Review Positives and Negatives vs Collingwood

It's hard to believe Allen was taken as low as he was. It's not as though his quality wasn't fairly obvious going into the draft.
He was only 191cms at the time of the draft. He is now as tall as JK and with longer arms .

It's crazy that we have JKs replacement playing along side him .

We need to get big busseling Bailey Williams into the team now

Bloody brilliant mate
Fun fact...I've never seen WC lose at Optus in15 games...left half p155ed at 1/4time at the Hawks game so that doesn't count.

I was talking to my missus about that the other day, i thought it was the exact same with me until i remembered the very first game vs Sydney in 2018.

Reckon i've seen 12+ games at Optus and apart from the Sydney game, we've won every single one 😍

Just dropping by to commend you on your performance today - it was complete.

I’ve not loved Eagles crowd behaviour at some games I’ve been to but it was a pleasant atmosphere today so respect for your good graciousness. Enjoy the win.

I think this was such a comprehensive victory that it's hard to put it into words. If you give one player credit you feel guilty for omitting someone else (which will crush their self esteem when they inevitably come here to read the comments).

Here's some stats that people may find interesting;

- Gaff ran 1km further than the closest Collingwood player. Had 11 uncontested marks and 4 tackles. Took 3 marks inside 50 as well. Smart and courageous.

- Shuey only played 61% TOG for 2 goal assists, 5 tackles, 6 intercept possessions, 19 touches, 84% DE, 1 turnover, 8 score involvements, 3 one percenters and 4 clearances.

- Kelly 30 touches, 90% DE, 1 goal, 6 clearances, 528 metres gained, 3 goal assists and 10 score involvements.

Apart from that, I don't have the stats to back up how good Allen is at football. The way the ball can be two thirds of the way out the back of his hands and yet then just stops dead for the mark is crazy. Different to say Darling who just has vice like hands, equally impressive. The kid had 4 tackles, 3 goals, 350m gained, 10 score involvements.

Josh Kennedy is a god, plain and simple though. The signs were there that he was due a big one, he has been moving really well the past month and has looked light on his feet as if he is in his prime. The pain inflicted on the opposition from him nailing every single opportunity can't be measured statistically.

That was Hurn's best game of the year off the top of my head. His kicks were back to their best and even the short ones I don't mind if he is looking in board, which he did. He hit targets at will in the corridor, always took the best option. 15 touches at 100% with 0 turnovers.

I loved that play late when Redden came through with a ground ball get, spun out of the first tackle, then just kept running. The players spread for him and their opponents followed and he just held the ball, no panic, then hands off to the best option.

I don't know who else to give credit to, the defenders didn't have much asked of them but Nelson looked like he covered a lot of ground, Duggan had some big spoils and as usual Sheppard was the best of the bunch. Bloke can tackle, bloke can jump, bloke can shut down space.

Yeo, Shuey, Naitanui, Gaff and Kelly were the stars in the middle and Redden and Sheed just did what they had to do.

I liked both of Ryan and Cripps' games too.

An 11 goal victory in a reduced-length match against a premiership rival - it doesn't get much better than that.

Today was an example of the potential of this team and why I have been so bullish in regard to the structural changes that have been implemented after the match against Port Adelaide.

This is what happens when an opposition tries to play possession football against an aggressive press that also has clearance domination.

The signs have been there building up to this - the pressure, stoppage execution, ball movement, defensive coverage and turnover conversion have all been excellent recently - all that has been lacking is the finish to convert that superiority into points on the scoreboard.

The prior three matches have been up against teams with an overwhelmingly defensive approach, characterised by mass-flooding and congestion of the Eagles' attack. This was the first test of the revised tactical setup against a team that was willing to take the game on and it passed flawlessly.

The long anticipated stoppage combination of Yeo, Shuey and Kelly started to look as good in practice as it does on paper. Grundy was completely nullified and the ball simply came in too quickly for Collingwood's defensive zone to operate effectively, leaving the Eagles' forwards with one-on-ones, which they capitalised upon mercilessly.

The ease of this victory is downright scary good. No other performance by any club this year comes near to this level of performance and execution.

This is the benchmark.

Just dropping by to commend you on your performance today - it was complete.
I’ve not loved Eagles crowd behaviour at some games I’ve been to but it was a pleasant atmosphere today so respect for your good graciousness. Enjoy the win.
It's not like Pies crowds are well behaved angels? But comments appreciated. Commiserations, they'll bounce back..

I’ve not come across Pies supporters throwing beer over minors in opposition colours at a pre-season game before but I’m sure there’s bad eggs in every bunch.

You guys played a ripping game, after quarter time it was absolutely irrepressible.

An 11 goal victory in a reduced-length match against a premiership rival - it doesn't get much better than that.

Today was an example of the potential of this team and why I have been so bullish in regard to the structural changes that have been implemented after the match against Port Adelaide.

This is what happens when an opposition tries to play possession football against an aggressive press that also has clearance domination.

The signs have been there building up to this - the pressure, stoppage execution, ball movement, defensive coverage and turnover conversion have all been excellent recently - all that has been lacking is the finish to convert that superiority into points on the scoreboard.

The prior three matches have been up against teams with an overwhelmingly defensive approach, characterised by mass-flooding and congestion of the Eagles' attack. This was the first test of the revised tactical setup against a team that was willing to take the game on and it passed flawlessly.

The long anticipated stoppage combination of Yeo, Shuey and Kelly started to look as good in practice as it does on paper. Grundy was completely nullified and the ball simply came in too quickly for Collingwood's defensive zone to operate effectively, leaving the Eagles' forwards with one-on-ones, which they capitalised upon mercilessly.

The ease of this victory is downright scary good. No other performance by any club this year comes near to this level of performance and execution.

This is the benchmark.
Highest score by any team thus far in the season...Daisy and the other Vic commentators sounded flat?

I’ve not come across Pies supporters throwing beer over minors in opposition colours at a pre-season game before but I’m sure there’s bad eggs in every bunch.
You guys played a ripping game, after quarter time it was absolutely irrepressible.
Ok, sure, not acceptable behaviour by anyone - mind you, you can see some terrible behaviour even in junior footy by crowds, parents, even coaches...needs to be stamped out, somehow. Sportsmanship above all else!

Yeah and I probably shouldn’t have even mentioned it in my original comment - because both the crowd today and the team were faultless.

I’ll leave the thread because the last thing you need is my back and forward when you probably want to dissect the victory. Enjoy it guys and well done.

Review Positives and Negatives vs Collingwood