Mega Thread Senior Coach Discussion - Neeld v the alternatives

I think Neeld made it pretty clear that he wanted Rivers to stay. He chose to leave.
Rivers was quoted on radio as saying he felt un needed by Neeld. That when he came in the door he felt as if he was tossed aside.
What did he say/do to upset Beamer so much?

Hear a lot of people continually dribbling about this, but I reckon it's complete and utter rubbish.

Moloney on 360 said that he loved the club, put his heart and sole into the club and took the kids for extra work outside of training to tried to fast track the club to play finals. When Neeld came in he felt as if Neeld didn't believe in him and was upset that he was dumped from the leadership group without being given a chance to prove himself.

Now one could easily say that the senior guys shouldn't be sooks, but when it happens to multiple players surely the source (Neeld) has to be made accountable

Seriously at a loss with all this. On one hand, I don't want to sack Neeld as he still isn't halfway through his contract. To sack 2 coaches within a couple of years is diabolical. On the other hand, the players clearly aren't playing for him and he has made some horrible decisions. And again, clearly showed he simply cannot pick the right side each week.

What is more diabolical, sacking two coaches in two years or leaving a coach in charge despite the fact he is damaging the club more than helping it?

Have it on good authority that in their first meeting Neeld told Beamer he was the easiest player to play against in the AFL and that he wouldn't play the role he'd excelled in until he added strings to his bow, also told him he was out of the leadership group before he'd seen the players on the track properly.

The thing I find funniest about this is that some of Beamers best games came against Collingwood on the QB clashes. Now this in itself is not that funny, what is, is the fact that Neeld was the Collingwood midfield coach and couldn't stop him. Yet he thinks he is the easiest player to play against in the AFL:confused:

Moloney used to take all the new guys in , give them a copy of the mfc history and him and jonesy would take them on boxing camps , he always looked after they young guys and he bled red an blue

He had all of last season to prove Neeld wrong , instead he took his bat and ball and went north.

yeah fair call, and he never did stand up in games when we needed him
its tough to know whether the steps he took with guys like moloney rivers and green and removing them from the leadership group were necessary and if so were they handled correctly

Have it on good authority that in their first meeting Neeld told Beamer he was the easiest player to play against in the AFL and that he wouldn't play the role he'd excelled in until he added strings to his bow, also told him he was out of the leadership group before he'd seen the players on the track properly.
Aaaaargh! This is what I'm talking about!

I put it to you that you do not have it on good authority. I put it to you that you read it here, perhaps in multiple threads, and perhaps on some other forum as well, and because your mind received that info more than once it has given it more weight than it deserves. If you honestly have a reliable source for that information, perhaps you could tell us?

(And even if Neeld said that to Beamer, Beamer could have shown some heart and tried to prove to Neeld that he was up to a challenge!)

yeah fair call, and he never did stand up in games when we needed him
its tough to know whether the steps he took with guys like moloney rivers and green and removing them from the leadership group were necessary and if so were they handled correctly

of those 3 ,rivers was the only one who rolled up his sleeves and just got on with it. Green was struggling with form and moloney's form this season (so far) proves to me he had a big sook last year.Maybe Neeld did go too hard core , but people want to forget this is the same group of players whose (supposedly) actions(186) in trying to get a C.E.O sacked managed to get their coach sacked instead. Is it any wonder Neeld lobbed a hand grenade into the place , guess he didn't expect it to set off a nuclear explosion :rolleyes:

Moloney used to take all the new guys in , give them a copy of the mfc history and him and jonesy would take them on boxing camps , he always looked after they young guys and he bled red an blue
That's what he did. He was also cocky, aloof and a prick to a lot of the young guys.

I gotta say it's not all about Neeld - we need to build up a coaching army that is equal to the task. However Neeld does suck hard. I miss Neale D.

After the list he left us with, and some of his 'views on footy' near the end of his tenure (skills needed, hardness not much so etc), I was really happy to see him go. He definitely ran his course with us.

However (and I never thought I'd say this)....I miss the guy too. He made the players care. Clarkson still rates him as the best assistant coach going around. Is this a fallible option? Could the Rev come back to Melbourne?

It should also be noted that Viney (Todd) and Neeld have apparently had disagreements with the way he has gone about his recruiting (in particular). I like Viney, I've always thought he has a really good football brain (and obviously incredible work ethic. See him and his son). I don't think he wants to be a senior coach (and thus nor should he be), but I'd love to pick his brains about Melbourne right now.

At the end of the day I think many of you are forgetting that the AFL is most likely going to step in now and guide Melbourne in picking their next coach. They know, as well as we do, that it cannot be the wrong choice again.

Gerard Healy (whose brother Greg is on our board) seems to want to really help the club as well. I think he's now/ will continue to give his brother some advice to take to the board meeting/meetings with the AFL. So there a lot of experienced heads wanting to help. Let's hope they all get the man they want for this once great club.

Whoever the choice is, we need everyone (especially in house) to truly rally around him. And I mean truly. You cannot undermine the coach or it all begins to fall apart. Bailey and Neeld never had everyone's full support. Whether that be their own fault in part, I don't know, but the fact is without everyone's backing, it's doomed. Factions, bitching, bad attitudes...they're f'n poison in any business. Not many footy fans have experienced a worse 6-7 year period than this. When/if we do rise...it'll feel so good. Please.

Aaaaargh! This is what I'm talking about!

I put it to you that you do not have it on good authority. I put it to you that you read it here, perhaps in multiple threads, and perhaps on some other forum as well, and because your mind received that info more than once it has given it more weight than it deserves. If you honestly have a reliable source for that information, perhaps you could tell us?

(And even if Neeld said that to Beamer, Beamer could have shown some heart and tried to prove to Neeld that he was up to a challenge!)

Fair enough mate, I'm not going to say where I heard that from - I'm sure you understand.

Moloneys recent comments about the lack of faith Neeld had in him from the start are illuminating enough I'd think.

Whoever the choice is, we need everyone (especially in house) to truly rally around him. And I mean truly. You cannot undermine the coach or it all begins to fall apart. Bailey and Neeld never had everyone's full support. Whether that be their own fault in part, I don't know, but the fact is without everyone's backing, it's doomed. Factions, bitching, bad attitudes...they're f'n poison is any business. Not many footy fans have experienced a worse 6-7 year period than this. When/if we do rise...it'll feel so good. Please.

Exactly bloody right mate.

We can't allow the disunity and lack of collective will to continue, whoever the coach may be into the future. Regardless of whatever the unprofessional hacks and hyenas who constitute our mainstream media seek to throw at us from here on in, and it's safe to say they will simply start again with the same crap if a new coach is appointed, of course.

We cannot allow ourselves to be swayed any more.

Do you have that on good authority, or did you just read it on a forum?
Haha, well played. No mate, can't say that I do have it on good authority. Honestly don't know where I read or heard it.

It seems pretty likely to me though, given my impression of Brent Moloney's character.

When shit hits the fan it's a two way street. Neeld probably didn't handle it well with the older guys, but then older guys probably didn't handle things well either. I've been a Neeld defender but in the end they are both to blame.

It's probably been said a few pages ago but the board meets next Monday, the day after the Hawks game. If we are smashed in that one then you could say with some confidence that he may not be coaching us come Queen's Birthday.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/fo...melbourne-around/story-fndv8pdq-1226652015483

Thoughts?

I think Wayne's got his rose-tinted glasses on. Personally I think Pagan's credits were burnt with what happened at Carlton under his reign.

Plus he's been out of the game for a long time.

Plus Real Estate has gotta be a lot less stressful than taking on our rabble.

Pagan's Paddock don't work if you can't get the ball inside 50....

Pagan is damaged goods. Did well at North but did shit all at Carlton, although their debt and loss of picks didn't help his cause. I don't think he is the answer to our problems. We need an experienced coach, not a new one.

Neeld, Bailey, Daniher, Balme... all coaches who got their first main gig with us. It's been a long time since we got someone with prior experience and, while we have tasted some finals action and very short term success we've never been able to sustain it. That may... and I stress may... turn around with some experience at the helm. It can't be any worse at any rate.

Carey is an A-grade moron - what he's proposing that Pagan would do is exactly what Neeld intended to do.

Pagan doesn't command respect in the industry anymore.

Can't keep doing the same things and expect different results.

Has to be an experienced coach with a good record. Doesn't have to be premierships good. Just get a team in the finals good. Positive win/loss good.

At the moment I reckon I'd do a better job motivating the players then Neeld - I'd tell the players I'm a Melbourne Fan and then just break down in tears.

It would be chilling....