• Rory Sloane

• Brodie Smith

• Jake Soligo

• Riley Thilthorpe

• Taylor Walker

• Josh Worrell

Results are only viewable after voting.

Yeah I don't know if this is about toughness. You can state a position without that stuff.

But I see your perspective and acknowledge that there is a competitive advantage to be gained by epxloiting that. I just think there is a difference between exploiting someone being sore after weeks of relentless beatings playing footy and going after someone who has a genuine (and uncontrollable) medical issue. I guess we just all have our own idea of where 'the line' is. That's okay, that's democracy.

I'm not sure you are obliged, I know we have had this debate over the years in one form or another at our local club and I dont think there has ever been a total consensus for it to be considered an 'obligation' and again, I see a distinction between temporary soreness and permanent issue. Anyway, good discussion.

Also I don't think there is a need to go down the path of saying someone mustn't have played competitive sport, it's a bit of a silly line. I've been involved in my club playing and administering for over 30 years. We aren't anywhere near the AFL but it's, as I'm sure you know, the AFL to us every weekend. People are allowed differing opinions, we don't go around scrubbing names from the annals because someone's opinion doesn't meet some weird threshold of 'toughness'. That's pretty outdated and we wouldn't survive as a club if we went down that road. I'm not sure if you are involved with younger sides (I'm not assuming you aren't, I genuinely don't know) but the young blokes these days aren't, for the most part, in it for blood anymore.

Edit:
Sorry the last point to make is that whilst I'm sure Mason isn't fussed (gee he loves the fight doesnt he?) I'm looking at the broader optics. I'm thinking more about the kid at home who sees goggles ripped off and goes 'yeah nah I don't want that to make me a target'. I hate that they are sitting out when they don't need to be.
Mountains, molehills.

2.5 to 5.2, but yes to your point.

But if you don’t pay a massive whack to the face in front of goal, in a one on one contest that turns out to be the last play of the game…THAT’S the game there. Don’t diminish it.

View attachment 1722262
Doesn't even have eyes on the ball...

Elliot knew full well he had to do whatever to stop that mark. Essentially a Hail Mary hit.

If he didn't whack him, Dawson takes an easy chest mark. So if he gives away the free, same outcome.

Exactly why such a free should be paid

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Edit:
Sorry the last point to make is that whilst I'm sure Mason isn't fussed (gee he loves the fight doesnt he?) I'm looking at the broader optics. I'm thinking more about the kid at home who sees goggles ripped off and goes 'yeah nah I don't want that to make me a target'. I hate that they are sitting out when they don't need to be.

Fair post.

On this last point, I think it’s on the adults around the kid to help him build the resilience to get past it.

If someone’s trying to rip off your helmet or some other medical accoutrement, you and your teammates target one of his weaknesses and give it right back to the prick. You don’t cry about it.

The thing about team sports is you have to provide scope for the players to execute an element of natural justice, to sort things out among themselves. This often allows the “problem” to take care of itself.

Not every little transgression needs to be policed by the authorities.

Not like its a precedent ripping off headgear

“That’s one of the worst things you can do to The Flying Doormat.”

That’s what I mean by allowing the players natural justice. That bloke would’ve got his own back, much worse than some AFL bureaucrat stepping in and giving him a petty punishment.

Doesn't even have eyes on the ball...

Elliot knew full well he had to do whatever to stop that mark. Essentially a Hail Mary hit.

If he didn't whack him, Dawson takes an easy chest mark. So if he gives away the free, same outcome.

Exactly why such a free should be paid

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
The ball had bounced twice it was never going to be a mark it was a loose ball

Fair post.

On this last point, I think it’s on the adults around the kid to help him build the resilience to get past it.

If someone’s trying to rip off your helmet or some other medical accoutrement, you and your teammates target one of his weaknesses and give it right back to the prick. You don’t cry about it.

The thing about team sports is you have to provide scope for the players to execute an element of natural justice, to sort things out among themselves. This often allows the “problem” to take care of itself.

Not every little transgression needs to be policed by the authorities.

A large part is to build resilience within young people. There is no doubt about that. I absolutely agree re: natural justice and footy clubs can be absolutely fantastic at getting around young kids etc

I'm not here to wrap anyone in cotton wool but kids are just so impressionable (both those who are perpetrators and victims) to media they see as an authority (hence the rise in popularity of influencers and that shit). I'm big on stamping non-footballing acts out of the game completely because kids can see that happen and go 'yeah that was funny, I'll do that next time' or 'shit I dont want that to happen to me' and the issue is not protecting them on the field, it's getting them on it in the first place. But yes, completely agree that the kid needs to work through some of their hesitations too.

Good chat thanks.

Best thing about the loss is supporters are angry and hurting.

Not many suggesting it was a brave effort from a developing team.

Feels like a turning point.
I dunno, i've been told off by a few people on Twitter for daring to say anything negative about such a brave and proud performance. Definitely plenty of people breaking the Walsh rule of there not being honourable losses on other platforms.

Is it time to talk about Sloane yet?

He's a great warrior and one of my all time favourites, but we can't keep hiding the fact that the game has gone past him.
He had 3 kicks on the weekend. 3. He played midfield and had 127m gained. He's become Matt Crouch.
It's also very noticeable that he's giving away a lot of free kicks because he can't keep up with his opponents.
It's an issue and one the coaches need to find a way to deal with.

Pies could/should been pinged 10-12 times easy.
We e need to get better at reading the play.

If the umps aren't paying them, let's adapt and do the same thing.

Not what "should" be happening. It's the whole "play our way" thing that drives me up the wall, over the last decade or so with the Crows.

Need to have flexibility to change based on the opponent or umpiring in front of you.

I'm happy to cop negative feedback for it but I reckon it's a low act to go after medical equipment so deliberately. I was a big fan of the pride Mason showed when speaking about having to wear them, i know a few young fellas who stopped playing because of the embarrassment of it. It was good to see it normalised. Funny how we are not ok with having a dig at someone's injury or pulling hair but ripping a medical aid off someone's head is ok? I get there is little risk of pain but I just think it's a bad look but maybe it's because I've experienced the pain of those young fellas and I'm a bit sensitive. As I said, I'll wear the disagreement.
In Keays defence I dont think he's the brightest spark going around.

Was there, great atmosphere with biggest home and away crowd between these two sides but traumatised yet again.

And then there is this -

Now this is amazing stat - Collingwood lead Adelaide 33-15 in the overall win/loss record. Now of those 48 games, 16, which is a third, have been decided by less than 6 points - Collingwood have won 12 and Adelaide 4. And there is a draw as well.

And AFL - this is what we can do when we are up and running - shove those regional grounds up your arse!

It's pretty clear that Cox is a massive tosser, pretty much every team goes at him at one point or another. Thought what keays did was pretty funny tbh
After a very dubious free kick, Cox carries on like a flog, and the responders? Worrell, Hinge, Jones and even Max.
Love that these guys, with so little games played experience, refused to take a backwards step.

My Crows-hating nephew living in MLB, texted me after attending the game and said ' the Crows were absolutely murdered today by the umps'. I dont normally blame the umps but yesterday it was the difference.

Either way, very proud of the effort and Buckley on SEN said this morning the Crows were the best team outside the top 4. Its hard to disagree and we could EASILY have another 3-4 wins right now with a little luck. The future is bright irrespective of this year and honestly did any of us really think we could beat top 4 teams - Power and Lions - and lose by tiny margins to the best team in the comp at the start of the year

Exceeding all expectations and the best is yet to come over coming years

I think the AFL will want to move past it, but I reckon there's a small but not insignificant chance Keays gets a 1-match ban. Interfering with a player's equipment sometimes draws a fine (it's usually just a free kick, so lucky no umpire spotted it yesterday.) Targeting a players preexisting injury is usually just a fine assuming no significant damage is done, and it's easy to see how this incident could be seen as such.

Both in the same incident though could be trouble.

Review Good/Bad vs Collingwood