Preview Round 7, 2024: Port Adelaide v St.Kilda - Adelaide Oval, Friday 26 April, 7.40pm AEST

Anyone watch North Melbourne yesterday? Why on earth would we be choosing to do that?

Maintain selection integrity - we have soldiers about to return. Hold off on stocking up on canned goods.
They burnt the house down and went for full rebuild, we haven’t and no one is suggesting we do. What’s been suggested is to move on from a couple of players to play more youth and to take advantage of our poor start to get a pick where the gun mids are taken.

If we fight tooth and nail with our arguably most competitive side each week with no eye on development and the future where do you project we’ll finish from here ? So all that’s been suggested once again is to move on from a few, look to the future for this season and take advantage of a lousy run. I’d say we’re looking at about 10 to 12 at best, so it’s hardy a stretch to drop back to 12 to 14. It’s very hard to see how we’d finish any lower and yes undesirable to look like north, hawthorn and west coast have lately.

He’s a great kick when he has time and everything is on script but imo he’s a poor defender who gets lost in traffic and turns it over under pressure.

Against Geelong he’d had some success chipping the ball to chb from the kick in then running past for the handball receive then hitting up the next target. The message had obviously gone out to put a stop to that so when bonner chipped the ball out and tried to run past on the left for the receive he had close company.

Instead of realising he wasn’t going to be able to take the receive and just sagging off, he panicked and at the last minute went right and took the handball while the Geelong player went left. So now bonner has the ball on his barely functional right boot and is running to the opposite side of the ground to what he was meant to on what looked to be a set play. Now he’s kicking into heavy traffic and scrubs a 25 metre kick straight down a Geelong players throat, turn over goal.

I don’t like Sinclair out of the backline, we’ve looked out of sorts at times and we’ve missed him. I’m not sure if there’s an afl stat for this but not only does Sinclair make good decisions under pressure he also releases the ball very quickly. In part it’s that quick release that enables us to open up the opposition. If he was a QB he’s a Tom Brady, he sees the field and what’s unfolding quicker than others and hits his targets Tua at Miami currently has the quickest release time on average.

Sinclair is a shadow of himself at the moment. HB or mid. He missed the preseason and starting along way back. Bonner is a clean distributor and apart from the game where he turned everything he touched over he's been solid, he's not a runner. He's that kicking distributor and against the Dogs he was one of the few rebounders that actually held up. Hopefully we learn to play with that type for when Schoenmaker is ready.

It should have an abolishing mechanism.

With the academies, which were created to foster home grown talent in non-footy states, give them one per year aside from the draft and that's it.

By the way, the NFL and the NBA manage to do this pretty fairly. Try explaining F-S to an American and watch their reaction to such a perversion of the objectives of the draft.
I’d have zero concessions just to be clear and would have a draft lottery to stop tanking.

Now how the did the Bulldogs get Darcy for FA? Hmmm?

I've been screaming this for the rooftops for years now, but the F-S rule is desperately unfair and should be abolished. I don't care for romanticism, anyone wearing a St Kilda jumper has my full support. You want fathers and sons running out for the same club, we have a very strong local football culture in our country where you can scratch that itch. I don't care that it might be our turn this year, this rule has contributed to entrenched advantage for clubs like Geelong for ever, and only because of dumb luck.

So our response to "Geez, Marcus Ashcroft was lucky enough to sire yet another son who can play footy" is to deliberately serve up excremental football so we can get a high draft pick, which many on here will tell you we will waste anyway.

We need to stop the excuses, look the current playing list in the eye and tell them it is up to them to do what is necessary and give the fans what they deserve: success.

End communication.

We have a couple of academy kids coming through and they are about to make it harder to get them after rewarding the Dogs with pick 1 and Darcy and Gold Coast getting 3 first round picks for a handful of rubbish last year and again the two Queensland teams are getting top 10 picks for free. Adelaide and Carlton have good haul again from FS too.

We were so unstable for so long we have very few FS options. Dean Anderson only had to get a couple more games and we'd have had one.

I’d have zero concessions just to be clear and would have a draft lottery to stop tanking.

I don't like the lottery. It has the potential to have sides that really stink it up through bad luck. We have the world's only socialist drafting policy but then let all these concessions in to give a leg up to interstate sides. It's now a feeding frenzy free for all. Mid table is the worst spot to finish these days because by the time all the FS, FA, concessions and assistance you end up picking in what would have been the second round. Pretty much like when the two expansion teams came in and picked the eyes out of the draft.

Father sons were bad enough and should always have had some kind of limit or balancing mechanism. If they were bad which they were imo then how bad are academy’s 😡. Now we have to watch sides effectively pick up multiple fist round players with garbage picks and we have Tassie concessions to look forward to. If your team is down near the bottom, short of talent and or old in 2017 then find another sport to follow.

The Dogs exploit it as well as anyone. They got Treloar for free while getting the number one pick.....all for a handful of junk time picks. If they hadn't traded him in they would have lost that pick anyway.

I know not everyone can stand Mark Robinson, but he made the point many supporters and clubs have been making early this season... the fixture is a mess and has destroyed some teams' seasons before they have started.

The fixture hasn't stopped us from being a superpower this season, but it's impossible to dismiss the trend and type of losses that clubs have suffered coming off three games (with interstate travel) in under two weeks.

Robbo's comments below:

2. Sorry Saints

Jack Sinclair looks dejected after his side’s capitulation to the Dogs on Thursday night. Picture: Michael Willson/AFL Photos via Getty Images.

St Kilda coach Ross Lyon wasn’t whining, but his team was dreadful. And why? They have injuries to midfielders and their depth is challenged and it’s little wonder recruiting guru Gubby Allen has the directive to spend millions to find top-end talent via trade or free agency. Be assured, it’s not only Collingwood who has millions to spend on players. That’s the future, now is the problem. From April 7 to April 18, the Saints played three games. That’s not fair. They played at Norwood, Canberra and Marvel Stadium. That’s two road games, two travel days, and Lyon admitted he was worried even before the Western Bulldogs capitulation. Fremantle coach Justin Longmuir won’t whinge, either. But facts are facts. “It’s a brutal season. The fixtures are brutal. Throws up some of these results sometimes,” Longmuir said. The Dockers played in Adelaide, Adelaide again and were then annihilated at home by West Coast on Saturday night. Melbourne stayed in Adelaide for a week to play their two games against Adelaide and Port Adelaide and then lost to Brisbane in Round 5? They, too, looked tired ahead of their bye. On Saturday, a freshened Collingwood came off the bye in Round 5 and pounded Port Adelaide. A ton of byes in the first third of the season is a) unheard of and b) unfair. Will the AFL take note?

That ridiculous first round that isn't was chaos, from round one the ladder was inaccurate, the fixture is chaotic and we didn't play our first home game until the season was pretty much over for us. Kane looks like she might have been a really bad call. Gilligan McLaughlin might not have been inspiring but he was adequate. So far umpiring, fixturing, draft equity, ladder, rules committee all need urgent action. I don't know if Gillo left a ticking time bomb or she's an incompetent but pretty sure she made it balls-up at North too.

Sinclair is a shadow of himself at the moment. HB or mid. He missed the preseason and starting along way back. Bonner is a clean distributor and apart from the game where he turned everything he touched over he's been solid, he's not a runner. He's that kicking distributor and against the Dogs he was one of the few rebounders that actually held up. Hopefully we learn to play with that type for when Schoenmaker is ready.
I’m not a fan gringo in every game so far I can find glaring errors, loosing his man etc. he’s ok far from terrible but wang and Sinclair are both great ball users as well. I can’t see what we gain taking the ball out of their hands to give it to bonner. I’d rather give Schoenmaker a run who’s produced a few very good games for sandy, give the kid a taste and let’s see what he can do.

You can’t lock in guys like bonner and play the kids as well, we’re not dropping guys like battle. I’d say we have half a dozen who aren’t best 22 with a full list or are on the way out due to age. Nothing wrong with giving sore older guys a weeks rest, being conservative with injury’s and dropping fringe players after a couple of bad games to reward young guys playing well at sandy.

The draft lottery has not stopped tanking.

Maintain selection integrity - we have enough underperformers at the moment for kids to get selected if their form warrants it. Wilson and Garcia certainly did enough to keep their spots.

Not against that. Why play Butler who is horrific at the moment? He can't be any better than what investing time into Collard would be. Put Ari in for Coops. Might as well play kids over under performers.

The draft lottery has not stopped tanking.

Maintain selection integrity - we have enough underperformers at the moment for kids to get selected if their form warrants it. Wilson and Garcia certainly did enough to keep their spots.
The lottery might not have stopped it but it’s still a disincentive. Again what are we desperate to do finish 12th ?, all teams have an eye of the future or should have.

I’m not a fan gringo in every game so far I can find glaring errors, loosing his man etc. he’s ok far from terrible but wang and Sinclair are both great ball users as well. I can’t see what we gain taking the ball out of their hands to give it to bonner. I’d rather give Schoenmaker a run who’s produced a few very good games for sandy, give the kid a taste and let’s see what he can do.

You can’t lock in guys like bonner and play the kids as well, we’re not dropping guys like battle. I’d say we have half a dozen who aren’t best 22 with a full list or are on the way out due to age. Nothing wrong with giving sore older guys a weeks rest, being conservative with injury’s and dropping fringe players after a couple of bad games to reward young guys playing well at sandy.

I think Bonner has been good apart from the game that turned everyone off him. Thought his one on one game was solid as well. He seemed to go to Flops Weightman and got on top of him after he got off the chain early.

The lottery might not have stopped it but it’s still a disincentive. Again what are we desperate to do finish 12th ?, all teams have an eye of the future or should have.

I reckon 12th in an unfettered draft would actually be pretty handy. I think it might be pick 6 or 7 that has produced the most elite talent over the years.

I think Bonner has been good apart from the game that turned everyone off him. Thought his one on one game was solid as well. He seemed to go to Flops Weightman and got on top of him after he got off the chain early.
I think part of my problem is he’s not a tall and is passable on a weightman, just think we have better options. Is he still getting a game is howard and Webster are available ? Not in my team he wouldn’t so given our start I’d go a kid in the softer games. I’d play him against port because I’m predicting a very bad week to debut a kid.

The list could be better, and what we have, could have done better this season, but I have seen Lyon get outsmarted in two or three games now by opposition coaches, and the Dogs game just showed up every weakness we have in how the team is used and plays. I just hope we at least give it all against PA.

Just played against two excellent lists too. We are injured and have a really meat and potatoes list. Lyon's game plan has always been about holding and surging but we are young and or shit without a champion player to get hold of opposition sides. Ross likes hard seasoned players with experience even if they aren't elite because they are solid soldiers. He's playing the same game plan but with an inexperienced and physically immature youth.

I personally think that at some point later this year Phillipou will break out. If you look at the 2022 AFL draft he has played the most games out of any draftee (30) next best is Sheezel at 29, and has kicked the second most goals out of any draftee (15) only one goal behind Cadman (16) who was the number 1 pick, and plays FF/CHF in a good GWS team.

He has done this all whilst being the youngest player in the draft and nearly being eligible for the next year's draft. Yes, he might frustrate some people at times, but have faith that he will get there, the experience this early in his career will go a long way to help him become one of the game's better players.

Bonner is your best HB flanker ATM. You have no kids ready for that position. From the stats I read he is top 5 for kick and top 5 for effective kicks. You need him playing from what ive seen.
No he's been slightly better the last 2 weeks but was awful before that and is soft as shite. Should be out of the team once Webster is back.

I think part of my problem is he’s not a tall and is passable on a weightman, just think we have better options. Is he still getting a game is howard and Webster are available ? Not in my team he wouldn’t so given our start I’d go a kid in the softer games. I’d play him against port because I’m predicting a very bad week to debut a kid.

Webster probably takes that spot because he's a stronger and more capable one on one defender with a similar long kicking distribution game. Cordy is the only one in trouble with Howard available.

Don't forget about his strength of a 10-year-old. Always tries to fend off and gets caught holding the ball.
One of Clarks strengths is his ability to shake/stand up in the tackle and dispose of the ball. You either have absolutely no clue or are making shit up to attempt to troll.

I personally think that at some point later this year Phillipou will break out. If you look at the 2022 AFL draft he has played the most games out of any draftee (30) next best is Sheezel at 29, and has kicked the second most goals out of any draftee (15) only one goal behind Cadman (16) who was the number 1 pick, and plays FF/CHF in a good GWS team.

He has done this all whilst being the youngest player in the draft and nearly being eligible for the next year's draft. Yes, he might frustrate some people at times, but have faith that he will get there, the experience this early in his career will go a long way to help him become one of the game's better players.

Hopefully but regardless we should keep investing in the kids.

Bonner is your best HB flanker ATM. You have no kids ready for that position. From the stats I read he is top 5 for kick and top 5 for effective kicks. You need him playing from what ive seen.
That's part of our problem. He shouldn't be. Sinclair and NWM are both superior players but because Sinclair is underdone after a limited preseason and teams are now putting attention into NWM, Bonner has become a main distributor despite being the inferior player.

He rates high for effective kicks and while he has some gems in there, a lot of them are effective because they go 40-50m to a contest rather than to somewhere that advantages us. Also when looking at score involvements, he's had 2/6 games where he has had more than 5. NWM has had 4/6 and Sinclair has had 4/5. So while he might be getting more of the ball and kicking it the most of our half back options, he's doing less with it.

Opposition teams won't mind he racking it up and distributing it because it means the ball isn't in the hands of the more damaging NWM and Sinclair.

I don't like the lottery. It has the potential to have sides that really stink it up through bad luck. We have the world's only socialist drafting policy but then let all these concessions in to give a leg up to interstate sides. It's now a feeding frenzy free for all. Mid table is the worst spot to finish these days because by the time all the FS, FA, concessions and assistance you end up picking in what would have been the second round. Pretty much like when the two expansion teams came in and picked the eyes out of the draft.
They are privately owned and tend to be pretty pragmatic. So if your team is out of contention and going nowhere they can cut payroll and blow things up very quickly. I think in the afl a bottom 4 lottery perhaps would have some merit but again you’d need to have your stats guys working on what the spread usually is between those team. What’s the maximum number of wins we’ve seen to still finish bottom 4 etc.

Anyway it’s ironic that all of a sudden the league is looking at tightening things up, I can assure you it’s to pander to the collingwoods not us. Having benefited greatly now they’d like it wound back. I’d be willing to bet Tassie will get access to any Tassie product so that’s probably shoemaker gone as our tithe 🤣🤣. The afl just make me laugh it’s such a dodgy operation, so compromised but there’s no real competition so they’re untouchable.

Tassie has the potential to create another great divide. If you’re a top 4 team with a good list profile you can probably top up raiding the bottom six and contend for the best part of a decade. If on the other hand you’re down in the bottom six and well short of the talent you need then that’s a lost decade. I truly think teams like norf have already taken a conscious decision to be well placed when Tassie come in and aren’t worried about the next couple of years.

They are privately owned and tend to be pretty pragmatic. So if your team is out of contention and going nowhere they can cut payroll and blow things up very quickly. I think in the afl a bottom 4 lottery perhaps would have some merit but again you’d need to have your stats guys working on what the spread usually is between those team. What’s the maximum number of wins we’ve seen to still finish bottom 4 etc.

Anyway it’s ironic that all of a sudden the league is looking at tightening things up, I can assure you it’s to pander to the collingwoods not us. Having benefited greatly now they’d like it wound back. I’d be willing to bet Tassie will get access to any Tassie product so that’s probably shoemaker gone as our tithe 🤣🤣. The afl just make me laugh it’s such a dodgy operation, so compromised but there’s no real competition so they’re untouchable.

Tassie has the potential to create another great divide. If you’re a top 4 team with a good list profile you can probably top up raiding the bottom six and contend for the best part of a decade. If on the other hand you’re down in the bottom six and well short of the talent you need then that’s a lost decade. I truly think teams like norf have already taken a conscious decision to be well placed when Tassie come in and aren’t worried about the next couple of years.

I can't see them calling back current players. If I was starting them up I'd be putting together an elite VFL side to play now with the best of the state league players and local talent in there. Let them start drafting to add to it a year out and start in the league with the core of that side. Port pretty much started with their SANFL squad and were the quickest franchise to win a flag of any of them. Let them take any state league player they want for nothing now. It would decimate a few sides in the second tiers but would give them the best chance of success.

Just finished reading the previous game autopsy thread. Wow. Go to say, so much of that was as bad as sitting there until the end of the game.

Anyway a game of footy coming up so I'm moving on.

Port gave up 31 (14.17) scores to 12 (6.6) in 3 quarters yesterday. Why are they going to be more "angry" than our players to bounce back from a poor performance? I don't buy that one at all.

We have players that play Adelaide oval well. We're not on a local footy ground thank goodness. Can see us losing in a few goals type of game because they are more advanced than us but reckon we will have our moments that they'll be concerned about what we bring.

Very interesting to see the ins and outs and if it's only minimal (Butler replacement) until blokes have played a VFL game and drip feed them in over North and Hawthorn or big bang against Port as a line in the sand type reaction to some of the efforts on Thursday.
I went to the Saints / Dogs and Pies Port game at the G. Flew down for it and was so looking forward to see the boys play. What a farkin fizzer that was. I reckon Butters, Rozee and Horne-Francis will absolutely tear us a new one. They’re all guns. Doesn’t matter whether it’s Bonner or Howard or whomever down back. I’m expecting the ball to be coming in thick and fast and will be surprised if it’s not another 10 goal loss.

That game last Thursday was just pitiful. Worst I’ve seen in a long time. Hard to find much to look forward to out of that.