Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 21

Can someone please tell me why the AFL has programmed a bye for this weekend?

Whatever the reason it is a real plus for the Bulldogs who now get a week off before the GF. On the other side of the coin Melbourne will have played just twice in 5 weeks. I reckon the AFL have just handed back any advantage Melbourne had in finishing top four.

Still no idea why the MCG contract is again going to be extended for the 2nd year in a row because the AFL chose not to play the grand final at the MCG. They can do it. They just won’t make money from it.
Thats why. They can do it, they chose not to. Hence they extend the contract by a year, as compensation to the MCC/Vic Government for not getting the revenue from hosting the Grand Final.

Wingard finished 5th in Hawthorn's B&F despite missing 6 games.

Wonder if either Burton or Duursma will crack the top 10 in ours ...

considering one missed a significant chunk of the season it could be tough. Burton probably will but I’d drop him to last in our BnF after that squib in the final, I can not forget it

Can someone please tell me why the AFL has programmed a bye for this weekend?

Whatever the reason it is a real plus for the Bulldogs who now get a week off before the GF. On the other side of the coin Melbourne will have played just twice in 5 weeks. I reckon the AFL have just handed back any advantage Melbourne had in finishing top four.

Its a weird one. They did everything to disadvantage the Dogs really against us, and if we didn't choke we would be in the exact same position as Melbourne.

If Burton doesn't make our top 10 after the season he has had I will eat my membership, shit it out and eat it again.

Its a weird one. They did everything to disadvantage the Dogs really against us, and if we didn't choke we would be in the exact same position as Melbourne.

Nothing better than completely ruining the momentum of a team and derailing a season just to drag things out for an extra week. The Brownlow hype machine will go into hyperdrive. Won't be long before ol Gil will want it as a 2 night count.

I think I could finish top 5 in the Hawks B&F.

Finishing top 5 in a team that finished 14th, compared to a team that finished 3rd is not really comparable. Plus one was also out injured for majority of the year.

i thought we already had the bye weekend and the GF was this weekend lol. **** this week has felt like the longest all year

Not sure how to feel about this. On the one hand it's great to see that a senior board member of another footy club gets called to account for actively campaigning against us on social media in favour of another team.

But on the other hand, it is bloody absurd that a single annoying but otherwise innocuous tweet gets one Collingwood Board member sacked when their past CEO was able to get away with attacking us on a weekly basis with blatant mistruths via his multiple media roles (not to mention his racist attacks on players).

Not sure how to feel about this. On the one hand it's great to see that a senior board member of another footy club gets called to account for actively campaigning against us on social media in favour of another team.

But on the other hand, it is bloody absurd that a single annoying but otherwise innocuous tweet gets one Collingwood Board member sacked when their past CEO was able to get away with attacking us on a weekly basis with blatant mistruths via his multiple media roles (not to mention his racist attacks on players).

Acceptable from Collingwood board members:
* Racism
* Sexism
* Ableism

Unacceptable from Collingwood board members:
* Supporting another team when your team has been eliminated

Priorities

Would you feel like it's cheating to win the brownlow without ever playing a single game of AFL?

No. Like Jobe, it was drugs that stopped me winning a Brownlow 😎

Bloody hell, I finished second in a medal count, after missing 5 games due to eye surgery. That, in itself, means I could’ve won a Brownlow.

Doesn’t it?

Could Troy Chaplain become a premiership coach??

AFL grand final: Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin isolated from the team in Perth with illness
Two Melbourne coaches have been sent into isolation in Perth after coming down with an illness.

Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin has been forced into isolation a week out from the AFL grand final with a mystery illness.
Goodwin missed an open training session on Friday and a press conference after falling ill.

Assistant coach Troy Chaplin filled his spot at the media opportunity and revealed both Goodwin and assistant Adem Yze were isolating at their hotel.

“He’s woken up a little bit crook – both him and Ooz (Yze),” Chaplin said.

Melbourne players are back in the community and interacting with the public having served their quarantine in Perth.

Chaplin revealed Yze had his second Covid-19 vaccination yesterday.

The Demons will have their main training session of the week on Saturday.

Acceptable from Collingwood board members:
* Racism
* Sexism
* Ableism

Unacceptable from Collingwood board members:
* Supporting another team when your team has been eliminated

Priorities

I thought a deranged jealous obsession with Ports was encouraged amongst their board too...

She probably thought her "please not port" would cancel out her support for the dogs

Could Troy Chaplain become a premiership coach??

AFL grand final: Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin isolated from the team in Perth with illness
Two Melbourne coaches have been sent into isolation in Perth after coming down with an illness.

Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin has been forced into isolation a week out from the AFL grand final with a mystery illness.
Goodwin missed an open training session on Friday and a press conference after falling ill.

Assistant coach Troy Chaplin filled his spot at the media opportunity and revealed both Goodwin and assistant Adem Yze were isolating at their hotel.

“He’s woken up a little bit crook – both him and Ooz (Yze),” Chaplin said.

Melbourne players are back in the community and interacting with the public having served their quarantine in Perth.

Chaplin revealed Yze had his second Covid-19 vaccination yesterday.

The Demons will have their main training session of the week on Saturday.

Both Goodwin & Yze on too many nose beers probably