Review JLT #3 - Geelong d Essendon by 22 points

I went to the game. It was enjoyable (in the end). My thoughts:

First half:

A lot of worries. I know Essendon applied good pressure, but from where I was standing, it was more our poor setup and play than their excellence. Our zoning was horrible - we let them bring the ball back through the center way too easily, exposing our defense. Even more disappointing was the failure to capitalise on their lack of a recognised ruckman. Smith was poor, and our supposed strength (Dangerwood) couldn't get clean center clearances. Lots of poor turnovers and skill errors. Just horrible to watch.

Second half:

Came out a different team. From where I was standing, Cockatoo got us going. He set up the 2nd and 3rd goal of the 3rd quarter in quick succession and we were away. Stanley started to dominate in the ruck and that kickstarted our dominance all over the ground. Once we got on top, 2E and Thurlow started to look more dangerous coming out of the backline. That's how we need to play for 4 quarters.

Overall:

- Didn't mind Harry T in the forward line. If he'd kicked straight, he would have had 3 or 4 goals. Would prefer he led up to the wings more often.

- Thought Horlin-Smith was good. Just a great in and under player, and used the ball well. Keep him in.

- We looked much better with the Stanley/Blics ruck combo in the second half. They should leave Smith out for Round 1 - he won't beat Sandi anyway, while Stanley and Blics can outrun him.

- I liked it when they isolated Menzel deep and pushed Hawkins up the ground. No defender would like being left with Menz in that situation.

- Cockatoo still drifts in and out of the game, but his second half was excellent. His best is getting better and more sustained - exciting.

- I thought Murdoch was good. If he plays forward, he could add something. His lack of consistency week to week is still a concern.

- Our two best kicks of the ball (2E and Thurlow) are playing on the half-back line. Give them time and this could be a big strength by the end of the year.

- Parfitt in for round 1, just a very good player.

- The only players who might struggle for round 1 games are Cowan (what does he add? I don't see it) and Lang (not great today, but would persist with him playing in the middle)

Lang had another poor game today. Thoughts?

Sent from my SM-A300Y using Tapatalk
Forgot him in my "bad" in the Good, Bad and Ugly list.

A case study in scepticism of preseason puff pieces.

I went to the game. It was enjoyable (in the end). My thoughts:

First half:

A lot of worries. I know Essendon applied good pressure, but from where I was standing, it was more our poor setup and play than their excellence. Our zoning was horrible - we let them bring the ball back through the center way too easily, exposing our defense. Even more disappointing was the failure to capitalise on their lack of a recognised ruckman. Smith was poor, and our supposed strength (Dangerwood) couldn't get clean center clearances. Lots of poor turnovers and skill errors. Just horrible to watch.

Second half:

Came out a different team. From where I was standing, Cockatoo got us going. He set up the 2nd and 3rd goal of the 3rd quarter in quick succession and we were away. Stanley started to dominate in the ruck and that kickstarted our dominance all over the ground. Once we got on top, 2E and Thurlow started to look more dangerous coming out of the backline. That's how we need to play for 4 quarters.

Overall:

- Didn't mind Harry T in the forward line. If he'd kicked straight, he would have had 3 or 4 goals. Would prefer he led up to the wings more often.

- Thought Horlin-Smith was good. Just a great in and under player, and used the ball well. Keep him in.

- We looked much better with the Stanley/Blics ruck combo in the second half. They should leave Smith out for Round 1 - he won't beat Sandi anyway, while Stanley and Blics can outrun him.

- I liked it when they isolated Menzel deep and pushed Hawkins up the ground. No defender would like being left with Menz in that situation.

- Cockatoo still drifts in and out of the game, but his second half was excellent. His best is getting better and more sustained - exciting.

- I thought Murdoch was good. If he plays forward, he could add something. His lack of consistency week to week is still a concern.

- Our two best kicks of the ball (2E and Thurlow) are playing on the half-back line. Give them time and this could be a big strength by the end of the year.

- Parfitt in for round 1, just a very good player.

- The only players who might struggle for round 1 games are Cowan (what does he add? I don't see it) and Lang (not great today, but would persist with him playing in the middle)
I agree. Cowan in last quarter drops a mark. Soft. Just isn't a contested ball winner. Finds the ball wide and average disposal. Bews and Cowan are VFL standard.

Agree on Parfitt...looks class.

Disagree on Cowan...but I'm in the minority. He was involved in the lead up to three of the first four goals of the 3rd quarter and will be right in the running for round 1 IMO....

Wouldn't put my house on it though..

Parfitt is a quality young player. Balanced. Doesnt panic. Has periferal vision. Put 50 games into the boy and he will be elite. Pretty excited by the cameos.
I love how he doesn't seem to panic, he sees the game unfold around him... one stage in the last he got the ball as we were breaking hard, took a half side/backwards step to assess and then picked the best option.

So many would have just gone with the momentum and just kicked it forwards quickly

(Full disclosure I can't actually remember if it was a good kick or not, but I was super impressed with the fact he played it the way he did)

Went along today.

Always good to get the win although the disposal in the second quarter was worrying.

Still to dependent on Selwood and Danger. Hopefully Gutherie and one or two others can fill the void.

Really happy with Menzel.

The sleeved jumpers look ok on TV, but seeing them in the flesh they look really ordinary.

Bring on round 1!!!
Did you experience the massive queue to get into the ground? I joined the queue when it was 2 loops long and by the time I was at the front it was 4 loops long.:drunk:

Agree with you with regards to Sel and Danger but I thought Hyphen showed enough that he can help us with the clearances.

And how much better did Tommy look when he started to get up and around the ground and get his hands on the ball.

Apart from Danger/Sel flicking the switch in the 3rd I thought Cocky and Stanley lit up as well, those 2 IMO could be real game breakers for us this year, consistency will be the biggest frustration.

I also think we took the game on more 2nd half, blokes were more prepared to tuck the ball under the arm and go... no suprises that when our ball movement improved our forward line looked much more dangerous and functioned better

Went along today.

Always good to get the win although the disposal in the second quarter was worrying.

Still to dependent on Selwood and Danger. Hopefully Gutherie and one or two others can fill the void.

Really happy with Menzel.

The sleeved jumpers look ok on TV, but seeing them in the flesh they look really ordinary.

Bring on round 1!!!

Duncan has had a promising preseason - his forward entries were superb. After a stagnant 2016, I'm hoping he can take up the 3rd or 4th mid mantle proper.

I think you'll find Henderson was on Daniher, and Tom Stewart was on James Stewart.

I also think it's a bit rich to call Essendon a bottom four team, at least at this stage.

I just went back and reviewed the game Every quarter when lonergan, Henderson, Stewart started together Lonergan went to Daniher, Henderson went to J stewart. I believe it was at the beginning off all 4 quarters they started like that. I could be wrong for one them but majority of the match was played with those combos Mr eagle eye.

They are our 3 key defenders though so when one is off they swap around. I saw Tom stewart spend time on jobe Watson at full forward.
If Lonergan goes off Henderson went to Daniher Tom Stewart went to J.Stewart then Mackie played third tall.

They will also swap when Daniher goes further up the ground but by in large in todays AFL (henderson Stewart ) started every quarter on each other and played majority of time. Same goes for lonergan Daniher majority of time and started every quarter on each other.

They look likely a bottom 6 side and I will call it as I see it. If st kilda and Melbourne, Collingwood and port, fremantle and hawthorn are all in the mix for 6-8 spot I see essendon no greater chance than them so can't put them higher did they even win a pre season game?

I love how he doesn't seem to panic, he sees the game unfold around him... one stage in the last he got the ball as we were breaking hard, took a half side/backwards step to assess and then picked the best option.

So many would have just gone with the momentum and just kicked it forwards quickly

(Full disclosure I can't actually remember if it was a good kick or not, but I was super impressed with the fact he played it the way he did)
If it's the one I'm thinking of he hit Taylor lace out with the kick. If it's a different one he did what you describe at least twice!

This might sound strange, but I reckon we should've tried to get Sam Mitchell, he would have us right in the premiership contention. He is still playing as an A-grader, and I think a third A-grader in the middle would have us right in contention.

Remember the last Hawthorn player we recruited, he wasn't bad, turned out to be God.
Lord? Nah, Aaron wasn't that flash.

Disagree on Cowan...but I'm in the minority. He was involved in the lead up to three of the first four goals of the 3rd quarter and will be right in the running for round 1 IMO....

I just don't think Cowan has done quite enough they preferred him late last year like bew's he is o.k Cowan plays his role extremely well gets into good positions he would be a training circle work specialist.

Knows the Geelong system so picks up touches on the outlet a lot. Reasonable skills by foot and hand. In traffic or contested his value drops right off not as clean inside. Not overly fast he may develop into a role player I just don't see it. He signed a 1 year extension and if he doesn't play 10-15 games probably should be delisted Murdoch and Bews are in the same boat. I'm not sure contract wise where they are but you can't keep guys on that are playing little to 0 senior footy and expect the list to keep improving. If when you get an injury you keep exposing the same guys that can't crack the 22.

Then wonder why we have depth issues Linc McCarthy is an example of giving a guy a run in games. Was injury plagued but they liked him and played him now this season you should get that improvement again.

Tend to agree re Cowan. I think GHS is in the same boat, and they both remind me of Aaron Young at Port Adelaide. Not flashy players, don't seem to have any quality attributes apart from the fact they're smart, selfless players that do a lot of important things for no praise.

Lang is so ordinary. I think quite a few around here got sucked into the preseason hype. Has never shown anything at AFL level imo.

You will be eating those words in 3 years time.
He's a star in the making and along with Z.Guthrie, GHS, Tuohy, Parfitt and Stewart, they've been the most impressive during the JLT series.

You will be eating those words in 3 years time.
He's a star in the making and along with Z.Guthrie, GHS, Tuohy, Parfitt and Stewart, they've been the most impressive during the JLT series.

Really hope you're right mate but at the moment just don't see it, would like to see him become a really consistent good player before proclaiming him a future star.

That's the Stewart from Essendon I assume you're talking about, yeah he did look okay. ;)

Our bloke on the other hand is VFL standard and that's about all.

What concerns me is we really struggled against the frantic pressure brought by Ess , but once they tired or it dropped away we looked a lot more in control. Are we capable of playing well against an opposition playing well? The positive and negative in a way..we have shown big lapses in every game , and we have shown the ability to score heavily when "on" which is an improvement.

Id agree on Parfitt , he has shown enough to play him for a 2 or 3 game bank , perhaps like Guthries first year. The difficulty will be reducing the numbers to 22. The point runs into the Dangerwood one. We will only get others that are legit help by playing other in the role. Lang , Cockatoo , GHS and Parfitt . My fear is when we are playing for real , we will go to our main guys again when it counts.

On Linc , perhaps he is still someone who has to work into it a bit. Id agree , that id want him to keep backing himself. He missed that early shot then after that seemed to want to pass off a bit. We need more goal creation and he seems the most likely of the smalls.
I've got a feeling that Parfitt will play more than 2 or 3 games but I understand what you're saying though.

Round 1. (Fremantle)

J.Kolodashnij T.Lonergan J.Thurlow
A.Mackie L.Henderson. Z.Tuohy
M.Duncan. J.Selwood S.Motlop
L.McCarthy. H.Taylor B.Parfitt
D.Menzel. T.Hawkins N.Cockatoo
R.Stanley. P.Dangerfield C.Guthrie

Inter.
Z.Smith , D.Lang, Blicavs, Menegola

EMG. GHS, Ruggles , Stewart

Black
Predicted changes if these guys were injured or don't come up or guys just don't get selected.

S.Selwood (GHS, Menegola, Lang)
C.Guthrie (GHS, S.S.)
J.Kolodashnij ( T.Stewart )
A.Mackie. (T.Ruggles)

Its tough to predict especially when you have to weight in which way Geelong FC will go instead of just what you would like.

Aaron sandilands is Huge so I went with the two ruckmen over GHS and included Z.Smith. I don't like it but that's an enormous job for R.Stanley by himself in saying that would love to see Blicavs matched up with Sandi on the running side lol.

Parfitt in went with the gut his pre-season deserved reward hasn't not put a foot wrong different level of talent and class been banging on since JLT 1 biased selection. No Lock

D.Lang - Poor G.H.S this was very close with the rotations we need someone that plays half forward wing and on ball. When motlop rolls onto the wing and nakia gets on ball I prefer Darcy playing forward and linking up his pre-season form was just enough to inch him in.
But with Blicavs and menegola in I needed a different look when danger and selwood rest forward.

Mackie just did enough last JLT his class showed through with ball in hand last JLT 3 but very close with ruggles either way.

Z.Smith - most weeks I have him out G.H.S in but once again not many monsters like sandilands around.

G.H.S - I prefer him over menegola pre-season wise I would much appreciate Chris Scott doing the right thing and throwing him in rd 1. Alas menegola has runs on the board from last season so we wait.

S.Selwood will he be fit round 1 no idea I prefer Menegola or G.H.S round 1 anyway hr can staying Vic play VFL Perth big ground can't take too many underdone guys over if he does make it though one of the above spots is taken.

J.Kolodashnij - Probably unlikely for round 1 and therefore Mr.Stewart shall debut as 3rd tall defender if anything the last JLT game provided us with that info.

Still lots of question marks and some training left and see which goes come up and which don't.

Review JLT #3 - Geelong d Essendon by 22 points