Opinion Sack Hinkley 5 - Lower The Blinds

Okay this should be the plan if the club/board have any balls (which they don't).

Sack Hinkley at the end of April triggering his 6 month pay out till the end of October. Cost - nothing as he would be paid as if he was here but supporters get the sugar hit of him gone.

Announce Clarkson as coach for 2023 but essentially write this year off.

Give Clarkson a full 6 months to plan and to approach the assistants and possibly players he wants.

Give Monty the caretaker role but have Clarkson coach by proxy. If Clarkson wants a player to player in a certain position and play a certain way, Monty inititates that. If Clarkson wants to try an untried player, we play him.

Put current players on notice

Prepare thoroughly for 2023 with Clarkson at the helm with a decent draft pick and players wanting to come to us.

You know it makes sense.

The AFL industry is far too conservative and cliquey to do anything like this but your plan sounds absolutely perfect.

Im of the opinion we need to wrap Clarkson up ASAP.

He said he's coaching next year and I believe there are 4 clubs in the running for his services. Us. Gold Coast, GWS and West Coast. I don't think any Vic side at the moment is in the running. We need to be in his ear now. Actually fear West Coast the most. They have bottomless resources and I reckon a big club would appeal to Clarkson more than bringing up 1 of the expansion clubs in front of 5,000 people every week.

We need to get in front of West Coast and the AFL who will eventually offer him a bucket of Gold to coach 1 of the expansion sides. Lock him away ASAP.

I hope Caro is right and Ken does get a gig somewhere else.

I'm going to enjoy laughing as our new coach picks apart his horrible game plan.
Me too. If he doesn't we'll have to live for years with a "Ken overachieved at Port Adelaide" narrative.

If he turns even a minnow Vic club into a bin fire they'll eventually label him as a fraud.

This idea that Hinkley will get/deserves another job is the product of lazy minds. I remember attending a football lunch in Melbourne and Billy Brownless and other panellists tipping off the crowd as to the next coach of the Saints. 'Put the house on Ken Hinkley' was the word. A couple of days later, the Saints appointed Scott Watters. Scott bloody Watters!! Ken got the Port job because he was the last man standing. Their preferred coach was Leon Cameron, another one who can't coach. There are better coaches in the Amateurs than this trio.
Notice too that Hinkley's Port teams have always dropped their standards after losing prominent lieutenants - A Richardson, P Walsh, J Schofield - did a power of work. Hinkley, at best, just gets in the way. Of course, I'm delighted he's telling us 'we can improve'. Not 'will', but 'can'. Well, we can't get worse.

He said he's coaching next year and I believe there are 4 clubs in the running for his services. Us. Gold Coast, GWS and West Coast. I don't think any Vic side at the moment is in the running. We need to be in his ear now. Actually fear West Coast the most. They have bottomless resources and I reckon a big club would appeal to Clarkson more than bringing up 1 of the expansion clubs in front of 5,000 people every week.

We need to get in front of West Coast and the AFL who will eventually offer him a bucket of Gold to coach 1 of the expansion sides. Lock him away ASAP.
I've heard a fair bit about the Sainters too.

The majority of them must have been thinking, Hang on you want us to hold onto the ball to limit Melbourne's run, hit up short leading targets to deny them the ball (makes sense so far) ... then kick long to a forward line with no established key forward that has to outmark Steven May, Jake Lever, Max Gawn and Luke Jackson.

You've lost me ...
My favourite moments were when we would be bold and take the game on from the back pocket by centering the ball. Which we got burnt a bit but not too bad.

And then be super defensive and hit the boundary going forward.

It's like we needed to flip the magnets

When I put my banner out old port couple behind me asked what it said...

"Far ken failed us sack Koch + ken"

All I got was "really?" Rolled there eyes and mumbled some crap.
#ourguy

Me too. If he doesn't we'll have to live for years with a "Ken overachieved at Port Adelaide" narrative.

If he turns even a minnow Vic club into a bin fire they'll eventually label him as a fraud.
Ken will be the new Brett Ratten til someone gives him a go and realises he's just not that good.

I think West Coast would be grooming Schofield.

Look...if he stays till the end of the year which means we don't have to do any sort of pay out as he doesn't trigger his 2023 deal through missing finals. Then not having to do any payout allows us to invest maximum into coaches/footy department thereafter, I think I can handle ignoring this year for that.

Might be a bit of a furphy though since he's a sunk cost this year. However does he actually have to coach the year out to officially fail for his clause? or is it just when its mathematically impossible?

Look...if he stays till the end of the year which means we don't have to do any sort of pay out as he doesn't trigger his 2023 deal through missing finals. Then not having to do any payout allows us to invest maximum into coaches/footy department thereafter, I think I can handle ignoring this year for that.
if we sack him now, it will cost the same but he just wont be there. I'll start attending matches.

Ken will be the new Brett Ratten til someone gives him a go and realises he's just not that good.
No one will give him a go as a senior coach. Clubs generally don't fall for the media spin when making structural decisions. Even Mark Williams, a premiership coach, couldn't find another senior coaching gig.
Clubs will view Hinkley for what he is. A snake oil salesman with outdated ideas whom the game has passed by.

No one will give him a go as a senior coach. Clubs generally don't fall for the media spin when making structural decisions. Even Mark Williams, a premiership coach, couldn't find another senior coaching gig.
Clubs will view Hinkley for what he is. A snake oil salesman with outdated ideas whom the game has passed by.
I hope youre right but Hinkley as a habit of failing up

I agree entirely but the problem we now have is cash flow, around 11 million in debt and Clarko would command about 1.2 p/a.

We do need someone that will not tolerate mediocrity.

Sacking the coach won't save the season.
It's irrevocably trashed already. 😠

Only thing it may do though is get a new voice in, and a new game plan (that stacks up under pressure) in place.

Give the players a year to re-adjust to the new style. Cut the deadwood at seasons end.

See how we go!

I think Ken is pretty much cooked, but change won't occur until the end of the season. This compromises what you would want, so basically next year becomes the season you throw away instead. 😒

Not ideal, but that's how this administration rolls these days 🙄

It could take a couple of years as cellar dweller, and much more pain in store, before things, change for the better, such is the damage that has been wrought.

The Club and players and supporters are emotionally basket cases ATM. Repairing that is a long and arduous process, not accomplished by the snap of a finger. 😢
It is bigger than the season. It is about saving the membership for years to come.

"We all would have loved to win a premiership, don't get me wrong, but we've played some pretty good footy the last couple of years."

- Our Captain, Tom Jonas

We exist to win premierships play some pretty good footy.