Preview Round 5, 2022: St.Kilda v Gold Coast - Marvel Stadium, Saturday 16th April, 1:45PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 50 74.6%
  • Suns

Votes: 17 25.4%

Probably the best role for Luko in the last game. Teammates still ignored him in good positions. Work in progress.

Sharp is a typical wingman, runs all day, good kick, still some way to go regarding consistency.

Sexton had a groin surgery in the off-season. I suspect it will take him some time to get back to his best. I would say he lost a bit speed and confidence. He got some competition now and Hollands did not even debut.

It should be a good game if Suns bring the effort, pressure from Blues game. Looking forward to it. I will be watching the game together with a boyfriend of my daughter who is a Saints fan :p One of us will not be happy.

Enjoy.

You too, you guys are on the rise. The list is there, it just needs time to develop. Good luck for the rest of the season......just not this week. ;)

I'm trying but I need a bigger body of work. This was our easy part of the draw and we've had one fu** up so far. That's probably about par. Probably expected to struggle to get past Freo over there and that we'd take care of Collingwood. We sit about exactly as I'd hoped.

I remember the 2009 West Coast game, in round 3 we played a game of pressure footy that was like shock and awe. WC went to jelly and fumbled and tripped with their mouths open and we then went on to start getting some huge margins up. 16 goal win against WCE, 12 goal win against Freo, 10 goals against Port, 15 goal win against the Pies etc. It was a lot easier to see the massive improvement that year.

I feel like we are building up some confidence and momentum and when challenged we've maturely found a way to win against the flow. I still don't have much trust in the side yet. We are a bit injured and not seeing our best side yet but still winning which is instantly better than 2021. Last year we dropped games we should have won and when the season was pretty much done we decided to go.

I feel like if we keep on this path we play finals. Not sure how deep we'll go. There aren't a lot of sides that make you too concerned. Melbourne and Carlton are the early front runners despite last week for the Blues but I think that both aren't as far in front as the better teams in other years. It would be a good year to be good.
I distinctly remember that WC game in 09. I was running on the treadmill at the gym. I was so pumped I just kept running a solid 45 min to an hour more than I normally would.

It was early in the season but obvious we were going to have a pretty dominant season.

We just completely suffocated them in a fashion that had walking away 100% confident we were the real deal.

This was absolutely solidified in round 7 when we smashed the Pies. My mate looked at me and we both said, "There are only 2 teams in it". Our best was soooo far better than everybody else that year (outside of Geelong) it wasn't even close. People forgot how dominant we were.

I distinctly remember that WC game in 09. I was running on the treadmill at the gym. I was so pumped I just kept running a solid 45 min to an hour more than I normally would.

It was early in the season but obvious we were going to have a pretty dominant season.

We just completely suffocated them in a fashion that had walking away 100% confident we were the real deal.

This was absolutely solidified in round 7 when we smashed the Pies. My mate looked at me and we both said, "There are only 2 teams in it". Our best was soooo far better than everybody else that year (outside of Geelong) it wasn't even close. People forgot how dominant we were.
I certainly don't forget. I think it's what makes it hard to get too excited about any of our sides. We know how good we were, and we still couldn't get the job done.

He's probably more Darcy in size but with a much harder edge. Darcy hasn't realised how huge he is yet and plays nice. Witts looks demonic when he plays, he's not mean like Mummy but he's got a bit of that still. He has charging bull vibes and plays with knees and elbows going everywhere.

Grundy is more like Marshall he's a bespoke craftsman type who's around the ground work is better than his pure ruck work (but still a bit better than Marshall). Witts isn't a pretty player but he's probably the best pure ruckman in footy. His taps end up in the hands of who he wants them to.

Witts is taller than Darcy.

1649904375381.png

And like you say he is an excellent tap ruckman. He is not as mobile as Darcy or Marshall around the ground.

Sorry for the amateur hour question, but with general admin tickets do you just rock up and sit anywhere that isn't reserved? I just got 2x 3 game memberships ($65 each seem way better than paying per game) but have no idea about the process for finding seating/which sections are available to GA.

Been interstate for the last couple of years and it's the first game I've been to in a while, tried calling the club but was just left on hold for ages.

Thanks in advance!

Witts is taller than Darcy.

View attachment 1372429

And like you say he is an excellent tap ruckman. He is not as mobile as Darcy or Marshall around the ground.

Darcy has the physical bulk was more my point. He's a lump of a kid. 112kgs is a pretty serious weapon when moving at pace. If he played nasty he could scare people.

Sorry for the amateur hour question, but with general admin tickets do you just rock up and sit anywhere that isn't reserved? I just got 2x 3 game memberships ($65 each seem way better than paying per game) but have no idea about the process for finding seating/which sections are available to GA.

Been interstate for the last couple of years and it's the first game I've been to in a while, tried calling the club but was just left on hold for ages.

Thanks in advance!
General admission is level 3. There’s a few rows at the front that are reserved but the rest is fair game.

Thanks in advance!

The GA is generally most of level three except a bit in the middle and some front areas. You can try to upgrade through Ticketmaster to get hold of a seat in one of the better spots but you'll pay to get the reserved area and obviously the level two seats in the middle are the premium spots and level one and three get cheaper from there. If you upgrade put your membership numbers in. You'll need to book a ticket to get entry even if it's a GA and free if you have those memberships.

Darcy has the physical bulk was more my point. He's a lump of a kid. 112kgs is a pretty serious weapon when moving at pace. If he played nasty he could scare people.

I’m not disputing that he’s big - I’m questioning how good he is relative to Grundy and Darcy (who Marshall has played well against). Both of those two are in AA discussion (last year anyway), but I’ve never heard Witts mentioned (or Marshall for that matter).

As a footballer, I think Marshall is superior and they will need to be concerned about what he will do, especially around goal.

P.S. Talking of Witts being big, what are the odds he bumps one of our players on the weekend and nothing is said - not oven a free. It will just be a football act that led to an accidental concussion.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

I’m not disputing that he’s big - I’m questioning how good he is relative to Grundy and Darcy (who Marshall has played well against). Both of those two are in AA discussion (last year anyway), but I’ve never heard Witts mentioned (or Marshall for that matter).

As tap ruckman he is better (measured by if they are against one another). As a follower he is not as good.

I would anticipate Marshall will lose the ruck battle, though will compete hard. Hopefully Marshall can exploit him around the ground, though Marshall has been a little off his game this year. I wonder if he is not quite fully fit.

What we need is for our mids to rove off Witts better than they did in the first half against Grundy.

That's the one...he told me that Ned was okay.
He also told me that Gold Coast have a big offer on the table of Max....His info was spot on About Bens future contract status....
Some times he tries to stir me up🤣

I have an offer that they can't possibly refuse, but which might be biomechanically impossible for them to achieve :devil:

On the other hands, their best 12 players and 3 FRDPs would possibly make me consider it ...

If he found himself in the same position as Paddy, Day's whiplash would have seen his head rolling across the turf, and there would have been additional pre-impact damage to Day's shorts ...

... in other words, he would have done everything possible in the circumstances, and his actions would have been reasonable.

Pretty bloody glad max's brother is not suiting up.

I think chol and casboult are going to kick quite a few on battle and dougal regardless.

The style we are playing (especially our v attacking defenders) heaps a mountain of pressure on our forwards to kick a lot of goals, all day everyday.

Looks great when it works, horrible when it doesn't.

Let's hope our bags and bags of goals don't dry up a little.

Pretty bloody glad max's brother is not suiting up.

I think chol and casboult are going to kick quite a few on battle and dougal regardless.

The style we are playing (especially our v attacking defenders) heaps a mountain of pressure on our forwards to kick a lot of goals, all day everyday.

Looks great when it works, horrible when it doesn't.

Let's hope our bags and bags of goals don't dry up a little.
Good points mate, the backline is a trifle unsteady. I think we should load up our forward line with another tall maybe Hayes because they are undersize down there as well. Like they said on the Front bar last night Casboult is starting to clunk em and kick em
If we dont win by 4 goals , something is badly wrong.

As a footballer, I think Marshall is superior and they will need to be concerned about what he will do, especially around goal.

P.S. Talking of Witts being big, what are the odds he bumps one of our players on the weekend and nothing is said - not oven a free. It will just be a football act that led to an accidental concussion.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Witts is better than Darcy and probably better than Grundy at actual tap work. He went down last year and GC almost immediately became shit. He's one of my favourite rucks in the comp. He's very underrated in Vic.

Marshall was very good and really promising in 2019, average in 2020 with Paddy coming in and it looking like he was struggling to adjust. Then injured most of last year and this year looks good but not elite.

His best footy is as a solo ruckman who plays like an extra mid but struggles with tap work against the better big rucks. I don't think Marshall has ever kicked more than 12 goals in a season so I don't think his forward craft will keep them up at night.

I'd say all of them are better rucks than Marshall but his potential is still very high.

So its going to be.. Witts taps the ball to Witts who clears it to Witts at half forward who passes to Witts at FF, but the ball hit the deck and Witts mops up and kicks a goal. Nah.:tonguewink:

You sound like those Hawks posters from last week going on about Sicily