Autopsy Roast and toast vs Brisbane and changes Port Adelaide

Best vs Lions

We have a great defense but have been leaking goals left right and center all because we don't play them where they should be playing. Weird how we won last game when Baker and Balta went back for the second half. Dimma still loves experimenting with failed experiments :(

We’ve got a great defense but our midfield goes long periods without being able to win a clearance.

Balta goes back and Miller plays second ruck. Wouldnt be bringing in Gibcus for Grimes
We normally play a 7th defender, so Baker (Mr fix it) goes back...Balta, Tarrant, Broad, Vlustuin, Rioli, Short, Baker

Ins: Roli Jnr,
Outs: Grimes
stack

Balta goes back and Miller plays second ruck. Wouldnt be bringing in Gibcus for Grimes
We normally play a 7th defender, so Baker (Mr fix it) goes back...Balta, Tarrant, Broad, Vlustuin, Rioli, Short, Baker

Not Short. Not in the backline. He was terrible last week until he was moved out of defence.

Finlayson is only 197 cm.
Not much of a tap ruckman but reasonable around the ground.
Reckon he will suit Miller.

Herald Sun Wednesday article of who MAY be in has just upset me

Thomson Dow (29 disposals, nine clearances) may once again come into the selection frame, as will Jason Castagna (18 disposals, two goals).

No talk about Edwards making way for someone.

I dont want to be reliant on other games so Im hoping he is.

Not Short. Not in the backline. He was terrible last week until he was moved out of defence.

Kicking was woeful but he'll play there again I reckon. As mentioned would love stack to play back but MC needs their arm bent to play him. I'd even take stacky as the Sub. I hear where you're coming from but if short doesn't play back that's 5 only (6 if you include Baker). Macca and Pickett wings. If Hugo was in then that's another story.

Finlayson is only 197 cm.
Not much of a tap ruckman but reasonable around the ground.
Reckon he will suit Miller.
Won’t be much of a hit out threat but he’s been very effective. I’ve seen him regularly charging out of the centre bounce Dangerfield style lately, so I thought I would look at their recent clearance numbers.

Over the last five weeks:

Finlayson 26
Wines 21
Rozee 16
Boak 17
Butters 10
Drew 15 from 4 games.

He’s an extra mid really, and Nank will have to be switched on. Finlayson will be the most used ruck so our back up will have to contend with Dixon mostly.

Well, that has been the case since Teakle’s injured debut anyway. I guess he could come back in but I’d be surprised if they didn’t continue to ruck our mate F1n. He’s been pretty good.

Won’t be much of a hit out threat but he’s been very effective. I’ve seen him regularly charging out of the centre bounce, Dangerfield style lately, so I thought I would look at their recent clearance numbers.

Over the last five weeks:

Finlayson 26
Wines 21
Rozee 16
Boak 17
Butters 10
Drew 15 from 4 games.

He’s an extra mid really, and Nank will have to be switched on. Finlayson will be the most used ruck so our back up will have to contend with Dixon mostly.

Well, that has been the case since Teakle’s injured debut anyway. I guess he could come back in but I’d be surprised if they didn’t continue to ruck our mate F1n. He’s been pretty good.

Yeah he’s actually been great in the ruck this season. We were all melting pretty hard when he gave Nank and Soldo a bath earlier this season. Since then he’s shown it wasn’t a one off. Hopefully Nank gets into him physically this week

I hear where you're coming from but if short doesn't play back that's 5 only (6 if you include Baker).
I'm including Baker in the back 6. It's not just Short's kicking out of the backline, but also he just doesn't defend very well. He was hopelessly out positioned by McCarthy last week.

I'd love Mansell as the extra defender for Grimes but I don't think he'll be the one coming in.

We’ve got a great defense but our midfield goes long periods without being able to win a clearance.

Yes but if your defense is set up right it flows through. We demolished them in the second half all because of 2 changes down back and that was even after we lost grimes.

I'd say Mckay the flopper gets more, if only Lynch and Jack got the frees this flog gets and then we have Ginnavan the ducking Queen where the majority of his goals have come from frees.
Yep, agree with all points here.
Ginni is getting jack now in relation to frees & I'm good with that.
It was obvious this would happen & our club and Jack have to take a large portion of ownership and blame here.
Ginni openly admitted that as a kid he copied his AFL idols and practiced this so called "skill" (read Blight) whilst the likes of Duckwood continues to get away with it over a 350 game career with seemingly no blame apportioned whatsoever.
The AFL are also to blame as they should have eradicated this disease a decade or more ago, starting by initiating a rule change at under 16's and 18's level first as they have done with other rule changes in the past.
Buckley & McCrae are to blame also & should have intervened & coached this tactic out of him with an emphasis on going hard at the ball instead of encouraging it's continuation.
The kid only needs to look at the likes of Baker as a role model who I openly have a man crush on. He's tough, fair, goes super hard at the ball, works his arse off and never plays for free kicks. He never complains on field & every possie is earnt and as such he rightly deserves universal respect.

The media keep raving on about Curnow, Cameron. Hawkins but those 3 have all played 19 games. 4 more games than Lynch.
And the game V GC when he went off in the first 5 mins that in effect makes it 5 games. Had he played all game he would be sitting on top of the Coleman medal count.

2022 AFL Goalkicking (Coleman Medal)​

NameTeamGamesGoalsBehindsScoreMarksShots%Last Game
19​
59​
33​
387​
107​
92​
64.1​
19​
54​
28​
352​
114​
82​
65.9​
19​
51​
32​
338​
109​
83​
61.4​
19​
47​
24​
306​
114​
71​
66.2​
19​
46​
36​
312​
101​
82​
56.1​
19​
44​
16​
280​
79​
60​
73.3​
18​
44​
28​
292​
83​
72​
61.1​
19​
43​
20​
278​
71​
63​
68.3​
19​
43​
20​
278​
62​
63​
68.3​
15​
43​
22​
280​
80​
65​
66.2​
15​
42​
22​
274​
79​
64​
65.6​
17​
41​
21​
267​
94​
62​
66.1​
19​
40​
19​
259​
92​
59​
67.8​
19​
39​
13​
247​
98​
52​
75.0​
16​
39​
25​
259​
91​
64​
60.9​
18​
37​
15​
237​
39​
52​
71.2​
15​
37​
15​
237​
72​
52​
71.2​
19​
37​
22​
244​
59​
59​
62.7​
17​
35​
27​
237​
85​
62​
56.5​
GWS
14​
35​
17​
227​
71​
52​
67.3​
19​
35​
34​
244​
66​
69​
50.7​
17​
34​
19​
223​
70​
53​
64.2​
18​
34​
20​
224​
72​
54​
63.0​
14​
32​
21​
213​
63​
53​
60.4​
17​
32​
18​
210​
49​
50​
64.0​
18​
31​
13​
199​
46​
44​
70.5​
17​
30​
19​
199​
75​
49​
61.2​
16​
30​
19​
199​
62​
49​
61.2​
17​
30​
9​
189​
47​
39​
76.9​
19​
30​
8​
188​
64​
38​
78.9​

Lynch got injured at start of 1 game. He's really only played 14 games. Would be leading if he'd played 19.

I can’t agree we don’t have hunger. You don’t come back from 47-10 against the Cats with your best mid gonesky if you’re lacking desire. Or win from 42-points down against Lions. Or have a 13-game streak containing only 4 losses by a total of 15 points… I really don’t question the desire or heart of this team at all.

Given we are coming off a dynasty, have not had any high draft picks for a decade, have barely had access to Dusty and have had other injuries to key players all year, I’ve been super proud of what the club has produced majority of this season.

Do you think any oppo supporter looks at Richmond this season and thinks “They’ve lost the hunger”…. I just don’t see it.

Not #eco ATM.

Yep, agree with all points here.
Ginni is getting jack now in relation to frees & I'm good with that.
It was obvious this would happen & our club and Jack have to take a large portion of ownership and blame here.
Ginni openly admitted that as a kid he copied his AFL idols and practiced this so called "skill" (read Blight) whilst the likes of Duckwood continues to get away with it over a 350 game career with seemingly no blame apportioned.
The AFL are also to blame as they should have eradicated this disease a decade or more ago, starting by initiating a rule change at under 16's and 18's level first as they have done with other rule changes in the past.
Buckley & McCrae are also to blame & should have intervened & coached this tactic out of him with an emphasis on going hard at the ball instead of encouraging it's continuation.
The kid only needs to look at the likes of Baker as a role model who I openly have a man crush on. He's tough, fair, goes super hard at the ball, works his arse off and never plays for free kicks. He never complains on field & every possie is earnt and as such he rightly has universal respect.

I had to double-check, that you actually follow Collingwood. You are very level-headed, a well articulated post, concise, and honest. No sugar coating unlike some of your fellow supporters. I do agree duckwood has gotten away with it more times than not, but glad the AFL has acted, not only towards ginnivan but every player who is dropping their body, lifting their arms and ducking to initiate a head high free.