Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 24

What I'd like to know though is why Jack Ginnivan has to be decapitated to get a free kick these days but Cody Weightman will still get paid one if a stiff breeze flows past. Don't just crack down on Ginnivan, crack down on all of them.

This was originally put up by a guy I played footy with many years ago and a few people have borrowed it. He posts a lot of stuff from old bugets, news paper clippings and books he has kept.

AFL great Dermott Brereton has taken aim at players who stage for free kicks and called on the league to come down harder on those caught.
The former Hawthorn hardman fired up following a host of contentious decisions in recent weeks that resulted in players milking free kicks.

Brereton said the only way to start stamping out players who flop for free kicks is to start handing out financial punishments. “We can be called dinosaurs, but it does take courage to play Australian rules football in any era. “The one thing that our era was irked by was people flopping, people staging for the benefit of either a free kick or 50-metre penalty. “I can remember doing it myself as a young man thinking, ‘I’d get a free kick out of this’, and respected opponents standing over me while I was pretending to be hurt yelling and screaming at me, ‘Get up you weak cheating dog’ … with a few adjectives thrown in. “The insult hurt so much that I just said ‘I can’t be doing that ever again’.”

The forward great said the league must step in to eradicate the acts and called out players who use flopping in their games. “But it’s almost like some people in the media now say, ‘Oh, he’s challenged the tackler to do better, he has challenged the umpire to make a decision here’,” Brereton explained.
“No, you know what? We’ve got a 360-degree game that’s very difficult as it is and if we have players flopping and staging it is a blight on the game.
“We need to stamp it out … if we allow it to flourish in our game in the heartland of football, that just shouldn’t be (allowed), we shouldn’t allow that.
“We should be just stamping it out … I just think it’s nonsense and an awful way to go about your craft as a footballer, a professional footballer.”

Great in theory but in reality it’s entirely subjective, we know when things are subjective the afl umpires, born and bred in a system governed by vic media boys club subconsciously fall back onto “portz bogan bad” and “vic boy good”

We will get to enjoy watching a port player get his head taken off and get called for staging while we can’t touch the opposition.

The fact that gray, as pure clean and honourable a competitor this sport has ever seen got tagged as a flopper in the same era players regularly would hit behind play them dive at a shove tells us exactly how any crackdown would go.

It seems he was contracted to 2023 before Voss came on board. He hasn't been delisted because Voss hasn't had a chance to delist him yet.

That said, if Carlton are at the point of giving ****ing Lachie O'Brien another game, may as well play him for the sake of pumping up some trade value if nothing else. Although they may be working under the (not unreasonable) theory that it's better for his trade value to be racking up 35 touches a week in the VFL than 12 touches a week in the AFL.

I reckon it’ll play out like Andrew Moore.

He’ll get a gig elsewhere, fall into the same ‘lower league dominator/top flight notsomucher’ loop and spend the rest of his 20’s as a state league gun for hire.

David Penberthy referred to the Budget ad in his opinion piece in this morning's paper.
He borrowed it with no attribution. Swish was pissed off.

As he should be. I saw it several times in my feed - always with attribution, such as :

And given Penberthy's background as a former editor for NewsCorp he has no excuse for trying to pass it off as his own work.