Opinion Sack Hinkley 8 - "Ask me in August"

What happens to Hinkley at the end of the year?

The only relevant record Port Adelaide holds is to be the only club currently in the AFL that has never bottomed out and won a wooden spoon.
Agreed the whole Port were donald ducked thing was a beat up to suit the Victorian media narrative, even in the down years we were still getting crowds norf and gold coast could only dream of, plus we are in front of 12 of the other clubs on the win column, equal with collingwood, -1 on brisvegas, -5 on norf, and -6 on the swans, with the only big deficit -14 being for games against geebung, and I doubt too many clubs would be in front of them given their form for the majority of the time since we entered the comp.

Listening to King try and talk sense to Whateley was ******* painful.

Whateley's a horse racing tragic. If he can't see what Kimg is trying to tell him re he's failed with one young group, what makes you think he can succeed with the next one, then he's got the Kenny Blinkers on.

Yeah he didn't seem to be able to grasp the idea that we might not want to waste another list on his mate Kenny.

Listening to King try and talk sense to Whateley was ******* painful.

King made a lot of sense there. Gerard is just going to bat for his mate (Ken) in essence trying to put it out there that there's no "pass" mark for Ken this year and it's just about gut feel. Total BS.

It's very easy to say "8 in a row the Club is flying just sign him now." It actually takes strength to look at all the possibilities. Imagine a scenario in which Port signed him now to a 2 or 3 year extension, and then in the 2nd half of the year they shit the bed and get knocked out early in the finals series. Then you're stuck with a coach who you wouldn't want going forward with no conceivable way to get out of it because you're not a Victorian Club and they won't bend the rules for you like the AFL did with St. Kilda and Ratten.

If Port make the finals I will be surprised to hear any announcement on Ken prior to the conclusion of Port's finals' campaign.

Wouldn't be surprised if Koch in the next 6-8 weeks announces he will be leaving the Club at the end of the season - at which point he can absolve himself of all responsibility surrounding Ken's position, which will also likely mean no decision would be made until the new Chairman is in place.

Butters, rozee and JHF are the potential nucleus of a dynasty. If we're still flying at the end of August and they want Ken to stay then we might have to trust in those 3 guns.

I've wanted Ken gone for several years now and nothing changed for most of this season however I'm so shocked at how well we're playing and the exciting youth that's driving it, I'm at a stage now where I'm starting to think their opinion matters.

It's been an extraordinary turnaround thus far, however the season is only half way through and mid/late August is still 3 months away so plenty of water to go under the bridge yet.

If we gave Matthew Primus the same length of time that we have given Ken Hinkley, Ken Hinkley has had way better resources than Primus ever did, you are the deluded one.
So, you're telling me that Matthew Primus was a better coach than Ken Hinkley. I'm the deluded one. Got it.

For the record, I'm not sold that Ken should keep on coaching your group. 10 years is about enough for any coach, and I wouldn't be surprised if he's elsewhere next year. But downplaying his successes - which are ongoing - just makes you look stupid..

So, you're telling me that Matthew Primus was a better coach than Ken Hinkley. I'm the deluded one. Got it.

For the record, I'm not sold that Ken should keep on coaching your group. 10 years is about enough for any coach, and I wouldn't be surprised if he's elsewhere next year. But downplaying his successes - which are ongoing - just makes you look stupid..
We didn't get to find out, how would you know if Primus wasn't a good coach?

Matthew Primus coached with an underfunded footy department, he is the one that blooded the youth for Ken Hinkley otherwise 2013/2014 finals would've never happened.

Give anyone 11 years they are sure to look good at somepoint. I predict if we give Ken another 30 years at the helm he might even make a GF.

You supporters of other teams come here to defend good bloke Kenny hinkley but none of you have said you'd wish you had him at your club which says alot about him.

We pretty much all wanted Primus out in 2012. But you sure would love to know how things would have turned out for him with Alan Richardson, Phil Walsh et al behind him, and Darren Burgess running the fitness program, whose return to the club he set in motion prior to his sacking, which Hinkley would benefit from inheriting.

lol look at his post history. Moron is posting on the Carlton board with the same shtick. Keep Voss forever just because
Not just because. Keep your coach for as long as he has a viable plan for success, is the most viable plan to success.

Swans, Hawks, Geelong, Richmond. The most enviable teams of the past 20 years all have one thing in common: 2 coaches over that entire period. Port in that same period have won a flag, been to a grand final and 3-4 prelims. Similar the the Bulldogs. Same number of coaches, I wonder? Yep. Both had rebuilding coaches that didn't last. Ken's record and where you are now shows he was the right appointment. This is likely his last year, no need to spend it calling him a fat loser and attributing all his successes to other people. Just makes you look petty.

Classic derailing.

So what you're saying is...<proceeds to say something nobody said>.

We pretty much all wanted Primus out in 2012. But you sure would love to know how things would have turned out for him with Alan Richardson, Phil Walsh et al behind him, and Darren Burgess running the fitness program, whose return to the club he set in motion prior to his sacking, which Hinkley would benefit from inheriting.
Do you think David Koch made all those appointments? Senior coaches don't surround themselves with brilliant people by accident, it's part of the job. You can keep telling everyone that all his every success is simply a string of accidents, but at some point in the future you'll just have to accept his coaching record is very good.

Keith Thomas actually made them.

Problem is “all his every success” has ultimately amounted to no success, hence our desire to try someone new. Sounds like a pretty reasonable notion after 11 years, wouldn’t you say?

In my experience it's almost always boomer types, I'm in my mid-30s and haven't met anyone younger than me who defends Ken or wants to see him retained.

I'm a Boomer and I want Hinkley sacked.

I might start a Myspace group "Boomers Against Hinkley".

In my experience it's almost always boomer types, I'm in my mid-30s and haven't met anyone younger than me who defends Ken or wants to see him retained.

I was at the pre-game yesterday in Melbourne chatting to someone about Ken and the broader coaching situation - mid-conversation a boomer Ken defender interject with "oh are you Hinkley Haters?". Aside from interjecting with a comment designed to get a reaction from us it just served to illustrate the binary that exists with them, you're either a hater or you're a true believer, never a middle ground and room for rational discussion about it. I was deliberately diplomatic and said we weren't haters, just interested in winning but you could tell they weren't open to hearing the other side.

Ken deserves credit for the work he did at the beginning of his tenure as coach, he brought us back to a level of competitiveness that had been lacking during the 2008-12 period and challenged for a GF berth, but at a certain point the welcome runs out and you're judged on what you produce, and in a sport that is premierships. That time came in 2017, it came again in 2019, and again after failing so horribly in the 2021 PF.

Plenty of these Ken defenders got to see premiership after premiership during their prime and the club be willing to make tough decisions (e.g. moving on Russell Ebert as coach, deciding to try to join the expanded VFL in the late 1980s etc) but the next generation of supporters are ingrates for wanting to see a skerrick of that sort of success by being willing to move on a guy who has taken a decade to win no silverware and burn through some very good lists.

I can confirm this!

but at some point in the future you'll just have to accept his coaching record is very good.

• His vaunted 59% win percentage is supercharged by a 32-3 record against the Suns, Roos and Saints. Not exactly clubs you’ll routinely find at the pointy end;

• His record in night (many of them marquee) games at Adelaide Oval stands at 27 wins/27 losses. That’s nine and a half years of footy where what is popularly considered to be a fearsome home ground advantage is actually a coin flip;

• He won more finals in 2013/14 (3) than he has in the eight completed seasons since (2);

• The 2021 Prelim defeat against the banged-up, COVID-jailed Dogs was Port’s heaviest home defeat since 2011 — even the austerity-ravaged kids under Primus in 2012 put up a better fight of defending their home patch than Hinkley’s 18-5 white-hot favourites did that night.

Do yourself a favour and scratch below the surface just a little.

I like it better when the trolls are funny... This Hawks dude is boring as bat s**t.

It’s just more of the same we get from the media everyday.

An overconfident, under-invested outsider with a superficial understanding of Port’s past 11-15 years, and a bandolier loaded with preconceived notions.

Do you think David Koch made all those appointments? Senior coaches don't surround themselves with brilliant people by accident, it's part of the job.
lol - this had sweet FA to do with Hinkley. When we hired him we knew he needed training wheels and hired Alan Richardson then Phil Walsh to provide adult supervision. Thinking he was all grown up in 2015, we removed the bumpers from the lanes and he's been bowling gutterballs ever since.