Certified Legendary Thread Sack Hinkley 12 - Finals Are Scary

Also anybody who thought that this club would be sacking Ken if we made a prelim, Chewy posts or no Chewy posts, was ****ing delusional. He'll be here next year. It's time to get used to it and cross your fingers for the unlikely flag.

It's important to point out that Chewy has never said that the club would sack Ken even if we made the prelim - he's said that there are people in significant decision making positions at the club who would still sack him if he got to and lost a prelim.

You can take that whichever way you like but my feeling is that barring a big loss it's unlikely the majority of the decision makers will want to sack him.

LOL just received a text from a mate - he said that his missus was researching who shot Ronald Reagan. It was a dude called John Hinckley - my mate said, "I know him: he's the second most hated Hinckley on the planet."

In light of the "Kens locked in for next year" report and likely hood, my question is do we finally get some transparency and confirmation that Carr will take over in 26?

Surely we don't roll into next year with old Kenny boy wink nod, "sorry Josh but reckon I might crack one last contract" and have a repeat of 23?

Surely.......

And this is all based on him getting to the GF or winning the flag.

If we lose this weekend, imagine the stickers & boos up and down port rd after his first couple losses next year!

Asked if Hinkley’s position for next year was locked in, the Port president told this masthead: “Absolutely it is. It’s always been sorted. He’s our contracted coach for next year.”

Pressed on whether Hinkley would coach Port next year, Koch said: “Yep.”

That's not the usual Koch flowery bloviated endorsement.

Houston said he’d be here too….

Well Port haven't had any internal meetings to endorse Ken for 2025.
And realistically, if Robbo contacted any of the big wigs at the Club, what would you expect them to say on the record? They're certainly not going to say "Ken's position will be reviewed at the end of the season" - that would create major drama and unnecessary instability the week of a prelim final matchup.

Everyone is in solidarity until they're not.

If Port have an internal meeting and endorse Ken for 2025, I'll let everyone know on here. Right now, it's status quo. Nothing has changed.

Koch confirms Hinkley will coach next year​

Koch holds ‘internal meetings’ with himself. No-one else invited, not even you.

We beat 7th by 3 points. If we get our arses handed to us in the prelim I'd still expect him to go.

The issue will be a narrow loss. If we lose by less than a kick in a valiant effort again, I'm not sure I trust the club to do the right thing
This we beat 7th is a bit misleading especially this year.
If it was a normal year than yes it would have meant sweet FA..
If I had a dollar for every post I’ve read on here over the last month that Hawthorn was a real chance for the flag I’d be set for life.
We beat the most in form side in the comp.
What happens to him after this week?
Believe me I don’t like saying this but Shultzenfest post above sums it up perfectly.

Ken could still be playing for an extension this weekend. Even if 2025 is sewed up he'll still go into next year under immense pressure if the club falls short in yet another prelim.
Still ever so slightly possible that West Coast could make him an offer he can't refuse but I doubt it.

In light of the "Kens locked in for next year" report and likely hood, my question is do we finally get some transparency and confirmation that Carr will take over in 26?

Surely we don't roll into next year with old Kenny boy wink nod, "sorry Josh but reckon I might crack one last contract" and have a repeat of 23?

Surely.......

And this is all based on him getting to the GF or winning the flag.

If we lose this weekend, imagine the stickers & boos up and down port rd after his first couple losses next year!

If we win the flag this year Carr has no hope in 26 or 27 or……

Of course I did, but with the consensus from 2 weeks ago saying that anything less than a grand final would leave his job in jeopardy, it looks extremely unlikely that the club would sack him after another prelim appearance.

Since when has Koch been the type to backtrack on his words or take accountability?

Yes, however, and Chewy316 can correct me if I’m wrong, but Kochie left the responsibility of Ken’s future to the footy committee.

I think reading between the lines, the footy committee view of Ken has changed since his last contract extension.

The pressure is on all 4 teams this week as nobody knows if there’s going to be another opportunity to make a GF.
Anyone who thinks different is a Dill.
Define the type of pressure? History has shown that when Ken feels safe and secure, on field success isn't his priority.

I’m having troubles finding the on/off switch on the players back that Ken mysteriously turns on when he wants them to win and turns off when he wants them to lose.
I’ll have a real close look Friday night.

This thread is fast becoming a serious roller-coaster of emotions.

Excitement at a sacking, joy and laughter at a bit of shenanigans, then the pointed reply of yes Ken will ne coaching next year as a massive buzz kill.

We beat 7th by 3 points. If we get our arses handed to us in the prelim I'd still expect him to go.

The issue will be a narrow loss. If we lose by less than a kick in a valiant effort again, I'm not sure I trust the club to do the right thing
I put up the ladder of what the top 8 looked like if we didn't beat the Hawks by a DBJ soccer kick and they won, then they would have ended 2nd not 7th and we dropped to 3rd and would have played them at the MCG week 1 of finals.

But yes a thumping by swans means Koch's words are meaningless. A small loss does indeed leaves things up in the air.

Chanel 9 reporting Hinkley will be coaching Port in 2025. Seriously why would Koch do anything before the Sydney final.

No Flag no me.
Unfortunately that will only affect you.
If you do the rounds on social media it’s amazing how much support he has.
Not saying I agree with it but it’s definitely there.