I'm going to be pretty impressed if we go in with:

F: Ryan, Darling, Cripps

HF:

C: Gaff, Yeo, Sheed

HB: Cole, McGovern, Duggan

B: Barrass.

10 out of 10 listed 2018 Premiership players.

An Adam Simpson wet dream
Unfortunately it means we have to find players to plug spots who don't have medallions. But check this out: for that we have Kelly, Waterman, Allen, Hough, Reid- all first class players. And three players we've recruited specifically for needs- Witherden, Hunt, Flynn.

It's a starting 18 3 years into a supposed "rebuild" entirely lacks what you'd consider a youth development pick.

Make the bench up of Ginbey, B.Williams, Petruccelli, Rotham and wonder of wonders, the side Simmo's been angling for is a best 22 that might only contain Ginbey in a developing role.

Thats a more mature outfit than the 18 premiership side that contained Venables.

I'll fight anyone who says we should not be aiming to win the big dance in 25 with the side above, which I think is the current Simmo credits tm first picked side. If we are not trying to win it all, then what the hell are we doing?
Gaff wasn’t in the team that won the GF

Re Flynn coming back after one WAFL game and maybe a bit underdone

He doesn’t have to play full minutes because he’s got Bailey to back him up. They can tag team Marshall, who whilst he’s a very good ruck at 201cm he’s not a monster, and work him over given there’s not much help for him. If the game becomes a slog this could be important

I have no issues with Flynn’s inclusion

Hence why Oscar Allen will play vs Cellar Dwellars Nth Melb at home next week. These people who keep saying they need all these extra weeks in WAFL are clearly not right..

There will be another 4 or 5 changes again next week. Then the week after the bye.

I suspect by Game 2 post bye we will be best 22 including Elijah Hewett..

Gaff isn’t a premiership player

We only have 9 left from that side and they all played last week

Ffs! Good pick up.

Technically though all that means is another 5 players [Allen, Waterman, Rotham, Petch, Gaff] were in the squad in 2018 as well as those 9. All seem to be current best 22 if Gaff comes back into the side.

So 14 of best 22 are 2018 Eagles. Plus Bailey Williams a 2019 Eagle. Plus 4 mature age recruits in Hunt, Flynn, Witherden, Kelly. Thats 19 mature players who are best 22 at the mid point of 2024 according to match committee. Reid and Hough are young but neither are in the side for development purposes, they are winning their positions at AFL level and not even close to fringe. Ginbey is then basically a better Venables, only guy in there who's primarily there in need of significant development.

Is that a rebuilding side? Or have we basically still just a mature side that missed out on finals again because of injuries to key personnel?

I'm just saying that on revealed preference, when available we've basically picking the side I've listed here bar Gaff- who is borderline because of form but recalled if playing well.

No idea how any group of people can sit around a table and decide that that is the best possible side we could put out there.

But I suppose we should have been prepared for this when we got this little window into the club’s mindset on where our players are at from the captain:

In their mind, this is someone who found it easy:

View attachment 2005325

Looking forward to hearing Simmo go on about how we’re going to back in our “leaders” after we get spanked at home by Saint ****ing Kilda

Duggans comments were exactly what I thought of seeing the team sheet

The senior group of players have been excused and had blame deflected off them for poor performances onto anything and everything else for going on 5 years (hubs, injuries, now the its the kids fault)

If it's one or the other, I'd prefer it if Jack Williams played over Bailey. Jack is a natural forward but Bailey is not. Jacks kicked 9.1 this year and Bailey 2.4. You are still getting a ruck chop out with Jack.

Sheed and Gaff in the same side is a bootable offence.

images (8).jpeg

Going against the tide here with a positive look on things.

Comparing this side to the one that went down by 8 points to the same team last year, we have:

OUT: O'Neill, Bazzo, Hurn, Hewett, Allen, Long, Hunt, J. Williams, Shuey
IN: H. Reid, H. Edwards, Cole, Kelly, Waterman, Jones, Ryan, Flynn, Yeo

Much better lineup this year compared to last's IMO. On top of that, Saints are missing Crouch who tore our midfield a new one last game.

Backed us to win this one comfortably before the team was named, and I still do.

Oscar Allen won't come in on massively reduced minutes.

Flynn is replacing Jack Williams who usually played 66-72% TOG, it's very ruck specific.

With capped rotations they won't be playing a heap of underdone talls. I fully expect Allen to play WAFL and/or be fit enough to put in some big minutes before being selected.

I expect next week's side to have one less tall player in it.

I'm going to be pretty impressed if we go in with:

F: Ryan, Darling, Cripps

HF:

C: Gaff, Yeo, Sheed

HB: Cole, McGovern, Duggan

B: Barrass.

10 out of 10 listed 2018 Premiership players.

An Adam Simpson wet dream.

Unfortunately it means we have to find players to plug spots who don't have medallions. But check this out: for that we have Kelly, Waterman, Allen, Hough, Reid- all first class players. And three players we've recruited specifically for needs- Witherden, Hunt, Flynn.

It's a starting 18 3 years into a supposed "rebuild" entirely lacks what you'd consider a youth development pick.

Make the bench up of Ginbey, B.Williams, Petruccelli, Rotham and wonder of wonders, the side Simmo's been angling for is a best 22 that might only contain Ginbey in a developing role.

Thats a more mature outfit than the 18 premiership side that contained Venables.

I'll fight anyone who says we should not be aiming to win the big dance in 25 with the side above, which I think is the current Simmo credits tm first picked side. If we are not trying to win it all, then what the hell are we doing?

Gaff didn't win a flag in 2018 mate.

Simmo doing simmo things. Sends a fantastic msg to young kids that selection integrity means jack s***. Not a great look trying to land free agents or even english/busslinger who are trying to get away from the bevo circus

Simpson on 6pr said the gaff selection was a drive by selection. He walked past him and said you know you're playing yeah? And gaff said yeah mate.
Also said it felt right and the old gaff is back.

Cool...as long as it fells right simmo...

Mind boggling how sheed also gets a game after last week.

With only a couple of names left on the injury list, Simpson better ****ing hope he wins the next two matches, and by considerable margins.

If he can't flog Saints and North at Optus with almost an entire squad to pick from, he's done.

Lose even one of these matches and you can lock us in for a new coach in 2025.

With only a couple of names left on the injury list, Simpson better ****ing hope he wins the next two matches, and by considerable margins.

If he can't flog Saints and North at Optus with almost an entire squad to pick from, he's done.

Lose even one of these matches and you can lock us in for a new coach in 2025.
On what basis do we deserve this level of winning entitlement? The North game maybe, but seriously, short memories.

To the people complaining about Sheed v Trew. Trew never would have come in for Sheed, they play completely different roles within the team.

Sheed is a witches hat and Trew is a pure inside mid.

If Longy wasn't injured Sheed wouldn't be playing.
Brockman isn't available to play
Hewett also would punt Sheed out of the side if fit.
Ledwards would also be an option if he was fit and available.
Johnston is still a pre-season or 2 away from being ready

The Flynn for Jilliams is fine, could have been either Jilliams or Bailey so don't mind Baz getting the first crack.

Gaff for Hunt is also OK. Not inspiring but they play the same roles on the wing. Ledwards would have been an option if not out with concussion. Hough could do that role but then you're robbing peter to pay paul.

We really need some more solid wing options and defenders.

For the Hedwards decision, as I mentioned earlier on form it's a good pick.
I'd suspect if Bazzo wasn't injured we'd be picking him over Hedwards as he'd be a more appropriate selection.
Burgiel is nowhere near close to ready, has been horrible in the WAFL.
Baker also not close to ready.

So with what we have available it's not great in terms of options available.
I'd rather Gaff and Sheed not in the team but still hope they do well this weekend.

Simmo on 6PR

• Hunt has been struggling with his toe for the last few weeks and it didn’t come up this week. Expect ms he’ll be out until after the bye
• Gaff is a direct replacement for Hunt on the wing and is based on his good game against Claremont. He mentioned Johnston having a quiet game in the same match - kid picked a bad week to have an off game
• Rotham has been sick all week and hasn’t been at the club all week. Briefly mentioned other players were a bit crook last week
• Acknowledged J Will was unlucky but said they’re happy with his development
• Wasn’t asked about any of Sheed, Trew, Dewar or Culley so no insight on their respective inclusion/exclusion

For all the melting the only real head scratcher his Sheed retaining his spot when any of Trew, Culley or Dewar could be playing

Best case scenario from here is that Sheed is the sub

He mentioned Johnston having a quiet game in the same match - kid picked a bad week to have an off game
Interesting that a young bloke isn't allowed a quiet week but Sheed is.

I am appaled and disgusted.

I'll say more till match day, but I have a feeling I'm due for the mother of all melts.

I Hate My Job Office Rage GIF