing I reckon.
If Miles didn't make a play, Clarko would've dragged him. Play on in my book

Soft? you been hit in the ribs champ? Wasn't he waiting on scans of his internal organs. They don't do they just because he has niggle and is soft. He has to be showing symptoms. Nothing in the contest though. Easily just a footy collision.

Capture.PNG

Quality of this pic is a bit dodgy. Only one bloke here is looking at the man though.

Soft? you been hit in the ribs champ? Wasn't he waiting on scans of his internal organs. They don't do they just because he has niggle and is soft. He has to be showing symptoms. Nothing in the contest though. Easily just a footy collision.
He's widely regarded as being soft by all. He's built like Tarzan and hits like Jane. We all know this. Doesn't detract from him being an integral part to our fwd line, just stating the obvious. And medical staff did the right thing by being cautious

To be fair to many including myself who were writing off the Crows early we have seen 6 years running of the Crows losing the Hawthorn, often when we are in a position to win and that can seem like a norm, which it was, much like the Crow giving up an early lead is a norm. This stuff can be very frustrating which I am sure those of you with human emotions and personalities would understand, and for those that don't just pretend that a business colleague has gotten a nicer business card than you or a reservation at an exclusive New York Restaurant on a Friday night and you'll know how us human beings feel.

That said, I cannot be more happy with the win in the end, questions for me still remain around the start of the game, the perennial wet lettuce approach to first quarters in high pressure games, but today was a step forward, an improvement and really I don't think the whiners on here are being very emotionally honest if they are critique those that expressed themselves in the gameday thread, for my part I paid $300 to fly over and watch the Crows play at the MCG, after attending every one of our losses to them over the last 6 years, 6 years of losses and I still made the trek, forgive me for thinking at qtr time that the team that had let us down 6 years in a row was going to let us down again, god knows where I could have possible gotten that idea from?

Edit:

And for why I don't post full blown tactical breakdowns of our games? Because I cannot be stuffed, because I don't think it matters, I know shit heaps about this game, I just prefer to express myself, within the hobby of football, in an emotive way. I am certainly not the only one.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/af...s/news-story/897ebac3717aa970bc73d55227a0a7fa

Had to take a screenshot. I don't even...

u04jt2O.jpg

Except they were not marks... two of them at least
Yeah, I just watched the game again. Nichols the pr!ck called them both as marks rather than free kicks which stopped the crows player from playing on with a clear advantage.

Seriously, is there a conspiracy with that pr!ck? Will we get Pannell when we play the bulldogs?

Credit to DMac as he had an influence and nailed couple of clutch moments however he was far from our best

Sauce. Sloane, Lynch and Brown all easily ahead of DMac

With 4 disposals to half time and 13 in the whole game. He was in line to not play next week. Then he got a couple of goals.
Nowhere near our best. I'd rather Menzel than dmac.

Sloane was best. Jacobs also very good game those marks where his height is used are very valuable.
Matt Crouch again very good.
Laird in the end , he was very fumbly early on.
Mclovin good marking. Goal kicking so-so.
I didn't think Tex was that great. Different player now, long gone it seems those 2012 days where he kicked bags from any location. As to assists, I'd like to know his DE, felt like his handballs were at the receivers feet or generally off target. First game for the year I guess.
Our goal kicking was shite.
Hawks made it a slog for us and those umpires need to be sent on holidays to Bali with 10kgs of heroin and a heads up phone call to Indonesian customs. They were that bad.

Easiest selection next week - Menzel and Lever for Kelly and JJ. Otten too valuable as the swing man

We need to find a way to keep Otten in the side, form permitting. He's a clever footballer with composure under pressure; will be invaluable come finals given his flexibility. Better option than Cheney or Kelly.

I love the club and the game, and it fantastic that we won today "against the odds".
Oh yeah, we were the bookies favourites but make no mistake, my honest view is that there are umps on the take, and the AFL won't do anything about it. Same, same as they did nothing about the Essendon drugs fiasco.

It was a great win, and fantastic for the players, and club to achieve "against the odds".

PS Why do we continue to get the same umpires who give us such a poor run? Is it a coincidence? Maybe it goes beyond the individual umpires, there's so much money involved in betting in sport. maybe it's bigger? I don't know.

Al I can say is that the umpiring is a joke, and at the very least, there is a "perception" of bias. Now I'm not talking Collingwood at Victoria Park history. But what is our free kick count like vs the Hawks in the last 10 or so games? And it isn't a matter of looking at what has been paid. It's a matter of looking at free kicks not paid. You have campaigners elbowing players in the ribs, raising their knees to cause injury, head high stuff all NOT paid. Not a free kick for any of it, play on.

And Hawthorn know that they can get away with murder against us, and it showed today. It's the free kicks not called that are the disgrace. Althouh the free to Puoplolo was just a joke. He was taken front on and rolled over. That free was obscene, but you know what? I'm ok with that if they are consistent now and the umpires pay every other similar instance like it in the back for the rest of the year. What do you think? Will that happen? Well I watched another game tonight and it sure didn't. Cheats.

Great win by the Crows. Against the odds.

You are absolutely bloody right. Think about all those times in years gone by when a hawks player would just punch eddie in the stomach and the umps would simply ignore it. you could see that the hawks were trying to pull the same type of stunts today, but the difference today was the crows ignored it and focused on the game. This approach showed a high level of maturity and determination, this is some thing the crows have been lacking for a long time.

I didn't think Tex was that great. Different player now, long gone it seems those 2012 days where he kicked bags from any location. As to assists, I'd like to know his DE, felt like his handballs were at the receivers feet or generally off target. First game for the year I guess.
Our goal kicking was shite.
Hawks made it a slog for us and those umpires need to be sent on holidays to Bali with 10kgs of heroin and a heads up phone call to Indonesian customs. They were that bad.
Ummm...what?! 21 touches as a key forward, 8 marks, 2 goals, 2 goal assists. Stood up when the game was on the line. All after a few weeks out and without Jenkins to take pressure off him.

That is as bad a call as Puopolo's free kick.

Review Good/Bad v Hawthorn, Round 2