Its official Davis to GWS!!

Obviously there is a point where the extra money would become significant enough that I would consider moving. Was it reached here, or were there other factors that made Davis leave?

There are a couple of important factors that are likely different between Joe Bloggs and footy players though.

1) time limit - 10 years is a good career for a footy player. Often limited options thereafter.

2) one injury away from retirement - especially pertinent with Davis given his injury history.

While I hate the environment that the expansion clubs have created (and free agency is likely to accentuate), but I can understand the players' urge to make hay while the sun shines. It sucks, but it would be damn hard to turn down given the factors listed above.

Anyways, my apologies for intruding so much on your board today. I'll check out now. Your club will get through this. Matt Rendell is a gem and will make full use of the compo.

There are a couple of important factors that are likely different between Joe Bloggs and footy players though.

1) time limit - 10 years is a good career for a footy player. Often limited options thereafter.

2) one injury away from retirement - especially pertinent with Davis given his injury history.

While I hate the environment that the expansion clubs has created (and free agency is likely to accentuate), but I can understand the players' urge to make hay while the sun shines. It sucks, but it would be damn hard to turn down given the factors listed above.

Anyways, my apologies for intruding so much on your board today. I'll check out now. Your club will get through this. Matt Rendell is a gem and will make full use of the compo.

I don't buy the time limit argument. The average footy player probably earns four or five times as much as the average person on the street. The ten year career of a footballer nets them as much money as the average person earns in a lifetime. Meanwhile the club organises education, media work, etc. They don't live a hard life by any stretch of the imagination.

The injury issue however is more than fair. As pointed out by ClayMonk, he's now guaranteed $3M, even if he never plays another game, even if his shoulder never works properly again. Put $3M in the bank and you get more money in interest in a year than most people earn in two. He definitely has set himself up for life on this one, and given how easily his shoulder popped out earlier in the year, that's a very smart move.

It still hurts like hell though :(

If davis so freely left Adelaide, might he also as freely come back after he's made his money???? Hope GWS have a long long contract, wouldnt want them to lose someone after they've put further development into him and by then he'd be right in the prime of his career.

Phil Davis is a massive loss. There is no question. He is a general in the back line, a wonderful player with a huge upside. He has left a hole at the AFC. He is now gone and some say he is looking after his future. Somethings are worth more than money. I just hope that in a few years time we completely ream GC & GWS and take a couple of their players. What goes around......

sad, I really enjoyed fabulous in the tri-colours...

cash seems to be king now-a-days.

can't blame a young fella for being a money grabber...

but he should expect to be knocked out every time he plays the crows
for the rest of his life...

happy hooking...phil...

Phil Davis is a massive loss. There is no question. He is a general in the back line, a wonderful player with a huge upside. He has left a hole at the AFC. He is now gone and some say he is looking after his future. Somethings are worth more than money. I just hope that in a few years time we completely ream GC & GWS and take a couple of their players. What goes around......

Well yer, its going to suck waiting 5 or 6 years to see, but it will be worth the wait I reckon to start to see those clubs lose quality en masse for greener pastures......

In hindsight, which is always clear, the AFL should have locked out the clubs that lost players to GC from loosing them to GWS year 1, then both lots of raided clubs should have been locked out of GWS year 2 ensuring an even contribution to the new clubs from all the existing ones....

Hardly. They lost Rischa and Brennan (and maybe Clark), but we have now lost Bock and Davis. We are both by far the worst affected clubs, and it's an absolute disgrace some clubs will get through without losing one player.
What the heck?

Good on those clubs for managing their list well, leaving dollars aside so that they can hold on to their best talent, not over-paying crap players and providing an environment where players feel there is a possibility of future success. All the things we don't do. That's not the AFL's fault - it's ours.

We are the sort of club that will pick a Scott Stevens ahead of a Phil Davis. For two years. Even though he was a first round pick. And our season was shot to pieces. And Stevens was still struggling with concussion and playing rubbish football. :eek:

I don't blame any player on the Adelaide list for wanting to leave.

What the heck?

Good on those clubs for managing their list well, leaving dollars aside so that they can hold on to their best talent, not over-paying crap players and providing an environment where players feel there is a possibility of future success. All the things we don't do. That's not the AFL's fault - it's ours.

We are the sort of club that will pick a Scott Stevens ahead of a Phil Davis. For two years. Even though he was a first round pick. And our season was shot to pieces. And Stevens was still struggling with concussion and playing rubbish football. :eek:

I don't blame any player on the Adelaide list for wanting to leave.

We offered him an enormous amount of money, so not sure that argument has much validity. I guess we could have offered Phil $600k/year as well, and hoped like hell his shoulders held up and that he became a superstar.

As for picking Stevens ahead of Davis for two years, that's a stretch even by your standards Carl. Two games, perhaps.

This thread has been amazing today, with all the conflicting emotions. Players have been swapping clubs for a long time - it was OK being on the right side of the ledger when Darren jarman returned home wasnt it.Maybe we should have rejected Tambling as it was unfair on the club who tried to develop him for so long.

this shit is so subjective. it all comes down to posters views of the player - Davis hasn;t achieved much yet so while i get the bitterness the way crows fans have been turning on each other today rather than respecting other opinions is embarassing.

bloody psychos some of you.

This thread has been amazing today, with all the conflicting emotions. Players have been swapping clubs for a long time - it was OK being on the right side of the ledger when Darren jarman returned home wasnt it.Maybe we should have rejected Tambling as it was unfair on the club who tried to develop him for so long.

this shit is so subjective. it all comes down to posters views of the player - Davis hasn;t achieved much yet so while i get the bitterness the way crows fans have been turning on each other today rather than respecting other opinions is embarassing.

Angling for a card, chief?

Comparing the Tambling trade to this situation?

We aren't the psycho's you flog!

Let me think..

Oh yeah, Essendon and Hawthorn were involved in a trade there for D Jarman.. :rolleyes:

And comparing Tambling to this? Wtf?

not disputing your claim, but I'm curious who we know of who has turned down big cash incentives to change clubs?

Reports have it that Kreuzer turned down 5 mil for 3 years

Damn straight. We should also be hitting him with a retrospective ****wit levy.

Made me lol :thumbsu:

Tambling? Really?

Edit: Oh yeah, **** you Phil. Keep your tweets to yourself. I don't wish injury upon anyone, but geez i hope he gets some "attention" from our boys when we play them

Hope Adelaide belt the living suitcase out of GWS next year and the year after and the year after and the ...

If someone doesn't want to belong to a club there's no point crying about it. If this means Walker is hanging around I'm extremely happy. :)

It's a bit different in most other situations - there is a trade week. We can look for some kind of market value.

In this case Davis knows he's walking out on the club that gave him a go, and they won't get their fair return for him. I understand why he would do it, but it's not the same as a player going through trade week.

It sucks, but people need to get over it really.

Clubs don't show loyalty to players, so why should it work the other way?

Davis has shoulders that are basically cooked, he needs to make as much money as he can while he can still play. He's a smart guy, he knows this better than anyone. Given what he's being offered, I'd be off quick smart too.

Particular when he's leaving a losing organisation. If you're going to play for a losing organisation, then you might as well do it for double your money at a losing organisation where the front office isn't spectacularly mismanaged.

Good luck to him. Footy careers are short, need to make money while you can. 18 game players with wrecked shoulders can't turn down that sort of offer, would be lunacy.

As this point in time, GWS are unable to state they have signed anyone - its against AFL rules. This whole system is a joke.

Glad that Davis has advised that he is leaving, we can get on without this bullshit over the next 10 weeks.

Don't blame him for taking the money but disappointed all the same and the club is mightily pissed off.

When we play GWS next year, do it fairly but target his shouders in a contest. Alls fair in love and war.

Clubs don't show loyalty to players, so why should it work the other way?

People say this, but is it really true? Do you think Hentschel feels we showed him no loyalty, when we kept him on our list for several years after his knee was destroyed?

Clubs cut players periodically, as they required to do by the system in place. I don't think this makes them disloyal. They provide services for past players, and generally look after them as well as they can.

I think "clubs are disloyal so why shouldn't players be" has just become a catchphrase used to disregard a selfish attitude as somehow being a neutral act. Everybody understands why Davis would leave for a bunch of extra money. Most of us would do the same thing in his shoes. That doesn't mean it isn't a disloyal, selfish act.

People say this, but is it really true? Do you think Hentschel feels we showed him no loyalty, when we kept him on our list for several years after his knee was destroyed?

We kept him on the list due to our own potential benefit - i.e. him making a comeback and playing good football. Not just because we were doing him a favour.

If we knew the way it would all turn out, we'd have delisted him that year and spent time on someone else.

It's a business. A cut throat one.

Clubs cut players periodically, as they required to do by the system in place. I don't think this makes them disloyal. They provide services for past players, and generally look after them as well as they can.

I think "clubs are disloyal so why shouldn't players be" has just become a catchphrase used to disregard a selfish attitude. Everybody understands why Davis would leave for a bunch of extra money. Most of us would do the same thing in his shoes. That doesn't mean it isn't a disloyal, selfish act.

No, come on.. You're supposed to say he can have his cake and eat it too.. ;)

Jump at the cash and then be called loyal and all the good things..

FFS he had a choice.. By choosing what he did, he will get the financial benefits.. Ok, fine, good for him..

But he loses out on the respect, loyalty and all those type of things.. Don't expect not to be called on it..

Its official Davis to GWS!!