Pick 9 plus Campbell Brown for Burgoyne?

Re: Pick 9 + Campbell Brown for Burgoyne??

Seems like a very high price to pay if this is true. Browny has long been a favourite of mine (even named my son Campbell....). Fair enough he went off in round 22 but he plays hard, relentless uncompromising footy which is how i think it should be played.
Burgs better dominate in the brown and gold for years to come if we give up this much to get him. Cant help likening this to the Jonno Hay trade a few years back only I'm afraid we may end up being on the North end of the stick if Burgs knee dosent let him play the way he can.

I trust Pelchen but this scares me......

The Receptionist says it is untrue.

I'm sold.

I understand that but this leadership group seriously needs reconsidering if they are okaying potential trade targets.

Even that sort of stuff getting out is not a good sign.

To be fair though, every leadership group in the AFL would have some say as to how their playing list shapes up for every new season. It is only a recommendation to the match committee but it does tell you that even though the fans love Browny (as do I, I might add) he is possibly not regarded as a necessity by the playing group. We love him for his "line in the sand" antics and the fact that he sacrifices his own safety for the good of the cause every week. And these are traits that every team needs. We have them in spades though, through players like Hodge, Mitchell and Bateman. Aside from the toughness, Brown doesn't really bring a great deal to the table. He is a good/average footballer at best and he is not getting any younger and has not significantly improved over the past couple of seasons. Nor has Burgoyne, I would suggest but the fact is that in terms of footballing talent, we are comparing a Rolls Royce to a Honda Civic. I wonder how may on here will show some contrition when Burgoyne is routinely hitting Franklin and Roughead on the chest half a dozen times a game?

As for the information getting out, I and a few others on here have been sitting on this for a while due to it's delicate nature. It has only been mentioned today to hopefully quell some of the misguided anger directed at Pelchen and Clarkson (the guys that built our 2008 premeirship side). In any event, it is not as if the information has "gotten out," Brown is obviously well aware by now that he was a trade option and we are already half way through trade week. Had this been published earlier than I would suggest it was an issue. Hence, myself and a couple of other held it back.

Re: Target - 10,000 Emails to Jeff by COB today

Can totally understand how you guys feel,

It would be like us trading Tredrea, or Michael Wilson.

Its just a rumour at the moment, but will be very interesting to see what happens.

Surely we would have to throw a Second/Third Rounder in aswell.

Just remember though, you are getting a brilliant player in S. Burgoyne.

SENT

everyone else should do the same

jkennett@hawthornfc.com.au

Do not trade Campbell Brown

Jeff,

I wanted to express my anger and disappointment at the rumoured deal that Campbell Brown is getting Traded to Port Adelaide.

Brown loves the club, and is part of the fabric of the club, trading him will be a big mistake.
This deal should not go ahead, you cannot trade heart and soul types like Campbell away this deal, what message does this send to the young Hawthorn players.

Please do not let this happen.

Regards

I asked in another thread, can Brown be made to serve out his contract in the reserves if he refuses to go, just to try and push him along??
That's one of the things Brown would have to consider once he gets over the initial disapppointment of rejection. You have to feel sorry for players in this situation.

I think the time has come for all supporters (especially Hawthorn) to get a grip. This forum has turned into an insane assylum with ridiculous rumour after ridiculous rumour.

Calm down people, FFS!!!!

Fully support this.

Let's hold off on the E-lynching mob until we actually know some details and the club has made a statement.

Please.

Thanks The Smaller Warrior,
At least your not being a total dick about it like some other supporters of other teams are.

Anyone got a reply from Jeff?

Actually I was talking to my mate just now and his brother's wife was listening to this radio station in Darwin KIK FM, and apparently Warwick Capper is a guest commentator and he said it's a "done deal" that Campbell is in fact not going to Port but to Essendon!! OMFG. And Essendon will trade Hurley to Port and we will get Lade plus picks 99 and 12.

This is even worse! Sorry but we need to take further action; could everyone who has emailed Jeff re-send your emails?

Actually also his addresses above aren't right, you need to use: randombullshltfilter@hawthornfc.com.au, or also you can get him on helpimlost@villageidiot.com.au.

Renewing Membership (Brown Fall-Out)

I am just as angry as many people are on here that Browny looks like he is going to be traded.

BUT this does not mean im not going to renew my membership next year

The CLUB is bigger then the Individual. And always will be.

I will not hurt MY CLUB Financially because of this decision. And i hope 50,000 people agree with me. But by going on threads on here, dont think it will happen.

I will be renewing my membership next year and the year after that, as long as i live.

The fact that Burgoyne is an out-and-out superstar seems to be being forgotten about here. Clarkson, really, REALLY wants him at Hawthorn.

Was a super star 2 knee ops in the same year Played how many games in 09

Brown for Burgoyne haha i wish we could of load players like that is Burgoyne of his crutches yet

the 26-year-old played just nine times in 2009 due to a debilitating knee condition. He is currently recovering from knee surgery.the 2nd one in 09

This has to be some sort of wind up surley

Agree,

Stop and think.

Did you email the club when they traded Peter Everitt because that is what you are doing here.

The club has to be bigger than the individual.

If you dont realise there is something behind this move, much more than the silly outburst at Lloyd.

So, if you do not want to see us win another flag...email the club. If you want to see us win a flag, support the move.

Do you think there's actually any truth to this rumour RustyHawk?

I ask because I just can't imagine Hawthorn trading Brown for any reason. But footy is a strange game sometimes and wierder things have happened.

Re: Renewing Membership (Brown Fall-Out)

Trade Buddy, Hodgey and Cyril and i'll still be a member.

People are just letting the anger out the best way they know how. Stopping the support of ones club is a pretty big statement for a fan to make.

I understand their anger, but i'll always keep my membership.

Actually I was talking to my mate just now and his brother's wife was listening to this radio station in Darwin KIK FM, and apparently Warwick Capper is a guest commentator and he said it's a "done deal" that Campbell is in fact not going to Port but to Essendon!! OMFG. And Essendon will trade Hurley to Port and we will get Lade plus picks 99 and 12.

This is even worse! Sorry but we need to take further action; could everyone who has emailed Jeff re-send your emails?

Actually also his addresses above aren't right, you need to use: randombullshltfilter@hawthornfc.com.au, or also you can get him on helpimlost@villageidiot.com.au.

They've got those big stubbies in Darwin dude. And it is Wozza.

So, if you do not want to see us win another flag...email the club. If you want to see us win a flag, support the move.
Sorry, but that's just a plain stupid comment, Rusty, and you're better than that.

Did Hawthorn get it wrong when they traded a young up and comer in Trent Croad? I emailed them then and while it wasn't successful, I'm glad I didn't sit on my fingers before I at least had my say.

If you want to wait and address you approval after the fact, then that's your prerogative.

amos

Re: Renewing Membership (Brown Fall-Out)

I have #30 on my back, but I will renew my membership.

That said, I'm disgusted with the treatment of Browny. Apparantly he is meeting with Clarkson now and he is livid. I hope he makes Clarko cry.