Autopsy Round 14, 2024: Brisbane v St.Kilda

So we fold like a deck of cards when the game was there to be won early - playing like the same headless chooks with shocking skills- kick some late goals when the cue is in the rack for the opposition, and now many of you are lauding Ross for playing “attacking” football and showing the media and his detractors up?!

But last week the majority here said we “didn’t have the cattle” to play attacking football?!

Another confusing day for the followers of Ross Lyon FC.

Today showed a coach out of his depth trying desperately to respond to the (rightful) barrage he copped last week.

Well, he tried to open up more. But the game was over by quarter time and our defence leaked like a sieve. He doesn’t have the skillset to coach in an attacking way. He only knows defence.

Last quarter, in desperation (and in junk time) he throws all the chess pieces in the air and the chaos catches the opposition off guard.

Amazingly, the chaos had his team score the same amount of goals in one quarter as he’d scored the entire previous game.

I think I’ll have to have another sip of the Kool-Aid and watch a genius Ross presser, while lauding the master coach’s turn of phrase.

What has our club and fanbase become?! Millionaire presidents choosing out-of-date coaches on yachts, paying them millions without a process, and we just swallow up whatever we are given.

Welcome to Ross Lyon FC.

Screenshot_20240615_084831_Chrome.jpg

Absolute cheating at its finest - they have no shame - but if asked the afl will tick it off as ok - like a player going back on with a slight spleen and lung injury

What was also weird is that the umpires paid a free against Windhager for what wasn't a free against Mac Andrew last week He had back turned to the play and impeding Neil getting to the ball. Either it's a free or it isn't you can't change by the week.

Caminiti looks comfortable down back, the young guys were very good, but the more experienced guys were playing a bit bruise-free and were not hitting the contests or loose balls hard enough. We lost the overall game clearances and tackles and were beaten on tap outs in the ruck even with our two rucks last night. Max King needs to look at a replay of how Big Joe played as FF last night- playing in front, making space, moving up hard to the ball carrier to provide a target etc...but that's what coaches are supposed to work on.

Which stats are you looking at? We won all those. We were comprehensively outmarked.

There was quite a bit to like in that loss.
That first quarter though 🤢🤮

I reckon that was easily our best game for the year. Even in our wins we have been a hard watch. That was brave, fast attacking footy played on equal terms. No stifling the opposition to bring them down to our level.

It was a lesser side trying harder than the opposition. That's the shit I admire. We didn't win the match but we would have won admiration and you can see with better pieces we aren't a huge way off a grand finalist from last year on their deck.

If Lyon has them playing like that every week he's not past it. It was contemporary and enjoyable. Add some more quality on ballers and balance out that forward line a bit and there is plenty to work with. He moved the magnets around and made a few changes that worked.

That first quarter even we were a bit sloppy but didn't look a heaps worse side. Howard and a more settled back 6 and we wouldn't have leaked as much.

Really liked he addition of Campbell. If we don't play him regularly maybe chasing a Bryan or Moyle makes sense. It takes a pedestrian midfield look better. Dow and Steele will get better next year and hopefully Crouch and all of a sudden that midfield goes from horrible to competitive. LDU would look great in there.

Last night showed that our list is nowhere near as bad as some here make out.

There are deficiencies for sure, but if we play poorly, there's more to it than "the list is shit"
Spot on. The youth is looking a lot more promising and there is big hope. Under the Richo years, he played a number of kids but they rarely stood out and make you think ‘wow’ out loud. Even Arie debut was terrific and it was against a normally decent side.

Max King needs to look at a replay of how Big Joe played as FF last night- playing in front, making space, moving up hard to the ball carrier to provide a target etc...

Max needs to learn how to bring more effort and intensity to a game, simply put he is just plain LAZY!

Anyone catch the Ross interview on Fox before the game and his comments on Max hanging out the back of packs? I can't remember the exact wording but it struck me as comments directed at Max. As we know Ross is very protective of his players but if he's making public comments about you it means he is frustrated and losing patience.

Max has to pull his finger out, maybe it's time to put a rocket up him and drop him.

So we fold like a deck of cards when the game was there to be won early - playing like the same headless chooks with shocking skills- kick some late goals when the cue is in the rack for the opposition, and now many of you are lauding Ross for playing “attacking” football and showing the media and his detractors up?!

But last week the majority here said we “didn’t have the cattle” to play attacking football?!

Another confusing day for the followers of Ross Lyon FC.

Today showed a coach out of his depth trying desperately to respond to the (rightful) barrage he copped last week.

Well, he tried to open up more. But the game was over by quarter time and our defence leaked like a sieve. He doesn’t have the skillset to coach in an attacking way. He only knows defence.

Last quarter, in desperation (and in junk time) he throws all the chess pieces in the air and the chaos catches the opposition off guard.

Amazingly, the chaos had his team score the same amount of goals in one quarter as he’d scored the entire previous game.

I think I’ll have to have another sip of the Kool-Aid and watch a genius Ross presser, while lauding the master coach’s turn of phrase.

What has our club and fanbase become?! Millionaire presidents choosing out-of-date coaches on yachts, paying them millions without a process, and we just swallow up whatever we are given.

Welcome to Ross Lyon FC.

He bought a reprieve from me. I thought he showed that he can coach attacking footy. We have a pretty ordinary set up and a lot worked. That should be a bench mark of what is expected. That reminded me of how Essendon play this year. I thought it was a much nicer brand.

His cattle are getting back towards a solid set up. He was missing a lot of forward and midfield stocks early in the year. I think we probably want competitive tanking now. Try to pick up players and go hard next year with a softer draw and some additions.

Look I think if Shoey has that form as his baseline he’ll quickly move passed Bonner. What a weapon he’ll be

His defensive positioning needs some work but as an attacking back he's an absolute weapon. He often gets around 30 touches in the VFL. Him and Nas racking up bulk elite touches out of the defensive 50 will be an absolute dream situation. One kicking over congestion, one running his way through.

Actually liked Hammer in defence. Yeah Daniher kicked 2 on him, but it was a high scoring game and Daniher is their main man. He took a few good intercept grabs and looked mostly comfortable, worth persisting with IMO.

What a debut by Arie though, made 1 or 2 defensive errors, but also beat Charlie Cameron in a 1 on 1 a few times. His kicking is something else, one of the kick-ins that was a 55 laser off 2 steps.

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app
When you think we had Howard kicking in for the last number of years…….chalk and cheese! Also a Great confidence booster to Arie on debut to give him the kick in responsibilities.

A respectable performance, a very promising debut and a bit of form from a few blokes needing to find some.

And now a bye.

Should be able to remain upbeat for a couple of weeks ‘eh?

abl19dJ.gif

Max needs to learn how to bring more effort and intensity to a game, simply put he is just plain LAZY!

Anyone catch the Ross interview on Fox before the game and his comments on Max hanging out the back of packs? I can't remember the exact wording but it struck me as comments directed at Max. As we know Ross is very protective of his players but if he's making public comments about you it means he is frustrated and losing patience.

Max has to pull his finger out, maybe it's time to put a rocket up him and drop him.
Yep I think he said “max just stands there” if he plays deep

If we get pick 4, Adelaide might want to trade for it if they really want Sid Draper and we like someone else.
Maybe.

But I’m purely just going for a simple: as it stands today - where do we need to be to land one of the 4 mid prospects and its bottom 4.

Smilie goes 1
O’Sullivan goes 2

And Smith and Draper currently 3-4.

Well rather unfortunately for Cambo I think rtb was using him as a bit of a range finder which actually seemed to work and we’ll get to see another debutant next week.
Max Heath.

Autopsy Round 14, 2024: Brisbane v St.Kilda