Autopsy Round 14, 2024: Brisbane v St.Kilda

Absolutely. However, people getting their rocks off when there was half a season to go about getting pick 4/5 in the next draft does my head in. How many of the players you mentioned in our great 2023 draft haul were in discussions at the same stage last year? Not many I'd suggest.

Personally, I'm much more interested in seeing their development over the course of this year combined with improved team system. Hopefully resulting in a chunk of wins. I don't give a rats where we finish draft wise if we can choose as wisely as we did last year. It will take care of itself.

I also wish that the endless discussion on draft position and possible tanking was confined to a specific draft thread. It hardly seems relevant to autopsy or pre game discussion threads.
We’re not tanking but I understand the desire to play the youngsters and let and chips fall where they may. I would also argue that our deficiencies are exposed in both the autopsy and game day threads which naturally leads to were we need to improve which leads to talk of the draft.

As too how many of our draftees were in discussion at this time last year, everyone but Garcia was touted as going in the first 2 rounds.

Also my reference to our draftees was simply an acknowledgement of Schoenmaker’s quality on debut and how bright I think our future is with these guys going forward.

I reckon with Cordy performing so badly. Time for Keeler to be given a game. Have him at F.B. & Caminiti at C.H.B, worth trying with little to lose really.
Jones & Ross need to be cut from the list, so Nas comes back in & give Max Hall a run.

And in the third he was the only one who could hit a target left or right.
I was impressed with how quickly he was able to identify a target and hit team mates up on the chest pretty much every time. I'm not sure why he was copping so much criticism. He almost never panics and makes good decisions with ball in hand.

For those who like the idea of tanking for the future, just think what bad news this is for all the former promising but now mid tier players grappling with a chance to make it.
Max King for instance - there goes any chance of him kicking a ton of goals. Sharman too. No momentum as juniors are rotated through the team and inconsistency is accepted as normal. Then we have players approaching the twilight. They can expect an early sunset. Crouch, Ross and Webster and co. I think it is a disaster idea/plan. And North Melbourne comes to mind. I would suggest it will hurt the whole team top to bottom.

Collingwood was a better game for atmosphere, meaning and all of that but the actual game style was not as good IMO. This was Lyon going attack mode and it was a much more open attractive style than our usual dour set up.

I think that was a good looking game apart from the leaking goals, especially in red time. 5 minutes of concentration at the end of quarters and that's getting close to a win. I'd actually forgotten that we could even play that way.
Fair enough, I might have the rose coloured glasses on given that the Brisbane game had far greater lows in terms of our gameplay.

Those red time goals irk me to no ends

Watched replay

We played a great 3 Q

Marshall was unbelievable,- superfit, I hope we persevere with Campbell, allows Marshall to play between the arcs as a utility.

We also copped some very dodgy umpiring, that 50 against Windhager was a shocker and killed the momentum.

We have a very good young brigade, Arie is a terrific talent. His kicking was Nick Daicos levels of confidence, for a first gamer.

Be good to see Hastie and Garcia in for Ross and Jones. They were handy, but what is the point?

Genuinely concerned for posters that think that was a snooze fest.
Mental health links on the front page.
Take a break and get healthy.
Incredible PM that anyone could possibly think that.

I very strongly suspect that they are in a minir state of comotose and were thinking of the GC game.

Now....that was a snooze fest of epic proportions.

I was at the Gabba last night and the atmosphere when we were coming home like a train was incredible.....there was a hell of a lot of Saints fans there last night....I salute you all.

Mind you...the atmosphere at 3/4 time was like....'when does the first bus depart'

And I've never seen so many buses outside a footy ground before....3 abreast for as far as the eye could see.......I reckon every bus on Brissy was parked outside last night....!!!!

Henry looked terrible in the first half then nearly won us the match. Higgo was huge. Marshall plays with the heart of a lion. When ever people talk of flogging Marshall to the highest bidder he reminds why it wouldn't be a good idea.
Agree there gringo.

Trading Marshall...aka....Big Ro.....it's just absolute fantasy stuff.

There's more chance of me dropping my pants in the Bourke St mall during the lunch hour rush...!!!

I remember his giant 2019 season......the general footy media were screaming....'this guy could be anything'

Having big Tommy Campbell in just adds another dimension to Ro's game.

And how good was it that big Tommy FINALLY got a gig......long overdue IMHO.

Love it !!!!!

Zac Jones playing as a HBF is something I never want to experience again!
Same feeling here BPF.

All I can say it reminded me of the Skyhooks song "Horror Movie"

For those watching at home.....it was "Horror Movie....right there on your TV"

Just another left field idea:

Given that Membrey is seriously out of form playing forward, I wonder if the club would consider throwing him down back to see how would he go? We know Ratten loved throwing him back as a loose man late in quarters with good effect. He is just too good a player to go out of footy playing like he is. He is not the quickest but he reads the ball so well and can mark against players much taller than himself. Why cant he play a similiar role to Rampe with the Swans. I think its time the bloke was given a chance a save his career and given a chance in defence.
At this point that would only cost Ari games. Tim has been a wonderful servant the same a Seb but time waits for no man. I would offer both jobs playing at Sandy next year but that's probably all.

I reckon that was easily our best game for the year. Even in our wins we have been a hard watch. That was brave, fast attacking footy played on equal terms. No stifling the opposition to bring them down to our level.

It was a lesser side trying harder than the opposition. That's the shit I admire. We didn't win the match but we would have won admiration and you can see with better pieces we aren't a huge way off a grand finalist from last year on their deck.

If Lyon has them playing like that every week he's not past it. It was contemporary and enjoyable. Add some more quality on ballers and balance out that forward line a bit and there is plenty to work with. He moved the magnets around and made a few changes that worked.

That first quarter even we were a bit sloppy but didn't look a heaps worse side. Howard and a more settled back 6 and we wouldn't have leaked as much.

Really liked he addition of Campbell. If we don't play him regularly maybe chasing a Bryan or Moyle makes sense. It takes a pedestrian midfield look better. Dow and Steele will get better next year and hopefully Crouch and all of a sudden that midfield goes from horrible to competitive. LDU would look great in there.
The previous week was hard to watch, and yet it proved that we can win in a very ugly uninspiring way, and defend as a full team. Horrible spectacle, but hard fought and a true grind. This week we proved we can attack with flair and dare. The pieces are all there, it's just that the quality of some of the parts needs upgrading, and other parts need to become more playable so as to fit seamlessly.
The last two weeks have shown that we're capable.
Agree with Campbell, the mids looked a lot tighter, and Marshall was still as effective, if not more so. He played his best game I thought...Maybe might see Heath get a game towards the end of the year. It would be good to see him in a game or two before committing to a Moyle type. There's nothing to lose at this stage by giving him a run.
Having Crouch out there would have helped, we've missed him this year more than many would care to admit, but the stories about his knee are worrying.
LDU would be HUGE for us. Wonder what will come of it?
Still want to draft in mid talent. Think we'll be good for a top pick...but if we play like we did last night, it won't be anything in the top 5.

Just another left field idea:

Given that Membrey is seriously out of form playing forward, I wonder if the club would consider throwing him down back to see how would he go? We know Ratten loved throwing him back as a loose man late in quarters with good effect. He is just too good a player to go out of footy playing like he is. He is not the quickest but he reads the ball so well and can mark against players much taller than himself. Why cant he play a similiar role to Rampe with the Swans. I think its time the bloke was given a chance a save his career and given a chance in defence.
No for mine. When he went back he was not accountable for a player. He was a spare. Don’t think he’s quick enough or tall enough.

On reflection l think that game showed some tangible signs of growth from a good number of players and the group as a whole..
To me it showed the group is close to capable of matching it with the better teams but there is an ethos/mentality or simple reality that for now we are the hunters and not the hunted. The stark difference was Brisbane's ability to get space which is evidence or their collective experience and ability to play their game above our efforts to take it off them. However the grit shown to stay with them till the end was impressive IMHO, and over the last decade that would normally have been a 100 point pantsing.
I think we'll see a couple of games this year where it begins to click but we're probably 12 months away from consistency.
I hope TC stays in for the remainder of the season too. Maybe it was a once off but we looked a lot better with him rucking and Heath seems to be enjoying being the big dog in VFL. Also freeing Marshall to be a utility was very beneficial.
In trade season l think I'd be on the lookout for a bit of a psychopath medium forward to give us a harder edge and set the tone. We are not short on talent up there but intent just seems lacking. Wish Benny Long had stayed TBH.

Autopsy Round 14, 2024: Brisbane v St.Kilda