VFL Round 13 - Collingwood vs Williamstown at Victoria Park (Pies lost 70-130)

Full Time.

Collingwood 10.10.70
Williamstown 20.10.130

GOALS - Hellier 2, White 2, Kirby, Daicos, Lynch, Ramsay, Mayne, McLarty

Over to you...

Haven't you quit supporting the club like 5 times recently? Not sure why you continue posting on a Collingwood board.

Who were the best players for those who went?

McLarty

Mayne

Wills

P.S I don't like Keeffe but he isn't a forward and never will be. Play him back and leave him there or delist simple.

I spoke with one of the cameramen today and got him to ask why we don't get a replay anymore.
Apparently there's not enough demand for it.
#dontshootthemessenger
#bringbackthevflreplay

I missed most of the first quarter, but it was a disappointing effort today, we simply made too many mistakes to be in the contest.

Ramsay - I didn't focus on watching his defensive efforts today, but he moved the footy nicely offensively on a few occasions

McLarty - building ok, good defensively and starting to add a little lumbering runs to his game, still lacks confidence by foot, but is worth persisting with

Mackie - I was surprised how focal he was on the boundary, as for one the field he wasn't one who caught my eye

Schade - seems a completely different player than he was 12 weeks ago and if he keeps trending downwards he may struggle to hold his spot on the list. If he does hold his place adding core strength should be an area of focus, dropped 3 marks he should have taken that cost us goals today and gave up another couple through bad decisions (1 spoil, 1 turnover)

Phillips - in and out of the game and won't (or shouldn't) earn a recall on today's performance. Looked to play between the flanks, had a bit of footy, but was also fumbly at times

Aish - moved ok in the centre, including some nice runs onto play after starting behind the contest

White - played mostly forward with the odd stint in the ruck, presented well at times, but most of our forward delivery went to Cox

Daicos - played mostly on the wing today, moves well, but I was most impressed today by his desire to tackle - at one stage he would have laid 3 in half a minute

Mayne - played high half forward and provided a nice target as we transitioned the footy forward

Broomhead - close to best on ground, would have had high stats and his body movement and positioning was good in the centre, a few mistakes on hand and foot though

Kirby - not as much impact today, but often found himself leading to the same footy as Cox. On more than a few occasions he baulked after seeing that Cox was in a better (front) position to contest. Had a purple patch late in the game after kicking his first goal for the game

Cox - in recent weeks when White and Lynch were also in the side Cox played as a stay at home forward, this wasn't the case today though and he would have played 40-50% in the ruck. With his height it's not surprising he dominates the hit outs, but needs to direct them this dominance better. Presented well as a forward too.

Keeffe - started the match in the forward line and while he competed well he didn't see a lot of footy. Was moved back half way through the third quarter where he provided some nice straight line run and carry. Confidence is up and I'd be picking him in the seniors once a position opens up

Lynch - with the ruck load spread between Cox, White and himself he didn't seem to get as many minutes today. Did take an overhead mark in the goal square, which was nice to see

Wills - another who didn't look to get as much footy today, but he really looked take on the enforcer role in the contest today, often bumping an opponent to create space for the likes of Broomhead and Aish

Brown - went into the contest hard

Hellier - provided a lively option when shifted forward

Hore - one of best, was great down back with numerous intercept marks followed up with some nice kicks

Pendlebury - I didn't get to Geelong last week, it's good seeing him back out there

I missed most of the first quarter, but it was a disappointing effort today, we simply made too many mistakes to be in the contest.

Ramsay - I didn't focus on watching his defensive efforts today, but he moved the footy nicely offensively on a few occasions

McLarty - building ok, good defensively and starting to add a little lumbering runs to his game, still lacks confidence by foot, but is worth persisting with

Mackie - I was surprised how focal he was on the boundary, as for one the field he wasn't one who caught my eye

Schade - seems a completely different player than he was 12 weeks ago and if he keeps trending downwards he may struggle to hold his spot on the list. If he does hold his place adding core strength should be an area of focus, dropped 3 marks he should have taken that cost us goals today and gave up another couple through bad decisions (1 spoil, 1 turnover)

Phillips - in and out of the game and won't (or shouldn't) earn a recall on today's performance. Looked to play between the flanks, had a bit of footy, but was also fumbly at times

Aish - moved ok in the centre, including some nice runs onto play after starting behind the contest

White - played mostly forward with the odd stint in the ruck, presented well at times, but most of our forward delivery went to Cox

Daicos - played mostly on the wing today, moves well, but I was most impressed today by his desire to tackle - at one stage he would have laid 3 in half a minute

Mayne - played high half forward and provided a nice target as we transitioned the footy forward

Broomhead - close to best on ground, would have had high stats and his body movement and positioning was good in the centre, a few mistakes on hand and foot though

Kirby - not as much impact today, but often found himself leading to the same footy as Cox. On more than a few occasions he baulked after seeing that Cox was in a better (front) position to contest. Had a purple patch late in the game after kicking his first goal for the game

Cox - in recent weeks when White and Lynch were also in the side Cox played as a stay at home forward, this wasn't the case today though and he would have played 40-50% in the ruck. With his height it's not surprising he dominates the hit outs, but needs to direct them this dominance better. Presented well as a forward too.

Keeffe - started the match in the forward line and while he competed well he didn't see a lot of footy. Was moved back half way through the third quarter where he provided some nice straight line run and carry. Confidence is up and I'd be picking him in the seniors once a position opens up

Lynch - with the ruck load spread between Cox, White and himself he didn't seem to get as many minutes today. Did take an overhead mark in the goal square, which was nice to see

Wills - another who didn't look to get as much footy today, but he really looked take on the enforcer role in the contest today, often bumping an opponent to create space for the likes of Broomhead and Aish

Brown - went into the contest hard

Hellier - provided a lively option when shifted forward

Hore - one of best, was great down back with numerous intercept marks followed up with some nice kicks

Pendlebury - I didn't get to Geelong last week, it's good seeing him back out there

Sorry barrakers but Tim.B wasn't even in the bests. Lazy game by him today.........watched him closely.

Aish got injured in the 2nd? was OK before that.

The guy I went with knows J.Rivers and spoke to him at the three qtr time huddle.

He said we are crap today............we both agreed with him.

Sorry barrakers but Tim.B wasn't even in the bests. Lazy game by him today.........watched him closely.

The guy I went with knows J.Rivers and spoke to him at the three qtr time huddle.

Now you mention it Aish did cop a knock just outside the 50m arc. That was at the Sherrin Stand end, so would have been the 2nd quarter.

My extremities froze from a number of different vantage points today, all of them very, very cold. I agree that Aish was okay until he went off, but I reckon Broomhead was okay as well:

- Aish: Okay but too reactive. He doesn't seem to read the play or to make the play, but he's definitely keen to tackle. I reckon he might be average;

- Broomhead: Tried to create. He didn't seem keen to win hard ball, but he reads the drop of the ball around contests quite well. Didn't do enough when he won it, though.

- McLarty: I was fortunate enough to be shivering not far from where he took his first-quarter pack mark. Impressive. He's bid bodied, he loves a run (took a two-bounce dash not long after his mark), and he loves trying to get off his opponent. Unfortunately he often finds himself out of position. I'd give Schade a bit of slack here, because I often saw him trying to fill in the gaps left by McLarty. Anyway, McLarty is immature but a definite talent.

- Phillips: Looked a bit lost today. He might have got a bit of the ball, but got caught too many times and was ineffective. No recall in sight.

- Ramsay: I really liked him today, and I'd be curious to see what his numbers are. Got a bit of the ball, and he didn't panic with it. He was able to size up his options pretty quickly and to execute well.

- Keeffe: I wouldn't think his numbers would be that high, but his possessions were clean and decisive, especially when he went to defence.

- Daicos: He did okay, but he seems to have contracted that rampant disease of handballing directly to someone under pressure, or otherwise throwing up those looping handballs which have the same inevitable outcome.

Overall, our midfield was blanketed and woeful. Williamstown were just too good.

My extremities froze from a number of different vantage points today, all of them very, very cold. I agree that Aish was okay until he went off, but I reckon Broomhead was okay as well:

- Aish: Okay but too reactive. He doesn't seem to read the play or to make the play, but he's definitely keen to tackle. I reckon he might be average;

- Broomhead: Tried to create. He didn't seem keen to win hard ball, but he reads the drop of the ball around contests quite well. Didn't do enough when he won it, though.

- McLarty: I was fortunate enough to be shivering not far from where he took his first-quarter pack mark. Impressive. He's bid bodied, he loves a run (took a two-bounce dash not long after his mark), and he loves trying to get off his opponent. Unfortunately he often finds himself out of position. I'd give Schade a bit of slack here, because I often saw him trying to fill in the gaps left by McLarty. Anyway, McLarty is immature but a definite talent.

- Phillips: Looked a bit lost today. He might have got a bit of the ball, but got caught too many times and was ineffective. No recall in sight.

- Ramsay: I really liked him today, and I'd be curious to see what his numbers are. Got a bit of the ball, and he didn't panic with it. He was able to size up his options pretty quickly and to execute well.

- Keeffe: I wouldn't think his numbers would be that high, but his possessions were clean and decisive, especially when he went to defence.

- Daicos: He did okay, but he seems to have contracted that rampant disease of handballing directly to someone under pressure, or otherwise throwing up those looping handballs which have the same inevitable outcome.

Overall, our midfield was blanketed and woeful. Williamstown were just too good.

Great review JB........agree with all of it.

Daicos hanballing all the time also gives me the shits.

Great review JB........agree with all of it.

Daicos hanballing all the time also gives me the shits.

Cheers mate. He's not the only happy handballer. The midfield isn't working well enough/smart enough to create space for each other, and so they pass the parcel until one of them gets tackled. It's frustrating.

McLarty

Mayne

Wills

P.S I don't like Keeffe but he isn't a forward and never will be. Play him back and leave him there or delist simple.
I have to laugh you've juxtaposed Mayne and Hore.
Very amusing in its way.

:D

VFL Round 13 - Collingwood vs Williamstown at Victoria Park (Pies lost 70-130)