Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 24

.... My suspicion/hunch is that Carr is taking on a more substantial tactical coaching role on game day and is more involved in the pre game planning and selections during the week. The on field changes have been obvious. And I reckon Hinkley is enjoying being on the bench, engaging with the players while simultaneously taking the media focus off Carr as he builds his craft.

I think that means a transition to Carr as Head Coach is now underway with the clear acceptance and agreement of Hinkley. That it is being done without fanfare or formal announcement is what is making it work imho. Merely an optimistic guess on my part ...
Footy Classified last night saw Kane Cornes speak briefly on this. People can hunt that up for themselves for the exact content. Along the lines of Port were readying for a coaching change to Carr. But that this current run of onfield success and player development has changed things. If that is true it's a bit Buckley/Malthouse at Alberton.

You can spend over the soft cap but there's a heavy surcharge on it. 200% stated on a show (Footy Classified?) last night. Which I interpret as $1 spent over the soft cap, a further $2 to the AFL.
Don't know why we don't just do it then. Especially for fitness guys

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Footy Classified last night saw Kane Cornes speak briefly on this. People can hunt that up for themselves for the exact content. Along the lines of Port were readying for a coaching change to Carr. But that this current run of onfield success and player development has changed things. If that is true it's a bit Buckley/Malthouse at Alberton.
No it’s not. Malthouse was a multiple premiership winning coach who had won a premiership the previous year.

No.

My observation is that there has been a substantial shift in the coaching dynamics at Port in recent weeks. Not just on game day but during the week.

My suspicion/hunch is that Carr is taking on a more substantial tactical coaching role on game day and is more involved in the pre game planning and selections during the week. The on field changes have been obvious. And I reckon Hinkley is enjoying being on the bench, engaging with the players while simultaneously taking the media focus off Carr as he builds his craft.

I think that means a transition to Carr as Head Coach is now underway with the clear acceptance and agreement of Hinkley. That it is being done without fanfare or formal announcement is what is making it work imho. Merely an optimistic guess on my part.

Once that veil of informality is gone, having Hinkley remain in a coaching role in any form (including as mentor) will probably be untenable for the reasons you outlined - Carr will need the clear air to be seen as THE coach.

All just supposition on my part of course. Your guesses are just as valid.
I would love it if this was happening, but with everything that we know about Hinkley I just can't see that all you've said here is happening. If he has a job lined up for next year already then I think that is the only way your optimism would be justified.

Don't know why we don't just do it then. Especially for fitness guys
Something like 2/3 of AFL clubs rely on AFL funding to be viable. We're one. I don't know what's required of us as a financially supported clubs to spend above the soft cap but I doubt we can just do it without AFL approval. RussellEbertHandball may know.

EDIT: Sorry Cuzz09 didn't click earlier that you were West Coast. And with that username too!! You guys certainly can afford anything. Put adamantium skeletons into your players for a start.

Robbo and Whateley have a hard on for Hinkley to Richmond.

Straight swap works for me.
A Richmond fan at work told me this morning that if Hinkley were to go to Punt Road, she would give up following football. So it kinda suggests that it's largely the media that are pumping up Kenny's tyres - the average fan doesn't want a bar of him.

I would love it if this was happening, but with everything that we know about Hinkley I just can't see that all you've said here is happening. If he has a job lined up for next year already then I think that is the only way your optimism would be justified.
The Hinkley not coaching is a myth born on this forum to somehow justify Ports improvement over the last 7 weeks.
When you continually bag the coach when the side is losing there isn’t really anywhere else to go apart from this fairytale.
Same players same arms and legs but different attitude since Warren had his say.
Very simply the players have stepped up and deserve all the credit.

North Melbourne are advertising for a new interchange steward. The job description states there are three traits needed, mathematical aptitude and being good with detail.
It’s hard to believe a multi million dollar venture like an AFL club could be so unprofessional.
Mario’s Pizza and Pasta shop would be better run.

A Richmond fan at work told me this morning that if Hinkley were to go to Punt Road, she would give up following football. So it kinda suggests that it's largely the media that are pumping up Kenny's tyres - the average fan doesn't want a bar of him.
I think the recycled coach is on the nose these days with a lot of clubs.
I’d rather a new face for us than a guy who’s just run his race.
If we don’t end up with Carr hopefully we get someone around his age who hasn’t been scared beyond repair.

.... Never seen anything like it and most probably will never happen again.
We won't. Too many variables to re-create. The breach itself/where it happened/when it happened/the team it affected being ahead by less than a goal.
Makes you wonder what other unknown landmines lie embedded in the rules that we don't know about.

I think the recycled coach is on the nose these days with a lot of clubs.
I’d rather a new face for us than a guy who’s just run his race.
If we don’t end up with Carr hopefully we get someone around his age who hasn’t been scared beyond repair.
We can't consider Carr until we get a note from his mother saying he can stay this time.

Very simply the players have stepped up and deserve all most of the credit.
FTFY.

I think you are underplaying the role played by the coaching team in the modern game in terms of:

1. team selection and placement;

2. strategy developed and adopted by the various selected team lines prior to the bounce; AND

3. strategy and position changes made during the game in reacting to opposition moves.

IMHO it is point 3 where we have seen the most improvement this year compared to last - with Friday night's game being the best example of that improvement given how we stacked up on paper against Melbourne.

And that change has been most notable in our midfield. And YES, that improvement is primarily down to the elite quality of our young midfield talent who can rise and respond to challenges. But it is also due to the quality and speed of midfield strategy changes made by the coaching team during the game which I think is up there with any other team in the competition.

Remind me. Who is our midfield coach? ;)

Kane doesn’t know his arseh*le from his head. No point listening to the tripe he comes up with!

FTFY.

Remind me. Who is our midfield coach? ;)
Do I win a prize?🤪
The midfield has really taken off this year with the inclusion of JHF not as a midfielder but playing the role up forward taking pressure of others.
Also the big difference is the form of Butters who’s now pretty much the best player in the competition.
Rozee from tears walking off the ground with the crowd booing in that preliminary final has really grown to someone who now puts his body on the line at every contest.
Have also seen a big improvement in the lesser lights this year and that makes a massive difference.
All your 3 points are valid and definitely do make a difference to the end result and we have been more proactive during the game but😂 if you haven’t got the players to successfully change momentum when things are not going your way it’s curtains.
When Melbourne kicked those 6 in the third and got a break on us in years past we would have lost that game by 6-7 goals easy.
This playing group is a massive improvement on last year with not a lot of wholesale changes.
If we can keep this group together and improve our glaring deficiencies in the next couple of years we should be successful.

Wasn't sure where to post this so I just thought I would go here.

I am coming to Adelaide next week for the state of origin and will be there for the week.

Planning on going to the Port/Hawks Game as well on the Saturday arvo as first time to Adelaide so want to check it out for an AFL game as well.

But is the general admission tickets for the AFL in the corner in front of the hill.

What is the mixture of fans that normally sit over there is it both or generally port fans. And what's the atmosphere like in that part of the ground.