Review R1: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. St Kilda

There was some sloppiness in the back half and a few harsh holding the balls.

In the front half I thought we were on. Thilthorpe was single grabbing everything and both Rankine and Rachele dominated outside of some poor misses. Soligo was maybe 10% off but still performed really well
Might seem a little thing but one of the things I enjoyed is boys celebrating teammates success out there

The boys seem well bonded and ready to work for each other

I think the important thing is that we've got players that can deliver the type of clearances that have defenders sweating bullets. Back when it was Laird, Sloane and Crouch, it was just high hack kicks that are easy to defend.

I agree with that, I just didn’t agree with the other post that our midfield is frightening.

Oh it will click. Keep selecting him, keep playing him, and keep not sub-ing him IMO.

Unicorn players don't fit traditional roles, they re-invent them. You just need to give them time to do it.
Yeah, I don't get after all the time when a few posters say multiple times over seasons "leave them in the team, they just need time" because you can see their talent that we still have people going "he should be dropped to the 2s"

We can afford to carry Curtin whilst he learns but he learns quicker in the 1sts.

I was really happy today when the sub came and Walker was subbed off, it was a brave decision

We are a really good midfield but we are still a bit off the best like GWS, Brisbane, Swans ect.
The best midfield teams have 3 quality midfielders outside of Brisbane who has 4, Dawson and Rankine will match any of their top 2 midfielders and provided Soligo can continue his development this year then we will be close to matching them at year's end.

Hard to make an error with a few 15m sideways kicks.
Mate, seriously just give it up with this Milera shit. No need to try and find negatives or whine today. Milera was fine on first watch and watching the replay I haven’t seen one mistake or seen his opponent getting much of the ball, or kicking goals. Isn’t the first job of a defender to defend and stop goals?

Even if you truly believe Milera is a bottom 4-5 player are you proposing dropping 4-5 players this week? It’s just not going to happen

I think we should have ran Curtin through the middle after half time.
Let him get his hands on the ball.
I saw a few times where he was close to the play in the forward lines but it looked like he didn't want to get in the way of Fog and Thilly.
This is not a criticism - but there's a mental side to his game he needs to develop IMO. Which is perfectly normal for a 19 year-old.

Reckons he's conscious of adhering to messaging (structures, playing a specific role, etc) and as a result doesn't fully crash in on gameday, for fear of going against those, which inturn means he gets less of the ball. I noticed it a few times last year, plus the trial game in Brisbane, and today. Perhaps a symptom of overcoaching too, Chayce Jones was similar.

Has all the physical traits, just needs to want it more consistently. I'm super excited by what he can become long-term, and I can't wait until it all clicks.

I think Curtin has pretty reasonable footy IQ, at one stage on the half forward flank he was out of position knew he probably wasn’t going to mark it, brought it to ground in-front with a nice reach, crumbed it and dished it off.

This is not a criticism - but there's a mental side to his game he needs to develop IMO. Which is perfectly normal for a 19 year-old.

Reckons he's conscious of adhering to messaging (structures, playing a specific role, etc) and as a result doesn't fully crash in on gameday, for fear of going against those, which inturn means he gets less of the ball. I noticed it a few times last year, plus the trial game in Brisbane, and today.

Has all the physical traits, just needs to want it more consistently. I'm super excited by what he can become long-term, and I can't wait until it all clicks.
He has all the tools to become a great player.
But the forward line is so structured that there isn't room up there for him.
That's why I think him playing on ball allows him to play more of his natural game and play on instinct and not get bogged down with instructions

Good - Rash: 2 goals, 4 goal assists, 12 score involvements
I’ve been a big Rachele critic, but man he was good today. Involved in so many chains, clean, worked hard.

The commentators mentioned he dropped minutes off his time trial PB. It showed today. Maybe he’s in for a big year?

That was as good as you could hope for regarding Round 1. Really bad conditions for footy with the wind, but the Crows ticked all the boxes. The optimism by those in the know on here regarding new recruits was backed up by performance. Thilthorpe and Rachele look sharp. Rankine, Dawson and Soligo look primed - with plenty of midfield depth to back them up. Murray, Keane and Worrell fit. Laird racking them up from a back pocket.

Saturday afternoon at the MCG against Essendon. A chance to make an early season statement.

Good: All of it.
Bad: None of it.
Ugly: QLD 3/13 at one stage chasing SA's 7/614 declared

He has all the tools to become a great player.
But the forward line is so structured that there isn't room up there for him.
That's why I think him playing on ball allows him to play more of his natural game and play on instinct and not get bogged down with instructions
Yep agree, a 4-tall forward line rarely clicks for all 4 talls, regardless of gameplan. He looked better when Tex went off, and got higher up the ground.

If inside-mid minutes aren't coming or logical given game situations, I reckon the Tom Lynch role could really suit his skill set.

Unfortunately I could only watch the highlights but from what I saw we played good hard attacking football. Which is an about face from last years super slow methodical perfect football we tried to play to suffocate our opposition. Nicks is lucky he even got the chance to correct that. But anyways I digress.

So to me one of the big differences was clearly moving the ball quickly into our forward line with a more focused attempt to kick it to the advantage of our forwards and from what I could see, our small running players absolutely swamped the forward line to help create options if the ball hit the deck. Something we struggled with last year.

We looked fast. It was impressive.

The unfortunate reality is we played our absolute best 23 and when your best team is on the park then thats the sort of performance we should expect against mid to low table opposition. The real test will be taking this side up against other form teams. Until that happens we can sit back and enjoy the ride.

Rachele looked like he has found an extra gear. Looked fast and super quick in tight.

I have some questions about Walker. I think its time he was potentially left out of the side. He presents a lot of the time as a linking player and only managed 2 marks and 3 kicks. This is perhaps an area we can move Fogarty too or even experiment with Curtin playing the same role. It just feels like thats just a low ball performance that indicates Tex is going to struggle to offer us something in the close tough games against better opposition. There were games like this last year too. Curtin clearly can play and needs opportunities to develop his game. This is probably an area he could play, as a tex style linking centre half forward.

I’ve been a big Rachele critic, but man he was good today. Involved in so many chains, clean, worked hard.

The commentators mentioned he dropped minutes off his time trial PB. It showed today. Maybe he’s in for a big year?
Both myself and mate weren't sure during live play who it was that delivered the footy in to the Crows forward line for the early goal. He's trimmed down significantly. Played well. I think the penny dropped last season regarding attitude on the field and he backed up that poor marking moment earlier in the season with some good team footy. Combine that with what has obviously been a very good pre-season and he's ready to make the most of his talents. Both Rachele and Rankine today just played good solid footy.

I don't remember us pushing ROB into defense so hard last year, was a few times he ended up at CHB. Wasn't the worst at it, I know he played some back there with the Cannons, but I wonder if that's just a way to add some height down back since we're not playing the traditional two talls down back?
Don't we currently have three talls down back?

I think they're pushing him back to crowd the area and make it harder for the opposition to enter cleanly. I think he's mostly there to get in the way.

Review R1: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. St Kilda