Discussion Saints part ways with recruiting manager after restructure

Educated guess or confirmed mate?

I would be rapt if you are confirming Dalrymple
Just going by recent appointments eg. Lyon, SOS, Lethlean…all were pre arranged I’m convinced.
Daniel Cherny is the journo that had us linked to Dalrymple, good journalist & a saints man!
We had a chat to Andrew Basset yesterday, he seems bullish about the draft & trade haul, particularly Arie falling in our lap..really good guy…very approachable, clubs in good hands!

Educated guess or confirmed mate?

I would be rapt if you are confirming Dalrymple
Would have to think they wouldn’t do something this radical without having someone already in place.

Daniel Cherny has footy contacts - I’d believe he may be onto something regarding Dalrymple.

Fair to say he had a bit of luck in as much as Phillipou, Hotton, Keeler, Wilson and Shoenmaker all slid compared to their draft rankings.
An opportunity was missed in not taking Cooper Simpson at #33!
Ironically, Garcia at #50 may be his best legacy.
Yes thats my point. I'll give him one on Simpson though as Hastie looks a ripper to me.
I'd say Wilkie, Nas and Sharman are a good legacy and the rest are TBD.
Our luck has run deep with Pou, Hotton, Keeler, Wilson, Shoey, Chito and Windy but was Toce our lucky charm? I guess we'll find out.

Just going by recent appointments eg. Lyon, SOS, Lethlean…all were pre arranged I’m convinced.
Daniel Cherny is the journo that had us linked to Dalrymple, good journalist & a saints man!
We had a chat to Andrew Basset yesterday, he seems bullish about the draft & trade haul, particularly Arie falling in our lap..really good guy…very approachable, clubs in good hands!
One thing that I’ve noticed every time I’ve been to training is that Bassat always seems to be there. Usually appears to be happy to talk to anyone.

I take the view that when it comes to drafting decisions are either obvious on talent or needs base, or a matter of good/bad judgment.

Toce's clear wins on judgment are IMO:
Wilkie
Coops
Nas

Known failures are probably:
Parker
Young
Adams
Highmore

The rest of them are too early to tell.

Apart from Nas, most of those others was a late in the draft roll of the dice. Doubt many would have been drafted before the third round. The percentage chance of making it as an AFL footballer taken after the first round is so slim it's hardly worth mentioning players taken outside the first 2 round as a miss.

Fair to say he had a bit of luck in as much as Phillipou, Hotton, Keeler, Wilson and Shoenmaker all slid compared to their draft rankings.
Mike, is there a feeling in the club / coaches around Garcia? Or is this more what you’ve noticed from watching? Live barely seen him when down there.

I really wanted Cooper Simpson. Hopefully Garcia is just as good and Hastie looks a ripper

Mike, is there a feeling in the club / coaches around Garcia? Or is this more what you’ve noticed from watching? Live barely seen him when down there.
He’s had hamstring tendinitis, that’s why you haven’t seen much of him.
According to Lenny the kid’s really driven..that, combined with his speed and endurance combination gives me confidence he’ll make it.

Yes thats my point. I'll give him one on Simpson though as Hastie looks a ripper to me.
I'd say Wilkie, Nas and Sharman are a good legacy and the rest are TBD.
Our luck has run deep with Pou, Hotton, Keeler, Wilson, Shoey, Chito and Windy but was Toce our lucky charm? I guess we'll find out.

Don't think any of them are luck, 9 teams had the chance on Pou, all teams twice on Hotton, Keeler, all teams three times on Shoemaker, all clubs had the first round selections on chito and Windy, both first rounder quality, and Wilson went at pick 18 or so.
If 4 of those 7 are all regular seniors, it's all the other clubs fault, especially chito, and Pou.
Shoey and absolute steal.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Apart from Nas, most of those others was a late in the draft roll of the dice. Doubt many would have been drafted before the third round. The percentage chance of making it as an AFL footballer taken after the first round is so slim it's hardly worth mentioning players taken outside the first 2 round as a miss.
Yeah l agree it's no shame on him those guys didn't work out. Specially Parker and young as they along with Hind were part of an agenda to get mature speedy recruits.

Don't think any of them are luck, 9 teams had the chance on Pou, all teams twice on Hotton, Keeler, all teams three times on Shoemaker, all clubs had the first round selections on chito and Windy, both first rounder quality, and Wilson went at pick 18 or so.
If 4 of those 7 are all regular seniors, it's all the other clubs fault, especially chito, and Pou.
Shoey and absolute steal.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
That sounds like a lot of good fortune for us then.

Yeah l agree it's no shame on him those guys didn't work out. Specially Parker and young as they along with Hind were part of an agenda to get mature speedy recruits.

Parker and Highmore probably at the standard for AFL footy. Parker had trouble adjusting to the lifestyle by the sound of it and Highmore probably unlucky to be at a club with Battle and Wilkie. I reckon he would have played a bit of footy at another club. Hind has been uneven but his best is very good and has carved out a pretty solid career for himself.

Young sounded like he rubbed people up the wrong way. He was apparently a bit FIGJAM which would have freaked a few of out pissy rabbits out.

He’s had hamstring tendinitis, that’s why you haven’t seen much of him.
According to Lenny the kid’s really driven..that, combined with his speed and endurance combination gives me confidence he’ll make it.

Would have to think they wouldn’t do something this radical without having someone already in place.

Daniel Cherny has footy contacts - I’d believe he may be onto something regarding Dalrymple.
So just more on this…lol

Was at a birthday tea this afternoon and Daniel’s dad, who I know pretty well, was also there.
He is THE biggest Saints supporter I know, bar none, with a treasure trove of memorabilia etc, hosted his own GF breakfasts which I went to way back in those heady days…

Anyway, he’s obviously not on BF, and hadn’t spoken to Daniel in the last day or two and knew nothing about Toce leaving and/or Dalrymple! I was his source 🤣

Still believe Daniel is on the money - I wonder when we hear about it.

I would’ve thought it was more a Misson, SOS & Gubby discussion, then the final decision ratified by the board?
If you mean Toce, then yes.

Lethlean will not be the driver of any football decisions now. As CEO in respect to football, he is there to help enable the decisions of our Football Department to happen, and not to create or drive them himself.

I think if we were convinced that Toce was responsible for drafting a whole bunch of stars we wouldn’t just get rid of him for the sake of it. Things get said on here and then get taken as fact, the reality is unless you’re in that room we have no idea who was responsible for every draft pick made the last 2, 3 or 10 years. Hopefully the next guy is a proven gun which is what I’ve been crying out for since the original rebuild failed.

Has to be Dalrymple or it makes no sense.

That's a point well made. We'll probably never know who's responsible and in reality drafting is a group effort and not decided by 1 man like the old days.
That said, Toce's rise has coincided with a marked improvement in our recruiting and just how much better another person might be seems a bit of a stretch atm.

Discussion Saints part ways with recruiting manager after restructure