Preview Round 15, 2019: St.Kilda v Richmond - Marvel Stadium, Sunday 30th June, 1:10PM AEST *MADDIES MATCH*

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 16 25.0%
  • Tigers

Votes: 48 75.0%

Massive day for our club today:day one of the post-Newnes era.

I believe we can kick off this new era with a win over Richmond on Sunday. The players will be pumped, and with the shackles off, they’ll start pushing towards the top 8.

:)

Massive day for our club today:day one of the post-Newnes era.

I believe we can kick off this new era with a win over Richmond on Sunday. The players will be pumped, and with the shackles off, they’ll start pushing towards the top 8.

Is it confirmed Newnes isnt playing? hes on the extended bench.

big concerns over this game ... i reckon it could get ugly
The Geelong game for mine St. T.
Reckon after last week we'll stick with them for 3 and a half quarters and then be gassed for an "admirable" 3 goal loss.
...that Cats game though... thats just got smashing all over it.

big concerns over this game ... i reckon it could get ugly
I have that feeling too. Richmond need to win and win well to keep their season alive.

Fresh players off the break and some stars back. Lambert very underrated how important he is for them and his two way running.

The pressure is mounting on us. You can feel it everywhere.. Without mature players out there, if we drop our heads one bit, they'll pounce.

Geary will be missed with his leadership. Gut feel says it'll be all over at 1/4 time if we start like we normally do.

This is such an uncomfortable space to be in, caught between wanting the club, and players in particular, to be as successful as possible, but also not so much as to make the change of coach inevitable and obvious. The horns of a dilemma my friends!

The change of coach is inevitable mate. He's literally a man marking time.
Unfortunately he wont play the kids to help their development he'll continue to play his team that limits the damage and his image to potential new employers.

The Geelong game for mine St. T.
Reckon after last week we'll stick with them for 3 and a half quarters and then be gassed for an "admirable" 3 goal loss.
...that Cats game though... thats just got smashing all over it.
oh i reckon the Geelong game will be a reeming Geelong love to beat up on us and they will use us to make a point ... the reason i think this game will be ugly for us is the fact the tigers are on the edge on actully making finals this year so not only is the win important for them but the % is a big consideration .. they will be wanting to make some big kills and when they come agains us weaker teams they will need to flex the muscle i dont see them experimenting or taking the foot off the pedal much

Yep. Had last week down as a loss. But no where near what they dished up last week.
This week I fear for the outcome.
i had us down for a win last week ... coming off a rare away win back on our home deck against a side from interstate coming off a bye who are about the mark with us .. i though a tight close game with us winning but what happened in the 3rd was just putrid did not see that coming at all ...
i commented to the guy next to me that it was almost like the team read they hype of the reinforcments coming back so they took the foot off the pedal thinking they would be able to coast through .... getting beaten by higher skills is almost forgivable getting beaten by desire for the ball and agression at the contest thats unforgivable ....

The change of coach is inevitable mate. He's literally a man marking time.
Unfortunately he wont play the kids to help their development he'll continue to play his team that limits the damage and his image to potential new employers.
Yep, quite true. What I really meant was there being no possibility of the trigger clause becoming an active consideration so the decision for the club is straightforward. And for that to be an option that is available as soon as possible to be able to line up a new coaching structure and target a couple of great trades. This is like a long drawn out funeral march. Just hope the wake is a ripper!!

No dilemma.
Just win.
Whatever happens at the end of the year happens.

Sounds like Cotchin, Edwards, Astbury, Lambert are definite ins for us based of Dimmas presser

Short in consideration but i reckon hes more likely to play vfl having not played for 3 months

Steele is a huge in for you guys, was hoping he was still out haha

i had us down for a win last week ... coming off a rare away win back on our home deck against a side from interstate coming off a bye who are about the mark with us .. i though a tight close game with us winning but what happened in the 3rd was just putrid did not see that coming at all ...
i commented to the guy next to me that it was almost like the team read they hype of the reinforcments coming back so they took the foot off the pedal thinking they would be able to coast through .... getting beaten by higher skills is almost forgivable getting beaten by desire for the ball and agression at the contest thats unforgivable ....

I'm not sure why people didn't see the performance coming. That game against the suns was actually worse then our Good Friday game against North who were half decent. Besides the first 4 weeks and for a few patches, the standard of footy that we have played consistently this year has been appalling. Opponents continually get big run ons against us and in every single game this year we cant manage more than a goal in a quarter for whatever reason.

When we were 30 odd points down against the suns who's injury list was as bad as ours, i was actually hoping they would thump us by 70 odd points so that immediate action would take place. At the end i found myself over the moon that we clawed back and won that game. The first half against the Lion's was not pretty and if it wasn't for their inaccurate kicking in the first quarter we would have been 5 + goals down. On memory they had the first 5 or 6 shots on goal.

The 3rd quarter that came out and done exactly what they done in the first, but managed to convert them into goals and the tidal wave of momentum followed, while we couldn't give a yelp.

Ins- Coff, Paton, Webster

Outs- Newnes, Armo, Marsh

Coff to play Armo's role
Paton for Newnes (time to give him some mid time)
Marsh out because they have 1 tall and Webster is hopefully fit for Caddy

NONE of this will happen btw... Coaches will be petrified of losing so much experience with Armo and Newnes going out..

Honestly

No one has the guts to drop Newnes and break his (club) record breaking consecutive games streak. Hind and Paton in the same side would at least give us a decent boost in the pace department.