Review Saints v Hawks

I don't care what he went for you ibis it was ******* hilarious

It was hilarious... especially because it had no bearing on the game.

At the end when the boys all came to the Saint's supporters end to give away some footys he made sure to kick one through right from the same spot he missed, taking the micky out of himself. :D

He will want to clean it up rice dmac and white are breathing down his neck.
He has improved out of sight this year. Composure is there and is turning into a decent defender on the 4th tall or bigger 'small forward' that he runs off and creates. Can't see him being dropped at all this year if this form continues. Links up perfectly with Robbo.

Hes no 1 for defensive turnovers in the comp.

I was just thinking about Jake Carlisle and his start to the club and had a few observations:
  • Judging by the whole snapchat thing he might not be the smartest guy off the field but Jake seems to have a really high footy IQ - he seems to makes great decisions out there on the field consistently
  • Linked to the above, with Jake we are getting 2 defenders in 1. Not only can he play the shut-down role but, based on his high footy smarts, he knows exactly when to zone off his man and go third up when needed or get involved in an attacking chain. This gives us great flexibility and lets Robbo and Jimmy Webster off the chain to do damage offensively.
  • He just doesn't miss targets by foot. Seeing how big he is, this is even more impressive as big blokes are often pretty ordinary kicks.
I honestly think we are only just starting to see the best of him as well. Reckon he will get better and better once he gets more games into him after a year out of the game. I still pinch myself we have him.

And apparently he also likes a goal. Didn't even look to give it off. :D

Lingy, from about the same distance as Bruce only he missed everything, I also remember watching something about old mat rats tossbag (Blighty) who ran into open goal and slammed it home for a behind.

Shizen quality, but I think both are on this.

Ergo, Bruce is in legendary company.

That video is missing what I believe is the worst miss of all time by Percy Jones

And apparently he also likes a goal. Didn't even look to give it off. :D
I loved Jake's game yesterday.

My mates that barrack for Hawthorn have been giving him grief all year, so it was just great to see Jake play such a great game. Thoroughly enjoyed being able to say to them that Hawthorn made Jake Carlisle look like Ross Glendinning.

There was another example of not giving it off when Mav's weaved through traffic inside 50 & absolutely burnt Jack Steele who was to his right waiting for a handball in 15m of space. Luckily Mav straightened & dobbed the goal.

Yeah, was thinking that but do you know if that means no one else can play down there? it just seems such a natural fit for us with the fan base already there and those 2 teams you mention about to have a few lean years.
St Kilda made the Hawks look like amateurs today. Quality slick ball movement from the back pocket to the forward pocket before anyone could blink.

The Saints are on the way up led by a very good young coach in Alan Richardson and a talented playing list that bats very deep from A-Z.

There's some underrated players at the Saints like Newnes and Roberton who are both having career years and the new recruits have had an immediate impact and strengthened the best 22.

Congrats on the big win and enjoy our first round pick. ;)
generous post creates goodwill, thank you

They have Brisbane (H), LolNorf (A), StKilda (A) & Hawthorn (H) in their next 4 games...

Based on yesterday, they'll be 0-10 at the bye, they were awful. But if they have any mettle at all, they'll probably be 2-8 after winning both home games against Lions & Hawks
They must have crashed confidence wise. They nearly won a flag last year. Surely at some point they win 5 or 6 in row.

1493447017300.png

Seriously has to be the photo of the year, absolute classic.
They should build a statue to immortalise this guy at the Uni oval in Launceston.

I reckon that bump that Billings rode in (I think in the 3rd) may just help to define his career.
Now he realises it doesn't hurt (not suggesting he's a squib) he may just show even more class, by going for the 50/50 balls.

Hes also a poor mans mick dwyer
Jesus, Coops... knock it off.

Your current ceaseless negativity is getting tiring. We won. Enjoy that.

Still fading out in 4th quarters. We kept the Hawks to 4 goals for 3 quarters and let them kick 4 in the last. Obviously wasn't punishing because it's the Hawks, but if we're to take any step up, fitness has to improve.

Another thing I will say is we really stuffed up in the decision to leave Launceston. We had huge support at the game today
I couldn't agree more with that.....I was at the game yesterday........BIG Saints crowd in attendance......the atmosphere at that ground is magic!

I hadn't been to Tassie for 30 years.....in fact hadn't done an interstate game for 20 years and boy,did I choose a great time to start again.

We have to thank GT for bailing on Launceston.....from memory...he didn't want to risk playing down there and possibly losing verses our great record and probable wins at Etihad at the time.

I'll read all the posts first then post on the win....but it is a really,really impressive setup at UTAS.

They have nailed it.

36 hitouts. Longer was the reason we won today.
Lol. I dont believe that for a second.

Even Gilbert in the ruck looked ok against that rabble.

Mumford will destroy Longer and by proxy their midfield will get first use.

Review Saints v Hawks