Opinion Sack Hinkley 7 - "Turn it around or watch out"

It's clear that this is going to be Ken's last season. The only question at this point is when he will leave - be it during or at the end of the season. They don't have their bye until after they've played 14 games. The two games leading into that bye are Bulldogs on the road on a Friday night and then Geelong on a Thursday night at Adelaide Oval both of which are on national TV. I won't be surprised if they lose those two games heavily and have a record of 5-9 or worse, that the bye will be a good time for all parties to sit down and admit it's time to move on.

His position is untenable at this point. There's no way the Board would extend him if they missed the finals which is going to happen, and Ken doesn't have a contract to hide behind anymore to remain at the Club beyond this season.
A belting by the Swans with every piece of footy media descending to Adelaide for Round 5 would be enough to get the noise happening for any other coach, but the AFL media don't give enough of a shit about Port to care, and the one media guy that does loves Ken. Friday night games in Round 7 and 10, both the week after playing last year's bottom 4, could work if we lose the week before, but if we win I reckon that'll be enough to paper over the cracks in the eyes of our administration (we beat West Coast in Adelaide! Where are the Hinkley haters now?)

I agree, I reckon it's the bye at best. Wait until the season is truly over with no ways to fix it. But I can't truly rule out no decision until August

Like no doubt many on here I used to lose sleep over a performance like yesterday, particularly in the glory days of the Maggies if it was against nord, the blue baggers or the bays, or in our AFL era a Barry Crocker against the mob last night, but I thought f*** it what's the point, there is nothing I can do I told the club way back in 2019 they would get no more money from me while Kok and Hinkley were involved, and I slept like a baby.

For those who weren't around at the time being a Port supporter under this Kok/Hinkley crap is fast heading down the road of being akin to a Woodville supporter in the 1970's, where winning even a qtr was celebrated long and hard into the night, and that is unfortunately what those two blood suckers are doing to us!

We're going to be 1-4 heading into West Coast at AO. The pressure on that game will be extraordinary.
WC are complete Pus, but Port expected to win at home against a crap opponent has another loss written all over it.

Jack Nicholson Reaction GIF

A belting by the Swans with every piece of footy media descending to Adelaide for Round 5 would be enough to get the noise happening for any other coach, but the AFL media don't give enough of a s**t about Port to care, and the one media guy that does loves Ken. Friday night games in Round 7 and 10, both the week after playing last year's bottom 4, could work if we lose the week before, but if we win I reckon that'll be enough to paper over the cracks in the eyes of our administration (we beat West Coast in Adelaide! Where are the Hinkley haters now?)

I agree, I reckon it's the bye at best. Wait until the season is truly over with no ways to fix it. But I can't truly rule out no decision until August

I think the noise will be there if they get spanked again this week going into Gather Round, and it will continue to intensify after each loss. That being said, let's take a small sample size and look at other coaches in the last few years who have been sacked:

David Teague was sacked after many months of the media heckling Carlton to do it. Leon Cameron was let go at GWS (resigned) after round 8 with a farewell game in round 9. They were 2-6 at his resignation which I guess can give some people hope that Ken may be moved on soon enough as well. Buckley lasted until early June, which lines up with my prediction about Ken leaving at the bye.

He's going to be moved on. There is literally no scenario I can realistically foresee occurring that results in Ken being the coach any longer than his current contract. The only question now is when he leaves.

The Club may be inclined to let him go earlier than later because they don't have a 1st round pick due to the JHF trade and their 2nd and 3rd round picks are also at other clubs, so there is no incentive to tank either.

The irony is that Kochie has been so concerned about stability and not bottoming out, that he has kept Ken at all costs to achieve that goal. At the same time the way they are trending under Ken is very much a side about to bottom out into the doldrums of irrelevance.

How's the little stare down he gave the journo who had the hide, the cheek, the temerity, the absolute gall, to ask the "must win" question at the very end of the presser, gawd, he's such a f@%khead, lmao...

View attachment 1647238
Campaigner is so cooked, imagine being this far in with fukc all to show for it & giving the old bogan wrong place wrong time after midnight stare to a fair enough question.

Am I right in saying better people than me were seeing flaws in his coaching as early as 2015? It took me a while to come around as he bought himself lots of credits with ‘13 and ‘14 and some of the irresistible football we were playing at the time especially when comparing to ‘12.
I wavered from about the end of ‘17, reaching a crescendo up until the ‘21 PF debacle and then I was totally out.
What an indictment on the club he’s still coaching us. Koch definitely has to go with him. He can’t keep his position after all this.
Absolutely we could see it in 2015 - the swans game where he picked a clearly unfit ruckman (Redden). Then the Richmond game where he gave Cornes a farewell game in round 5 - this just stuck with me. Kane had said he was retiring and the game had gone past him - yet Ken gave him a farewell game while the season was live.

His refusal to play/develop any KPP started in 2015 too. His forward line set-ups became bizzare and his obsession with small forwards and undersized defenders started to rear its head.

Countless big matches where the players just don’t show up. There started to get a ‘there’s more to life than football’ mantra with Ken from
around 2015 which has kept the players in love with him.

He got the media on side and he kind of became a protected species - he was Bambi and no one at the club wanted to shoot Bambi. I think Kochie did try in 2017 but the backlash was so harsh from Ken’s media buddies and the senior players (like ****ing Jonas).

He’s wrapped himself in a protective cocoon of senior players and a media who love to joke with him - and frankly this idea that Port should just be grateful they have a coach.

I think the noise will be there if they get spanked again this week going into Gather Round, and it will continue to intensify after each loss. That being said, let's take a small sample size and look at other coaches in the last few years who have been sacked:

David Teague was sacked after many months of the media heckling Carlton to do it. Leon Cameron was let go at GWS (resigned) after round 8 with a farewell game in round 9. They were 2-6 at his resignation which I guess can give some people hope that Ken may be moved on soon enough as well. Buckley lasted until early June, which lines up with my prediction about Ken leaving at the bye.

He's going to be moved on. There is literally no scenario I can realistically foresee occurring that results in Ken being the coach any longer than his current contract. The only question now is when he leaves.

The Club may be inclined to let him go earlier than later because they don't have a 1st round pick due to the JHF trade and their 2nd and 3rd round picks are also at other clubs, so there is no incentive to tank either.

The irony is that Kochie has been so concerned about stability and not bottoming out, that he has kept Ken at all costs to achieve that goal. At the same time the way they are trending under Ken is very much a side about to bottom out into the doldrums of irrelevance.
The problem I see is that each time there's a chance for pressure to build we score a West Coast\Hawthorn\North, sometimes in a double and at home before the bye meaning we will likely be roughly 6-6 causing the club extend this shitshow. It should have been goodbye after the bulldogs prelim, it should have been goodbye after the round 3 loss last year to SANFL tier Crows team, it should have been goodbye at the end of last season but no it just goes on and on. I used to give a **** but I watch all our games hoping we lose now and actively barracking for the other team as it is the ONLY way he is going to be gone for sure. If we ****ing jag some wins do not put it past them to extend him 2 years before seasons end. I keep interested in the bars etc but even then Koch and Richo are not interested in those either another disconnect between them and the base.

The problem I see is that each time there's a chance for pressure to build we score a West Coast\Hawthorn\North, sometimes in a double and at home before the bye meaning we will likely be roughly 6-6 causing the club extend this shitshow. It should have been goodbye after the bulldogs prelim, it should have been goodbye after the round 3 loss last year to SANFL tier Crows team, it should have been goodbye at the end of last season but no it just goes on and on. I used to give a * but I watch all our games hoping we lose now and actively barracking for the other team as it is the ONLY way he is going to be gone for sure. If we ******* jag some wins do not put it past them to extend him 2 years before seasons end. I keep interested in the bars etc but even then Koch and Richo are not interested in those either another disconnect between them and the base.

I hear you, at the same time you need to realise he's only under contract for the remainder of this season, and the Board isn't going to extend him if they miss the finals. I actually think he would need to win a final to get an extension but that's besides the point right now because they are so far from that standard it's not funny.

We can talk about what feels like an infinite amount of times he should have been sacked as nauseum. But the simple fact that he doesn't have a contract beyond this year firmly puts the spotlight onto both Ken and the Board with every bad loss going forward.

You only need to look at every coach sacking of the last decade to realise that when they get sacked their (former) Club is an absolute basketcase with respect to on field results. I don't expect Port to buck that trend.

It is going to get worse. There are going to be some ugly losses, and there eventually is going to be a time at some point this season where the writing will truly be on the wall that even the most remote of hope and optimism is gone. At that point the Club will feel like it is in rock bottom and only then will Ken be moved on.

Let's be honest, this club has turned into a punchline in the AFL under this man. Look at all his best bits:
  • Missing the 8 from 11-4
  • Record breaking showdown loss to the Crows in 2017
  • Losing back-to-back home prelims, including an absolute mauling by the Dogs at home after weeks of rest and buildup
  • Losing this Showdown to this Crows team in that jumper after making wearing the PBs a key cultural issue for the club
If anything like that happened to another club, we'd all be beside ourselves from laughing because it is genuinely hilarious. I don't know about everyone else, but I'm sick of supporting a punchline. This man needs to go so the club can get some semblance of its pride back.

I can not bring myself to watch the Sunday Footy Show, but for those that can stomach it, Please Please Please tell the rest of the panellists go after Hinkley and also go after Cornes for backing him whilst calling for the heads of half a dozen other coaches.
I suspect this will get lip service as the Victorian media really couldn't give a heck.

Good points re Teague and Buckley, but I have a feeling the majority of the eastern state media either don't care enough about Port, or see enough of our games to apply the blow torch to Hinkley.

Re kok, I recall another poster mentioning he appeared to get no heat at all from any of the C7 footy `experts,' and suggested something along the lines that as channel 7 `royalty' that maybe he was aloof from any criticism.

People questioning whether or not a new coach will make a difference should remember that Ken himself was once an untried coach, and the team that bumbled its way to 5 wins in 2012 suddenly had a new voice at training, and we almost reached the 2013 preliminary final. So why wouldn't a new coach make a difference this time? Even an old dinosaur like Ross Lyon is working wonders at St. Kilda!!!

2264feb33b6a89a1c507906396397347.jpg

Remember when Matty knew the writing was on the wall and walked?

To be fair, Matty knew his time was up because the club made it pretty clear that was the case.
The contrast to Hinkley is that he's been given every assurance under the sun for a decade.

Absolutely there were warning signs in 2015. When you are premiership favourite and dont make the finals because you lose against:

4 out of their last 30 Brisbane
2 of their last 21 Carlton
Coachless mentally spent Adelaide

Then there are warning signs

Good points re Teague and Buckley, but I have a feeling the majority of the eastern state media either don't care enough about Port, or see enough of our games to apply the blow torch to Hinkley.

Re kok, I recall another poster mentioning he appeared to get no heat at all from any of the C7 footy `experts,' and suggested something along the lines that as channel 7 `royalty' that maybe he was aloof from any criticism.

Of Port's next 11 games, 5 are in prime time slots on national TV. All 5 of these games are also against Victorian opposition, so the Victorian media will be watching enough games of Port this year to see for all and sundry that Ken needs to go.

They don't need to apply the blowtorch. All they will do is show a lack of care for Ken. Whenever Ken's future has been discussed in the past all his buddies in the media come out staunchly defending him. Apathy will set in this year because the writing will be on the wall and the media also have to cover their own backsides.

It's going to end in a car crash, I have no doubt about that.

Let's be honest, this club has turned into a punchline in the AFL under this man. Look at all his best bits:
  • Missing the 8 from 11-4
  • Record breaking showdown loss to the Crows in 2017
  • Losing back-to-back home prelims, including an absolute mauling by the Dogs at home after weeks of rest and buildup
  • Losing this Showdown to this Crows team in that jumper after making wearing the PBs a key cultural issue for the club
If anything like that happened to another club, we'd all be beside ourselves from laughing because it is genuinely hilarious. I don't know about everyone else, but I'm sick of supporting a punchline. This man needs to go so the club can get some semblance of its pride back.

Why stop there?

What about the after the siren home final loss against West Coast, followed by losing against the same team in the exact same way a year later, after leading from siren to siren?

What about the tribute match to our greatest ever player last year?

As I said last night, this club always finds new ways to hit rock bottom. Just when you think it can't get any worse, they ****ing out-do themselves.