Unofficial Preview GWS Giants v Adelaide Crows Sun 19/3/23 1.10pm AEDT (12.40pm SA time) at Giants Stadium

He became fit within one week of the club shills calling him fat, slow and useless.

The player himself is wrong when he speaks of the difference confidence made.
It's hard to keep track of who you're aggrieved with alot of the time. You swap out the club, and the so-called 'shills' interchangably when you rant.

FWIW, who cares what the 'shills' said? I'm not sure the club has ever dropped him due to fitness, so it seems an odd point to make.

Would love to see Ben Keays play his 2 way runwith HFF role against Whitfield.

Tired of watching Whitfield racking up classy uncontested touches against us. Plus Ben's got enough FWD craft to exploit him on the turn around.

What the hell Vader what are you on mate .
Read my post properly as the facts you showed in your post is definitely the reason I am saying he has had such little actual football game time in last 2 plus years where even the boys drafted have been least playing competitive matches .
Then he goes missing after not even full game time in 2 practice games to turn up week of game and gets picked I don't see how anyone can defend that.
Maybe I misunderstood you. I thought you were arguing that his lack of football over the last few years was evidence that he'd been overtaken - when in truth it was almost entirely due to injury and a slow return from injury, and nothing whatsoever to do with ability.

I have no argument with anyone who says he's not as good as Parnell - but a lack of gametime in recent years, and taking personal leave last week, are not valid arguments for his exclusion.

Would love to see Ben Keays play his 2 way runwith HFF role against Whitfield.

Tired of watching Whitfield racking up classy uncontested touches against us. Plus Ben's got enough FWD craft to exploit him on the turn around.
Yes it would be nice if we could at least try to do something about Whitfield. He always tears us apart.

Some of the worst footy we've played under Nicks has been against GWS. You'd think having worked there he'd have some insight into how to beat them but if that's too much to ask, we can start by not getting thrashed. A 3-4 goal loss would be an improvement.

Yes it would be nice if we could at least try to do something about Whitfield. He always tears us apart.

Some of the worst footy we've played under Nicks has been against GWS. You'd think having worked there he'd have some insight into how to beat them but if that's too much to ask, we can start by not getting thrashed. A 3-4 goal loss would be an improvement.
Just damaging HBFers in general have been our Achilles heel in the Nicks era.

So much so that the 1 time we actually combated it (Keays to Saad), it worked so well that everyone remembers it as clear as day.

I don't even care if Whitfield still gets 20-25 touches. As long as 75% of them are under serious heat, and he gets goals scored directly against him in the process, that's a win. Or at least substantially better then what we've become accustomed to.

I think picking for effort over talent is wrong.

Effort doesn't win you matches. If it did we wouldn't have finished 14th last year. Talent wins you matches.

He's hardly putting in less effort than, say, Wayne Milera anyway
Thing is, lack of effort affects talent. In preseason RT wasn’t really sticking marks he should’ve been or getting in the best positions to get the footy delivered to him, which affected his ability to produce

I’m not sure I agree with EH being selected over him, but it’s an issue in his game that needs to be fixed. The coaches need to figure out the best way to get through to him

It's hard to keep track of who you're aggrieved with alot of the time. You swap out the club, and the so-called 'shills' interchangably when you rant.

FWIW, who cares what the 'shills' said? I'm not sure the club has ever dropped him due to fitness, so it seems an odd point to make.

It's directly responsive to his claim that the improvement in Fogarty resulted from a change in fitness, and supportive of my argument that we should simply prioritise Thilthorpes selection to build experience and confidence.

I'm critical of both parties: the club for the ultimate decision and the persons who unthinkingly follow it. And I'm entitled to be.

It’s tough, I reckon McHenry has the better forward craft (as weird as that sounds) but Murphy has the better skills in general play

Both are probably early 30’s on my list
Disagree about skills. McHenry has better disposal than Murphy

Actually you’re probably right, Murphy’s decision making in general play is better though. That’s where I’m getting mixed up

Ned can pull off some nice pinpoint kicks but you don’t see it as often as you’d like

Leek Aleer is listed as their starting 2nd tall defender.

I remember him being a massive draft bolter. Intercept marking specialist, but quite gangly and light. Not sure how he's gonna go if he's 1 out against FOG. Giving up 12kg to him.

Also ot Adelaide NGA fame. That said, I expect the answer is not well.

Forecast for Olympic Park...between 32 and 36 when we play. Wind 7 kph from NW. Humidity 30%.
Hope they hydrate all day Saturday.
Having a younger side may turn out well.

On SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Its the game the following week that will hurt us in backing up for it.

And I remember his kicking being diabolical...

Verbatim Fogartys own account of what changed:

Fogarty, who notched his 50th AFL game in Round Seven against North Melbourne, said having the support of his teammates and coaches was also behind his strong form.

“It got pretty frustrating not playing as well as I would have liked,” Fogarty said.

“I think, as well, it was just a little bit of luck and being backed by the team and the coaches that gave me a little bit of confidence to play better football,” Fogarty said.

“It sort of takes a bit of the weight off the shoulders and you can focus on helping other people and trying to keep improving your own game so it makes it a bit easier.”

And yet we still have fans who claim constantly banishing young highly talented players is good for their development.
Where's that comment from Nicks about Fog knowing what pros do in the off season and you can't just go back to Lucindale and work on the farm, or words to that effect?

Unofficial Preview GWS Giants v Adelaide Crows Sun 19/3/23 1.10pm AEDT (12.40pm SA time) at Giants Stadium