Review Positives & Negatives vs Fremantle

I have to agree with BB point in the Game Day thread that the players just looked completely disinterested. I mean when Mundy overtakes then burns off 3 players you have to wonder.

Maybe it's like Freo in 2010 (or was it 2009?) where you had all those injuries. You kept winning and everyone was impressed how you kept going then suddenly it caught up to you and it all fell apart.

This whole year has felt like we are just trying to keep our head above water. Never have space just having enough to get by.

When we lost Lecras, Nicoski, Embley and Kennedy early in the year people asked if we could still win the flag. Guess we got the answer.

It's not just us, Essendon is in the same boat.

I know, i was just watching that chase on Mundy thinking WOWEE, are we tanking??
You know your teams in just a tad bit of trouble when Barlow the slowest lethargic player ever (i know, i have him in my supercoach and watch him every week) burns off our team. Haha and mundy too.

It's almost like the eagles just threw the game for money. Or draft picks. Which is just a reeedonculous.

The only two main positives of the match were Kerr and Masten. Kerr - gun, just had no outside support to do anything with his great stoppage work. Masten played another great game - will be at least top 10 in our B&F IMO.

HM's - Brown and Swift (did well when he did have the ball - some great vision to spot up players I50)

Everything else was just crap.

Positives:
Will definitely be a shake up of the midfield after that performance. Found out who is able to step up in the big games. There are a few that need to be removed. Mitch Brown I reckon took a big step up today.

Negatives:
We don't need to go over the injury, lack of discipline year we have had. It really cost us a premiership in my opinion. The commentators had it right when they said the domino effect on the team is real.

Can't believe there are actually campaigners on here that believe Darling threw his head back.

^ That's the shit swear filter at work, I actually said something much worse.

Dockers killed us on the counter with fast ball movement. When they moved the ball quickly they caught our structures out of position and really scored far too easily. Whether this is because of poor play or structures I don't know. When we got the ball we were slow and messed around with it. Our forward line was always congested while theirs was wide open. We really struggled to get much positive play going forward at all.

We do they just weren't playing.
I guess. Glass didn't make much difference against Sydney and Adelaide though. All our leadership is in defence. Cox just whinges too much and seems to care about his own individual game more so than the team's. Let's hope Lecca and Kennedy bring it next yr.

Dockers killed us on the counter with fast ball movement. When they moved the ball quickly they caught our structures out of position and really scored far too easily. Whether this is because of poor play or structures I don't know. When we got the ball we were slow and messed around with it. Our forward line was always congested while theirs was wide open. We really struggled to get much positive play going forward at all.
Yep, its very worrying. Pagan's paddock seems to be a foolproof way to beat us. Do we have the talent to win without relying on the press?

Positives
Schofields beard. That is all, there is nothing else positive about the game that i can think of....

Negatives (oh this will be fun, better take a seat people..)
Worsfold getting a coaching lesson by Ross Lyon... Name 1 decent coaching move worsfold made... all game?
The dockers won literally every position on the ground apart from Kerrs and probably Gaffs. Even darls lost.
As usual our team was a bunch of pansies who couldn't get angry or go hard at the ball, kept losing there feet.
I CALLED IT PEOPLE... yet another game where the opposition ruckman took the honors over cox and Nicnat.
Nicnat playing disgustingly bad and falling over or laying on the ground all game.
After worsfold said he wouldn't play anyone who wasn't 100%... nicnat spent 5 hours getting a rub down
Get used to this sort of output from shuey on a regular basis people, it's a little thing called a tag.
Nobody really put in a decent effort apart from Kerr, Gaff, Darls, and Waters.
Stupid turnovers, ie scooters, one of many.

I could go on and on reciting each players failings, but i'm over it. This season has been shit and frustrating as hell compared to last year, and with the exeption of Gaff and Darls regular improvment and discovering that Hill can play the odd token game every now and then it's been a total waste.

Selwood made the mistake of taking a mark then dishing off to McKenzie. That's generally fatal and when McKenzie decided he didn't want it after all he gave it back to Selwood whose mind was struggling to comprehend why he'd given it to McKenzie in the first place. Because his brain was confused at this point he kicked poorly.

I cannot understand why Eagles players kick/handball to McKenzie because they've all been burnt by him so many times with his unforced turnovers. I know here it was Selwood who made the mistake, but he should have ignored giving it to McKenzie on his left foot running toward the boundary, it was always a recipe for disaster.

We've been caught out by all the good teams. When our press doesn't work we are wide open. We have to pull a couple of players back to cover

Yep, its very worrying. Pagan's paddock seems to be a foolproof way to beat us. Do we have the talent to win without relying on the press?

If we are going to stick with the press then one thing we need is some speed down back. Its frustrating watching guys like Butler trying to chase down players like Ballantyne in wide open space.

Selwood made the mistake of taking a mark then dishing off to McKenzie. That's generally fatal and when McKenzie decided he didn't want it after all he gave it back to Selwood whose mind was struggling to comprehend why he'd given it to McKenzie in the first place. Because his brain was confused at this point he kicked poorly.

I cannot understand why Eagles players kick/handball to McKenzie because they've all been burnt by him so many times with his unforced turnovers. I know here it was Selwood who made the mistake, but he should have ignored giving it to McKenzie on his left foot running toward the boundary, it was always a recipe for disaster.

The decision making of our backs is poor. They handball and switch at all costs and with no thought.

No to mention giving off the handball to whoever runs past, whether it be priddis onto his right foot or Schofield onto his left. This is one of the things that really shits me lately, they don't even look just immediately give the handball. I appreciate the fact that we need to move the ball quick, but more often then not we just shoot ourselves in the foot. We haven't got hawthorns sublime kicking skills ffs.

The problem is generally the guy calling for it. They're so tuned in to providing an option they often do so without gauging whether it's to the team's advantage or not. It's like old fashioned circle work where you mark on the lead and dish off to a team mate who passes to the next leading player. That's fine at training with no opposition but can burn you badly in a match if you do it instinctively rather than assessing the options. And without wishing to labour the point if the player calling for it is McKenzie, think very hard about whether that is of value to the team.

I have no issue with players going by and calling for the ball even if their wrong side. It creates movement and space. I have a problem with the call being honoured. They must know when it is a team mate's wrong side and should be treated as a decoy. But they don't seem to.

Negative. How we played. Forget the result for a minute. It looked like none of our players wanted to be there. It was all too hard for them and not one of them did the work required of them.

Positive. We can't possibly play that bad next week.

you guys weren't that bad.
sure the result was not what you wanted, but apart from 2 ruckmen who looked less than 100% & your best young mid being tagged out of the game, the rest of the team fought it out.
I think it goes to show how important your rucks are for you. I thought Griffin was great for us.
A week is a long time in footy.

I've been pretty bullish all season. But after seeing this game I am pretty devo.

There is no way we can mix it with the big boys. Let's get JK and Lecca back and actually form a 4wd line next season. This defeat really hurts. We were absolutely smashed. I am speechless.

We are just not good enough.

Review Positives & Negatives vs Fremantle