Preview Round 5, 2024: GWS v St.Kilda - Manuka Oval, Saturday 13 April, 1:45pm AEST *GARCIA DEBUT*

How much scar tissue will be messing up the Saints from last year’s final!?

Toby and co. gave us a lesson-and-a- messin’

Cordy was Caminiti were rendered dysfunctional. Members was absent but had been a shadow of himself in prior games. Butler shouldn’t have played and with his ankle, couldnt kick over a tin can. Wilkie was easily beaten, and nurtured.

The King was a threat.

Even with all this, we should remember that we did make a couple of threatening pushes during the game, including the third quarter and started to close the gap.

But seeing that first quarter, especially after the first ten minutes, seeing how easily they sliced us up like melting butter to get into f50 and outmaneuver our defence - it wasn’t pretty.

So now what? Members? Coming back for revenge? GWS swill be stealing themselves, yelling themselves the Saints want revenge. And they won’t use the same game plan twice.

As has been pointed out, they e had a soft draw on paper, but the coastal teams are actually better this year.

Cordy will stand up as long as our midfield does.
Cordy was getting murdered in one on one contests with Hogan. No matter how good the midfield is that will happen again.

But yes, reduce the I50s and you win half the battle there.

Cordy was Caminiti were rendered dysfunctional. Members was absent but had been a shadow of himself in prior games. Butler shouldn’t have played and with his ankle, couldnt kick over a tin can. Wilkie was easily beaten, and nurtured.

The King was a threat.

Even with all this, we should remember that we did make a couple of threatening pushes during the game, including the third quarter and started to close the gap.

But seeing that first quarter, especially after the first ten minutes, seeing how easily they sliced us up like melting butter to get into f50 and outmaneuver our defence - it wasn’t pretty.

So now what? Members? Coming back for revenge? GWS swill be stealing themselves, yelling themselves the Saints want revenge. And they won’t use the same game plan twice.

As has been pointed out, they e had a soft draw on paper, but the coastal teams are actually better this year.

Ai chatbots are now getting into footy it seems?

First they take our jobs... then they take our hobbies?!

artificial intelligence no GIF by ADWEEK

Cordy was getting murdered in one on one contests with Hogan. No matter how good the midfield is that will happen again.

But yes, reduce the I50s and you win half the battle there.

Sure he will still lose 1v1s but we can reduce those. Typically when a teams midfield is on top and they can maintain good field position the opposition forwards find it very hard to get one on ones. (Especially with a RTB game plan)

Not saying that will happen because they have a star midfield. But if we do well in that area I would back us to limit his 1v1s and Cordy to go ok.

The King was a threat.

Clearances 35 to 36

I50's 56 to 54

contested possessions 154 to 156

Unsurprisingly, given the Membrey situation, we got jumped early but not far off it for the rest of the game.

Caminiti woke on Saturday morning not even named as an emergency. A few hours later he's in front of 70,000 at the G.

Actually think we will be a fair chance to win.

We can barely string two consistent quarters together. The second half of last week gives us some confidence but this is a few bridges too far for our younger team.

We are less experienced and in less form than our Finals game.

GWS by 40+

Clearances 35 to 36

Doesn't tell you squat, because that includes around the ground clearances AND doesn't say anything about the quality of clearances.

They utterly destroyed our midfield in the centre square.

They kicked 4 goals directly from centre bounce clearances to our zero.

Plus the "Giants led effective clearances 32-25 and points scored from stoppages 54-27"

They had over 20% more centre clearances than us 14 to 11.
Briggs and kelly nearly had more than our entire team.

GWS haven't got out of pre-season practice mode yet. Roos, Eagles, a bye and the Suns. They haven't faced 4 quarters of pressure footy. They may have more individual weapons at this stage of the season, but our team game is getting closer to being very good.
I agree with this ... yeah we were up and about vs the pies, but have been half asleep the other games. Kingers has even said that we won't be playing our best footy this time of year, so I reckon it's a real 50/50 game

Doesn't tell you squat, because that includes around the ground clearances AND doesn't say anything about the quality of clearances.

They utterly destroyed our midfield in the centre square.

They kicked 4 goals directly from centre bounce clearances to our zero.

Plus the "Giants led effective clearances 32-25 and points scored from stoppages 54-27"

They had over 20% more centre clearances than us 14 to 11.
Briggs and kelly nearly had more than our entire team.
All that "dominance" for a 4 goal win in a game where a fair bit went right for them and very little for us.

I think we are a chance.

All that "dominance" for a 4 goal win in a game where a fair bit went right for them and very little for us.

I think we are a chance.

A 4 goal margin is pretty large given we only kicked 11 of them.

As for the asertion that they 'jumped us early cos of members etc'

Screenshot_20240410_170442_AFL.jpg

Yeah nah mate.
It was 2 goals to 1 in our favour goal for the first 20 minutes of the game.

I'm not saying anything about our prospects this week- but simply pointing out that you have huge rose tinted glasses on over that final.

They pantsed us comfortably

A 4 goal margin is pretty large given we only kicked 11 of them.

As for the asertion that they 'jumped us early cos of members etc'

View attachment 1955465

Yeah nah mate.
It was 2 goals to 1 in our favour goal for the first 20 minutes of the game.

I'm not saying anything about our prospects this week- but simply pointing out that you have huge rose tinted glasses on over that final.

They pantsed us comfortably
Don't need glasses of any type - quite comfortable about my view of that final. We lost but we weren't hopelessly outclassed.

We were there or thereabouts, they had pretty much everything run their way - we had very little.

It may have scarred you but the prospect of GWS at Manuka doesn't worry me at all.

I re-watched the Tigers game again this afternoon. We will need to significantly reduce our fumbling, dropped marks and missed passes against GWS. The one thing we have in our favour is the bigger ground at Manuka, suits our game style much better. Obviously we struggle with the in close tighter scrambled games, so a ground that gives us space will help.

When we do win possession against the Giants we will need to do our best to maintain possession and avoid there intercept game.

There's not a thread for it yet so I'll plonk it here. Bookies have us as slight faves over the Doggies next week and that's with Marvel being their home ground too; plus they don't have much of an injury list at all except B.Smith (I'm not counting Coff as he is not established best 22).

They are a team really talked up to make a push back into the 8 so augers well for us.

I re-watched the Tigers game again this afternoon. We will need to significantly reduce our fumbling, dropped marks and missed passes against GWS. The one thing we have in our favour is the bigger ground at Manuka, suits our game style much better. Obviously we struggle with the in close tighter scrambled games, so a ground that gives us space will help.

When we do win possession against the Giants we will need to do our best to maintain possession and avoid there intercept game.
The bigger ground will help our halfbacks , with Nas and Sinclair getting back to his best we should be in good shape.
Hopefully Hill has a big game as well.
If our forwards fire and we can put scoreboard pressure on them we should have a very good chance of winning this game - but they have to start to kick straight.

The bigger ground will help our halfbacks , with Nas and Sinclair getting back to his best we should be in good shape.
Hopefully Hill has a big game as well.
If our forwards fire and we can put scoreboard pressure on them we should have a very good chance of winning this game - but they have to start to kick straight.
I think we are a chance v GWS but not favorites. And they didn’t jump us because of Members. If anything we surprised them at the start..and then they preceded to destroy us until that late comeback. Membrey had been poor last year anyway. And all those stats don’t reflect the quality of disposals etc. But we are a chance. Anything can happen, but based off the final and first month of this season, there are no reasons to think we’d be favorites IMO

We were taken apart in the final due to there mids run wild - Tom Greene 35 touches , Whitfield 31 , Ash 31 , Kelly 30 ---- if we can break even in this department we will have a chance of beating them.

Agree- we have shown that if our kids play well (like they did against collingwood); then we are comfortably a top 6 team.
The issue is of course that our kids are going to be very hit and miss on a week to week basis.

Windy, pou, owens, wilson etc play very well and we are a good shout at beating any side.