Preview Round 5, 2022: St.Kilda v Gold Coast - Marvel Stadium, Saturday 16th April, 1:45PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 50 74.6%
  • Suns

Votes: 17 25.4%

I really hope we stick with Hill on hf / wing.

I reckon NWM could go very well off hbf - young players often play there to ease into it, so shouldn't be too shocking. He has played there in the Sanfl as well.

The only players we have to bring in for JWeb from the magoos are Connoly, Highmore or Gears all not killing it so I'd leave Windy in - he went OK for his 1st game as well.

Long could go back and has a similar hard edge to JWeb, but prefer his pressure up forward.
Comparing Hill to JWebb on hardness...c'mon buddy...pot that strong doesn't exist!

I'm trying very hard not to get cocky, and this week will be a real test with more players and a coach missing, and the opposition in form...

But I get a bit of a 2009 feel amongst the playing group, where it doesn't matter too much who plays, everyone is super drilled on "team" and their "role". Add to that just how focused they look. There doesn't seem to be a crack in anyone's confidence. It's amazing how the skills follow.

I was onto us after round one even though we lost. A bit of new coach and tactics, and much rust from us got the Pies the four points. But there was a maturity and stoicism with our ball-use and comeback, a focus, there was a vibe. And it has continued on.

Two years ago I said we'll have a crack at the premiership and no one will see us coming (we lost to the eventual premiers). After round 2 last year I called us fat plodders going nowhere. Well I'm calling it early again, we'll make the second week of finals at least. We could make top four, but Richmond seem to have a ridiculously easy fixture and should finish there if they are any good.

But does anyone else here feel it? The '09 comparison? The vibe? There's something very good happening. We lost Clark, Billings, Jones, Coffield... and we haven't blinked. We'll lose Paddy. For supposedly one of the worst midfields in the comp, we're just getting things done. But they'll have their work cut out for them this week. Although, our midfield has been renovated and much improved.

Now, watch this all blow up in my face this weekend hahaha.

I'm trying very hard not to get cocky, and this week will be a real test with more players and a coach missing, and the opposition in form...

But I get a bit of a 2009 feel amongst the playing group, where it doesn't matter too much who plays, everyone is super drilled on "team" and their "role". Add to that just how focused they look. There doesn't seem to be a crack in anyone's confidence. It's amazing how the skills follow.

I was onto us after round one even though we lost. A bit of new coach and tactics, and much rust from us got the Pies the four points. But there was a maturity and stoicism with our ball-use and comeback, a focus, there was a vibe. And it has continued on.

Two years ago I said we'll have a crack at the premiership and no one will see us coming (we lost to the eventual premiers). After round 2 last year I called us fat plodders going nowhere. Well I'm calling it early again, we'll make the second week of finals at least. We could make top four, but Richmond seem to have a ridiculously easy fixture and should finish there if they are any good.

But does anyone else here feel it? The '09 comparison? The vibe? There's something very good happening. We lost Clark, Billings, Jones, Coffield... and we haven't blinked. We'll lose Paddy. For supposedly one of the worst midfields in the comp, we're just getting things done. But they'll have their work cut out for them this week. Although, our midfield has been renovated and much improved.

Thanks mate, just mozzed us hard

We’re going to have some pretty awesome firepower and defensive pressure up forward if we have King, Membrey, Hayes, Hill, Gresh, Higgins, Butler and Long playing through there on the weekend.

Going to be really exciting to see if Hill can maintain that sort of form up there. He’s so well suited to that role with his speed and running power and it’s going to be great to have his kicking inside 50 and for goal.
This post is preemptive froffage...i reckon😍

I reckon you are going a bit early....however I love your positivity ♥️
I am a believer as well...I am really liking what I am seeing....and there is still lots of improvement and a lot of talent available when ready to come back into the 22

Would be shocked if we moved Wang back there and there is of course Hill who would be an easy option to move back. Hope we stick with him forward though.

If we want to keep Windy in and Higgo returns and no-one else is unavailable then Higgo could just take Hill’s spot and Hill could return to defense.

I think Snags returns which pushes Hill back to the wing, which in turn pushes Lienert back to defence to fill Jimmy’s spot.

Thus there are only two changes - Hayes and Higgins in for Ryder and Webster. This keeps the team stable and rewards last weeks good performance.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Going into the season we hoped that one or two players could step up to join Steele in the A grade category.

In the last few weeks we've seen a number of players that have that potential. Crouch, Gresham, Sinclair, King.

And we are seeing the team play a team-first brand that is rewarding guys like Butler, Membrey, Ross, Battle. Good players that have been underutilised.

This is the most excited I've been about our team in a very long time, and to think we have players like Jones and Clark to come back...

Obviously we all want to keep the lid well and truly on, so I'll just say this. Can't wait for Saturday.

View attachment 1371883

He definitely didn't go through the middle. Above are the centre bounce attendance percentages for the year. I'm sure he didn't go through the wings wither. Wood, NWM and McKenzie were going through the wings all day. Sinclair was definitely at half back all day.

Jeez would’ve thought Crouchy be in there a bit more. Our leading clearance player and in ripping form despite such low CBA attendance. Ominous

I don't feel that at all. We've had 2 good wins but years and years of inconsistency, if we are top 4 after halfway then maybe I'll trust us more but I'm still cautious. And we don't play like the 09 side, we play more like the 04 and 05 sides IMO.

I'm definitely not saying we play like '09...

But I get a bit of a 2009 feel amongst the playing group, where it doesn't matter too much who plays, everyone is super drilled on "team" and their "role".

Should we have any concerns around Covid this week with the coach going down?

The other coaches who have missed we’re only close contacts I believe.

Ratts is close to his players.

I for one am a bit nervous. It would be so St Kilda to do a West Coast now after such a promising start to the season.

Don’t test and we’ll never know….I’m not entirely joking 😉

Is he bigger than Grundy or Darcy? We went with Marshall and Hayes against those two, and they’re both better than Witts.

We need to be mindful of the opposition but still pick our team to suit how we want to play. I think Hayes gets picked for that reason.

Witts is much bigger than those 2

Is he bigger than Grundy or Darcy? We went with Marshall and Hayes against those two, and they’re both better than Witts.

We need to be mindful of the opposition but still pick our team to suit how we want to play. I think Hayes gets picked for that reason.

Imagine if Sean Darcy was 5-6cm taller, thats Jarrod Witts

View attachment 1371883

He definitely didn't go through the middle. Above are the centre bounce attendance percentages for the year. I'm sure he didn't go through the wings wither. Wood, NWM and McKenzie were going through the wings all day. Sinclair was definitely at half back all day.
Very interesting set of figures.

1st round clearly went for a spread of mids trying to counter the Pies dominance with Byrnes, Sinclair and Owens doing a fair bit of work.

Last round we pretty much used exclusively Steele, Crouch Gresh and Ross at centre bounces but I'm pretty sure that Sinclair and Windy and others ended up doing some "mid" work once the game was in actually in play.

IMO Jones’s kicking issues are significantly overstated. He can definitely butcher it occasionally, but most of the time he’s pretty clean and he can do some terrific bullet passes inside 50.

In some of his best games he’s gone at a very high DE for someone playing on the inside and his turnover numbers have been low.

It’s pretty much a non-issue for me.

He was a shocking kick running off HBF at Sydney but looks much better as a mid. The role suits him much more.

Gone too early.

Tbh the team looked fantastic on the weekend but will reserve judgement.
Haven’t beaten anyone that will be at the pointy end yet. If they win 4 of the next 5 (beating one of Melbourne and Geelong) then I think you would reassess, but haven’t done enough yet.

Sincs will go through there too having a lot options is what we want
Windhager was a centre bounces on the weekend

Owens best spot looks like a big inside mid too. Clearance seems to be his best work so far.

Where'd you find TOG stats? I'd be shocked if he didn't spend a minute playing through the wings

I think he was playing as a wing off HBF and Hill the same off HFF. You carry extra wingman these days but they set up at bounces as flanks.He was definitely up around the midfield during the game, we just didn't use him as an extractor.

Hawks really only have Mitchell and Worpol to worry about so we didn't need to stack the inside brigade. GC have more quality on ballers to a point that it's a strength with Witts. I wouldn't be surprised if he's back on ball at times this week.

I thought it looked like he was getting a bit of panic back in his game when he was pushed back imo

I remember he did one eye catching move to the point that I thought he wasn't the bed wetting backman that I remembered. I wish I could remember which game it was. I'd try to find the play.